Belgian police seize 11.5 tons of cocaine; two Guyanese scrap metal shippers arrested

Belgian prosecutors have dealt a new blow to a recently disbanded drug gang led by a former Belgian police chief after announcing the largest-ever overseas drug bust “in the world”, the Brussels Times reported Thursday.

Head of Guyana’s Customs Anti-Narcotics Unit , James Singh said two shippers “heard we were looking for them and they came in” short;y after 3:30 Pm voluntarily. He said statements would be taken from them but already investigators in Guyana have concluded that the cocaine was transshipped to another vessel.  Mr. Singh said statements would be taken from the shippers as part of an overall probe. “We have the shippers in custody… They are saying they do not know,” he said.

Counternarcotics prosecutors said they had tracked the transatlantic journey of 11.5-tons of cocaine from Guyana, on the northeastern coast of South America, and seized it upon its arrival at the Port of Antwerp, the Brussels Times reported.

The catch is “the largest overseas drug bust ever, worldwide,” federal prosecutors told Belgian media, estimating the street value of the drug load at €900 million.

The massive load of cocaine left a port in Guyana on late October and prosecutors were able to track following the dismantlement of a drug trafficking gang led by a former Belgian counternarcotics chief which revealed the existence of tight-knit links between criminal gangs and counternarcotics and law enforcement officials.

Three police officers, a port manager and a lawyer were among some 20 other criminals arrested as part of the operation targeting the “well-structured” criminal organisation suspected of orchestrating large and “regular” drug shipments from South America to Belgium.

The record-breaking shipment was expected by law enforcement officials as it is suspected it left the port of Guyana after the drug gang’s arrest in Belgium, with drug gangs unable to intercept it once at sea, De Standaard reports.

It was disguised as scrap metal and placed inside a steel container which was in turn packed into a sea container and loaded into a transatlantic vessel.

The dismantlement of the drug gang in late September led to the arrest and indictment of 22 people, with three people still in the Netherlands awaiting extradition.

Following the record-breaking drug bust on Wednesday, three others were arrested, including one person who is facing extradition to Belgium from the Netherlands.

@Mars posted:

PPP back in business

Nothing new when the same people are back in government. New helicopters on the backs of taxpayers and look out for more mansions. While ordinary PPP voters are ignored and thrown to the dogs.   

The PNC is still managing their drug trade.  There were only afro_Guyanese working at the port of exit. That means the PNC is still in business. Beware a bunch of ass.holes will attempt to blame the PPP and try to exonerate the PNC

@Mr.T posted:

The PPP trying  to catch up for lost time. This is a massive hit. I expect a few revenge executions.

Nice try Mr. T, but the PPP is quite busy building bridges, roads, and extensive land development for new housing schemes.

Have you seen all the big houses in the sugar estates housing schemes?

Have you seen how beautiful they are? Have you seen the number of new businesses all over the country?

The PPP is busy fixing all the things the coalition neglected and destroyed.

The PNC Regional government of Region 4 is useless.   

@Ramakant-P posted:

Get real!

The PPP is in bed with the drug lords.  You must know that....this has been happening since Cheddi's death.  Hoyte had managed to control the drug trade but it exploded under the PPP.  If you don't know all this you must be chupid.

@cain posted:

Yall PPP people always said PNC doan know how fo build a toilet so how derass they know how fo build submarine? Get real!

Who said anything about building a submarine?  What shit are you talking about?

@cain posted:

Rama you can pretend to forget the two subs found during PPP in govt, is aright. Take my advice..Sanatogen.

Like most in the PPP, Rama has selected amnesia about the PPP submarines. He might be too far gone  for Sanatogen.

Also, he might believe no friendship exist between Roger Khan, Ed Ahmed and the Jagbat. When they are all crooked worse dan a Trench-Ova snake.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Are you nuts?

Dunno where or how you came up with this but maybe I am but I'm sure as heck not a con artist as you so proudly stated earlier.

