APNU+AFC identifies parliamentarians

The governing A Partnership for National Unity+ Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC) coalition has identified its 33 parliamentarians to sit in the 65-seat National Assembly.

They include the 15 senior ministers and 12 junior ministers. 

The coalition's brand new faces to parliamentary life are Simona Broomes, Winston Jordan, Dr. Nicolette Henry, Noel Holder, Dominic Gaskin, Charandass Persaud, David Patterson, Michael Carrngton, Audwin Rutherford and Jermaine Figuiera.
The APNU+AFC candidates who have been selected to become parliamentarians are:

1.        Moses Nagamootoo

2.       Joseph Harmon

3.       Simona Broomes

4.       Raphael Trotman

5.       Basil Williams

6.       Winston Jordan

7.       Khemraj Ramjattan

8.       Cathy Hughes

9.       Dr. George Norton

10.   Dr. Karen Cummings

11.   Volda Lawrence

12.   Amna Ally

13.   Ronald Bulkan

14.   Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine

15.   Dr. Nicolette Henry

16.   Valerie Garrido Lowe

17.   Keith Scott

18.   Jaipaul Sharma

19.   Noel Holder

20.   Dominic Gaskin

21.   Charandas Persaud

22.   Annette Ferguson

23.   David Patterson

24.   Carl Greenidge

25.   Winston Felix

26.   Dawn Hastings

27.   Sydney Allicock

28.   Michael Carrington

29.   Richard Allen

30.   Audwin Rutherford

31.   Jermaine Figuiera

32.   John Adams

33.   Jennifer Wade

Originally Posted by asj:

The governing A Partnership for National Unity+ Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC) coalition has identified its 33 parliamentarians to sit in the 65-seat National Assembly.

They include the 15 senior ministers and 12 junior ministers. 

The coalition's brand new faces to parliamentary life are Simona Broomes, Winston Jordan, Dr. Nicolette Henry, Noel Holder, Dominic Gaskin, Charandass Persaud, David Patterson, Michael Carrngton, Audwin Rutherford and Jermaine Figuiera.
The APNU+AFC candidates who have been selected to become parliamentarians are:

1.        Moses Nagamootoo

2.       Joseph Harmon

3.       Simona Broomes

4.       Raphael Trotman

5.       Basil Williams

6.       Winston Jordan

7.       Khemraj Ramjattan

8.       Cathy Hughes

9.       Dr. George Norton

10.   Dr. Karen Cummings

11.   Volda Lawrence

12.   Amna Ally

13.   Ronald Bulkan

14.   Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine

15.   Dr. Nicolette Henry

16.   Valerie Garrido Lowe

17.   Keith Scott

18.   Jaipaul Sharma

19.   Noel Holder

20.   Dominic Gaskin

21.   Charandas Persaud

22.   Annette Ferguson

23.   David Patterson

24.   Carl Greenidge

25.   Winston Felix

26.   Dawn Hastings

27.   Sydney Allicock

28.   Michael Carrington

29.   Richard Allen

30.   Audwin Rutherford

31.   Jermaine Figuiera

32.   John Adams

33.   Jennifer Wade

Seems like it takes a slap from Ramotar guards to make a minister...if this is the same chap. Well, I mentioned he should turn his hurt into political capital and he did it in spades!

Originally Posted by Zed:

Where are the youths. What is the average age of the members of parliament? Definitely not a good mix of ethnicity. This suggests that they will have to made room for more jobs for the boys at other places.

President Granger has honoured the Cummingsburg Accord in giving the AFC the agreed upon number of parliamentarians.

AFC is not an Indian party and its MPs reflect its multi-ethnic character.

APNU got over 90 percent of its votes on May 11 from Afro-Guyanese and other non-Indians. Those voters expect representation.

Most Indians wanted the PPP to represent them in parliament, according to the election results. They cannot have their cake and eat it.

In any case, who says that only an Indian can represent Indian interests?

Where are the youths. What is the average age of the members of parliament? Definitely not a good mix of ethnicity. This suggests that they will have to made room for more jobs for the boys at other places.

President Granger has honoured the Cummingsburg Accord in giving the AFC the agreed upon number of parliamentarians.

APNU got over 90 percent of its votes on May 11 from Afro-Guyanese and other non-Indians. Those voters expect representation.

Most Indians wanted the PPP to represent them in parliament, according to the election results. They cannot have their cake and eat it.

