Ban only covers vulgar Kartel songs – NCN explains
By STABROEK STAFF | LOCAL | THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 22, 2011

The National Communications Network (NCN) has not instituted a total ban on Vybz Kartel’s music but is in the process of streamlining a policy it has always had in relation to the airing of music, the station’s programme manager Martin Goolsarran says. In a release sent yesterday, Goolsarran explained that NCN has “a long standing policy of not airing music that is of bad taste, promotes violence, offensive to any group, religion etc”. According to him, the issue came up during a recent meeting where it was agreed that there be increased vigilance in monitoring of music and the need for zero tolerance on lewd and vulgar ones. “In this scenario, the music (lyrics) of Vybz Kartel was discussed.”

Vybz Kartel

Goolsarran said it was unfortunate that the message was conveyed that NCN had decided to institute a total ban on Vybz Kartel. “I wish to clarify that this is not so, as we were merely seeking to have the music policy confirmed with,” he said. “It is not our intention to place a total ban on an artiste, but we reserve the right to deny air play to any piece of music or creation that violates the policy,” Goolsarran said.

The AFC will enforce a policy of regulating content on State radio and television that will be across the board, and not selective. In this case, the Gov't is being vindictive to Vybz Kartel because he did not come to the Stadium.
This is a dumb policy by the govt and I will tell you why, do they think the revenue from Guyana record or music sales will hurt Vybz?

Some how ah doan think so. This is just gonna give Guyana more unwanted negative publicity.

These chaps love to ban. People stealing guysuco punt ban scrap, people playing loud music in minibus ban music in minibus, tint is a problem on cars ban tint, cannot control passport issuance through tigher controls ban issuing passpote out of GT.

Can we find some people who can think? His excellency really needs to step in and slap some sense into these ramotar implants.
J
Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:
The AFC will enforce a policy of regulating content on State radio and television that will be across the board, and not selective. In this case, the Gov't is being vindictive to Vybz Kartel because he did not come to the Stadium.

Wait you're an expert on dancehall music now too Gerhard? Do you know anything about this guy's music? Do you know that this guy is an affront to people of African ancestry? Do you know that this guy urges his teen listeners to change the complexion of their skin? Do you know that he glorifies under age sex? Do you know that this guy is banned from the US, UK, CANADA and most other Caribbean countries?
Do you know that this guy doesn't believe in God? Do you know he glorifies devil worshiping?

Geez banna take that anti-PPP dick out your mouth........... headbanging
Originally posted by The Judge:

Wait you're an expert on dancehall music now too Gerhard? Do you know anything about this guy's music? Do you know that this guy is an affront to people of African ancestry? Do you know that this guy urges his teen listeners to change the complexion of their skin? Do you know that he glorifies under age sex? Do you know that this guy is banned from the US, UK, CANADA and most other Caribbean countries?
Do you know that this guy doesn't believe in God? Do you know he glorifies devil worshiping?

Geez banna take that anti-PPP dick out your mouth........... headbanging
Ahhh, Judge...what about Mavado? Come now, let's hear...please...waiting...
Ok Judge, time's up.

Let me help you:

Mavado controversy

However, Mavado’s violent and homophobic lyrics were creating trouble for the Gully God. He fended off police investigations and accusations in spring of 2008 amd was banned from Guyana, St Vincent, and the Grenadines. Stop Murder Music, a LGBT rights advocacy group began campaigning against at least 3 of Mavado’s homophobic dancehall tracks and asking him to publicly renounce his hateful messages. A UK performance was cancelled when British police received “a credible security threat,” and he was denied entry to the United States when he arrived to perform in New York City for a performance with Jay-Z, resulting in the cancellation of several shows. After a Zurich show was cancelled, Mavado’s European promoter stated that “Mavado have no homophobic lyrics in his songs. If you listen to his new album you will see that none of his song says to hurt gay people.” However, this claim is contradicted by assertions that some of the exclusive mixtape versions of his songs (published for sound systems) have new, anti-gay lyrics.