So, you forgot about the sub found in Guyana on Aug 14, 2014, correct?

Scrap metal shipment transited Guadeloupe before arriving cocaine-laden in Belgium; Guyanese shipper wanted

The shipment of scrap metal, in which 11.5 tonnes of cocaine were discovered stashed on arrival  in Belgium, had transited the French Overseas Department of Guadeloupe, the Head of  Guyana’s Customs Anti-Narcotics Unit (CANU) James Singh said Friday night.

He said the broker has been arrested and investigators are looking for the shipper – Marlon Primo- who is the brother of well-known Guyanese singer, Jomo “Rubber Waist” Primo

He said investigators were trying to ascertain whether the shipping container had on the same seals that they left Guyana with.

Mr. Singh said the containers left Guyana on September 25, were discharged in transit at Pointe-a-Pitre, Guadeloupe on September 28 where they remained until  October 3 when they left on a vessel direct to Zeebrugge in Belgium where they arrived on 15 October.

The CANU Chief said the container was scanned in Guyana before leaving aboard a cargo vessel, but he has not yet seen the images.

Earlier Friday, Vice President Bharrat Jagdeo cast doubt on whether the container  was inspector and he also questioned the departure date  as reported by Belgian authorities. He said authorities would rope in all the persons involved in this drug bust. “We are glad that it’s intercepted and we have to now go after all those people; go back and find all of those people who are involved – including from what I have been told- but I don’t know if its factual- because I got this report that the container might have been flagged for inspection – don’t hold me this- and it was never inspected so it seems  there was heavy local involvement and we intend to get to the bottom of it,” he said.

Mr. Jagdeo said United States (US) Ambassador Sarah-Ann Lynch had raised concerns with him that the scanners at Port Georgetown had not been working. Since then, he said two have been installed and there is heightened cooperation between Guyanese authorities and the US Drug Enforcement Administration. “We are working closely with the DEA to ensure that any transshipment of drugs through Guyana, any transshipment – and building the capability for doing that- any transshipment we want to catch,” he said.

Belgian authorities said they have broken up a major drugs trafficking gang led by a former Belgian counternarcotics chief which revealed the existence of tight-knit links between criminal gangs and counternarcotics and law enforcement officials.

Three police officers, a port manager and a lawyer were among some 20 other criminals arrested as part of the operation targeting the “well-structured” criminal organisation suspected of orchestrating large and “regular” drug shipments from South America to Belgium.

Mr. Jagdeo said United States (US) Ambassador Sarah-Ann Lynch had raised concerns with him that the scanners at Port Georgetown had not been working. Since then, he said two have been installed and there is heightened cooperation between Guyanese authorities and the US Drug Enforcement Administration.

“We are working closely with the DEA to ensure that any transshipment of drugs through Guyana, any transshipment – and building the capability for doing that- any transshipment we want to catch,” he said.

Some got to be having brain deficiency to believe the bullcrap spewed by the front man tugging on Sarah -Ann Lynch skirt. From since 1992 Guyana became the drug transshipment capital of South America.

CANU still seeking shipper for questioning after Belgium scrap metal cocaine bust

November 8 ,2020

Wanted for questioning: Marlon Primo

Four persons, including a broker, are currently being questioned by the Customs Anti-Narcotics Unit (CANU) as part of its probe of the recent discovery of a huge quantity of cocaine concealed in a shipment of scrap metal that was intercepted in Belgium, while the shipper is still being sought.

CANU Head James Singh yesterday told Sunday Stabroek that apart from the broker, others who have been held for questioning include officials from Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA).

Singh said the suspected shipper of the container, Marlon Primo, is also wanted for questioning. To date, he has not been located.

According to Singh, if safety is a concern for Primo, CANU is willing to offer him protection.

Primo is the proprietor of a company under whose name the container was shipped. The company is located on the East Coast of Demerara.

Local authorities are assisting Belgium and the United States (US) Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) with the investigation.

