APNU holds talks with overseas Guyanese on way forward
September 18, 2013 · By Stabroek editor ·

Leader of the Opposition and APNU David Granger met with a group of overseas-based Guyanese in New York to discuss ‘the way forward’ for the country including with economist Tarron Khemraj who was associated with the AFC at the last elections. An APNU press release today said that the group included well-known academic and monetary economist Khemraj, Malcolm Harripaul, Rab Mukraj and Dr Asquith Rose. APNU’s team included Shadow Minister for Public Works, Mr. Joseph Harmon, MP.

“The two sides examined the current economic, political and social situation in Guyana and concluded that a broad ‘pro-Guyana’ approach was needed to stimulate movement towards the attainment of their common objectives. They agreed to work together to build structures to improve governance, promote national unity and advance human development.

“Brigadier Granger iterated the fact that A Partnership for National Unity constituted a five-party alliance in the National Assembly that was totally commitment to the principle of ‘inclusionary democracy.’He emphasized the important ‘inclusionary’ role of the Diaspora in the development of our homeland and in creating a good life for all Guyanese”, the release said.

A very positive message from Mr Granger. This news has surprised me. I like the AFC but I will now pay very close attention to APNU and the new converts. I am so impressed by the APNU over the whole Amaila fiasco.  

JB, I wished the AFC did not vote with the PPP. I am also paying much attention to APNU and their fight for transparency and accountability.

“The two sides examined the current economic, political and social situation in Guyana and concluded that a broad ‘pro-Guyana’ approach was needed to stimulate movement towards the attainment of their common objectives. They agreed to work together to build structures to improve governance, promote national unity and advance human development.

A very positive message from Mr Granger. This news has surprised me. I like the AFC but I will now pay very close attention to APNU and the new converts. I am so impressed by the APNU over the whole Amaila fiasco.  

Brigadier Granger iterated the fact that A Partnership for National Unity constituted a five-party alliance in the National Assembly that was totally commitment to the principle of ‘inclusionary democracy.’He emphasized the important ‘inclusionary’ role of the Diaspora in the development of our homeland and in creating a good life for all Guyanese”, the release said.

Listen!

You guys know the Rev supports the PPP!

But I learned from the last election in America---I am a Republican---backed my party---and Obama hammered us.

It would be foolish for any supporter of the PPP to believe that the PPP will automatically win the next election.

THINGS ARE CHANGING IN GUYANA.

APNU is not just the PNC---it's the PNC + WPA + JP + AFC defectors + ++

Now let's look at some numbers:

2011 election:

48.6%---PPP

40.83%---APNU

10.33%---AFC

SCENARIO:

If the AFC defections continue----and let's say the AFC loses 6%----and that 6% goes to APNU----then we'll have:

48.6%---PPP

46.83%---APNU

4.33%---AFC

SO PPP STILL FORMS THE GOVERNMENT.

But if the PPP were to lose 1% from 2011---and APNU picks up that 1%---we have:

47.60%---PPP

47.83%---APNU

4.33%---AFC

There you have it---APNU forms the next government.

Listen!

You guys know the Rev supports the PPP!

But I learned from the last election in America---I am a Republican---backed my party---and Obama hammered us.

It would be foolish for any supporter of the PPP to believe that the PPP will automatically win the next election.

THINGS ARE CHANGING IN GUYANA.

APNU is not just the PNC---it's the PNC + WPA + JP + AFC defectors + ++

Now let's look at some numbers:

2011 election:

48.6%---PPP

40.83%---APNU

10.33%---AFC

SCENARIO:

If the AFC defections continue----and let's say the AFC loses 6%----and that 6% goes to APNU----then we'll have:

48.6%---PPP

46.83%---APNU

4.33%---AFC

SO PPP STILL FORMS THE GOVERNMENT.

But if the PPP were to lose 1% from 2011---and APNU picks up that 1%---we have:

47.60%---PPP

47.83%---APNU

4.33%---AFC

Rev, With all due respect, Please take JP out of that mix.

Originally Posted by Dondadda:

Rev, With all due respect, Please take JP out of that mix.

