What were the PPP's projects?
antabanta posted:What were the PPP's projects?
They were always thieving...does that count?
Interesting. Can't think of any project during that period. They concentrated on debt restructuring and continuing initial implementation of the ERP, but only stayed with some aspects of the ERP over the 2 decades.
And talks started in 1997 that led to the short lived privatization of GPL. It took a long time for projects to be developed and get going.
Stormborn posted:antabanta posted:What were the PPP's projects?
They were always thieving...does that count?
I knew there had to be something.
I wonder if the PPP fanatics, who are constantly berating the coalition govt about new projects, can post a list of the PPP's projects in their first five years, and when those projects started.
Unless, of course, they just happen to have extremely high expectations from the coalition, based on what they know and expect from their own.
Bhai's and Gals what you all sayin,some ah this nah take place during that period they were massive housing,Marriot,buddys hotel,top of the line stadium,race track,bubice bridge and the daily singing we guh build Amelia hydro and don't forget the current external debt is close to 2 billion,damn i forget they had the best rice deal,one more they pumped a lot of money in Guysuco and it still down under.
In 1992 the PPP inherited a bankrupt country laden with debt. Their first order of business was to go around the world begging countries for debt forgiveness and trying to stabilize the economy.
in 2015, you all inherited a big fat Treasury with nuff sport money to spend, give yourselves salary increases, run around the world like you catching a taxi in the street, and buy new Lexus and thing.
Bibi Haniffa posted:In 1992 the PPP inherited a bankrupt country laden with debt. Their first order of business was to go around the world begging countries for debt forgiveness and trying to stabilize the economy.
in 2015, you all inherited a big fat Treasury with nuff sport money to spend, give yourselves salary increases, run around the world like you catching a taxi in the street, and buy new Lexus and thing.
Bibi..any idea what is the current debt.???
Bibi Haniffa posted:.
in 2015, you all inherited a big fat Treasury
They inherited a Guysuco so broke that they couldn't even meet payroll.
HEHEHE Plenty blind people are on GNI not to forget DUMB!
baseman posted:Django posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:In 1992 the PPP inherited a bankrupt country laden with debt. Their first order of business was to go around the world begging countries for debt forgiveness and trying to stabilize the economy.
The more appropriate question would be, what was/is the debt service ratio in 1992 vs 2015.
Base nah try to bamboozle me,i just wanna know the current debt.
baseman posted:The more appropriate question would be, what was/is the debt service ratio in 1992 vs 2015.
Of course you ignore the fact that Cheddi was force to continue Hoyte's ERP instead of the communism, Castro style, which would have surely followed had Hoyte not tried to stop the endless decline that Burnham created.
And of course you "forget" that Burnham's destruction was due to him nationalizing the economy. Something which Cheddi praised him for.
Had Cheddi taken Guyana into independence you wouldn't have been allowed to flee, as Guyana is too far from the USA to use the car tires which Cubans used. A vindictive Janet would have been just as vicious on allowing Guyanese to flee, with her rage being especially directed to Indians.
Janet can show you a property title on every Indian, as she considered them to be the property of the PPP.
Nehru posted:HEHEHE Plenty blind people are on GNI not to forget DUMB!
duh cap fit you.
Django posted:Nehru posted:HEHEHE Plenty blind people are on GNI not to forget DUMB!
duh cap fit you.
YOu so DUMB that you dont even know and will never know you bought Snakeoil!! Some Al yuh beyond stupid!!!
baseman posted:Django posted:baseman posted:Django posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:In 1992 the PPP inherited a bankrupt country laden with debt. Their first order of business was to go around the world begging countries for debt forgiveness and trying to stabilize the economy.
The more appropriate question would be, what was/is the debt service ratio in 1992 vs 2015.
Base nah try to bamboozle me,i just wanna know the current debt.
Everything is relative!! It's not about the absolute debt, its about affordability. The more you bring that ratio down as the economy grows, then it means the debt is good and returning more than its taking. That is "good" debt!!
