September 13,2016 Source

Following seizures of property during Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA) raids on its operations at Providence and Coomacka, the Chief Executive Officer of Baishalin yesterday appealed to government and the people to show patience and give the Chinese logging company at least three years to deliver on its commitments to value-added output and job creation.

“We need three more years. Say, up to 2019. We would appreciate if the Guyanese people and government show patience with us. They will see the returns on their investment,” Chief Executive Officer Hungbo Chu told Stabroek News in an interview at the company’s Region 10 operation yesterday, while promising to make good on all their commitments and giving access to at least 500 local jobs by the end of 2019.

“Our financing in China depends on the investment conditions here in Guyana and if they feel that they cannot be guaranteed those conditions, then we cannot move forward…the way the GRA acted yesterday, by just seizing our machinery and even personal property of staff and even the car of a friend who was visiting, that is not a good sign for our investors,” Chu added.

Company officials say that GRA personnel swarmed the operations at Providence and Coomacka last Friday and Sunday, respectively, and removed vehicles, machinery and equipment and in the process also took away items acquired separately and allegedly stole the personnel effects of staff.

“About 25 men with big guns, about five trucks and their own machine, they came and said they are the GRA. My worker, he got scared and ran to call me, saying that he thinks we are being robbed but the men… shouting is GRA and he wants me to call the police to find out if it is true,” an employee, Eddie Wang, told Stabroek News.

“They took away his phone and up to today have not given it back. They went into his room and pulled out a shotgun he has, without asking for the licence and started saying he has illegal firearm and ammunition. But that is not it. While he was outside they stole  his laptop, some other things and imagine two packs of Pall Mall cigarettes and his cage with two parrots, then doubting that no one took anything,” he added.

Some of the articles were returned when one of the Baishanlin staffers got a peek of an item in the vehicle of a subcontracted GRA unit and insisted on it being searched.

To complicate their plight, company officials say they called and visited the police for assistance in ensuring that the persons who claimed to be GRA employees were legitimate and to report the subsequent theft but they were told by the lawmen that they were instructed by “higher authorities” to not interfere in the exercise.

As a result, Baishanlin’s management is requesting an audience with those responsible at the GRA for an explanation of the seizures and how the situation can be resolved.

They are also asking the Commissioner of Police to intervene as it pertains to the alleged theft of their workers’ personal belongings by a person sub contracted by the GRA enforcement unit.

‘Scared’

Through an interpreter, Chu, who along with his father Wenze Chu, owns the controversial company, sat down with this newspaper to describe the challenges faced and the company’s plans.

Baishanlin, said to control some 1.3m hectares of local forests, established a presence here in 2006 and has been accused of making big promises to add value to forestry but failing to do so. Instead, it kept on gathering forests and increasing the export of logs all the while gaining huge fiscal concessions under the former PPP/C government.

Minister of Natural Resources Raphael Trotman had told Stabroek News that he was waiting to be advised by the Board of the Guyana Forestry Commission (GFC) on the way forward for Baishanlin.

But last week GFC signaled the yanking of Baishanlin’s forest concessions, saying that its decision to repossess came after the company failed to deliver on agreed steps to introduce investors to the Commission and having been given time to prove that it had an acceptable plan to clear an approximately $80M debt owed to the commission.

Trotman, has said too that government has to make a decision based on Guyana’s best interest rather than one “based just on a narrow view of getting at the company….”

He said if the company is interested in investing in the country then the rules would be laid out: respect our laws, respect the people, respect the contract that you sign and “if we have commitment that these can be honoured then we are prepared to entertain them.”

Although the government had said that the China-owned Longjiang had acquired 55% of Baishanlin and would be taking over the company’s operations here, new investors have been a no show.

Chu believes that Longjiang and other interested investors are scared to bring “big bucks” here as the economic and investment environment seems fickle. “They won’t come because mainly they are scared. We had an agreement reached and they made it clear that they will come to invest in Guyana only if they feel safe about their investment and signals do not show high risk…there has been many negative and malicious reports about us in the press and our loan was stopped and our investors are observing and all the signals for us now show high risk,” the CEO asserted.