Last week, law enforcement officials in Belgium announced that they were probing the discovery of 11.5 tonnes of cocaine that they found in the container of scrap metal shipped from Guyana.

The shipment, which is being describe as “the largest overseas drug bust ever, worldwide,” was seized upon its arrival at the Port of Antwerp. It carries an estimated street value of 900 million Euros.

The Brussels Times had reported counter-narcotics prosecutors as saying that they tracked the transatlantic journey of the cocaine from Guyana.

“The massive load of cocaine left a port in Guyana on late October and prosecutors were able to track (it) following the dismantlement of a drug trafficking gang led by a former Belgian counternarcotics chief which revealed the existence of tight-knit links between criminal gangs and counternarcotics and law enforcement officials,” the report explained.

The Belgian newspaper further said that law enforcement officers were expecting the “record-breaking” shipment since it is suspected it left the port of Guyana after the drug gang’s arrest in Belgium.

“Three police officers, a port manager and a lawyer were among twenty others who were arrested as part of the operation which targeted the “well-structured” criminal organisation suspected of orchestrating large and “regular” drug shipments from South America to Belgium,” the report noted.

The dismantlement of the drug gang in late September, the Brussels Times said, had led to the arrest and indictment of 22 persons, three of whom are still in the Netherlands awaiting extradition. “Following the record-breaking drug bust on Wednesday, three others were arrested, including one person who is facing extradition to Belgium from the Netherlands,” the report added.

“Not functioning”

The discovery of the shipment has once again raised questioning about the processing of the containers before they depart Guyana.

Questioned about the matter on Friday, Vice President Bharrat Jagdeo during a press conference told reporters that the government is engaging all the relevant agencies in an effort to “get to the bottom” of the matter.

“We have met with all of the agencies including the US and the DEA. We are working closely with them… Any transshipment, we want to catch,” he said.

According to Jagdeo, a number of assessments were done to date, one of which revealed that the scanners at the wharf hasn’t been functioning for a “long” time.

Jagdeo further stated that the interception raises concerns about how many similar shipments might have passed through the ports without being unearthed.

“…We don’t know how many other shipments went through and were never intercepted but we are glad that it’s intercepted and we have to now go after all those people. Go back and find all of those people who were involved,” he explained.

Jagdeo said it appears as though there was a “heavy” local involvement in the matter. “…We intend to get to the bottom of it,” he added.

Scanned images of suspected cocaine container were tampered with -sources

The packets of cocaine (Belgian Police photo)

The container which was suspected to have had 11.5 tonnes of cocaine amid scrap metal was scanned at a city port of exit but it appears that the images were altered or deleted, sources close to the investigation say.

Attempts are being made to retrieve the images.

And with a number of Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA) employees and the driver of the container truck in custody up to yesterday, local law enforcement officers continue to search  for the shipper Marlon Primo.

“They have some GRA people in custody for questioning and they are looking for this Primo man. I think they picked up the driver of the rig which brought in the containers. There seems to be a particular problem with the proper scanning and sealing of this set of containers, which is the GRA angle, but it [the investigation] is ongoing,” Minister of Home Affairs Robeson Benn told Stabroek News yesterday when contacted.

Sources close to the investigation told this newspaper that the scanner was working at the time the container in question was imaged and continues to work but it seems someone manually altered or deleted the images.

GRA, the source said, has informed that the scanner was working and that agency is also conducting its own internal investigation to determine why there were no images in the system for the scrap iron shipment although it was logged.

When contacted by this newspaper yesterday, GRA Commissioner-General Godfrey Statia would only say, “The scanner did not stop working. The containers were scanned, and the images are being restored for evaluation by the experts.”

The intercepted shipment has once again raised questions about the processing of the containers before they depart Guyana.

Questioned about the matter on Friday, Vice President Bharrat Jagdeo during a press conference told reporters that the government is engaging all the relevant agencies in an effort to “get to the bottom” of the matter.

He said that he has heard but had not verified and should not be held to the position, that the container had been “flagged for inspection but it was never inspected”. According to Jagdeo, container scanners were not working and the Chinese government had donated two.