March 26, 2011: Shots fired at Ocho Rios concert

TEXT FROM ARTICLE: The March of Three Kings concert headlined by Mavado, Elephant Man and Wayne Marshall was marred by gunfire which caused a stampede from Margaritaville in Ocho Rios on Saturday night . "A music and love wi seh," shouted Mavado in the parking lot at around 4.35 am to the shaken departing crowd. Three minutes earlier three gunshots rang from just outside the venue. It resulted in scores of patrons taking cover behind trees, cars and bodies. This was preceded by shouts of "fight, fight, gun!". In total the crowd sought cover three times in an attempt to exit the parking lot. It wasn't immediately clear who fired the shots. Prior to the stampede, the crowd's initial focus was on a bleeding man, possibly intoxicated, of unsound mind, or both, lying in the parking lot. "Him get hit by a car," stated one patron. Unresponsive calls to him resulted in the thickening of the crowd and honking horns. Then came the shots. During the concert, the sound selectors, Elephant Man and Mavado all voiced expressions of violence as a means to rev-up the thick crowd. The favourite target of the selectors and Elephant Man were gays whilst Mavado lyrically attacked his nameless enemies. Wayne Marshall kept his set clean. "We nah kill no fish. We just saying we nah switch non at all," he stated in reference to gays.

Dancehall and Gun Violence

Dancehall reggae has also been criticized for lyrics which some say promote gun violence and glorify street life, similar to complaints made about American hip-hop music. Artists such as Vybz Kartel and rival Mavado are known for their raw, edgy lyrics that have struck a chord with many youth. Mavado has consistently been at the top of reggae charts in recent years with songs like “Money Changer” and “Top Shotta Nah Miss”. A “top shotta” is slang for a big-time gangster.

Those opposed to the music feel that the lyrics are influencing youth towards a life of violence and disrespect for authority. On the other hand, artists say that they are exercising freedom of expression and that they are writing songs that reflect real life for many poor, urban young people.

Again, the Broadcasting Commission’s decision has sparked serious debate about whether a government should be allowed to regulate culture. Fans have sounded off on blogs and message boards, with some saying that Jamaica is on its way to being a Communist country. Both Mavado and Vybz Kartel have published songs in direct protest of the Commission’s ban.

Gerhard this is not your area so i won't wanna get into a Vybz Kartel v/s Mavado exchange with you.

Mavado has not done a violent tune in almost two years. He admitted that those songs were counter-productive to his career and his career has evolved since his change. He managed to get his U.S Visa back and he was also the first out of the lot that was banned to do so.

I hate when you stuck-up folks use this music to further your anti-government agenda. As i said earlier this is not your field so i don't try to defend Vybz Kartel or you'll be embarrassed
SHOULDN'T THIS DUDE BE BANNED?

Did I say he shouldn't be?

You are so lost in your hatred Judge, that you refuse to make sense in what I am saying.

Let me repeat it for you: The AFC will enforce a policy of regulating content on State radio and television that will be across the board, and not selective. In this case, the Gov't is being vindictive to Vybz Kartel because he did not come to the Stadium.

I presume you understand what the word selective means, and the term across the board? Yes? The what we are saying is that we will examine the works of all artistes, including Vybz. You on the other hand have ignored Mavado. Why is that, Judge?

In the meantime, I will invite admin to examine your posts above.

Gerhard this is not your area so i won't wanna get into a Vybz Kartel v/s Mavado exchange with you.

Mavado has not done a violent tune in almost two years. He admitted that those songs were counter-productive to his career and his career has evolved since his change. He managed to get his U.S Visa back and he was also the first out of the lot that was banned to do so.

I hate when you stuck-up folks use this music to further your anti-government agenda. As i said earlier this is not your field so i don't try to defend Vybz Kartel or you'll be embarrassed

Now, Judge, the million dollar question...Why was Vybz Kartel invited to perform in Guyana?

Who was sleeping on the job? Was it you Judge, and that's why you are so worked up - panties all in a bunch? Yes?
Originally posted by albert:
Gerhard.....is that type of music you are supportive of????
albert, wasn't it Hits and Jamz, under the auspices of the PPP, that invited him? Yes? No?

I actually like some of Mavado's work, please see: http://guyanafriends.com/eve/f...604972/m/28620075051

Again, your hatred blinds you - where in this thread am I seeking to defend Vybz Kartel? Where, Judge?

Now, Judge, the million dollar question...Why was Vybz Kartel invited to perform in Guyana?