He informed that while much of the “negative press” focused on the company’s failed attempts at delivering on promised value-added production here, persons are not privy to the fact that its financiers, China Development Bank, would not refinance its loans to commence Phase Two of its project, which includes the wood processing plant, because of its press image.

“We took the money to come here from China Development Bank and signed a contract with government for a project that has phases. Phase one we would set up here, export logs, make back some of the money and borrow some more for Phase Two to keep it going. You can check with the GFC records and see the export log and compare with our investment and far beyond that. Phase Two is where the plant and that would come in but before we could finish Phase One, all this reportage ‘Baishanlin did this, Baishanlin, Baishanlin,” Chu posited.

“We have invested over US$100M…in 2011, we said we got leased land from Guyana government to do the wood processing by 2014 and see what happened, we could not because our loan got cancelled. There is our agreement from 2015 that goes to 2018 but we need assurances of reduced risk and if we get assurances, we need three more years and you will see,” he added.

‘Cultural differences’

Chu said the company might have stayed silent and never made its challenges public for too long.

Asked why in the 10 years the company has been here it never came out to dispel the mounting allegations against it, he cited culture.

“For us, as foreigners, we came and didn’t understand the culture. We still don’t know how to understand the disconnect between the agencies and government and we understand the part each has to play. We have made many contributions to the Guyanese people, millions and millions. We give to charity, we give to sports we give to schools and communities etcetera but we are not a culture to go boast about what we do. We believe that if you give, you don’t have to go and boast and take a picture and say ‘I gave this or that.’ Maybe that was the error here with our culture,” Chu explained.

“Guyanese have been warm to us and we love their hospitality. Through all of this, we never think about shutting down the company totally. My father, and you have to understand our culture and how we view our dreams, he has said to me that he is determined to build a wood processing plant here to show what all the types of wood here can be used. He loves Guyana and believes that he has a dream role here. People say we rape the resources but we have been showing locals how to explore this market. We have their interest too we only want what is best for Guyana,” he added.

During 2012 to 2015, the PPP/C government granted Baishanlin concessions amounting to $1.8 billion despite its failure to fulfill obligations under its investment agreements.

Forensic auditor Anand Goolsarran, who made the finding following an audit commissioned by the APNU+AFC government, recommended that the Government of Guyana consider terminating the investment agreements with the company and recover the value of the fiscal concessions granted to it.

Many of the items for which tax waivers were granted were either unrelated to, or significantly more than the requirements for the company’s project, the report on the forensic audit and review of the operations of the Guyana Forestry Commission said.

Following the change in government last year, the APNU+AFC administration had come under severe pressure to act against Baishanlin for not delivering on value-added promises and over the manner in which it expanded its forest acreage.

An employee stands in a semi-cleared sawmill at the Baishanlin Coomacka facility.

An employee stands in a semi-cleared sawmill at Bhaishanlin Coomacka facility.

An interior view of the sawmill of the company which was once filled with machinery.

An interior view of a sawmill of the company which was once filled with machinery.

What remains of steel the company claims should not be termed duty-free machinery that GRA seized.

A shed, allegedly broken down by GRA during the process of removing items. The company says the agency has said nothing about the damage caused.

A shed allegedly broken down by GRA during the process of removing items.The Company says the agency has said nothing about the damage caused.

Removing items during the operation

Removing items during operation.

Our financing in China depends on the investment conditions here in Guyana and if they feel that they cannot be guaranteed those conditions, then we cannot move forward…the way the GRA acted yesterday, by just seizing our machinery and even personal property of staff and even the car of a friend who was visiting, that is not a good sign for our investors,”

They need to move on. They cannot continue to plunder the resources, send the loot back to China, create 500 menial jobs in 3 years and expect the government to turn a blind eye. 

