Here are my thoughts and recollections of Cheddi Jagan. 

I grew up in a very PPP supportive home where Jagan was king.  Jagan was in the opposition from the time I was born so I don't know his previous history as premier other than what I heard and read.  I always viewed Jagan as an honest person and I always supported his candidacy in all elections I voted in Guyana.  I viewed him as a socialist who had Guyana's interest at heart.  I think even though he could have been a Marxist at heart he was a socialist in practice.  For example, he never called for seizure of property from the wealthy as Fidel Castro had done.

I think back in those days the vast majority of Guyanese were socialists.  The multi nationals were seen as robbers and most people favored nationalism of major industries.

Cheddi always wanted to be the leader of Guyana.  He also always wanted unity among the races.  However, he understood the Indian numerical advantage and his ability to corner that voting block and used it to his advantage.

During the days of rigged elections he always wanted a peaceful struggle as opposed to military struggle to gain power.  He did try to bring the Burnham government down through industrial unrest including favoring the burning of sugar cane fields.

During the WPA struggle he gave Walter Rodney distant support..  Even during the struggle he told supporters at a Kitty meeting that he would win a free and fair election.

Cheddi might have been a strong leader of the PPP, but he was a terrible leader of the country post 1992.  He surrounded himself with square pegs in round holes and failed to institute changes to the Constitution.  These were the two main concerns he had with the Burnham government and he failed in both.

I think Cheddi as a person had great vision for Guyana.  He was not prepared to see Guyana raped by the multi-nationals.  His economic policies while not very much different from Hoyte resulted in continued growth for Guyana during his Presidency.  Unfortunately, he did not prepare his party to take over after him.

I have heard people claim that Cheddi deliberately undermined the Indians working class to keep them "stupid" so that he could control them. The cane cutters were used as an example. I have never seen this and I do not believe it.

His view of western politics could have been his downfall but why did the west accept him in 1992?  Was it just because the cold war ended? Or was it because he became less radical?

Originally Posted by VVP:
I think back in those days the vast majority of Guyanese were socialists.  The multi nationals were seen as robbers and most people favored nationalism of major industries.

My recollection is different. The Portugese, Chinese and wealthy Indians (a significant amount of folks) did not favor nationalization, in so much they fled because they feared it would cost them their businesses. Secondly, there were those (mostly middle class blacks, portugese and "red" man) who held high positions at Bookers etc. and were quite comfortable. They too did not want Burnham or Jagan running things.

The support for nationalization came from the hoi polloi who didn't know what marxism, socialism or anything meant. The average canecutter, black laborer / civil service worker were clueless. All they heard was there will be freeness thru socialism, so they wanted it.

Another instance where educated Indians, blacks, portugese and chinese were united in their beliefs.

Originally Posted by Itaname:

My recollection is different. The Portugese, Chinese and wealthy Indians (a significant amount of folks) did not favor nationalization, in so much they fled because they feared it would cost them their businesses. Secondly, there were those (mostly middle class blacks, portugese and "red" man) who held high positions at Bookers etc. and were quite comfortable. They too did not want Burnham or Jagan running things.

The support for nationalization came from the hoi polloi who didn't know what marxism, socialism or anything meant. The average canecutter, black laborer / civil service worker were clueless. All they heard was there will be freeness thru socialism, so they wanted it.

Another instance where educated Indians, blacks, portugese and chinese were united in their beliefs.

Yes, this is a fair assessment and I recall something along these lines, but what percentage of the population do you think this "group" comprised?

I'll spare you all a fine nuanced analysis as I don't care to waste more ink on that Antiman Cumrag Cheddi.

Thank the gods he dropped dead of a heart attack. In another country and with any other race, he would have gotten the Gandhi treatment. One bullet to a tyrant is better than the decades of suffering he inflicted on Guyana.

Jagan was only worshipped by abbe low class Hindus. He's ayuh gaad. Keep him to ayuhself.

No one cares nor wishes to wash his feet in condensed milk. And ayuh can keep ayuh Blue Eyed Bhowgie to ayuhself.

