CGX drilling rig coming by month-end PDF Print E-mail
Written by Clifford Stanley
Wednesday, 04 January 2012 02:06
… off-shore drilling to begin soon after
CANADIAN Oil and Gas Exploration Company, CGX Energy Inc. yesterday announced that a semi-submersible drilling rig departed the Gulf of Mexico on New Year’s Day for Guyana, and is expected to be here by month- end to commence drilling for oil in its Eagle-1 off-shore well.
The drilling contract has been awarded to a subsidiary of the company, Diamond Offshore Drilling Inc, for the ‘Ocean Saratoga semi-submersible drilling rig’ to drill the Eagle-1 well on the company’s fully owned and operated Corentyne prospecting licence offshore Guyana.
Diamond Offshore Drilling Inc. is a leading drilling contractor that owns and operates one of the largest fleets of offshore drilling units in the world, and has bases in Texas in the United States; Perth, Australia; Macae, Brazil; and Aberdeen,Scotland.
[The Ocean Saratoga semi-submersible drilling rig that departed the Gulf of Mexico on New Year’s Day for Guyana, and is expected to be here by month-end to commence drilling for oil.] The company has over 40 years global drilling experience, and approximately 5,000 skilled employees worldwide.
The Ocean Saratoga had up to late last year been wrapping up a workover for Walter Oil & Gas in the Gulf of Mexico.
Stephen Hermeston, President and CEO, stated, "We are pleased that the rig is now under tow and looking forward to the commencement of drilling."
CGX said it will make a further announcement when the Eagle-1 well has commenced drilling.
The Eagle-1 drill site lies in about 250 feet of water.
Guyana had required CGX to drill the well by the end of 2011, but the rig the company had contracted was not available at the expected time.
The government had granted the deferral to signal that there were “no issues regarding the sanctity of contract”.
The company had earlier disclosed that the drilling of the Eagle -1 well will appraise the Eocene and Maastrichtian geologic formations to an anticipated total depth of 4,300 metres, and will take approximately 60 days.
It is expected that the issue of Guyana’s prospects for becoming an oil economy should be resolved at the end of this drilling.
CGX has always expressed confidence in the fact that the Guyana-Suriname basin is an area that is ranked second in the world for oil and gas prospectivity by the United States Geological Service.
CGX holds three licences offshore Guyana, stretching 400 km from the Venezuelan border in the north to the Surinamese border in the south.
Using 2-D seismic, CGX has identified with five giant targets offshore and undertook a 2,375 sq km 3-D seismic programme on its offshore Corentyne and Georgetown licences.
An independent report from Gustavson Associates showed CGX held a resource estimate of 2.8 billion barrels on three prospects on the Corentyne concession.
The United States Geological Survey (USGS) had, in 2000, concluded that the Guyana-Suriname sedimentary basin contains 15 billion barrels of undiscovered oil.
Local sources have, however, cautioned that regardless what the USGS says, no one will know for sure whether there is oil until drilling starts.
The company also intends to drill the Jaguar-1 well, in which it has a 25% interest with partners Repsol Exploracion S.A (operator) , YPF Guyana Limited and Tullow Guyana B.V.
The Jaguar-1 well, located on the Georgetown petroleum prospecting licence, will appraise the Turonian geologic formation and will be drilled to an anticipated depth of 6,500 metres by the Atwood Beacon jackup rig as soon as it completes drilling for Inpex Corporation offshore Suriname.
The founders of CGX began negotiations in 1996 with the Government of Guyana to acquire an offshore concession to explore for oil.
CGX Resources Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of CGX, was granted the 10-year Corentyne Licence by the Government of Guyana in June 1998.
In pursuit of exploration, CGX had attempted to drill at the Eagle location in 2000, but was forced off by Surinamese gunboats.
Suriname insisted that the place that CGX had intended to drill was its territory and maintained this position despite a number of meetings held around CARICOM.
In September 2007, following representation from the Government of Guyana, the United Nations Law of the Sea ruled that the point at which CGX was exploring was well within the maritime boundaries of Guyana, thereby paving the way for the return of CGX after an absence of five years.

Excerpts from the Guyana Chronicle

This drill has been coming for the last 8 years ... I won't hold my breath.