Chinese will make Guyana a desert given the chance. Throw the bastards out NOW.

PNC Guyana,  Officers are encouraged to Pillage !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Chinese appeaser! You rather the Chinese pillage Guyana than that the government stops them. How much these Chinamen paying you to bend over?

Mr.T posted:

Chinese appeaser! You rather the Chinese pillage Guyana than that the government stops them. How much these Chinamen paying you to bend over?

This no excuse for the officers to enhance their expertise. The members of the government are doing a good job pillaging already.

Mr.T posted:

YOu does kack yuh Batty FREE for the entire British Parliament cause that is how you swing.  ENJOY!!!!!!!!!!!

Mr.T posted:

YOu does kack yuh Batty FREE for the entire British Parliament cause that is how you swing.  ENJOY!!!!!!!!!!!

All dis kack batty and banging dis dude tek and he still gat wan batty. Dis chap muss frikken fuh eat dhall.

Mr.T posted:

All dis kack batty and banging dis dude tek and he still gat wan batty. Dis chap muss frikken fuh eat dhall.

He cant eat Dhal, Soup and anything too soft.  It will go right through.

Whether right or wrong, one can understand police or security forces visiting a business or local residence.

However, the removal of items .. property-related or personal -- without rhyme or reason plus not recording then are unacceptable.

The report leaves the impression of gross unacceptable actions by the organization and its personnel.

The Chinese are the most crooked people around today. They ask for time but when you you want to buy anything from them, they insist that you prepay for it. It is time they honor their obligations to Guyana.

Mr.T posted:

This no excuse for the officers to enhance their expertise. The members of the government are doing a good job pillaging already.

You on both sides of the fence banna. Previous post you said this also.

" They need to move on. They cannot continue to plunder the resources, send the loot back to China, create 500 menial jobs in 3 years and expect the government to turn a blind eye. 

Chinese will make Guyana a desert given the chance. Throw the bastards out NOW."

The Chinese have unethical business practices and should be sent packing.

However, the manner in which they were packed out to go seems a bit heavy handed. It should have been handled in a more diplomatic manner.

Then again, the Chinese have no regard for diplomacy.

Save our greenheart wood now !!! Save our forests now !!!!

Mr.T posted:

" They need to move on. They cannot continue to plunder the resources, send the loot back to China, create 500 menial jobs in 3 years and expect the government to turn a blind eye. 

Chinese will make Guyana a desert given the chance. Throw the bastards out NOW."

The coCainE man is correct, so far the Chinese turn out to be parasites with only a few officials benefiting from bribes and not the general public. But this should not be only relegated to BSL, what about all those that open stores that drive locals out of business?

The Chinese have unethical business practices and should be sent packing.

However, the manner in which they were packed out to go seems a bit heavy handed. It should have been handled in a more diplomatic manner.

Then again, the Chinese have no regard for diplomacy.

Save our greenheart wood now !!! Save our forests now !!!!

Bhai is the pricy rose wood they are after,they probably already made some good dough so they become lackadaisical.

Mr.T posted:

The coCainE man is correct, so far the Chinese turn out to be parasites with only a few officials benefiting from bribes and not the general public. But this should not be only relegated to BSL,what about all those that open stores that drive locals out of business?

Well who is to be blamed ??

Mr.T posted:

The coCainE man is correct, so far the Chinese turn out to be parasites with only a few officials benefiting from bribes and not the general public. But this should not be only relegated to BSL,what about all those that open stores that drive locals out of business?

Granger of course, he is president now. He owns this problem.

Mr.T posted:

Suh them funny fellas walk free.

What they built so far, is not of any value. They are not planning any long term commitment, judging from the structures. Three years they need for what? Perhaps, in that time they cut the entire forest down. Those people stole alot of gold. Dey tink we stupid.

They need to move on. They cannot continue to plunder the resources, send the loot back to China, create 500 menial jobs in 3 years and expect the government to turn a blind eye. 