So are you proposing a democratic process where the 51% are represented and 49% not?  So then will you deny the 49% govt services, healthcare, schooling, etc.  Then also stop taxing them and stop them using the roads, actually, give them 49% of the territory to live as they wish and you keep 51% for yourself.

What a dumb ass comment!

YOU ARE INDEED AN ASS!!! PEOPLE LIKE YOU ARE WORST THAN FILTH!!!!!!!!!

So are you proposing a democratic process where the 51% are represented and 49% not?  So then will you deny the 49% govt services, healthcare, schooling, etc.  Then also stop taxing them and stop them using the roads, actually, give them 49% of the territory to live as they wish and you keep 51% for yourself.

What a dumb ass comment!

Base, an elected government has to provide services to the entire nation. That goes without saying. If the 50.3 percent APNU+AFC coalition fails to do that, the 49 percent PPP representatives are there in parliament to uphold the rights of their constituents.

My comment was a response to an observation that the coalition's parliamentarians are not a "good mix of ethnicity."

Put your feet in the shoes of APNU supporters and feel how they feel about having a "good mix of ethnicity." If you were following the news closely, you must have been aware that many APNU supporters felt that the AFC got more than they deserved in the Cummingsburg Accord. President Granger has to take his supporters' interests into account, understandably.

Once again, I shall not lower myself to your natural brothel-style cuss down that you want to pass off as reasoning. Carry on. Your shortcoming, not mine.

WOW bhai,i am sure you can do better,SHAME ON YOU.

What a dumb ass comment!

Base, an elected government has to provide services to the entire nation. That goes without saying. If the 50.3 percent APNU+AFC coalition fails to do that, the 49 percent PPP representatives are there in parliament to uphold the rights of their constituents.

My comment was a response to an observation that the coalition's parliamentarians are not a "good mix of ethnicity."

Put your feet in the shoes of APNU supporters and feel how they feel about having a "good mix of ethnicity." If you were following the news closely, you must have been aware that many APNU supporters felt that the AFC got more than they deserved in the Cummingsburg Accord. President Granger has to take his supporters' interests into account, understandably.

So then what's the defnition of "APNU"?  Now I understand the emotional component however, a transformative leader, as he hopes to be, does not just cater to the lowest common denominator but make the difficult and unpopular choices and convince his flock its the correct thing to do.  If he really wants to make change to Guyana's political culture, this is his moment, or does he want to go down in history as a continuum of the status quo!

Go join dem homeless cardboard box FILTH....looser HAHAHA [laughing like a maniac]

What a dumb ass comment!

So then what's the defnition of "APNU"?  Now I understand the emotional component however, a transformative leader, as he hopes to be, does not just cater to the lowest common denominator but make the difficult and unpopular choices and convince his flock its the correct thing to do.  If he really wants to make change to Guyana's political culture, this is his moment, or does he want to go down in history as a continuum of the status quo!

Base, we can argue till Doomsday without a satisfactory resolution.

Lemme just say this: A politician can have the most noble ideals, the grandest vision, but when you come to brass tacks there is something called realpolitik. President Granger will have to walk through that gauntlet, whether he likes it or not.

Gandhi wanted to unite Hindus and Muslims in India. He was thinking in noble and grand terms, but a Hindu assassin took him out. In Guyana there are some diehard racists who can stop Granger in his tracks if they perceive that he is giving too many concessions to Indians.

Originally Posted by gogo:

calling persons ASS and FILTH comes from a mind full of the same, what comes out of the man defiles the man and not what goes in.........Jesus.

Only words the moron knows...his workable vocabulary extends to nimakram, robber baron, lamata and cunumunu...He might respond to you in any of those in any order since they do not have to make sense...making sense is not his objective

Originally Posted by Gupta:

I would presume that it is the APNU/AFC Coalition that selected the MPs and not President Granger. The APNU/AFC MPs reflects the ethnical and political makeup of the Coalition and NOT of the country.

Obviously MP's will reflect the make up of the party

APNU/AFC.Why this fear that Indians will not share

a piece of the pie,APNU/AFC stated they are for all

the people,i have not heard they will discriminate

against who have not voted for them.

What a dumb ass comment!

The 49% are represented by the party for which they voted for.

Now tell the PPP to nominate their MPs and sit theire asses in parliament.  It is within that forum where they will ensure that their supporters will be fairly treated.

BTW when I told you that almost every head of agency and very few senior ministers under the PPP regime were black you didn't care.