Who is picking up the tab for the drill? Did CGX get a loan after pleading poverty for the last 4 years or is the GoG picking up the tab?
Originally posted by albert:
Nuff...you need to stop looking at the negatives....look at the glass as it is half full......
Dude ... the drill has been coming for 8 years. I kid you not.

Seeing is believing. This is like FIPs hardware on the ship coming in soon. That ship (FIPs) was at sea for a long time, I thought pirates had commandeered it.
Nehru and albert>>>>Nuff is an idiot. Disregard his commentary. Yes drill baby drill. Nuff will continue to oppose this government. Look around Nuff, you getting NUFF food to eat now unlike the PNC era when YOU had to line up for food>>>>LOL
Originally posted by westdem:
Nehru and albert>>>>Nuff is an idiot. Disregard his commentary. Yes drill baby drill. Nuff will continue to oppose this government. Look around Nuff, you getting NUFF food to eat now unlike the PNC era when YOU had to line up for food>>>>LOL
I wouldn't live in Guyana under the PPP if you paid me. Big Grin

Guyana under the PPP is no place for a black male.
Originally posted by Nehru:
DRILL BABY DRILL. Guyana gun be the next Saudi Arabia. Barbados and Jamaica gun beg we fuh money. ALL Dem Bajan Women gun come to Guyana to "WUK". partybanana partybanana
would you recommend i put lots of greenbacks on CGX stocks?
At least put some. It is a safe bet since a WAR with Iran is almost certain. Oil Price will go to $200 a barrel and demand will increase from sources other from the ME. Iran will make sure Oil dont flow freely from the ME. GUYANA WILL BE THE NEXT SAUDI ARABIA. I man going and rennew meh Guyana Passport. WEndy, Yuh gat any contacts at the Embassy???
Originally posted by Wendy Holmes:
Originally posted by Nehru:
DRILL BABY DRILL. Guyana gun be the next Saudi Arabia. Barbados and Jamaica gun beg we fuh money. ALL Dem Bajan Women gun come to Guyana to "WUK". partybanana partybanana
would you recommend i put lots of greenbacks on this stock?
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Nehru:
At least put some. It is a safe bet since a WAR with Iran is almost certain. Oil Price will go to $200 a barrel and demand will increase from sources other from the ME. Iran will make sure Oil dont flow freely from the ME. GUYANA WILL BE THE NEXT SAUDI ARABIA. I man going and rennew meh Guyana Passport. WEndy, Yuh gat any contacts at the Embassy???[QUOTE]

thanks for the free insider trading info. Big Grin i have the contacts, just let me know what u need... Wink
Originally posted by Nuff:
...Guyana under the PPP is no place for a black male.
guyana under the ppp is the best place for some black males to get rich overnight from robbing indos... Frown
Originally posted by Wendy Holmes:
...Guyana under the PPP is no place for a black male.
guyana under the ppp is the best place for some black males to get rich overnight from robbing indos... Frown
Not my lifestyle. They can keep that.

What a hypocrite, you actually ran out of Guyana during Burnham punishment days. Now you got the nerve to talk. The PPP would hook you up with loud milk, check out how the Black man is now flourishing under the pPP.
Guyanese of the six ethnic backgrounds have equal assist to the country's resources...

yes. Indians, Indians, Indians, Indians, Indians and Indians.

APNU did well because of that.
Originally posted by caribj:
Guyanese of the six ethnic backgrounds have equal assist to the country's resources...

yes. Indians, Indians, Indians, Indians, Indians and Indians.

APNU did well because of that.

You crazy bai, come down hey and see nuff putagee, chinee and nuff nuff Afro a drudge and gettin' rich no ass.
Originally posted by BGurd_See:
, check out how the Black man is now flourishing under the pPP.

Funny they dont think so and refused to vote PPP. In fact last time many didnt vote. This time they went out to teach the PPP and the milk drinking blacks a serious lesson.

So now Lumumba and compnay are in trouble as they dont have any black friends. Ramotar understands rthat black thugs cost him the election.
Originally posted by Sledgehammer:
ff Afro a drudge and gettin' rich no ass.

So the PPP is now responsible for high gold prices? Afros are making gold money INSPITE of PPP rule. Thank God for high gold prices.