He's your god. God of abbe dunce Hindus. Praise he at the mandir not the public square.
I'll spare you all a fine nuanced analysis as I don't care to waste more ink on that Antiman Cumrag Cheddi.

Thank the gods he dropped dead of a heart attack. In another country and with any other race, he would have gotten the Gandhi treatment. One bullet to a tyrant is better than the decades of suffering he inflicted on Guyana.

Jagan was only worshipped by abbe low class Hindus. He's ayuh gaad. Keep him to ayuhself.

No one cares nor wishes to wash his feet in condensed milk. And ayuh can keep ayuh Blue Eyed Bhowgie to ayuhself.

He's your god. God of abbe dunce Hindus. Praise he at the mandir not the public square.

I guess you have the right to make unsubstantiated comments also.

I grew up in a very PPP supportive home where Jagan was king.  Jagan was in the opposition from the time I was born so I don't know his previous history as premier other than what I heard and read.  I always viewed Jagan as an honest person and I always supported his candidacy in all elections I voted in Guyana.  I viewed him as a socialist who had Guyana's interest at heart.  I think even though he could have been a Marxist at heart he was a socialist in practice.  For example, he never called for seizure of property from the wealthy as Fidel Castro had done.

Cheddi always wanted to be the leader of Guyana.  He also always wanted unity among the races.  However, he understood the Indian numerical advantage and his ability to corner that voting block and used it to his advantage.

During the days of rigged elections he always wanted a peaceful struggle as opposed to military struggle to gain power.  He did try to bring the Burnham government down through industrial unrest including favoring the burning of sugar cane fields.

During the WPA struggle he gave Walter Rodney distant support..  Even during the struggle he told supporters at a Kitty meeting that he would win a free and fair election.

Cheddi might have been a strong leader of the PPP, but he was a terrible leader of the country post 1992.  He surrounded himself with square pegs in round holes and failed to institute changes to the Constitution.  These were the two main concerns he had with the Burnham government and he failed in both.

I think Cheddi as a person had great vision for Guyana.  He was not prepared to see Guyana raped by the multi-nationals.  His economic policies while not very much different from Hoyte resulted in continued growth for Guyana during his Presidency.  Unfortunately, he did not prepare his party to take over after him.

I have heard people claim that Cheddi deliberately undermined the Indians working class to keep them "stupid" so that he could control them. The cane cutters were used as an example. I have never seen this and I do not believe it.

His view of western politics could have been his downfall but why did the west accept him in 1992?  Was it just because the cold war ended? Or was it because he became less radical?

VVP,

Your thoughts are no different from the majority of Indians. All of us grew up under Jagan and Indians saw him as a charismatic leader, despite his socialist views. Even when he was in the opposition he was still honest and admired by many.

His weakness, and Indian's biggest downfall in Guyana was his ideology. He was not only socialist, he was a Communist with strong ties to Stalinist Russia. As such, he spent his lifetime opposing America and the West, without an understanding that Guyana is in their backyard.

You may not have seen this written anywhere but you are smart enough to appreciate the fact that Cheddi is responsible for Indian's predicament in Guyana today. Instead of bringing Indians into the modern era, he kept them tied to a plantation (unlike Singapore's late leader) economy,, and they remain economically and politically docile and backward. Think about it, a socialist is generally a revolutionary who believes in the use of force to remove an unjust government. Cheddi accepted a socialist world view and the socialist economic plan but he disavowed its radical component. He admired Castro and Che but never thought of adopting their radical approach to change.Some would argue that this was the reason why the PPP feels comfortable being in the opposition. The are used to it.

Regarding post-1992: Yes Cheddi died too early. He left a set of losers and nincompoops to run the party. They ran the party and PPP-controlled overnment into the ground. 

So I would say this: Cheddi and Burnham are both responsible for our problems today. Cheddi takes a bigger part of the blame because he established the first mass based party in Guyana.  In addition, he was outmaneuvered by Burnham abd the west. His ideology was wrong for us...Indians are NOT socialists. Here is the other problem: his dogmatic alliance to the socialist world view preclude his from exploring other plans and options to solve Guyyana's race/ethnic problem. He felt race would disappear when the "working class" unite. In essence, Cheddi was a leader who lived at a different time and could not foresee the issues we face today, such as the West is not our enemy, race is more important than class, etc.