OK! JP is out of the equation. But you get the message!

* APNU put together a coalition that gathered 40.83% of the votes in the last election.

* APNU is now in the process of sucking votes away from the divided AFC.

It will come down to the 48.6% of the people who supported the PPP in the last election---if 1% switch----it will be President Granger.

But if the PPP were to lose 1% from 2011--- and APNU picks up that 1%--- we have:

47.60%---PPP

47.83%---APNU

4.33%---AFC

Indeed, a huge but ...

However, with the PPP/C gaining just two percent, it will have the majority of votes and members.

SOME PEOPLE ARE REALLY SHAMELESS, ONE NIGHT DEM A WUK A GAUMONT, NEXT NIGHT AT PAKARIMA AND NEXT AT WHITE COCONUT TREE. I WARNED AL YUH BOUT DEM SHAMELESS SNAKEOIL THIEVES!!!!!!!!!!!!

And the resident idiot takes another sip of cheap rum. 

Nehru, when you type in caps, I feel you are screaming.

I am screaming at SHAMELESS HOES like TK, GR, Moses and Ramjhaaaaaaaaaaaatan!!!

Stupid man...the problem is no one is hearing. LOL! 

So how come you are responding JACKASS???

Drunk man the people who you want to hear can't. 

I warned Al YUh TRotty playing those FOOLS!!!

Nehru bhai, this is where uncle Ramo is missing out.

‘inclusionary democracy.’

Brigadier Granger iterated the fact that A Partnership for National Unity constituted a five-party alliance in the National Assembly that was totally commitment to the principle of ‘inclusionary democracy.’He emphasized the important ‘inclusionary’ role of the Diaspora in the development of our homeland and in creating a good life for all Guyanese”, the release said.

But if the PPP were to lose 1% from 2011--- and APNU picks up that 1%--- we have:

47.60%---PPP

47.83%---APNU

4.33%---AFC

Indeed, a huge but ...

However, with the PPP/C gaining just two percent, it will have the majority of votes and members.

You are out of touch. Go ring your bell for your supper.

Nehru bhai, this is where uncle Ramo is missing out.

‘inclusionary democracy.’

Well APNU had  "inclusionary democracy" in the last election---and they only received 40.83% of the votes.

I don't see AFC completely going out of business---but if AFC were to lose 5-6%---and all went to the "inclusionary democracy" APNU----the PPP will still win the Presidency-----it will be a minority party----but still hold onto the presidency.

Of course, if the PPP were to lose---let's say 1%---from the 48.6% they received in 2011----then APNU has a shot at the presidency.

Well APNU had  "inclusionary democracy" in the last election---and they only received 40.83% of the votes.

Forbes Burnham also had "inclusionary democracy" when he teamed up with the United Force's Peter D'Aguiar in 1964 .. and the result is well known history.

DG, Moses, GR and Ramjhaaaaaaaaatan are too STUPID to understand that AND their quest for POWER and WEALTH has blinded them.

At the end of the day you were able to become "Specialist Engineer" under President Burnham. I hope you gave the country honest service then and did not sabotage any infrastructure work.  

DG, Moses, GR and Ramjhaaaaaaaaatan are too STUPID to understand that AND their quest for POWER and WEALTH has blinded them.

There indeed will be views from all corners, but the voters will make their decision at the next election, Nehru.

It is my view that the PPP/C will emerge with more than 50% of the votes at the next election.

There indeed will be views from all corners, but the voters will make their decision at the next election, Nehru.

It is my view that the PPP/C will emerge with more than 50% of the votes at the next election.

WEll who on earth will ever again TRUST TK, Moses, GR and Ramjhaaaaaaaaaaatan. These are the Indian Land owners of the past. Remember the one in Mother India?

At the end of the day you were able to become "Specialist Engineer" under President Burnham. I hope you gave the country honest service then and did not sabotage any infrastructure work.  

Mr DG President Burnham offered you a job as "specialist engineer", right? 

JB, I wished the AFC did not vote with the PPP. I am also paying much attention to APNU and their fight for transparency and accountability.