Afros remember how Jagdeo tried to shut down the gold industry last year and wanted them to live off his charity from his Norway funds. Good Norway was smart enough to wait.
When the drilling begins....all the critics will be put to shame..

These critics and anti Indian and anti PPP low life we see here has no shame, these scum of the earth can be found in every society and that’s all they do. Guyana is moving ahead and none of these low lives here will stop it.
Originally posted by westdem:

A black male has been appoint Speaker of the legislative assembly. He should leave as Guyana is no place for him.
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:
Oil brings revenue. Guyana will soon be the richest country in the caribbean.
This was a jagdeo project. The man is gone and his leagacy keeps on rolling..

They will fly all the way to Florida to buy Everglades Hassa. Big Grin
You have to find the oil first.

Though I am sure there is oil in Guyana all we have found to date is coconut oil.

I don't think CGX is capable of doing the job. They will fall to the wayside like FIP.
You also think a segment of the population should we wiped off the Map!!!
You have to find the oil first.

Though I am sure there is oil in Guyana all we have found to date is coconut oil.

I don't think CGX is capable of doing the job. They will fall to the wayside like FIP.
Drill Baby Drill. Let Berbice develop and become the next oil rich region of Guyana. Jobs, oil and money will now flow in Berbice. No oil in Linden cause the most dangerous and sinful people live there. Berbice will always remain the Breadbasket of Guyana. The PNC tried to destroy Berbice but they never allowed it. Ask Granger how brave Berbicians stood up to the him GDF after Granger tried to steal their votes under Burnham. They will march to GT and give them a good trashing if they so desire or they can use recycled PNC thugs against their former brothers. Times have changed and time for Berbice to call the shots.

Who is picking up the tab for the drill? Did CGX get a loan after pleading poverty for the last 4 years or is the GoG picking up the tab?

It is obvious that Nuff has not been following the news about the Guyana/Suriname maritime boundary dispute or the logistics of oil drilling equipment. He must be reading some phantom news reports about CGX's financing to assert that it is pleading poverty.

When you add Nuff's bias towards energy development in Guyana from any source, you can understand his unintelligent diatribes.

Here is a publicly traded company on the Toronto Stock Exchange with all the financial transparency requirements, and Nuff asks if the GoG is picking up tabs (presumably for exploratory drilling). When you understand the contractual arrangements of rigs you would fail to understand why Nuff keeps braying about he's been hearing of rigs for the last 8 years.

I pity that village that is missing its idiot.
@ Kari:
Weren't ypu one of the "intelligent" and informed people on this BB bigging up Fip Motilal's bona fides and his 'competence' as a road builder and hydro power developer . . . just asking?
Originally posted by Kari:

It is obvious that Nuff has not been following the news about the Guyana/Suriname maritime boundary dispute or the logistics of oil drilling equipment. He must be reading some phantom news reports about CGX's financing to assert that it is pleading poverty.

When you add Nuff's bias towards energy development in Guyana from any source, you can understand his unintelligent diatribes.

Here is a publicly traded company on the Toronto Stock Exchange with all the financial transparency requirements, and Nuff asks if the GoG is picking up tabs (presumably for exploratory drilling). When you understand the contractual arrangements of rigs you would fail to understand why Nuff keeps braying about he's been hearing of rigs for the last 8 years.

I pity that village that is missing its idiot.
Kari I know of the contractual agreements. The UN resolved the Suriname Guyana crisis 5 years ago ... what's the holdup? Has it taken them 5 years to acquire a drill? If so they are in the wrong business.

CGX like FIP is incapable of doing the job. They have no frigging money. Look at their spreadsheet. I made more money last year from my day job than CGX has made the last 5 years combined. In fact WELFARE recipients made more money last year alone than CGX has made in the last four years.

Drilling to CGX is a hobby, it's not a profitable investment. Drilling to them is like boating to me. It's a hobby.

I know you have family ties to CGX ... but at least listen to what this village idiot says. The company is incapable of doing the job. In all it's been over 10 years they have had the rights to drill for oil ... and not just in one location where there is a dispute with Suriname, they have rights to several drilling locations on and off shore of Guyana.

