Yesterday I went into this south Indian shop to see what they have for sale.  I saw that they have Cassava chips there for sale.  So I bought some.  The clerk said that it is very nice.  So I went home and had some. I almost started to cry when I took the first bite from the first chip.  It looks like those guys in South India put some serious hot pepper on their cassava chips.  The chips look like ordinary cassava chips but they were very hot and hurt like hell on Earth.

Originally Posted by Wally:

The Punjabi Market in Vancouver. I was on the UBC campus for a seminar.  The shop was a South Indian shop.  They had some curly type writing that was not Hindi or Urdu. 

āīŪāīēāīŊāīūāīģāī‚ ---Malayalam script

āŪĪāŪŪāŪŋāŪīāŊ     ---- Tamil script

Both languages are common in South India.

The Punjabi Market in Vancouver. I was on the UBC campus for a seminar.  The shop was a South Indian shop.  They had some curly type writing that was not Hindi or Urdu. 

The writing in the shop looked like Tamil but was different.  Almost every word had letters that look like a 6 or a 9 on the top.

Originally Posted by Chameli:

Wally, is this in Toronto?

i have not had cassava chips in yrs

Cassava (yucca) chips are in all our grocery stores. Salted. Unsalted. I think you can even get garlic flavored cassava chips.They're nice and crisp too.

Next time you visit Florida, stop in at Publix or Winn Dixie. Or, I can send some for you.

Originally Posted by GT Stingaa:

this is a good one MiraVer, it's avail all over Miami

I haven't tried this brand nor the Lam's. Gotta get some soon. $5 shipping from Lam's is a good deal. I didn't see any reviews. I ought to buy something and write a review

Good info on the yucca plant too. There is an East Indian store in my neighborhood that sells Gy chowmein, but not sure if LAM's. 

The writing in the shop looked like Tamil but was different.  Almost every word had letters that look like a 6 or a 9 on the top.

ā·ƒā·’āķ‚ā·„āķ― āķĒā·āķ­ā·’āķš --- Sinhalese script

ā°Īāą†ā°ēāąā°—āą ā°­ā°ūā°· --- Telugu script

āēĪāģāēģāģ āē­āēūāē·āģ† --- Tulu script

āŽ“āŽĄāŽžāŽŋāŽ† --- Oriya script

āē•āģŠāē‚āē•āēĢāēŋ --- Kannada script

Originally Posted by Chameli:
Originally Posted by Miraver:
[]

Next time you visit Florida, stop in at Publix or Winn Dixie. Or,I can send some for you.

i like the last part...yes, send me some i like winn dixie...and walmart

btw, i saw lots a family at that viewing 2 wks ago

Okay, we'll work out the details on getting you the chips.

Generally, we see lots of family at funerals and weddings.I didn't hear anything about the funeral attendance.

I don't care for WD or Walmart. I'm a Publix gyal