And what does this have to do with the calamity at the State Dinner the other night again?

The people at the top set the tone. For 23 years the tone was set by a low breed of PPP leaders and  their "just come" friends.  So no wonder people in Guyana no longer know how to do things.

That would NEVER have happened in the 70s,  before the middle class fled.  In those days many foreigners were pleasantly surprised by the standard of hospitality show.   High quality, without being stuffy.

Iz Blackman time now to be classless. Shows how Burnham messed up ur race. Pride goeth before the fall.

If the organizers of an event in the Burnham era put out a display like this, with soup being ladled out by a bowl, that person would have been hauled to Belfield at 3AM, and fired on the spot. 

They would have fled to the Corentyne immediately planning to flee to Suriname, fearful of the wrath of Burnham, angered by being embarrassed in front of the world.  Burnham's goal was to be a major 3rd world leader, so he lavished much on international displays, even if this meant the population starved.

Say what you will about Burnham, but when it came to events that he was directly involved in, the man had high standards.

The "Kangalangs" could have done as they wished under some bottom house, but not if Burnham's reputation was at stake.

And what does this have to do with the calamity at the State Dinner the other night again?

The people at the top set the tone. For 23 years the tone was set by a low breed of PPP leaders and  their "just come" friends.  So no wonder people in Guyana no longer know how to do things.

That would NEVER have happened in the 70s,  before the middle class fled.  In those days many foreigners were pleasantly surprised by the standard of hospitality show.   High quality, without being stuffy.

But those people who put together this dinner are people of the APNU/AFC led by their architect, Minister Nicolette Henry. Why blame the PPP for her incompetence? What were the most recent similar dinner like while the PPP were the government?

Bai, why yuh always talking about black man rocking peoples' world? Is black man rocking your world your secret fantasy?

Listening to the screams on GNI its what the brown KKK lavish.

I remember cobra and his gang rambling about "dem big strang blackman" after the humiliating loss.

You need to be honest about the issues of emasculation that some Indo men have. 

Not that long ago two irritating old black ladies were cussing down 20 plus Indo men, and if you heard the screams on GNI, about how fearful Indians have to be.  Yes scared of two old black women.

The PPP had a youtube with the incident that went viral. Part of their "blackman a kill ahbe" screams, except that it was two old black women vs. over 20 Indian men.

Bai, why yuh always talking about black man rocking peoples' world? Is black man rocking your world your secret fantasy?

Listening to the screams on GNI its what the brown KKK lavish.

I remember cobra and his gang rambling about "dem big strang blackman" after the humiliating loss.

You need to be honest about the issues of emasculation that some Indo men have. 

Not that long ago two irritating old black ladies were cussing down 20 plus Indo men, and if you heard the screams on GNI, about how fearful Indians have to be.  Yes scared of two old black women.

The PPP had a youtube with the incident that went viral. Part of their "blackman a kill ahbe" screams, except that it was two old black women vs. over 20 Indian men.

Not an area of interest to me bai. I used to make my white sweet ohman literally climb a wall when I sexed her up. I find it strange how much you dwell on these issues as if they are your own secret fantasies.

led by their architect, Minister Nicolette Henry. ?

Nicolette came of age under the PPP era, so her vision of what is appropriate was crafted by what she saw those in leadership doing.

Poor girl.

So is it a mistake that she was appointed a Minister in the Ministry of Education (ironically, of all places) by the APNU/AFC government?

Not an area of interest to me bai. I used to make my white sweet ohman literally climb a wall when I sexed her up. I find it strange how much you dwell on these issues as if they are your own secret fantasies.

Mightnt be to you, but just look at how the old time brown KKK get frantic every time they see an Indo girl with a black man.  During the Burnham era many Indo girls had black men, but women like men with power, and that is who had the power then.

Yet all the screams about rapes.  I wouldn't even get into the little male genitalia complex that those ageing brown KKK have.

led by their architect, Minister Nicolette Henry. ?

Nicolette came of age under the PPP era, so her vision of what is appropriate was crafted by what she saw those in leadership doing.

Poor girl.

So is it a mistake that she was appointed a Minister in the Ministry of Education (ironically, of all places) by the APNU/AFC government?

The problem that APNU has is that folks are either too old, not living in Guyana, or they grew up in an era where "just come" people ran around screaming "ahbe rich".  So the pool of people to draw on is limited. In fact when the age of the leadership was pointed out, this was the response. It is hard to argue against that.

In the early 70s Guyanese used to value G/T with its gardens and traditional buildings.  Guyana hosted the first Carifesta, and the consensus is that it was the best. This even though Guyana didn't have a blue print to draw on. Its just that there were still high caliber people around who knew how to do things.

BTW the foreigners who came were amazed at G/T then.  It was CLEAN, and poverty wasn't as evident as it is today.