You and JB should come clean and announce your allegiance for APNU. Your intention to bust off the AFC was written on the wall. I expect you guys to start glorifying your new-found PNC once again. Just two years and yall give AFC the booth. So, what happen to the action plan and the key to the future?

Cobra, just being realistic. APNU stands a chance of winning the election. We may even see another minority government with the PPP/C leading the opposition with the AFC. This is good since we may now be able to get the Forensic Audits done those who have raided the coffers for their own personal enrichment and we may see the Marriot construction completed and converted as a jail for the PPP/C elites.

AFC wants forensic audit of Jagdeo, Brassington assets

September 17, 2013 | By | Filed Under News 

…‘unknown private investor’ to take majority ownership of Marriott Hotel

With Atlantic Hotel Inc (AHI) still negotiating with a foreign private investor for two-thirds ownership of the Marriott Hotel, still under construction in Kingston, the Alliance for Change (AFC) Leader, Khemraj Ramjattan, has since charged that there is undoubtedly a fraudulent intent in the way the project has been configured.

Bharrat Jagdeo

The Guyana Government upon completion of the deal being negotiated will own a minority stake in the Marriott Hotel.
Ramjattan has since called on Head of State, Donald Ramotar, to enforce the resolutions of a Parliamentary Motion that had called for a forensic audit into the operations of the National Industrial and Commercial Investments Limited (NICIL), which is headed by Winston Brassington.
Ramjattan says that the personal assets of Brassington and members of NICIL’s Board, his connection to former President Bharrat Jagdeo and his inner circle and even the assets of Jagdeo himself must be scrutinized “So that the truth be known!”
Qualifying his position that the Marriott was born with fraudulent intent, Ramjattan pointed to the advance of US$10M just before the 2011 election even while there were no certain private sector financial commitments or any other certainty that the project will be completed.
The AFC leader pointed out that after spending billions of taxpayer moneys on a project without economic justification and financial viability, “we are now being told that the project has stalled and will soon be

Head of NICIL, Winston Brassington

energized by this phantom investor!” Is this how this Government does business?”
Ramjattan opined that one would have thought that if prudence prevailed, then construction of the Marriott Hotel will only have commenced when all the finances were secured.
“When that does not happen, it is surely corruption which prevails.”
He said that in total contempt for the struggling taxpayer who has forked out more than $2B, no disclosure is made of the investors, their profile, source of funds, amount offered, payment terms and other arrangements.
Ramjattan has since also demanded an urgent audit of all expenditure and commitments on the Marriott Hotel before any sale or investment and its review by the Public Accounts Committee.
According to Ramjattan, the Marriott Hotel Project “is turning out exactly as I had forecast…the abuse of state revenues to build the Marriott by the Sheiks among today’s Guyana sultanate, through the misuse of NICIL as the instrument; and, then selling it to their friends for lower than its real value at great loss to taxpayers is what is happening here.”
Ramjattan recalled that Brassington and Finance Minister, Dr Ashni Singh, had told the nation that the project had sufficient finances, from investors and loans, to fund its completion.
“They were deceptive when they pronounced in our (National) Assembly and led its members into believing that monies from the syndicated investors were in the bag…That was why they told us that they will start the project…When we asked them to name the investors or where the loans were coming from, they said that

AFC Leader, Khemraj Ramjattan

was confidential.”
Ramjattan said that the current position is that “we now know it is only the public monies which have been spent thus far for work done….monies up fronted at Jagdeo’s approval just before the 2011 Elections to the Chinese contractor.”
According to the AFC Leader, the clouding of the truth as to an impending sale of, or investment into the Marriott Hotel, “clearly shows the continuing lack of transparency, and behind-the-door secret deals involving Head of the NICIL, Winston Brassington and unknown investors controlled by the former Head of State and his circle of friends.”
Ramjattan asks, “Why is it that Brassington does not want to tell us who this new investor is? Is he some Phantom?”
This past week Ramjattan alleged that an offer was made from a British Virgin Islands incorporated investor, to purchase the incomplete Marriott Hotel Building, as a result of Government “finding it difficult to attract the investors and syndicated loans” to complete the hotel.
Brassington has since denied this but did say that AHI is in the closing stages of a deal with a foreign investor and that the name of this investor will be announced when there is financial closure.
He said, “In general, private investors are usually reluctant to make premature public disclosures about their business and in this case there is greater apprehension to do so, given the hostile and unwelcoming

Finance Minister Ashni Singh

political environment created by the Opposition parties.”
He said that the private investor is aware, and acknowledges, that given its intended relationship with the Government of Guyana, it will be required to make a public announcement which it is prepared to do at the appropriate time.