Chinese will make Guyana a desert given the chance. Throw the bastards out NOW.

Apparently D2 took over your handle. These Chinese do what the PPP allowed them to do.  Trotman gave them a chance to come good, and they squandered it.  So out they go.  Trees when cut are gone, and cannot be quickly replaced.  Better to keep them on the ground until better use can be made of this resource.

What they built so far, is not of any value. They are not planning any long term commitment, judging from the structures. Three years they need for what? Perhaps, in that time they cut the entire forest down. Those people stole alot of gold. Dey tink we stupid.

Wow you mean the PPP actually approves actions that APNU/AFC took, that the PPP should have taken a while back?

Cannot believe this!

Of course you will never admit that Granger has this problem because Jagdeo/Ramotar created it.

I cannot admit to Burnham's damage and the fact that Guyana had to dig itself out of the hole that he left.

Learn to be honest about the PPP.

Mr.T posted:

Cain: Throw the bastards out is what I said. What is wrong criticizing the PNC thieves? That's not both sides of the fence. Two different stories bai.
When the Chinese workers were building the new factory in Skeldon, they stole the dogs and cats and ate them. They killed the alligators, snakes and other wildlife and ate them. You hardly see an alligator in the canals or sideline trenches anymore.

Cain: Throw the bastards out is what I said. What is wrong criticizing the PNC thieves?

What really is your mental condition?  The PPP brought in the Chinese who have exploited Guyana.  The PNC is now throwing them out.

You don't blame the PPP. Instead you blame the PNC!.  When we complained about the Chinese 2 years ago, you all screamed that we are racists who hate the Chinese.

Well I guess since they no longer line the pockets of the PPP they must go, with the PPP accepting no responsibility for their behavior.

Cain: Throw the bastards out is what I said. What is wrong criticizing the PNC thieves?

What really is your mental condition?  The PPP brought in the Chinese who have exploited Guyana.  The PNC is now throwing them out.

You don't blame the PPP. Instead you blame the PNC!.  When we complained about the Chinese 2 years ago, you all screamed that we are racists who hate the Chinese.

Well I guess since they no longer line the pockets of the PPP they must go, with the PPP accepting no responsibility for their behavior.

All along, even during the PPP administration I advocated throwing them out. I never liked the Chinese doing business in any part of the world other than China. They have a scorched earth mentality.You have selective memory deh black KKK.

Let's not argue amongst ourselves, those who all agree that these Chinese should be dealt with. It's the traitors amongst our mids who continue to support the thieving by these Chinese that we should question. These are the same kind of people who would want Guyana to be robbed of its oil by Venezuela. There is a disturbing pattern with these lot.

Like I said before Chinese only do business to help other Chinese. Which other people you know hire and bring their own people to do even the most primary task. Just so  that they can employ their race and help their race. Throw them out now before it is too late.

They have a scorched earth mentality.You have selective memory deh black KKK.

You all Indo KKK usually preach from the same verse so even if it wasn't you it was another one of the group who screamed the PPP propaganda that criticism of the Chinese was racism.  They then proceeded to rant that Guyanese are lazy, which is why Chinese should replace them as workers and as shopkeepers.

Which other people you know hire and bring their own people to do even the most primary task. Just so  that they can employ their race and help their race. Throw them out now before it is too late.

Guyanese Indians, except for security guard jobs.

Which other people you know hire and bring their own people to do even the most primary task. Just so  that they can employ their race and help their race. Throw them out now before it is too late.

Caribj seeing that East Indians only hire you for security guard work. Then maybe you should consider the donkey export to China business.

They have a scorched earth mentality.You have selective memory deh black KKK.

You all Indo KKK usually preach from the same verse so even if it wasn't you it was another one of the group who screamed the PPP propaganda that criticism of the Chinese was racism.  They then proceeded to rant that Guyanese are lazy, which is why Chinese should replace them as workers and as shopkeepers.