“We have met with all of the agencies including the US and the DEA (US Drug Enforcement Administration). We are working closely with them… Any transshipment, we want to catch,” he said.

Local authorities are assisting Belgium and the US DEA with the investigation. If this large quantity of cocaine was transshipped via Guyana and breached several checks it would raise serious questions about the quality of the anti-narcotics fight.

Last week, law enforcement officials in Belgium announced that they were probing the discovery of 11.5 tonnes of cocaine in the container of scrap metal shipped from Guyana.

The shipment, which is being described as “the largest overseas drug bust ever, worldwide,” was seized upon its arrival at the Port of Antwerp. It carries an estimated street value of 900 million Euros.

The Brussels Times had reported counter-narcotics prosecutors as saying that they tracked the transatlantic journey of the cocaine from Guyana.

“The massive load of cocaine left a port in Guyana in late October and prosecutors were able to track (it) following the dismantlement of a drug trafficking gang led by a former Belgian counternarcotics chief which revealed the existence of tight-knit links between criminal gangs and counternarcotics and law enforcement officials,” the report explained.

The Belgian newspaper further said that law enforcement officers were expecting the “record-breaking” shipment since it is suspected it left the port of Guyana after the drug gang’s arrest in Belgium.

“Three police officers, a port manager and a lawyer were among twenty others who were arrested as part of the operation which targeted the “well-structured” criminal organisation suspected of orchestrating large and “regular” drug shipments from South America to Belgium,” the report noted.

The dismantlement of the drug gang in late September, the Brussels Times said, had led to the arrest and indictment of 22 persons, three of whom are still in the Netherlands awaiting extradition. “Following the record-breaking drug bust on Wednesday, three others were arrested, including one person who is facing extradition to Belgium from the Netherlands,” the report added. In August, authorities in the German port city of Hamburg found over €300 million worth of cocaine in a cargo ship container from Guyana containing rice. The cocaine which weighed 1.5 tons was found in a freight container. It is believed that the drug was inserted in the Dominican Republic where the vessel stopped before the cargo was taken to Hamburg.

@Mars posted:

PPP back in business

It smells like PNC to me.  You should watch your mannerisms. Answer this question?  When were the drugs loaded into the containers and who was present when they did it?  How can anyone not see this? They could use you like a tracking dog.

@Ramakant-P posted:

It smells like PNC to me.  You should watch your mannerisms. Answer this question?  When were the drugs loaded into the containers and who was present when they did it?  How can anyone not see this? They could use you like a tracking dog.

like you missed yuh morning meds. me na answer stupid questions. Bhaiji yuh prappa chupid.

@Totaram posted:

The PPP is in bed with the drug lords.  You must know that....this has been happening since Cheddi's death.  Hoyte had managed to control the drug trade. but it exploded when the PNC lost power.

Bullshit. You are in bed with the PNC criminals.  Hoyte controlled the Drug trade.  They hired only blacks to run drugs.  The PNC used drugs and violence against Indians to destabilize the country.  This is the organization that you support. You must be proud of yourself to try to break the back of your fellow Indo_guyanese.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Rama, you just revealed your real problem and MUST get some help.

You smelling the PNC wrong end. 

@Ramakant-P posted:

Bullshit. You are in bed with the PNC criminals.  Hoyte controlled the Drug trade.  They hired only blacks to run drugs.  The PNC used drugs and violence against Indians to destabilize the country.  This is the organization that you support. You must be proud of yourself to try to break the back of your fellow Indo_guyanese.

Chupidness na gat cure. 