Who was sleeping on the job? Was it you Judge, and that's why you are so worked up - panties all in a bunch? Yes?

That's a question for you. My problem is that YOU shouldn't defend Vybz Kartel's band because what ever it came about as a result of it was long over due.

Further the artiste you're comparing Kartel with has gained international acceptance and has changed his lyrics.

You well-to-do people are such hypocrites
AND THIS WAS BY A RADIO STATION IN THE US

Bleaching artiste Vybz Kartel banned from US radio for Black History Month

BASSETERRE, St. Kitts – A popular New York radio station, Irie Jam Radio, has placed a temporary ban on music from Jamaican dancehall artiste Vybz Kartel for Black History Month because of his newly-found bleaching habit.

Traditionally, Black History Month is celebrated in February in many parts of the world and the banning of Kartel’s music was initiated by Dub Master Chris, one of the radio stations’ disc jockeys.

According to Chris, in a recent interview with Jamaica-Star, “Black History Month is a big deal and we as a people should take every opportunity to celebrate our heritage. I feel if I continue to play Vybz Kartel, an artiste who is now very much known for bleaching his skin, it simply sends the wrong message to my young impressionable listeners.”

He went on to say, “I strongly believe bleaching is wrong, wrong, wrong! It is a disgrace. It’s a slap in the face of our heritage, our ancestors and our God. This definitely sends the wrong message to children. I think it leads them to believe that somehow, if they are dark complexion something is wrong with that. It erodes the concept that black is beautiful.”

Chris, who has 16 years of experience as a radio personality, said he has the full support of the Irie Jam Radio Station’s management and team. He said although he has been playing Vybz Kartel’s music since the artiste’s debut in the 90s, he has made the decision to ban his songs because of the power and influence the singer wheels.

Vybz Kartel started receiving added attention and lots of scrutiny late last year, not for his music but for the visible lightening of his skin complexion by using cake soap.

The artiste even went as far as to release his own bleaching cake soap was heard in several interviews saying he loves being controversial and has only bleached his skin for the fun of it as well as to enhance his tattoos.

He has been receiving quite a lot of criticism from many of his dancehall peers, especially Bounty Killer, as they are known to be rivals for several years. Bounty Killer said in a recent interview that the results of Vybz Kartel’s bleaching were caused from using more than just cake soap, because his mother (Bounty Killer’s) has been washing with cake soap for many years and it has never done anything to her hands.
Wednesday, 21 September 2011 21:59
By Diva Nikkiz

Guyana Says No More Vybz Kartel!!!

GEORGETOWN, Guyana (AP) — The state-owned radio network in Guyana says a Jamaican dancehall artist Vybz Kartel has been banned from the airwaves of the South American country because of obscene lyrics.

National Communications Network spokesman Martin Goolsarran says the music of Vybz Kartel was banned because it brings "nothing positive" to the entertainment industry. He said Wednesday that the decision came after a week of internal debate and said they are reviewing the lyrics of other musicians and could ban them as well.

This is the first time that the government has taken such action against a specific artist. Vybz Kartel angered local music promoters and the Tourism Ministry last month when he failed to show up at a government-supported summer music festival.

Gerhard Vybz Kartel is banned from almost everywhere.....even in the Jamaican parish of St Catherine
You are not answering the million dollar question - Why was he invited to Guyana?
Jamaica Gleaner

Published: Wednesday | March 16, 2011

Kartel's social responsibility

THE EDITOR, Sir:

In a recent interview on CVM TV's 'Onstage' production aired March 12, popular dancehall artiste Adidja Palmer, aka Vybz Kartel, indicated that he has no social responsibility to the people of Jamaica.

What is social responsibility? Social responsibility can be viewed as the individual's ethical response to the society from which he/she benefits, and how the society, as a whole, benefits from that which he/she produces. With this in mind, I find it difficult to comprehend how an obviously intelligent and talented individual such as Vybz Kartel could conclude that he has no responsibility to the society.

In so far as his artistic expression impacts the society, especially the youth, I would suggest to him that he is socially responsible. While the burden remains that of parents to raise their children, Mr Palmer's utterance conveys a callous dismissal of the very same members of society who endorse his music.