FYI, in 1992, the debt service ratio was around 96%. So for every dollar earned, the Govt paid 96 cents just to service the debt acquired. That was PNC model!!
This is why, I guess dem could not tief no mo, but the bowl was still empty, taps dry!! So dem tek pride in not tiefing, soa dem seh, but abie bin starve!!
FYI remember that Burnham nationalized the economy, and received applaud from the communist Cheddi. The economy collapsed.
If you had the smallest shred of integrity, you would also admit that in 1991 and 1992 the economy was rapidly recovering, thanks to Hoyte's reforms, which Cheddi was forced to continue. Note that when the effects of this began to fade in the 90s, the economy stagnated until the gold boom of the post 2006 period!
So what did the PPP do? Force commodity traders to increase gold prices?
HEHEHEHE Cheddi was forced to continue what a Murder and DUNCE started!!!!!!!!!!
baseman posted:caribny posted:baseman posted:The more appropriate question would be, what was/is the debt service ratio in 1992 vs 2015.
Of course you ignore the fact that Cheddi was force to continue Hoyte's ERP i
Don't take it as a feather in your cap that PNC started the bankruptcy negotiation which the PPP was obliged to continue, legally! You [PNC] took us to the bankruptcy table in the first place!!
It was Burnham nationalizing the economy which led to its collapse.
Did Cheddi criticize Burnham when he did this? No. He applauded!
Hoyte attempt to rectify the damage by liberalizing the economy, and it did begin to recover.
You can tell all the lies that you wish, but then that makes you a liar.
No thank Burnham for allowing you to flee Guyana. The Marxist Leninist Janet would have thrown you into a prison camp Havana/Moscow style, had you tried the same stunt under her regime, had she taken Guyana into independence.
Nehru posted:Django posted:Nehru posted:HEHEHE Plenty blind people are on GNI not to forget DUMB!
duh cap fit you.
YOu so DUMB that you dont even know and will never know you bought Snakeoil!! Some Al yuh beyond stupid!!!
Banna is that the best you do,kids are more respectful and refrain from using that word.
antabanta posted:What were the PPP's projects?
So you are saying that the afc/apnu campaign promises were all a lie? You folks had all the solutions when you were in opposition. Now you in govt reality now bites.
Django posted:Nehru posted:Django posted:Nehru posted:HEHEHE Plenty blind people are on GNI not to forget DUMB!
duh cap fit you.
Banna is that the best you do,kids are more respectful and refrain from using that word.
Well I am not allowed to describe what Nehru is, so I will leave it at that. I continue to block him though, as his rants just cannot be viewed seriously.
caribny posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:.
So where they find the money to thief 50% RAISE. The taxpayers did not consent to that raise. Well, if things were not GOOD in the treasury they would never have taken such a BIG raise.
Drugb posted:antabanta posted:What were the PPP's projects?
So you are saying that the afc/apnu campaign promises were all a lie? You folks had all the solutions when you were in opposition. Now you in govt reality now bites.
So what brilliant things did the PPP do?
Marriott? Well where are the private investors that Jagdeo promised when he screamed how profitable the venture would be?
Buddy's was to transform Guyana with thousands of tourists arriving. Aside from prostitutes from Eastern Europe, which foreigners did it bring?
kp posted:caribny posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:.
So where they find the money to thief 50% RAISE. The taxpayers did not consent to that raise. Well, if things were not GOOD in the treasury they would never have taken such a BIG raise.
True the raise was bad, but you all worship a racist, so the PPp cannot take advantage of the fact that this raise, at a time when the country has no money, is reviled by most APNU/AFC supporters.
Continue to be the "coolie people party" as the Indo population dwindles, and APNU/AFC will be inept, but still survive.
caribny posted:Drugb posted:antabanta posted:What were the PPP's projects?
So what brilliant things did the PPP do?
Marriott? Well where are the private investors that Jagdeo promised when he screamed how profitable the venture would be?