Sam Hinds had no specific role within the PPP regime.   Moses has a much expanded role.  In addition, if he can convince his other AFC MPs, who has the ability to destroy the APNU dominated gov't.

Cease your wails of Indian Holocaust.  I told you that you screams of "ahbe pan tap, black man time DONE" were premature. 

Lucky for you there doesn't seem to be any evidence that senior coalition officials tolerate any "ahwe pan tap, collie time DONE".  Granger told his people to behave when they indulged in that vulgarity.

Originally Posted by Django:
Originally Posted by Gupta:

I would presume that it is the APNU/AFC Coalition that selected the MPs and not President Granger. The APNU/AFC MPs reflects the ethnical and political makeup of the Coalition and NOT of the country.

Obviously MP's will reflect the make up of the party

APNU/AFC.Why this fear that Indians will not share

a piece of the pie,APNU/AFC stated they are for all

the people,i have not heard they will discriminate

against who have not voted for them.

Agreed.

We have to move away from the mistaken belief that only an Indian can represent Indian interests, or only a Black can guarantee rights to Blacks. History is full of examples to show one race putting itself on the line for another race.

Two examples: Whites in Britain were in the Abolitionist movement that forced the ending of slavery in 1834. Also whites were in the civil rights movement that brought an end to racial segregation in the United States.

APNU got over 90 percent of its votes on May 11 from Afro-Guyanese and other non-Indians. .?

VVP and Kari should be honest and admit to this.

Why do the need to admit this? OK. Would you admit that without Moses the PPP would be celebrating a victory? Stand back folks a watch Carib dance

Last edited by sachin_05
..  If he really wants to make change to Guyana's political culture, this is his moment, or does he want to go down in history as a continuum of the status quo!

The PNC attracted at least 90% of the votes.  Yet they only have 17 MP slots, or just over 50% of that held by the coalition.

The PPP will hold 100% of the seats as they are not in any coalition.

Please see the difference.  Based on its voter support the PNC in actuality deserves 26 seats, or maybe more.  Yet they conceded it as they wish to distance themselves from their racist past.

Now tell the PPP to grow up, form coalitions with credible group who have support beyond its Indian base, and stop behaving like thugs.

We are now hearing that the PPP has left Guyana almost bankrupt, this while the coffers of many PPP officials are quite full.  If Guyanese are forced to under go sacrifices because of this, Jagdeo and others need to find the inside of a jail.

Originally Posted by sachin_05:

APNU got over 90 percent of its votes on May 11 from Afro-Guyanese and other non-Indians. .?

Why do the need to admit this? OK. Would you admit that without Moses the PPP would be celebrating a victory? Stand back folks a watch Carib dance

I have already said that a small Indo swing vote, and a large Afro vote won the election.  I don't speak Hindi, but maybe if I said it in that language you would understand, because as often as I have said this, it LIARS are saying otherwise.

You know what this is all about.  It is not about whether I said that a small swing Indo vote contributed, NOT LARGE enough to deliver the winning margin.

It is that some folks are running a race based power grab, so are NEGATING the role of the fact that it was the APNU campaign strategy, which was much more energized, and professionally run than it has EVER been, which was the main factor for this high vote.

This is NOT what some Indo AFC supporters want.  They want to CONTROL this coalition and are NOT satisfied with the substantial power that the AFC got, which went WAY beyond their contribution to the vote!

Kari and VVP conceded NOTHING to APNU, including the fact that if APNU had said no, they would have ended up better off than the AFC, which having not gained significant votes for a THIRD time, risked being abandoned as being irrelevant.  Now they have an extended life.

I have already said that a small Indo swing vote, and a large Afro vote won the election.

Small in say 3,000?  You think that's modest enough for you?

I have already said that a small Indo swing vote, and a large Afro vote won the election.

Why don't you worry about the fact that the PPP refuses to represent their 49%?

.Stand back folks a watch Carib dance

Carib isn't dancing.  He is watching a small group of PPP rejects who went to the AFC, found out that it would never become a major party, and now they wish to take over APNU by claiming that APNU did NOTHING to win the election, and that the 20% increase in turn out in PNC strongholds was NOTHING to do with APNU.

In fact Caribj suspects that if the PPP gets rid of Jagdeo, many of these Moses fanatics will go right back.  Jay Bharrat surely being one of them.

They take over plan will not work, and these guys might think that they are helping Moses.  They are not.  What they are doing is triggering some grumbling from within parts of the PNC who are wondering what more do these people want beyond the Cummingsburg Accord. 

