BREAKING NEWS: Angry protesters tear down police barriers outside Parliament

November 10, 2014 1:03 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

Security officials locked the gate of the Parliament building in light of the protest outside. [iNews' Photo]

[www.ienwsguyana.com] – Protesters outside Parliament building have taken their action to another level by breaking the Police barriers, moments after the President’s address to the nation in relation to his decision to prorogue Parliament.

This protest was planned even before President Donald Ramotar announced his decision today, Monday November 10 to prorogue Parliament. His decision has obviously upset the protestors who are accusing the People’s Progressive Party government of being a dictatorship.

iNews understands that the Parliament gate is now closed and Leader of the Opposition, David Granger is in a meeting inside the building.

Some of the protesters. [iNews' Photo]

iNews’ Corporate Communications Officer, Tracey Khan Drakes is at the scene outside Parliament and will provide more details shortly.

IT IS TIME FOR THE PRESIDENT TO READY THE ARMY AND CANU TROOPS AND THE SWAT NOW!!!

Remember, the president is within his rights what he did. The PNC supporters are breaking the laws. What is happening is good for the news and the electorates to see what the PNC is all about.

IT IS TIME FOR THE PRESIDENT TO READY THE ARMY AND CANU TROOPS AND THE SWAT NOW!!!

why?

You were jumping up and down before celebrating...now is time to face the consequences

Remember, the president is within his rights what he did. The PNC supporters are breaking the laws. What is happening is good for the news and the electorates to see what the PNC is all about.

People have rights to protest when they see nonsense

Originally Posted by Kapadilla:

The good old PNC is back in swing.

Oh you start yuh racist talk pun dem poor decent plack peopkle who demanding dem rights. watch out snake bai...

Where did you see racist in my comment?

Snake bai...rememba dem RIGHTS yoh talkin bout come from Linden Forbes Samson Burnham constitution. Mek sure yuh put Forbes pictcha pun de same alta along with Chddie and Janet. Throw lil milk dar pun burnham pictcha tomorrow marnin. Mek sure yuh bai drunkin Nehru throw de milk too. 

why?

You were jumping up and down before celebrating...now is time to face the consequences

WHY???   TO ENSURE LAW AND ORDER!!!

The good old PNC is back in swing.

Oh you start yuh racist talk pun dem poor decent plack peopkle who demanding dem rights. watch out snake bai...

Where did you see racist in my comment?

Yuh is a racist piece of manure...mek no mistake. Hey hey hey...

For the current situation, security measures obviously have been sorted out and indeed will take effect when warranted.

* But violent protests must not be tolerated.

stuuups...please, you were calling on Guyanese to kill the opposition, now yuh vex about lil protestors breaking down some barricades...yuh frighten now!

Is breaking down police barricade = protest? I support peaceful protest. The president did what is within his power to do. That is no nonsense.

The party that he was part of and fought for democracy with is now denying democracy-Ramjattan said.

Speaking to the 'Indians' he said as people respond to this recent move 'they are going to get their people to beat up East Indians and then play it on NCN and say 'dah is wah aluya want.'

In response to President Ramatar's talk of engagement Ramjattan blanks it saying his party would be no part.

</form>

AFC said it would ensure the recent move by the Government would be internationalised and regionalised... 'the OAS must know of this atrocity.'

stuuups...please, you were calling on Guyanese to kill the opposition, now yuh vex about lil protestors breaking down some barricades...yuh frighten now!

* Those wild animals are apt to loot and burn and you damn well know who suffers during their raging violence.

* When will those 2 wankers show some balls and demonstrate in the streets against the PPP ?

Notice to Guyana:

Starting immediately, now living under this:

Dictatorship is 'a form of government in which absolute power is concentrated in a dictator or a small clique' or 'a government organisation or group in which absolute power is so concentrated'
(Merriam Webster definition)

Self-coup (or autocoup) is a form of putsch or coup d'état in which a nation's leader, despite having come to power through legal means, dissolves or renders powerless the national legislature and unlawfully assumes extraordinary powers, not granted under normal circums

For the current situation, security measures obviously have been sorted out and indeed will take effect when warranted.

This is nothing to worry about if that's all the people the PNC can accumulate to scare the public. The PNC is losing it big time. They will also lose it at the poll. Let them jump like jumping jack. 

iF i REMEMBER WELL THE ppp govt WAS elected FOR 5 years, am i right???

Yes...but the constitution which you so bravely support gives opposition a right to declare a no confidence motion!

Protesters in all countries indeed do braking down barricades and reinforcements.  However, peaceful demonstrations with minor infractions are aptly addressed, with a few or no arrests.

In cases which get way out of hand, appropriate measures are taken to maintain a civil situation.

Yes...but the constitution which you so bravely support gives opposition a right to declare a no confidence motion!

1. The opposition parties indeed can pass a no-confidence motion.

2. The President of Guyana can prorogue parliament.

* The constitution also gives the President the authority to prorogue.

* For months now Moses and the AFC have been threatening no confidence---well, the President has outfoxed them---PROROGUE in deh rass.LOL

3. and people can protest

* The constitution also gives the President the authority to prorogue.

* For months now Moses and the AFC have been threatening no confidence---well, the President has outfoxed them---PROROGUE in deh rass.LOL

well then, don't complain when people don't like it

AND ALSO GIVE THE EXECUTIVE PRESIDENT THE RIGHT TO SUSPEND PARLIAMENT. I HOPE YOU ARE AWARE OF THIS.

Aluh hear this wite mout keera nutrient deficient brain a talk yasuh. 

Of course ... protest.

However, protest is quite different from unruly actions.

well then, don't complain when people don't like it

* Who's complaining ?

* The 49% who hate the PPP can protest and demonstrate all they want.

* All I know is next election it will be 51% for the PPP.

Of course ... protest.

Sometimes unruly actions are needed to get the message across

Of course ... protest.

AND SOMETIMES HEADS GET CRACKED!!

Of course ... protest.

Nonetheless, unruly actions will be addressed by the authorities.

GR join the PNC at the right time. He is the master to fuel fire.

Gerhard gat more guts than you snake. 

Please get off my ****kking back, idiot.

GR join the PNC at the right time. He is the master to fuel fire.

Gerhard gat more guts than you snake. 

Please get off my ****kking back, idiot.

Snake mek sure you drink usual cheap piss in queens. Take de Hindoo pandit Nehroo wid yuh.