Finally, the other downfall of the PPP, which is responsible for it being in the dire situation it is in today is the fact that its democratic centralist top down party structufe does not allow criticism of the leadership. Over the years, the PPP has destroyed, expelled, isolated the intellectual elements within the party.

By the way, Rambarack's book on Rai, which I have been rereading recently, has a very good critique of Cheddi. I feel the book is more about Cheddi and his weaknesses.

Hope this clarifies some of the issues you raised. Good to see that you are reflecting on the homeland.

So VVP,

How come abbe fullahman dem, abbe Black people, abbe Christians, etc etc doan worship de Lard Cheddi? Only abbe low class hoi polloi (thank u Itame for the reminded) and assorted low class estate coolies. Face it chap, he is only revered among abbe estate Hindu coolies.

Hate to sound like DG, but your conclusions are not based on facts.  By the way, I am not religious.  I believe your "salvation" is based on the work you do on earth today..that line of discussion is for another thread.  I am interested in hearing what people thoughts are.  Make concrete points like Itaname above.

VVP,

Your thoughts are no different from the majority of Indians. All of us grew up under Jagan and Indians saw him as a charismatic leader, despite his socialist views. Even when he was in the opposition he was still honest and admired by many.

His weakness, and Indian's biggest downfall in Guyana was his ideology. He was not only socialist, he was a Communist with strong ties to Stalinist Russia. As such, he spent his lifetime opposing America and the West, without an understanding that Guyana is in their backyard.

You may not have seen this written anywhere but you are smart enough to appreciate the fact that Cheddi is responsible for Indian's predicament in Guyana today. Instead of bringing Indians into the modern era, he kept them tied to a plantation (unlike Singapore's late leader) economy,, and they remain economically and politically docile and backward. Think about it, a socialist is generally a revolutionary who believes in the use of force to remove an unjust government. Cheddi accepted a socialist world view and the socialist economic plan but he disavowed its radical component. He admired Castro and Che but never thought of adopting their radical approach to change.Some would argue that this was the reason why the PPP feels comfortable being in the opposition. The are used to it.

Regarding post-1992: Yes Cheddi died too early. He left a set of losers and nincompoops to run the party. They ran the party and PPP-controlled overnment into the ground. 

So I would say this: Cheddi and Burnham are both responsible for our problems today. Cheddi takes a bigger part of the blame because he established the first mass based party in Guyana.  In addition, he was outmaneuvered by Burnham abd the west. His ideology was wrong for us...Indians are NOT socialists. Here is the other problem: his dogmatic alliance to the socialist world view preclude his from exploring other plans and options to solve Guyyana's race/ethnic problem. He felt race would disappear when the "working class" unite. In essence, Cheddi was a leader who lived at a different time and could not foresee the issues we face today, such as the West is not our enemy, race is more important than class, etc.

Finally, the other downfall of the PPP, which is responsible for it being in the dire situation it is in today is the fact that its democratic centralist top down party structufe does not allow criticism of the leadership. Over the years, the PPP has destroyed, expelled, isolated the intellectual elements within the party.

By the way, Rambarack's book on Rai, which I have been rereading recently, has a very good critique of Cheddi. I feel the book is more about Cheddi and his weaknesses.

Hope this clarifies some of the issues you raised. Good to see that you are reflecting on the homeland.

Regarding the last issue you raised RE:why did West accept him? You are right. The Cold War was over and the Bush administration could now tolerate a Cheddi Jagan government. In any case, the US was more than willing to accept a democratic government coming to power through free and fair elections. Besides, Guyana was not now in 1992 like Chile in 1973, where US had tremendous economic investment in the country that led them to remove a democratically elected government under Allende. By this time the world had changed and Cheddi was, in any case, not like a radical Fidel Castro. He had also indicated in newspaper interviews that he accepted an end to the Cold War.       