Last edited by Mitwah

Promoting National Unity and advanced Human development.

This is recycled garbage.. 

If this is all they can come up with, then they are hopeless..

Mr Ramakant Persaud why are you so angry? Do you have wool over your eyes? The PPP must have plastered it there?

Key NY backers leave AFC for APNU

Posted By Staff Writer On September 19, 2013 @ 5:28 am In Local News | No Comments

Three New York-based members of the Alliance For Change (AFC) have switched their support to main opposition coalition A Partnership for National Unity (APNU),

Economist Dr Tarron Khemraj, who along with businessman Rab Mukraj and Political Science Professor Asquith Rose, has left the AFC’s New York chapter, said that the party has been suffering from “self-inflicted wounds” for a long time. “I feel I have done what I could do for the AFC… Now I would like to be a part of something that can vehicle bigger visions to bring about national unity and national and human development,” Khemraj told Stabroek News in an interview from New York yesterday.

AFC leader Khemraj Ramjattan, who was caught unaware of the departures, said it was “disappointing” news, while saying that the party would respect its former members’ decisions and try to move ahead.  Last week, US-based financier Shamir Ally also tendered his resignation from the party.

Efforts to contact Rose, Mukraj and Ally for comment proved futile.

News of their leave was made public by APNU, which yesterday announced that the four had held talks with the coalition’s leader David Granger and APNU MP Joseph Harmon. “The two sides examined the current economic, political and social situation in Guyana and concluded that a broad ‘pro-Guyana’ approach was needed to stimulate movement towards the attainment of their common objectives. They agreed to work together to build structures to improve governance, promote national unity and advance human development,” an APNU release stated.

Ramjattan said that while he was aware of Ally’s departure, he was not aware that Khemraj, Mukraj and Rose had also left. He expressed disbelief at the development. “You know, that is news to me… I don’t know about it but whatever it is, this party has had some problems with the New York chapter and has recognised a resignation… It is very disappointing, very unfortunate that there has been a fall-out of those members from that overseas group,” he said.  “This is a democratic liberal party. We respect their decision and if they want to go and join the APNU, that’s very unfortunate for us but we just continue the journey. We have to pick up, dust ourselves and move on,” he added.

Ramjattan hinted that the move was possibly due to the party’s support for the Amalia Hydropower Project. “They had indicated, very clearly to us, that we ought not to have sent the Amaila project to the IDB for due diligence and it is rather surprising that that may have caused that kind of thing. I know they have had very serious objections to the Alliance For Change doing as it did,” he said.

The AFC has come under fire recently over its failure to public announce the association of party Chairman Nigel Hughes with Amaila Falls Hydro Inc (AFHI), the local company set up to pilot the controversial Amaila Falls hydropower project. Hughes served as AFHI’s Company Secretary, while his wife and AFC MP Cathy Hughes worked as a public relations consultant for the project’s developer, Sithe Global.   Adding fuel to the criticism was the party’s decision to support the Amaila-related measures in the National Assembly, although the AFC has assured that the Hugheses at no time used their positions to further their personal agendas. The AFC has faced the criticism that the situation amounted to a conflict of interest and the party recently apologised for failing to disclose the link in a timely manner, calling it “a critical lapse” in duty.

Ramjattan yesterday stressed that the exit of every member affects the party and while it was not what the leadership wants, it accepts the choices of individuals given that the party stands as a democracy where persons know they are free to change their minds whenever they feel free. Nonetheless, he said he would still make contact with the New York chapter, informing them of his disappointment and advising that whichever party they go to that there will be disagreements of views.