Now the "ahbe rich" crowd build huge monstrosities (I have been told with weak foundations), just because they want to show off, and not being high brow, the lack an appreciation for fine aesthetics. 

I will give them this though. When the traditional middle class fled Burnham these country booboo had no one to teach them how to do things. That's why Janet had to send them to etiquette school.

Mightnt be to you, but just look at how the old time brown KKK get frantic every time they see an Indo girl with a black man.  During the Burnham era many Indo girls had black men, but women like men with power, and that is who had the power then.

Yet all the screams about rapes.  I wouldn't even get into the little male genitalia complex that those ageing brown KKK have.

Well, if you want to focus on that stuff. I prefer to focus on the many images that God has graced this wonderful earth with, one being;

The problem that APNU has is that folks are either too old, not living in Guyana, or they grew up in an era where "just come" people ran around screaming "ahbe rich".  So the pool of people to draw on is limited. In fact when the age of the leadership was pointed out, this was the response. It is hard to argue against that.

In the early 70s Guyanese used to value G/T with its gardens and traditional buildings.  Guyana hosted the first Carifesta, and the consensus is that it was the best. This even though Guyana didn't have a blue print to draw on. Its just that there were still high caliber people around who knew how to do things.

BTW the foreigners who came were amazed at G/T then.  It was CLEAN, and poverty wasn't as evident as it is today.

Now the "ahbe rich" crowd build huge monstrosities (I have been told with weak foundations), just because they want to show off, and not being high brow, the lack an appreciation for fine aesthetics. 

I will give them this though. When the traditional middle class fled Burnham these country booboo had no one to teach them how to do things. That's why Janet had to send them to etiquette school.

So all the years that Minister Henry lived, she never had a chance to watch an American movie about these stuff? Don't they get Netflix in Guyana. And if she doesn't know about Netflix, how did she become a minister in the education ministry? My daughter at 21 who has never worked can put together a damn good event mostly from watching snap chats.

Carib you are a drowning man clutching at a straw.  And the way I see it the straw is about to bruk!!  Brace yuh self!!!

It happened the moment he decided to invoke the past instead of dealing directly with the abject failure to put together a proper event. Now she was thrown a life vest for her mishandling of the flag handling ceremony. I am not sure anyone will be willing to assail their reputation on this one. Even ma man, Carib is only trying to cover it up with some made up story from 1992.  

Over the last few months i must admit that i have become disappointed not in Granger himself but the people he has working with him. I am not sure what role his advisors are playing but they really need to talk to him and bring up to scratch as what is going on. I know he cannot be directly held responsible for the failures around him but he is responsible for putting these people in the portfolios they are holding. If they continue down this path Granger will never be president the people hoped for

Amral

.  The country need some forward thinking, out of the box brains like Jagdeo.  

You have never revealed what out of the box brains has Jagdeo displayed.

1. Urging consumers and business people to tank the economy?  Who suffers if this happens.  Not Jagdeo who gets a pension much larger than any other for CARICOM head of state will get.

2. Screaming that Guyana should sell rice to Venezuela, when oil prices are low, meaning that so will the prices paid to the farmers.  And in fact its debatable whether Venezuela will swap rice for oil, when it badly needs US dollars.

3.  Guysuco.  A mess.  Marriott. A luxury that Guyana doesn't need.  Amaila Falls........Fip Motilall, no need to say more.   All kinds of under handed deals, to reward his oligarch cronies.....KN has them all listed. Providence stadium.  It just seems to me as if even St Kitts is getting more international matches these days, and being a tourist island, they actually earn foreign exchange.  Providence Stadium is a glorified Thirst Park, except that Guyana is paying off the loan in HARD CURRENCY.

4. In 1992 Guyana's economy was sugar, bauxite,rice, gold timber. In 2011 the economy was gold, rice, sugar, bauxite and timber No change, except the order.

5. In 2014 Guyana remained the poorest country in the English speaking Caribbean with the greatest level of poverty, the highest incidence of child labor, the highest infant mortality rates, the lowest GDP per capita, the worst performance in CXC in English and Math.  Guyanese flocked to the rest of CARICOM, and many remaining in Guyana, depended heavily on the earnings that these economic refugees received.

So where is the "brilliance" of Jagdeo?  Aside from keeping PPP supporters enslaved, and engaging in crafty forms of corruption, which made a man who was starving in 1992 one of Guyana's wealthiest men (if you believe that he did this through saving, you are truly crazy).

When Jagdeo became President many, including more than a few who traditionally voted PNC, had high hopes. This man turned out to be quite disappointing.

Caribj, get this straight, BJ/PPP handed over a Guyana 1000 times in better shape than what they got from the PNC, and that was no accident.  You can sing and dance to your own tune, but you cannot change the facts.