How come ayuh Jaganistanis doan drink some paisin and go jine ayuh gaad? Leff abbe not so dunce coolies to live abbe life in peace

This is a serious post Shaits....if you have nothing useful to say, except your usual self-hating coolie nonsense, youshould take Ramjattan's advise and "haul yo arse".

Vish

Cheddie condoned corruption since in the fifties-cronyism, nepotism, rigged election with his party, etc,etc. He was a subversive/saboteur. He glorified everything Stalinist-he sung praises to Stalin's name. That was his god. He is a liar to the nation of Guyana. He destroyed the character of many good decent honest men by telling the masses of Indoes that such men are colonial stooges. Anytime a political organization rose in Guyana to bring progress to the citizens, Cheddie get in its midst convincing the honest that he had the power of Indo votes, And the honest succumb to his charms, only later to be marginalized by the Pappa Doctor.

He smiled alot, but never serious about nation building. He believed governance is only WINNING. He cultured a group of crooks. And people still want to believe he was not corrupted-he was corrupted of political decency. However, he in the company of every Guyanese President including Granger.

Self-hating?

Look Antiman, Jagan ain't my god. I was raised thankfully by sensible Muslims and Christians who doan worship rocks and Jagans.

There you go again...bullying people with your pejoratives...sound like a man lacking ample vocabulary. Where on this post do you see people saying Jagan is a God. VVP raised some interesting questions...find another post you foolism man. 

Originally Posted by VishMahabir:

You may not have seen this written anywhere but you are smart enough to appreciate the fact that Cheddi is responsible for Indian's predicament in Guyana today. Instead of bringing Indians into the modern era, he kept them tied to a plantation (unlike Singapore's late leader) economy,, and they remain economically and politically docile and backward. 

How did he keep indians tied to the plantations?  What should he have done?  What about the indians in the rice industry how they separated from the plantation?

Awwww Vish hurt my feewlings.

Maybe you doan realize how schupid ayuh look to sensible people with this Jagan dik suckathon.
I now proffer to you the advice and counsel my most noble and illustrious grandfather gives to all Jaganites: " Bai, dis ting good fuh cold and fuh kaff"!

Spoken like a true devil!  Like PaPa like GrandPaPa like Son.  I hope the admin take note of your language.

He was a subversive/saboteur. He glorified everything Stalinist-he sung praises to Stalin's name. That was his god. 

Do you have something that could back this up? 

The White Paper on the suspension of the 1953 Constitution documents his attendance to Stalinist Rallies in Moscow. He paid homage to the mass murderer. It is good reading-google it. I heard the reading of the Suspension Order in 1953 on the radio. Some 20 years later, I had copy given to me as I was doing a research of that political period. As I read it, I knew it was true to every word. 

You may not have seen this written anywhere but you are smart enough to appreciate the fact that Cheddi is responsible for Indian's predicament in Guyana today. Instead of bringing Indians into the modern era, he kept them tied to a plantation (unlike Singapore's late leader) economy,, and they remain economically and politically docile and backward. 

How did he keep indians tied to the plantations?  What should he have done?  What about the indians in the rice industry how they separated from the plantation?

He placed heavy emphasis on agriculture, even though understandably Guyana was an agricultural based society and very underdeveloped. However, not much was done to wean Indians away from farming. The PPP manifesto continued to invest in agriculture, as they should, but issues like diversification and the creation of tertiary and quaternary industries around rice and sugar were ignored. For example, when in the 1970s Brazil experienced the oil market shock they invested heavily in ethanol, now making cars using ethanol. Sugar could be packaged and processed and sold to the west. The same with rice, Guyana could have created different varieties and process and package them to be sold to the industrialized countries also. However, innovative ideas were not applied to both industries. Trinidad had long ago dismantled their Caroni sugar plantation by giving the land to the sugar workers. Clive Thomas did a thorough research on the sugar industry and he had long ago argued for diversification. For Cheddi, the sugar and rice workers were vote banks.

Come on Bro. Freak.

Dem hindu bais wanna mourn the Dear Comrade Founder Leader in peace.