Meanwhile, Khemraj said that the party was notified of his transition by way of email. “I indicated to friends through an email that I will be leaving,” he said.

He would not go into detail about the decision to leave the AFC but said that the party “has been facing a lot of self-inflicted wounds for a long time.”

From left are Rab Mukraj, Dr Asquith Rose, Dr Tarron Khemraj, APNU Leader David Granger and APNU MP Joseph Harmon

He added that he was impressed with APNU’s vision for Guyana. “The APNU has done many things. They have led the call for constitutional reform. I really appreciate that…,” he said, while adding that the coalition’s leaders are elected instead of selected, which holds firm to democratic principles.

He also lauded Granger’s call for the investigation of crimes on the East Coast and emphasised in particular that APNU “really saved the country a lot of money” by its handling of the Amaila hydropower issue. “They have really done that well… their fingers on the right buttons these past years and they value, really value intellectual technical voices. It is clear to me that they will be open (to opinions),” he went on.

Khemraj said that he wanted to make clear that his decision was not a personal one as he believes that being an opposition supporter has no material benefits. He also said that he remains friends with and has great respect for many persons on the AFC executive.

Selected comments from SN Blog:

Cochore: "BRAVO to these folks, for it is only when WE, THE PEOPLE hold our political leaders to accountability, that they will serve us better. When they mess up, we kick them to the curb at Election time...and even before elections. There is so much natural wealth in Guyana and we need not be scrounging like this.

From today's Daily Word: "God's world is not a world of lack or limitation. It is a world of plenty."

GTObserver: 

"The AFC's vote to support the PPP's need for the Local Government Commission to have an even number of members, eight, instead of seven or nine gave the PPP the legitimate ability to clog Local Government elections and water down Local Government reforms. Along with that, AFC leadership has been using the controversy over Amaila as a distraction from Cathy Hughes' blatant and ongoing conflict of interest: she is the sitting, voting, MP, not her husband. It is she who should have resigned a long time ago. These matters may well have been the straws that broke the proverbial camels' backs. Let this be a lasting lesson to all political parties not to take their supporters for granted.

Reading, the pro-Guyana initiative seems focussed on two priorities more important than any single political entity: national unity and human development. Pro-Guyana sounds more like a reform movement, not a political platform. Time will tell if there will be effective implementation, but these gentlemen appear to be showing the courage of their beliefs, and may now be able to do far more good than their critics might wish."

More comments:

Sister: "I do not care that these people have left the AFC for the APNU. They live in America, but if these so-called New York based former AFC party members now APNU party members resided in Guyana it would have been quite a different story. I do not understand why this is the lead story. But anyway, thanks for the morning laugh as I am sitting here just laughing at the reasons given by the one man for leaving the AFC for the APNU. I also want to say that the AFC did the right thing to support Amaila Falls Hydro which to me is indicative that they care about Guyana."

Borapork: "

Sister,

Welcome back. You have not aged or changed a bit. I know of no one who is against the Amaila project. People are against the terms of agreement with the partners and the lack of transparency by the government in releasing details. Too much secrecy. We remember the Skeldon Sugar Factory. I think you do too. Keep me laughing. I missed your innocent humour."

MR. VICKASH SINGH: "NANA BORA. Stop with your alligator tears they have join your PNC that is good news for you."

Borapork: "They have and are exercising their democratic rights to freedom of association. Didn't democracy return to Guyana in 1992? Where was your outrage when the likes of Kwame, Juan, Bynoe, Lumumba and Joseph Hamilton started sucking from their straws deeply placed in the P.P.P. cup."

I believe this blog is my Mr Khemraj himself:

T_Khemraj: "I have noticed many heated comments. I welcome them. Further to what OBSERVER wrote, I'd like to add a small point. The elasticity of support for third parties in societies like Guyana is very high and non linear. You can do all the good things and the support gained will meet a certain upper level. But commit one big mistake (or several small ones in a 2 year period) and you are going to elicit a big adverse support response - hence support is very elastic on the down side but not so elastic on the up side. But Guyana is on the cusp of a Trinidad and Tobago type voting pattern. While it is true that the APNU and PPP have a core support base there are enough independent and liberal voters out there to ensure democratic turnover, which is the best thing that can happen right now without any change in the Constitution. As a matter of fact, I am convinced democratic turnover will bring healing to the society as no group will believe it can never win a free and fair election (Guyana presently have free but unfair elections!).