He conveniently recognises the impact his artistic expressions have in one regard, while methodically exploiting his 'brand', a direct offspring of his artistic expression, by way of his entrepreneurial endeavours in another, namely his soon-to-be-available 'skin-toning agent and shoe line', as well as his alcoholic beverage which is already on the market.

Controversial as he may be, Vybz Kartel possesses qualities that should be endeared by everyone who has the appetite for his music. Unfortunately, I fear that many of the proponents of his artistic expression, especially the youth, may not be attuned to the finer side of his aura, as exuded in his intellect and business acumen.

Should this be the case, Mr Palmer (as I suspect), I encourage you to revisit your position. You need to be socially responsible, which should become even more apparent in light of your new entrepreneurial thrust.

I am, etc.,

FABIAN E. SANCHEZ

Fabechez@gmail.com
Did death threats cause Kartel’s no-show?
DECEMBER 15, 2009 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER LETTERS

Dear Editor,

Reports are that Gaza President, Vybz Kartel was a no show at an event for which he and members of his Portmore Empire were booked for on Saturday (12-12-09).

According to a YardFlex source based in Guyana, Vybz Kartel and The Portmore Empire were booked for a show in the territory on 12th December. However, members of the Empire arrived in Guyana, without their leader, Vybz Kartel. Word around is that Di Teacha missed the flight with the other Empire artistes because of a prior commitment in Jamaica and was scheduled to come on a later flight. However the artiste never arrived. The show had to be cancelled at the last minute leaving many at a loss and leaving thousands disappointed.

It is rumoured that Kartel received threats on his life, if he came to Guyana to perform, so he refused to board any flights out of Jamaica. Up to late Saturday, it is alleged that arrangements were being made for a special charter flight with police escort to fly the artiste directly from Jamaica into Guyana, as he requested, since receiving the threats. But he still bailed at the last minute.

The promoters are now calculating their huge loss, as the event had to be called off since the headline act whom many had wanted to see was a no-show. Many have lost major funds due to these unforeseen circumstances and many have been left disappointed. It was only last month that Vybz Kartel reportedly missed two flights to a show in another Caribbean island, resulting in the promoter having to send a private jet for him on the night of the event, at an additional cost of US$8,000.

Nazim Hussain

You are not answering the million dollar question - Why was he invited to Guyana?

What does that have to do with the discussion?
Wasn't it for Jamzone?
Judge, you are not answering the million dollar question - Why was Vybz Kartel invited to Guyana?

Wasn't it for Jamzone?
Judge, you are not answering the million dollar question - Why was Vybz Kartel invited to Guyana?

Wasn't it for Jamzone?
Judge, do you take the readers of GNI for fools? Even if you are trying to separate Jamzone from the Gov't, which even a school child can tell you is nonsense, why did you, yes you Judge, not raise an objection to when Vybz Kartel was advertised in Guyana? Further, why did Mr Goolsarran not say anything then? Was he sleeping at the wheel, just like you Judge? Yes?
By Diva Nikkiz

GEORGETOWN, Guyana (AP) — The state-owned radio network in Guyana says a Jamaican dancehall artist Vybz Kartel has been banned from the airwaves of the South American country because of obscene lyrics.

National Communications Network spokesman Martin Goolsarran says the music of Vybz Kartel was banned because it brings "nothing positive" to the entertainment industry. He said Wednesday that the decision came after a week of internal debate and said they are reviewing the lyrics of other musicians and could ban them as well.

This is the first time that the government has taken such action against a specific artist. Vybz Kartel angered local music promoters and the Tourism Ministry last month when he failed to show up at a government-supported summer music festival.

Gerhard stop exposing your stupidity as DJ Nikki Z is not an authentic news source and Vybz Kartel wasn't the only Jamaican artiste whose music was banned from playing on the local airwaves so too was Mavados.

