Central Government intervenes to desilt Sussex Street Canal

- fed-up with M&CC’s incompetence, inability to keep city ‘flood free’ despite resources allocated to it

Wednesday, 18 December 2013, Source

CENTRAL Government intervened, on Monday, to desilt the heavily silted Sussex Street Canal, to improve drainage and reduce the incidence of flooding in Georgetown, following heavy rains.The operation followed a visit to the area by President Donald Ramotar on Saturday last.

The Head of State had expressed disgust at the apparent inability of the Mayor and City Council (M&CC) to keep the capital ‘flood free’ despite resources allocated to it.

Central Government intervenes to desilt Sussex Street Canal

The Sussex Street canal which was cleared on Monday.

I agree with the government to be disgusted with the Mayor and City Hall for the present condition of G/T. Question! What are they going to do about it? Mayor Greene don't have to answer to a higher authority? 

Time and patience until the pending local government elections.

why the government ***** footing on calling the election after 19 yrs you might think they will be ready 

Time and patience until the pending local government elections.

Time and patience is all the Guyanese people have. Some of them die waiting. This load is a heavy wait...

Since 1970, local government was not held under the PNC government - a period of 22 years.

You are one dumb jack ass for excluding the PPP for not holding election.

Since 1970, local government was not held under the PNC government - a period of 22 years.

who the hell cares that is why the Indian people was fighting the pnc government to get good government not to fall into the same shit your excuse stinks its about time the ppp stop falling back on what the pnc did 

I agree with the government to be disgusted with the Mayor and City Hall for the present condition of G/T. Question! What are they going to do about it? Mayor Greene don't have to answer to a higher authority? 

He is doing exactly what the PPP is allowing him to do.

Knowledge of the issues on the holding of local government elections seems to avoid numerous individuals, even though the items are published and available to anyone.

I said you are a jackass. Why do you have to prove me right?

Knowledge of the issues on the holding of local government elections seems to avoid numerous individuals, even though the items are published and available to anyone.

So the "Knowledge of the issues" you aquire by reading the "Publish items cause you to conclude that  "Since 1970, local government was not held under the PNC government - a period of 22 years." and that makes it ok for the PPP to use as an excuse...what a freaking moron...

Originally Posted by Churchill:

This incompetence must be shared by the Ramouthar/Jagdeo govt...if they held local govt elections many of these issues would have been cleared up....

That dumb ass PNC Engineer is unable to see this. He can blame it on his medication or lack of...

The development for holding local government elections are known to all who are aware of the issues.

You are one dumb ass. Do you read the shyte you post?

The development for holding local government elections are known to all who are aware of the issues.

The PNC probably told you that at their YSM meeting....

you had to be from the PNC era....22 years under PNC...20 and counting under PPP...you just love when Govt inefficient

The electoral machinery is in place to hold local govt elections...this was used in 1994 to empower the people at the local level....since then  with no local govt elections complacency creeped in and with it increased corruption....I remember when Kellawan Lall was appointed Local Govt minister he pledged to have elections " within a year ".....well it is now going on to a decade......

Shame on Ramouthar, Jagdeo et al who are allowing this situation to deterioate.....

If you keep bringing up failed history, you are saying the PPP is just as bad as the PNC, Right? This is an encouragement for failure when you make comparison from one decade to another. 

One needs to follow what has occurred since the 1994 local government elections and the reasons why elections were not held at certain times after 1994 plus the current developments.

If you keep bringing up failed history, you are saying the PPP is just as bad as the PNC, Right?

Incorrect.

However, one needs to understand past developments.

One needs to follow what has occurred since the 1994 local government elections and the reasons why elections were not held at certain times after 1994 plus the current developments.

I think if it was up to you, things can continue like it was under PNC forever

always an excuse

If you keep bringing up failed history, you are saying the PPP is just as bad as the PNC, Right?

Incorrect.

However, one needs to understand past developments.

yu need to grow up and stop livin in the past

I follow events very closely and see the erosion of the rights and authority of the people at the local govt level...the Ramouthar/Jagdeo cabal is afraid to call local govt elections because it is afraid of losing political support which the results will show....

I AGREE that Local Govt Election should have been held. But to be FAIR the Opposition want Elections under their methods and Rules and that is what is holding up the Elections. The People of GT has the POWER to remove The Mayor BUT choose not to do so. WHO VEX VEX. Meh Neighba used to say Facts and Figga nah LIE!!!!

I follow events very closely and see the erosion of the rights and authority of the people at the local govt level...the Ramouthar/Jagdeo cabal is afraid to call local govt elections because it is afraid of losing political support which the results will show....

Afraid to call local government elections is never an issue.

I AGREE that Local Govt Election should have been held. But to be FAIR the Opposition want Elections under their methods and Rules and that is what is holding up the Elections.

Correct.

I AGREE that Local Govt Election should have been held. But to be FAIR the Opposition want Elections under their methods and Rules and that is what is holding up the Elections. The People of GT has the POWER to remove The Mayor BUT choose not to do so. WHO VEX VEX. Meh Neighba used to say Facts and Figga nah LIE!!!!

the people have the power to remove this corrupt ppp government but they are not doing it who vex is a ass

D_G, you seem to have all the patience, know your unforgotten history and what Guyanese must subscribe to, but you can't sell the past many decades ago to today's generation. I respectfully disagree with you.

Afraid to call local government elections is never an issue.

They are afraid of the lost of support that the polls will show.

Originally Posted by Mars:

The canal at Belair Village ECD.

Nice and green. Norway will be PROUD of Guyana.

Lots ah hassa muss be livin in dis trench. Weh dem fishaman deh?

why you ppp loud mouth go help the ppp clean the trench then you can thief the hassa

Bai yu ah wan big joke yu no.

D_G, you seem to have all the patience, know your unforgotten history and what Guyanese must subscribe to, but you can't sell the past many decades ago to today's generation. I respectfully disagree with you.

Patience do have its profound merits.

Each generation indeed has its own perspectives on issues.

Non-agreements always exist among individuals.

Cop-out...Cop-out

Realities of the current issues are indeed important to grasp and understand.

Cop-out...Cop-out

Realities of the current issues are indeed important to grasp and understand.

Looks like you got issues than the tissue in yuh diaper....