Since when has a major party conceded almost 50% of its seats to a small party which never received more than 10% of the votes?

Now watch all of those people dance while the find examples.

The (Indo) AFC fanatics should show MORE gratitude to APNU than they are.

Nah, me not worry bout them, just had that lil question fuh you bro.

90-95% of thecoalition voters were black/mixed.  You think if they stayed home as they did in 2006, the coalition would have won?

Region 10 alone probably delivered as many or more votes than Moses brought in from the PPP.  Yet Kari negates this impact, attributing the victory only to those Indian votes.

Carib isn't dancing.  He is watching a small group of PPP rejects who went to the AFC, found out that it would never become a major party, and now they wish to take over APNU by claiming that APNU did NOTHING to win the election, and that the 20% increase in turn out in PNC strongholds was NOTHING to do with APNU.

In fact Caribj suspects that if the PPP gets rid of Jagdeo, many of these Moses fanatics will go right back.  Jay Bharrat surely being one of them.

They take over plan will not work, and these guys might think that they are helping Moses.  They are not.  What they are doing is triggering some grumbling from within parts of the PNC who are wondering what more do these people want beyond the Cummingsburg Accord. 

Since when has a major party conceded almost 50% of its seats to a small party which never received more than 10% of the votes?

Caribj, do you think you can drown out the truth by shouting hard long enough.

90-95% of thecoalition voters were black/mixed.  You think if they stayed home as they did in 2006, the coalition would have won?

Region 10 alone probably delivered as many or more votes than Moses brought in from the PPP.  Yet Kari negates this impact, attributing the victory only to those Indian votes.

CaribJ, stop dancing as Sachin_05 said. Again, do you think Nagamootoo and the "Indian faction" in the AFC possibly swung 3,000 PPP supporters?  That was my only question, not all that "jimmy cock bring ram goat" story you talking deh.

You busting a blood vessel mixing yuh carib dance with confo dance but you still to explain where the APNU would have gotten the "small Indo swing votes" from without the great gambler Moses...

What truth?  That the PNC conceded way more to the AFC than the Tories did to the Lib Dem party in the UK?  If the Lib Dems went with Labor the Tories wouldn't have been in power, and yet they were reduced to being spectators.

The AFC is a CORE component of the coalition with the PM being given a role WAY in excess of that provided for in the constitution.  Yet no acknowledgement from the Moses cultist faction that the APNU concede lots to a minor party, and possibly saved it from extinction, the fate of every other small party in Guyana.

They don't want to allow Moses to build bridges with full gamut of the PNC, so that he can be effective.  They want to walk into this group and tell them, "you all did NOTHING, for this coalition, only Moses, Moses, Moses".

Now how does that help in the relationship building which is necessary when you have a group as diverse as the AFC.  And then when there is a coalition.

Not long ago Moses was cussing out the PNC.  You think that they fully trust him?  So why all the "Moses, Moses, Moses" yelling.

Now you will aid them with their nonsense, because you know if the coalition falls apart the PPP is back.  Guess what, if the coalition fails, so does the AFC, because Trotman, Hughes, Patterson, Gaskin, Holder do NOT want to see the PPP back any more than does Granger.

What truth?  That the PNC conceded way more to the AFC than the Tories did to the Lib Dem party in the UK?  If the Lib Dems went with Labor the Tories wouldn't have been in power, and yet they were reduced to being spectators.

The AFC is a CORE component of the coalition with the PM being given a role WAY in excess of that provided for in the constitution.  Yet no acknowledgement APNU concede lots to a minor party, and possibly saved it from extinction, the fate of every other small party in Guyana.

No sign of gratitude from the Indo AFC fanatic segment.  They don't want to allow Moses to build bridges with full gamut of the PNC, so that he can be effective.  They want to walk into this group and tell them, "you all did NOTHING, for this coalition, only Moses, Moses, Moses".

Now how does that help in the relationship building which is necessary when you have a group as diverse as the AFC.  And then when there is a coalition.

Not long ago Moses was cussing out the PNC.  You think that they fully trust him?  So why all the "Moses, Moses, Moses" yelling.

Now you will aid them with their nonsense, because you know if the coalition falls apart the PPP is back.  Guess what, if the coalition fails, so does the AFC, because Trotman, Hughes, Patterson, Gaskin, Holder do NOT want to see the PPP back any more than does Granger.

Caribj, you sausage getting caught up in your shorts, as thy say.  Dancing nah gon free it bai.