What is this all about ?

Ashura is observed by both Shia and Sunni Muslims. For Shias it marks the martyrdom of Husayn Ibn Ali, the prophet Muhammad's grandson, at the Battle of Karbala. For some believers, cutting the body with knives or chains is a way of identifying with the suffering of Husayn before he died.

I posted some Ashura pictures on GNI four years ago.

What is this all about ?

Ashura is observed by both Shia and Sunni Muslims. For Shias it marks the martyrdom of Husayn Ibn Ali, the prophet Muhammad's grandson, at the Battle of Karbala. For some believers, cutting the body with knives or chains is a way of identifying with the suffering of Husayn before he died.

Thank you Gilly

Ray nah kno one Rass.

What is this all about ?

Thank you Gilly

Ray nah kno one Rass.

Understandable. Ray is not a Rass Specialist.

Originally Posted by Chameli:

I've seen this done in the Phillipines. These people rass mad.

every religion has it's set of madness and mad ppl...

That's correct, Chameli.

There's a Hindu festival in Bali where participants put metal skewers through their cheeks and hooks on their mouths and pull heavy objects. I had posted that on GNI too.

Generally, each religion has three components --- philosophy, mythology, rituals. I love my Hindu philosophy and enjoy Hindu mythology but I am not enthused with its rituals. Allyuh can try wid dat.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

[]I am betting these folks never saw that hadith which would really do them a lot of good.

hadith or no hadith, i believe all these  fanatics in every religion are just plain ignorant ritual followers

I find it strange how these folks would inflict pain on themselves. I don't even care for a paper cut.

Originally Posted by TI:

Ksaz, the mad adults are one thing but the little kids?  Jeez, that hurts my chest just to see that lil guy

Check out mommy and toddler!

No wonder some of these people want to behead infidels. They like to see blood.

See dah man wid all dem cutlass? Oh rass, run.

Originally Posted by TI:

Ksaz, the mad adults are one thing but the little kids?  Jeez, that hurts my chest just to see that lil guy

Check out mommy and toddler!

No wonder some of these people want to behead infidels. They like to see blood.

See dah man wid all dem cutlass? Oh rass, run.

I can't see how any of this stuff fall into religion. I would be very happy if Ashura is permanently removed from the calendar.

Originally Posted by TI:

These chaps control the Iraq government now and are the US allies.

When Bush made the oil deal with them and overthrew Saddam, he put them in power. 

We need national buss head day in the U.S. too

You do not speak t he truth. They are the majority. They won the office and the us advised they go federalist or constitute a government that reflects the people. Maliki went his own way.

Originally Posted by TI:

When Bush made the oil deal with them and overthrew Saddam, he put them in power. 

You do not speak t he truth. They are the majority. They won the office and the us advised they go federalist or constitute a government that reflects the people. Maliki went his own way.

Iraq will become 3 countries.

Originally Posted by TI:

Iraq will become 3 countries.

Not possible. The Kurds are taking from Basra to the Mediterranean outside Aleppo. The Sunnis And Shia are stuck with each other whether they like it or not.

There is a hadith where the prophet stated that "anything injurious to your health is forbidden in Islam". Now that same hadith can be expanded to represent more than just one's health. I am betting these folks never saw that hadith which would really do them a lot of good.

The Catholics din permit their followers to read the Bible. Suh yuh saying dem ppl dat doan know how to read Arabic. That custom was going on for centuries, by now some muslim cleric should have gotten wise.

There is a hadith where the prophet stated that "anything injurious to your health is forbidden in Islam". Now that same hadith can be expanded to represent more than just one's health. I am betting these folks never saw that hadith which would really do them a lot of good.

The Catholics din permit their followers to read the Bible. Suh yuh saying dem ppl dat doan know how to read Arabic. That custom was going on for centuries, by now some muslim cleric should have gotten wise.

I am sure they know Arabic. Unfortunately it looks like their rituals are getting in the way of good reasoning. Fortunately most Muslims don't perform these dastardly rituals.