Police issue wanted bulletin for man in relation to multibillion-dollar Belgian Drug bust

https://www.guyanastandard.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/11/MARLON-PRIMO.jpg

The Guyana Police Force (GPF) has issued a wanted bulletin for 41-year-old, Marlon Primo for questioning in relation to the discovery of 11.5 tons of cocaine, which was unearthed in a container of scrap metal on October 27, 2020, in Belgium.

https://www.guyanastandard.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/11/Cocaine-oy1sk5pp3r5ookjpmcjsdzqbjidn5rixi0dm4ngru6.jpg

Primo’s last known address is 69 Atlantic Ville, East Coast Demerara. He may have also resided at Norton and John Streets, and Lodge Housing Scheme.

The Brussels Times, in an article on November 5, reported that counter-narcotics prosecutors had tracked the transatlantic journey of the drugs from Guyana, and seized it upon its arrival at the Port of Antwerp. The catch is “the largest overseas drug bust ever, worldwide,” federal prosecutors told Belgian media, estimating the street value of the drug load at €900M (US$ 1.06B or over GYD$200B)

The GPF wanted bulletin comes exactly one week after the Vice President of Guyana, Bharrat Jagdeo told media operatives that there might have been “heavy local involvement” in the shipment.

The Coalition, on the other hand, is contending the drug bust has confirmed that Guyana has “returned to being a narco State”, and is casting blame at the feet of the Government.

Anyone with information that may lead to the arrest of Marlon Primo is asked to contact the police on telephone numbers, 226-6978, 225-8196, 226-2870, 225-1111, 226-7065, 227-1149, 226-7065, 225-6940, 911 or the nearest police station.All information, the GPF said, will be treated with the strictest confidence.

Police issue wanted bulletin for man in relation to multibillion-dollar Belgian Drug bust

https://www.guyanastandard.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/11/MARLON-PRIMO.jpg

The Guyana Police Force (GPF) has issued a wanted bulletin for 41-year-old, Marlon Primo for questioning in relation to the discovery of 11.5 tons of cocaine, which was unearthed in a container of scrap metal on October 27, 2020, in Belgium.

https://www.guyanastandard.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/11/Cocaine-oy1sk5pp3r5ookjpmcjsdzqbjidn5rixi0dm4ngru6.jpg

Primo’s last known address is 69 Atlantic Ville, East Coast Demerara. He may have also resided at Norton and John Streets, and Lodge Housing Scheme.

The Brussels Times, in an article on November 5, reported that counter-narcotics prosecutors had tracked the transatlantic journey of the drugs from Guyana, and seized it upon its arrival at the Port of Antwerp. The catch is “the largest overseas drug bust ever, worldwide,” federal prosecutors told Belgian media, estimating the street value of the drug load at €900M (US$ 1.06B or over GYD$200B)

The GPF wanted bulletin comes exactly one week after the Vice President of Guyana, Bharrat Jagdeo told media operatives that there might have been “heavy local involvement” in the shipment.

The Coalition, on the other hand, is contending the drug bust has confirmed that Guyana has “returned to being a narco State”, and is casting blame at the feet of the Government.

Anyone with information that may lead to the arrest of Marlon Primo is asked to contact the police on telephone numbers, 226-6978, 225-8196, 226-2870, 225-1111, 226-7065, 227-1149, 226-7065, 225-6940, 911 or the nearest police station.All information, the GPF said, will be treated with the strictest confidence.

Primo shipment started at the tail end of the PNC administration, squeeze his balls and will know who up the PNC ladder getting a cut.

@kp posted:

Primo shipment started at the tail end of the PNC administration, squeeze his balls and will know who up the PNC ladder getting a cut.

Liar, liar, pants on fire. This shipment was shipped from Guyana late October. Ali Baba was sworn in on August 2nd.

@Mars posted:

Liar, liar, pants on fire. This shipment was shipped from Guyana late October. Ali Baba was sworn in on August 2nd.

So you know where Primo is hiding? Yuh quick to defend the PNC drug Cartel as though you have vested interest in it's reward.

So far Dr Ali did not fire any PNC custom officers, they are still there to give FREE pass.

That kind of load does not happen over night, the process, the planning and the network is months if not years in the making.

We can conclude Marlon Primo is a Blackman, suh he is a PNC operative. He also dumb like rass.