Buddy's was to transform Guyana with thousands of tourists arriving. Aside from prostitutes from Eastern Europe, which foreigners did it bring?
So this is your response? How did the PPP come into the discussion? You need to stay on topic rather than pointing backwards to explain the way forward. When you were in opposition you promised massive development but all we see are continuation of PPP's plans and massive give away to PNC supporters disguised as progress.
Drugb posted:So this is your response? How did the PPP come into the discussion? You need to stay on topic
1. Topic is about the PPP. Can you read? Of course you cannot.
2. If you are willing to whine about what the PNC did to Guyana prior to 1985, then why is a discussion of the PPP not legitimate?
caribny posted:Django posted:Nehru posted:Django posted:Nehru posted:HEHEHE Plenty blind people are on GNI not to forget DUMB!
duh cap fit you.
Well I am not allowed to describe what Nehru is, so I will leave it at that. I continue to block him though, as his rants just cannot be viewed seriously.
I am juat trying to get you to reality but it seems like an impossible Job. You and Afro Ian Smith were born Brainless!!
I am not whining about PNC. What concerns me is the way forward. What are your plans? Why is this administration in hunker down mode with emphasis on filling pockets with 50% raises, spending on sporting party members and fixing up dilapidated eyesores which remain fire hazards?
Drugb posted:I am not whining about PNC. What concerns me is the way forward. What are your plans? Why is this administration in hunker down mode with emphasis on filling pockets with 50% raises, spending on sporting party members and fixing up dilapidated eyesores which remain fire hazards?
Given that the topic of this thread is about the PPP in its first 5 years, why are you commenting on it, if you refuse to entertain discussion about the PPP?
Django posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:In 1992 the PPP inherited a bankrupt country laden with debt. Their first order of business was to go around the world begging countries for debt forgiveness and trying to stabilize the economy.
Sorry Django I don't know the current debt amount but I don't think it's a lot. The PPP was very successful in getting rid of the debt. When Jagdeo was Finance Minister they went from country to country and begged for debt forgiveness. And they were very conscious of keeping it low.
Bibi Haniffa posted:Django posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:In 1992 the PPP inherited a bankrupt country laden with debt. Their first order of business was to go around the world begging countries for debt forgiveness and trying to stabilize the economy.
Sorry Django I don't know the current debt amount but I don't think it's a lot. The PPP was very successful in getting rid of the debt. When Jagdeo was Finance Minister they went from country to country and begged for debt forgiveness. And they were very conscious of keeping it low.
No problem,it is not very low.
http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....looming-debt-crisis/
Smoke and mirrors: A closer look at Guyanaâs looming debt crisis
APRIL 20, 2014 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER NEWS
By Avinash Pulchan, MFM, FQF
(Reprinted from Caribbean News Now)
According to World Bank data, Guyanaâs external debt has risen over 117%, US$850,393,000 in 2008 to US$1,845,561,000 in 2012. During that same time period gross national income per capita (purchasing power parity) has increased only 25% from US$2,720 to US$3,400. Furthermore, personal remittances have increased a whopping 34% from US$278,436,000 to US$373,096,197 during the last four years.
A common problem that lesser developed countries (LDCs) face, which Guyana falls into, is that of too much dependence on foreign nations and foreign entities. Guyanaâs debt to GDP ratio increased from 44% (US$850,393,000/US$1,922,597,807) to 64.7% (US$1,845,561,000/US$2,850,572,407). A countryâs debt-to-GDP ratio compares what a country owes to what it produces and is an indicator of the countryâs ability to pay back its debt. Currently Guyanaâs debt-to-GDP ratio of 64.7% is very unhealthy.
baseman posted:Django posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:In 1992 the PPP inherited a bankrupt country laden with debt. Their first order of business was to go around the world begging countries for debt forgiveness and trying to stabilize the economy.
That will go right over Django's head.
yuji22 posted:baseman posted:Django posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:In 1992 the PPP inherited a bankrupt country laden with debt. Their first order of business was to go around the world begging countries for debt forgiveness and trying to stabilize the economy.