Guyanese are lazy. And not only lazy, they have poor skills and work habits. The Marriott has a definite good construction and neat. Guyanese would a botch it up. Jagdeo made a wise decision with the Marriott.

Caribj seeing that East Indians only hire you for security guard work. Then maybe you should consider the donkey export to China business.

Not wanting to work for any Guyanese Indian.  You think too much of yourself.

Guyanese are lazy. And not only lazy, they have poor skills and work habits. The Marriott has a definite good construction and neat. Guyanese would a botch it up. Jagdeo made a wise decision with the Marriott.

Pegasus and Bank of GY were built using Guyanese labor.  Now are you admitting that in 2014 Guyanese were less skilled than they were in the 60s?

What does that say for the PPP after 23 years of rule?  Clearly the did such a poor job that talented and ambitious Guyanese fled.

Pegasus and Bank of GY were built using Guyanese labor.  Now are you admitting that in 2014 Guyanese were less skilled than they were in the 60s?

What does that say for the PPP after 23 years of rule?  Clearly the did such a poor job that talented and ambitious Guyanese fled.

Nice spin my man. Guyanese got lazy in the 70s and never changed whether they had a PNC, PPP or Coalition government. Even those who became blinding rich during the PPP 23 years rule.

The fleeing started in the late 60s under dicktater Burnham. During the 80s, 90s and onwards, Guyanese were reuniting with their families. Why did blacks flee in the 60s 70s and 80s when they occupied every seat in every civil service building?

PeThe fleeing started in the late 60s under dicktater Burnham. During the 80s, 90s and onwards, Guyanese were reuniting with their families. Why did blacks flee in the 60s 70s and 80s when they occupied every seat in every civil service building?

People are people. 

Saw a documentary on Nat King Cole last night. That man never bad mouthed White People for some of the despicable things they said and done to him. And even though they listened and danced to his music. And paid for his performances.

I got the feeling he was not an insecure person. He din fight up. Quietly, I believe he knew they were just foolish for their behavior. 

Strikingly, like the man knew in the end there is a Comfort for all mankind where brotherly love prevails. Not heaven. But in Paradise.

Certainly, the world does not afford its inhabitants that state of mind.

We are confused and divided by so many intangible values.

Caribj should hurry up and reach his Philadelphia state of mind.  

There are a couple of observations here. It is not that Guyanese are lazy. Rather it is that the Chinese labor have been doing this type of construction throughout the world and have an efficiency and rythm to their work that only comes through experience. Notice the monstrosity of the Durban park stands that Granger built (by black Guyanese) for the 50th was a disgrace as evidenced by poor workmanship.Joints were not flush and subpar work was praised by Granger, and all this was revealed by a pnc supporter. 

Nice spin my man. Guyanese got lazy in the 70s and never changed whether they had a PNC, PPP or Coalition government. Even those who became blinding rich during the PPP 23 years rule.

And yet Guyanese are well regarded outside of Guyana.  I think that its the fault of our atrocious governments which have forced so many to flee Guyana.

 Why did blacks flee in the 60s 70s and 80s when they occupied every seat in every civil service building?

Were you not so blinded by your racism you would have seen that I have stated that Burnham destroyed black people.  Talented blacks fled as Burnham rewarded the incompetent simply because they were party members.

Now why has GuySICKO swallowed US$900 million when we look at its indebtedness and the massive bailouts that it has received, and yet the day after the election GuySICKO screamed that they couldn't meet payroll.

I am honest. You are a fraud.

Saw a documentary on Nat King Cole last night. That man never bad mouthed White People for some of the despicable things they said and done to him.

I guess if MLK didn't speak out against racism the immigration laws would have remained racist and you wouldn't have been able to flee Burnham.

Note that the civil rights movement had global impacts so don't think that living in Canada excuses you from this fact.  Canada used to have a blatantly racist immigration policy.  Blacks and Asians were SPECIFICALLY barred!