Was there corruption?  Sure as in any developing nation.  However, whatever corruption there was, Guyana reached levels never before, this after 12 years of getting the nation out from under the mountain of debt left by the PNC.

Who ever told you BJ was starving in 1992?  If a guy like BJ was starving, that was just an indication of how bad the state of affairs was under the PNC and one can only imagine the misery of the average person.  You should be ashamed, while he was starving in Guyana fighting for democracy, you had long high-tailed it out of Guyana away from the misery of YOUR PNC.

For a man who brought Guyana back from the PNC hell, he deserves what he has, gifts and all.  The Indian people in Guyana (excl. katahars) love and worship BJ and if they bestowed him with gifts of gratitude over the years, that's their wish and desire.  Just live with it!!

redux posted:

i suggest we train our fire on things that actually matter like tiefin, allied corruption, economy, security and race relations

table settings and protocol embarrassments do not rise to the level of failure of governance

stifle your desperate grasping get a grip y'all

Ah fool, just shut up and train your fire on getting the economy going!

Amral posted:

Over the last few months i must admit that i have become disappointed not in Granger himself but the people he has working with him. I am not sure what role his advisors are playing but they really need to talk to him and bring up to scratch as what is going on. I know he cannot be directly held responsible for the failures around him but he is responsible for putting these people in the portfolios they are holding. If they continue down this path Granger will never be president the people hoped for

You disappointed?  Well, this was expected.  Granger hardly had any new progressing blood with him.  Those advisors and jokers ho live long abroad and can hardly relate to the reality on Guyana.  Granger needs to reach out to BJ to save his bacon!

ba$eman posted:
redux posted:

i suggest we train our fire on things that actually matter like tiefin, allied corruption, economy, security and race relations

table settings and protocol embarrassments do not rise to the level of failure of governance

stifle your desperate grasping get a grip y'all

Ah fool, just shut up and train your fire on getting the economy going!

huh?

illiterate, i'd advise that u think thrice before braying and clicking the "post" button

lol

Old men are stubborn people. Granger is set in his ways. I doan think he is a reader. Suh, he have all these mediocre people surround him.

The Jagans comes to mind, Granger is just like Janet and Cheddie. Stubborn no azz.

The most stubborn and arrogant of the bunch were Jagdeo, and his mentor Burnham.

It just amazes me that folks don't see how much like Burnham Jagdeo is.

U can now tack on Granger. They are all stupid, just degrees of stupidity.

Every President so far with the exception of Hoyte.

ba$eman posted:
Amral posted:

You disappointed?  Well, this was expected.  Granger hardly had any new progressing blood with him.  Those advisors and jokers ho live long abroad and can hardly relate to the reality on Guyana.  Granger needs to reach out to BJ to save his bacon!

Not BJ.

Granger already fill up all the spaces and places with Black people. According to George Da Silva, the Ministry of the Presidency is something like a warlord camp in Africa.

BJ has much to worry about if Grnager were to appoint a number of Indians in strategic capacities to affect the Indian way of life and livelihood.

Granger can free up BJ strangle hold.

Granger already fill up all the spaces and places with Black people. According to George Da Silva, the Ministry of the Presidency is something like a warlord camp in Africa.

BJ has much to worry about if Grnager were to appoint a number of Indians in strategic capacities to affect the Indian way of life and livelihood.

Granger can free up BJ strangle hold.

ahem . . .

banna, when the evil takes hold of u, the cloven hoof can't help but burst out of your boot

i look forward to the next shedding of your skin

? My daughter at 21 who has never worked can put together a damn good event mostly from watching snap chats.

Your daughter grew up, and was probably born in the USA so she has had time to be exposed to much.

Folks in Guyana aren't exposed to much.  I don't think that people watch movies to learn about how to organize events.

People learn how to do things when they are directly exposed to people who can provide guidance.  An event of this type would have been better organized, even in the early 80s, with all the problems of that era, because there were legions of people who demanded high standards.

I think that the consensus on Granger is that he doesn't have the dominant personality of a Burnham, a Janet, a Jagdeo, or even a Hoyte.

His behavior is more passive aggressive.  This  is why he puts loyalty ahead  of competency.

I think that the consensus on Granger is that he doesn't have the dominant personality of a Burnham, a Janet, a Jagdeo, or even a Hoyte.

His behavior is more passive aggressive.  This  is why he puts loyalty ahead  of competency.

Come on, admit it:  Granger and everyone in his regime needs to sent to etiquette school immediately!!

Amral posted:

Leaders should be held accountable and responsible for the actions of their team.  The problem here is that there is no leadership as we have seen time and time again in the coalition government.  The Ministers do what they want, how they want, and what they want because Granger doesn't give a crap.  He just does not care.  