TEXT FROM ARTICLE: The March of Three Kings concert headlined by Mavado, Elephant Man and Wayne Marshall was marred by gunfire which caused a stampede from Margaritaville in Ocho Rios on Saturday night . "A music and love wi seh," shouted Mavado in the parking lot at around 4.35 am to the shaken departing crowd. Three minutes earlier three gunshots rang from just outside the venue. It resulted in scores of patrons taking cover behind trees, cars and bodies. This was preceded by shouts of "fight, fight, gun!". In total the crowd sought cover three times in an attempt to exit the parking lot. It wasn't immediately clear who fired the shots. Prior to the stampede, the crowd's initial focus was on a bleeding man, possibly intoxicated, of unsound mind, or both, lying in the parking lot. "Him get hit by a car," stated one patron. Unresponsive calls to him resulted in the thickening of the crowd and honking horns. Then came the shots. During the concert, the sound selectors, Elephant Man and Mavado all voiced expressions of violence as a means to rev-up the thick crowd. The favourite target of the selectors and Elephant Man were gays whilst Mavado lyrically attacked his nameless enemies. Wayne Marshall kept his set clean. "We nah kill no fish. We just saying we nah switch non at all," he stated in reference to gays.

This happened before Mavado came to Guyana. Please share your thoughts with us.
By Diva Nikkiz

Gerhard stop exposing your stupidity as DJ Nikki Z is not an authentic news source and Vybz Kartel wasn't the only Jamaican artiste whose music was banned from playing on the local airwaves so too was Mavados.

Again your hatred blinds you. The news source is AP - the Associated Press. Yes?
Still waiting:

Wasn't it for Jamzone?
Judge, do you take the readers of GNI for fools? Even if you are trying to separate Jamzone from the Gov't, which even a school child can tell you is nonsense, why did you, yes you Judge, not raise an objection to when Vybz Kartel was advertised in Guyana? Further, why did Mr Goolsarran not say anything then? Was he sleeping at the wheel, just like you Judge? Yes?
Waiting on you here too:

Gerhard everybody i have spoken to told me you're a good fella, even many of them that you speak disparagingly of on GNI. Again i ask that you not prolong with this topic since you know very little about it. The Jamzone organizers are human beings and they too have feelings and families for you to link NCN's ban to the promoters' ties to the government is not a nice thing to do given that you cannot establish that as a fact. The government offers sponsorship to JAMZONE because it is a tourism geared event in the middle of the summer. It's sponsorship is in the form of tax breaks. Kerwin and Rawle also enjoy a healthy relationship with the corporate society and as such they are able to receive plenty of corporate support.

Gerhard you too have relatives and friends and i'm sure you wouldn't like to be disparaged in this way or others to disparage them in such a way. The funny thing about you is that when ever things get out of hand you always play the victim

Gerhard is soulrebel.org an authentic news source or a music blog?

Gerhard everybody i have spoken to told me you're a good fella, even many of them that you speak disparagingly of on GNI. Again i ask that you not prolong with this topic since you know very little about it. The Jamzone organizers are human beings and they too have feelings and families for you to link NCN's ban to the promoters' ties to the government is not a nice thing to do given that you cannot establish that as a fact. The government offers sponsorship to JAMZONE because it is a tourism geared event in the middle of the summer. It's sponsorship is in the form of tax breaks. Kerwin and Rawle also enjoy a healthy relationship with the corporate society and as such they are able to receive plenty of corporate support.

Gerhard you too have relatives and friends and i'm sure you wouldn't like to be disparaged in this way or others to disparage them in such a way. The funny thing about you is that when ever things get out of hand you always play the victim

My questions to you remain, Judge. You are the one who engaged in this tirade, including telling me I have a dick in my mouth. Yes?

Now all I have said above is not a personal attack on anyone. So, please just answer my questions. And if you were asleep at the wheel, just say so. It happens to the best of us sometimes too.

Gerhard is soulrebel.org an authentic news source or a music blog?
Did the incident happen or not?

And here is the original source: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com...596970#ixzz1I2I1qrDA

Again, if you were not so caught up in hatred, you'd take your time in this here little debate. Why are you so anxious to discredit and judge me, Judge? Do you know what I listen to?
Did the incident happen or not?

How would i know you're not quoting from the Jamaica Gleaner or Jamaica Observer....I could point you to a whole host of incorrect information published by blogs against international and regional artistes that have turned out to be false

My questions to you remain, Judge. You are the one who engaged in this tirade, including telling me I have a dick in my mouth. Yes?

Now all I have said above is not a personal attack on anyone. So, please just answer my questions. And if you were asleep at the wheel, just say so. It happens to the best of us sometimes too.

Apparently you were alseep cuz i answered you long time