That will go right over Django's head.
Yeah bright bhai,what makes you think i don't know my numbers.
The 1992 - 1997 period was one with the largest US dollar investment by expatriate capital in fisheries, furniture manufacturing, aquaculture and light manufacturing. These investments are not like buildings you can identify like the Marriot and those 7 and 8-storey buildings.
The debt relief program was negotiated with the Paris Club and was a Jagan/Carter initiative. Jagdeo was a junior Finance Minister then and Asgar Ali was the main player on the Guyana side. By the time Jagdeo was promoted to Finance Minister (without the "junior" designation) the macro-economic situation had stability - debt obligations as a percentage of hard currency earnings was manageable.
If you discount the period of instability following Jagan's death you would have seen the benefits of debt relief and foreign (Guyanese expatriate) investment that began during the 1992- 1997 years.
Kari posted:The 1992 - 1997 period was one with the largest US dollar investment by expatriate capital in fisheries, furniture manufacturing, aquaculture and light manufacturing. These investments are not like buildings you can identify like the Marriot and those 7 and 8-storey buildings.
The .
Without Hoyte's ERP none of that would have occurred. Janet would have remained the angry Marxist, screaming Castro nonsense.
Django posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:Django posted:Bibi Haniffa posted:In 1992 the PPP inherited a bankrupt country laden with debt. Their first order of business was to go around the world begging countries for debt forgiveness and trying to stabilize the economy.
No problem,it is not very low.
http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....looming-debt-crisis/
Smoke and mirrors: A closer look at Guyanaâs looming debt crisis
APRIL 20, 2014 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER NEWS
By Avinash Pulchan, MFM, FQF
(Reprinted from Caribbean News Now)
According to World Bank data, Guyanaâs external debt has risen over 117%, US$850,393,000 in 2008 to US$1,845,561,000 in 2012. During that same time period gross national income per capita (purchasing power parity) has increased only 25% from US$2,720 to US$3,400. Furthermore, personal remittances have increased a whopping 34% from US$278,436,000 to US$373,096,197 during the last four years.
A common problem that lesser developed countries (LDCs) face, which Guyana falls into, is that of too much dependence on foreign nations and foreign entities. Guyanaâs debt to GDP ratio increased from 44% (US$850,393,000/US$1,922,597,807) to 64.7% (US$1,845,561,000/US$2,850,572,407). A countryâs debt-to-GDP ratio compares what a country owes to what it produces and is an indicator of the countryâs ability to pay back its debt. Currently Guyanaâs debt-to-GDP ratio of 64.7% is very unhealthy.
The date on this article must be wrong because this could only have happened in the last 7 months.
Bibi Haniffa posted:In 1992 the PPP inherited a bankrupt country laden with debt. Their first order of business was to go around the world begging countries for debt forgiveness and trying to stabilize the economy.
So there were no projects and no development between 1992 and 1997?
Kari posted:The 1992 - 1997 period was one with the largest US dollar investment by expatriate capital in fisheries, furniture manufacturing, aquaculture and light manufacturing.
Do you have names, figures, and dates to support this claim?
caribny posted:baseman posted:The more appropriate question would be, what was/is the debt service ratio in 1992 vs 2015.
Of course you ignore the fact that Cheddi was force to continue Hoyte's ERP instead of the communism, Castro style, which would have surely followed had Hoyte not tried to stop the endless decline that Burnham created.
And of course you "forget" that Burnham's destruction was due to him nationalizing the economy. Something which Cheddi praised him for.
Had Cheddi taken Guyana into independence you wouldn't have been allowed to flee, as Guyana is too far from the USA to use the car tires which Cubans used. A vindictive Janet would have been just as vicious on allowing Guyanese to flee, with her rage being especially directed to Indians.
Janet can show you a property title on every Indian, as she considered them to be the property of the PPP.
Hoyte was forced to change economic path under the ERP. Guyana was declared uncreditworthy by a the world bank.