Amral posted:

Leaders should be held accountable and responsible for the actions of their team.  The problem here is that there is no leadership as we have seen time and time again in the coalition government.  The Ministers do what they want, how they want, and what they want because Granger doesn't give a crap.  He just does not care.  

Carib bai seh de general consensus is dat Granga saff.

Lennox posted:

Come on, admit it:  Granger and everyone in his regime needs to sent to etiquette school immediately!!

Their organizational skills are sorely lacking, and we still await their plans as to what the plan to do with the economy.

But sucking, slurping, napkins pushed into shirts, terror at the prospect of holding a knife and fork.

That was the PPP in 1992, and even Janet was embarrassed by them.  She might even have had to teach them how to sit on a toilet (not squat) and show them that toilet paper, and not fingers ought to be used.

What is the fuss about cuisine and presentation from the PPP here? Imagine a people with no qualms about eating bagie and aloo cooked seven shades of yellow from a purine leaf complaining about presentation and variety? Since when you folks are expert with degrees from Le Cordon Bleu? This is the most pedantic of complaints. Every day people eat out of dixie plates. It is not a white house dinner. If Ms Henry had problems feeding a thousand who would blame her? She never worked in an army field canteen and neither have any of you. In time I am sure we would get there. Meanwhile contemplate that this is a grade up from seven version of aloo and bagie curry on a leaf.

Amral posted:

In business. They say that "sh.. Flows downhill" in politics, it is "sh.. Flows uphill". He appointed them, he is responsible and he needs to act. Maybe. People need to start questioning his decision-making ability.

my biggest frustration living in Guyana is that the movers and shakers do not know how to plan and implement effectively. So many gaps and they like doing things the last minute. "Imaging the event" is foreign language to them.

Z
Zed posted:
Amral posted:

In business. They say that "sh.. Flows downhill" in politics, it is "sh.. Flows uphill". He appointed them, he is responsible and he needs to act. Maybe. People need to start questioning his decision-making ability.

my biggest frustration living in Guyana is that the movers and shakers do not know how to plan and implement effectively. So many gaps and they like doing things the last minute. "Imaging the event" is foreign language to them.

I think you mean to mention the second law of thermodynamics that everything flows downhill unless isolated. I do not see Granger making any monumentally awful decision that has produced detrimental consequences for us. He is doing lots of things right and is neglecting others because of money or order of priority in a resource limited state. We need to focus on these and keep them on the front burner rather than imagine that he is stupid when that is a falsehood. The PPP did so much bad things to us we have a long way to crawl out of the hole they left.

Zed posted:

Guyanese were well respected in getting things gone, prior to the early 80s.

This is what massive flight of the middle class does.   The folks who replaced them at the top just don't have the background to do things like this right.  The generations which came of age after this have never been exposed.

Whenever I see middle class Guyanese who are over 65, and who left Guyana prior to 1980, and I see how they operate, I see what Guyana lost.

Guyanese were well respected in getting things gone, prior to the early 80s.

This is what massive flight of the middle class does.   The folks who replaced them at the top just don't have the background to do things like this right.  The generations which came of age after this have never been exposed.

Whenever I see middle class Guyanese who are over 65, and who left Guyana prior to 1980, and I see how they operate, I see what Guyana lost.

True dat! Jus look at my avatar, that suit, that car, that bod, yesssss.

Danyael posted:

What is the fuss about cuisine and presentation from the PPP here? Imagine a people with no qualms about eating bagie and aloo cooked seven shades of yellow from a purine leaf complaining about presentation and variety? Since when you folks are expert with degrees from Le Cordon Bleu? This is the most pedantic of complaints. Every day people eat out of dixie plates. It is not a white house dinner. If Ms Henry had problems feeding a thousand who would blame her? She never worked in an army field canteen and neither have any of you. In time I am sure we would get there. Meanwhile contemplate that this is a grade up from seven version of aloo and bagie curry on a leaf.

Hai bai, watch it deh.  Yolande Gittens, who wrote this article, is not a bagie eating, purine leaf complaining PPP woman.  She is a PNC woman who been planning her trip to Guyana to bacchanal for a whole year now.

You get my drift!

(You betta go back where you just come from!!)

Hai bai, watch it deh.  Yolande Gittens, who wrote this article, is not a bagie eating, purine leaf complaining PPP woman.  She is a PNC woman who been planning her trip to Guyana to bacchanal for a whole year now.

You get my drift!

Like many, she is truly upset by the degree that Guyana has collapsed since it has been taken over by "never see come see" folks who grew up, squatting on latrines, and eating with their fingers, and now run around screaming "me rich".

So how will people like the Minister, who came of age long after Guyana had entered his decline, know how to do things properly?

Danyael posted:

You get my drift!

Look you rest you rass. Bagge is a very nutritious product especially KALE bhagee.