Therefore it is better to focus on UNITY and HUMAN DEVELOPMENT. I urge all of you to help us to clarify, define and implement this concept over the coming months. Please don't focus on personalities. Focus only on the goal of UNITY and HUMAN DEVELOPMENT."

COCHORE: "Bang on OB, I concur with your sentiments especially with this part, "WE THE PEOPLE hold our political leaders to accountability..."

Indeed, this is one positive way to break away from that LOYALTY and PERSONALITY politics of the old PPP and PNC.
Dr Tarron, Rab Mukraj, Professor Asquith Rose you guys are the true pioneers in an attempt to bring democracy and decency back into the Guyanese political culture. I salute your independent thinking and honest commitment to being true to your own beliefs. By the way, iz whew Sase Narine deh or perhaps somebody gat he pun manners..??
And one more thing guys, if the APNU start taking your positions for granted, kick them to the curb too. No single individual is bigger than this noble movement for political CHANGE. 
Incidentally, this is the single reason as to why I'm not a card carrying member of any political organisation, independence baby independence from pagalee unaccountable leadership...."

THERE IS A 99% CHANCE DONALD RAMOTAR WILL BE RE-ELECTED PRESIDENT

The numbers don't lie folks!

Like I said to Mitwah---despite the PPP complacency and despite tons of charges of corruption that was thrown at Jagdeo and his cabal by Nagamootoo and others, Donald Ramotar and the PPP still pulled 48.6% of the votes in the 2011 electon.

TK and the others defecting from the AFC ensure that the party has peaked---they will not pull the 10.3% of the votes they got in the 2011 election.

Let's say the AFC loses 6%----so from 10.3% they'll get 4.3% in the next election----and let's assume that APNU will pick up all of the 6% the AFC loses:

Then APNU will increase from 40.83 to 46.83%----that's not good enough to win the presidency.

The PPP received 48.6% of the votes in 2011----they'll likely hold that 48.6%---and if luck runs their way----they can top 50%.

RAMOTAR WILL BE RE-ELECTED PRESIDENT.

This person is likely the GNI troll. 

long_legs: "stop talking nonsense!

this fellow tk couldn't command a leadership position within afc - so much so that he jumped ship - but you want granger to hand over leadership to him.

the defectors, including tk - with whom you seem so enamoured - as members of afc couldn't bring and end to the ppp but with you warped logic and all you think from within apnu and with tk given leadership, magically "it is game over for the corrupt ppp."

if tk and his fellow defectors had any political clout whatsoever, roopnarine, ramajattan, nagamoottoo, the hughes and the likes would be the ones looking for a political home and not the ones you see suddenly looking disgruntled and turned defectors.

most importantly, the defectors themselves explained that one of the reasons they decided to allign themselves with apnu is because that political party is focused on national unity and human development, which they feel is a winning strategy heading towards the next election.

putting it in layman's terms, of the three main parties apnu is the one most willing and ready to move away from the race-based politics so prevelent in guyana, much to the shegrin of the bigots who throw about the words pnc and forbes as eptihets. "

Just the Facts: "You are largely unaware of the contributions of TK to the AFC. TK was instrumental in developing the AFC's action plan and many of the fiscal components of that plan with Sasenarine Singh and others. He was a key player in that regard.

During the run up to the 2011 elections TK spent an enormous amount of time on the ground meeting with people and speaking at meeting after meeting for the AFC.

Folks who speak of TK in the light you have do not have any clue what they are talking about. Even Ramjattan has made it clear that TK is an asset to any party he is associated with. He is well recognized within the Financial and government community in the Caribbean, His employers in the US clearly see that value and this is why he is a tenured professor.

You are entitled to your opinion but the facts are the facts."