What have they come up with to date 10 years later? ZILCH!

By the time they find oil we'd have moved on to another source of energy. The only bragging rights CGX has is it can claim it has potential drill sites ... and those drill sites were GIVEN to them by their crony Jagdeo. They never earned them. Show me where else CGX is currently drilling besides Guyana and I don't even think theyhave been actively drilling in Guyana.

Watch them sell their drill rights to a REAL oil company soon to cash in on their fortune. It's all about the money. I don't see them having the technology to go deep.

They are now scurrying for fear the oppostion gives their contract to a REAL oil company. They no longer have Jagdeo to back them like FIP.
Originally posted by redux:
@ Kari:
Weren't ypu one of the "intelligent" and informed people on this BB bigging up Fip Motilal's bona fides and his 'competence' as a road builder and hydro power developer . . . just asking?

Fip's business venture in the access road to the Amelia Falls hydro project was doomed by its association with the last Jagdeo Administration. This was anticipated since April 2011 when some onerous requirements were given as part of the project extension. There was nothing inappropriate about Fip's involvement and there were agreements about discussing these in the media. Fip will release a press statement soon, now that the access-road project is over.

Note that his an interest in the actual hydro project with the Chinese is still intact. And remember that these projects have gestation periods lasting 5 to 10 years.
Originally posted by Kari:
There was nothing inappropriate about Fip's involvement and there were agreements about discussing these in the media. Fip will release a press statement soon, now that the access-road project is over.

FIP is incompetent. He was given the project without proving he coukd do the job. The man built one lil ass road in cummunity in Florida and then Jagdeo gives him the rights to build a road in rough terrain.

It's called cronyism, just like CGX.
Kari I know of the contractual agreements. The UN resolved the Suriname Guyana crisis 5 years ago ... what's the holdup? Has it taken them 5 years to acquire a drill? If so they are in the wrong business.

CGX like FIP is incapable of doing the job. They have no frigging money. Look at their spreadsheet. I made more money last year from my day job than CGX has made the last 5 years combined. In fact WELFARE recipients made more money last year alone than CGX has made in the last four years.

Drilling to CGX is a hobby, it's not a profitable investment. Drilling to them is like boating to me. It's a hobby.

I know you have family ties to CGX ... but at least listen to what this village idiot says. The company is incapable of doing the job. In all it's been over 10 years they have had the rights to drill for oil ... and not just in one location where there is a dispute with Suriname, they have rights to several drilling locations on and off shore of Guyana.

What have they come up with to date 10 years later? ZILCH!

By the time they find oil we'd have moved on to another source of energy. The only bragging rights CGX has is it can claim it has potential drill sites ... and those drill sites were GIVEN to them by their crony Jagdeo. They never earned them. Show me where else CGX is currently drilling besides Guyana.

Watch them sell their drill rights to a REAL oil company soon to cash in on their fortune. It's all about the money. I don't see them having the technology to go deep.

There are several oil exploration companies (including the majors) working in concessions onshore and offshore Guyana. CGX happens to be only one of them. None of these companies, some of whom have been operating for several years now, have reached the stage in the process of commercial quantities for production. By all estimates CGX's concessions have the goods (as stated by several oil trade institutions in Houston, TX) and they've been on target with the several phases of their project. The rig currently on its way to the Eagle concession is a welcome development in the world of rig facilities procurement.

Now on to this continuing falsehood about CGX financing and the length of time for this project - I repeat, this is a company that is publicly traded on a major Stock Exchange and its finance is transparent. Also Nuff should disabuse himself of his thinking that I have anything to do with CGX, including investment-wise as well as family relationship. And while he's at it, it would be good advice to say things that would at least appear credible. He doesn't know the oil exploration environment in all its aspects, and his bias with Guyana's energy sector development clouds his thinking (and I use this term liberally) on CGX.
Dude I am an engineer. I think I have a better grasp of oil exploration than you do.

We'll talk again when CGX finds oil.

Are you denying your family sits on the CGX board?

Go do your research - on both counts. I'm an engineer myself and I probably talk to more engineers than you do, especially in the Boston area where I have family and I visit often. So don't flatter yourself. And wait until we dispose of the Packers and Niners and see what we have in store for your Pats(sies)