Prem se bholo Jaganji! Jai!

You know when a popular person dies, there is myth about them-like Marilyn Monroe, James Dean, Che Guevara. So far the multitude of Indo Guyanese doan have anyone else other than CBJ-it is their CULT.  

Stop demonizing the greatest Guyanese that ever lived and Father of the Nation, not a crook like Burnham.

Jagan saved us from PNC tyranny although it took 28 years. Pity he did not live long enough to rule Guyana.

Hopefully, our Coalition will continue Jagan's pro-people policies with Bro. Mose leading the show.

Every Freedom House lout was required by Cumrag Cheddi to have a Russian name. He was "Berret"

Talk about delusional coolies.

You are so foolish. "Beret" is not a Russian name (like Alexi). You have not read the West on Trial.  If you had, you would have known that Jagan wanted to be westernized like the people he met...thus he substituted Beret for Bharat. Not that I agree with this ....but GET YOUR FACTS RIGHT and stop throwing shite on this thread as if you know what you are talking about. 

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

Stop demonizing the greatest Guyanese that ever lived and Father of the Nation, not a crook like Burnham.

Jagan saved us from PNC tyranny although it took 28 years. Pity he did not live long enough to rule Guyana.

Hopefully, our Coalition will continue Jagan's pro-people policies with Bro. Mose leading the show.

He was the father of the nation indeed. Jay, we are engaged in a little bit of introspection,  unlike Shaitaan who wants to SLASH and BURN everything about Jagan.

He placed heavy emphasis on agriculture, even though understandably Guyana was an agricultural based society and very underdeveloped. However, not much was done to wean Indians away from farming. The PPP manifesto continued to invest in agriculture, as they should, but issues like diversification and the creation of tertiary and quaternary industries around rice and sugar were ignored. For example, when in the 1970s Brazil experienced the oil market shock they invested heavily in ethanol, now making cars using ethanol. Sugar could be packaged and processed and sold to the west. The same with rice, Guyana could have created different varieties and process and package them to be sold to the industrialized countries also. However, innovative ideas were not applied to both industries. Trinidad had long ago dismantled their Caroni sugar plantation by giving the land to the sugar workers. Clive Thomas did a thorough research on the sugar industry and he had long ago argued for diversification. For Cheddi, the sugar and rice workers were vote banks.

Repackaging and ethanol would still  require the cane cutters unless the system was mechanized. I think there was and still is a conscious effort to keep people employed and is a the reason why the sugar industry is the way it is.   This new government also seems to view it this way. 

He was a subversive/saboteur. He glorified everything Stalinist-he sung praises to Stalin's name. That was his god. 

Do you have something that could back this up? 

The PPP have several monthly publications which make reference to this fact.

Praising Stalin?  I do not believe it.  If anything Cheddi was a Trotsky symphatizer.  

Interview with Cheddi Jagan

<cite>NACLA Report on the Americas</cite>, May/June 1997

Cheddi Jagan, the President of Guyana, died of a massive heart attack on March 5, 1997. A committed Marxist, he was one of the founders of the independent state of Guyana and a leader of the anticolonial struggle of the former British colony, British Guiana. He was elected three times to lead the Guyanese, and was twice overthrown, first by British colonial troops in 1953 and then by a U.S. and British-backed coup in 1964. He was elected again in 1992 and remained in office until his death this year. He was interviewed in his office in Georgetown just a month before he died by Fred Rosen and Mario Murillo via radio hookup from the studios of WBAI in New York.

Dr. Jagan, you've been referred to in the U.S. press as an unabashed Stalinist and a Moscow-inspired purist, and on the other hand you've been referred to as a former Marxist who has seen the light and is now a converted practitioner of freemarket economics. How would you describe your political and economic evolution over the past 30 years?

Well, I have always associated myself with the ideology of the working class, and I have led a very strong working class party for the past 47 years. Different people see and call working-class ideology by different names. But what was important were the concrete historical conditions in Guyana and the creation of a programmatic platform which caters to the needs of the working class. In many ways we were different from the mold in which many people placed us, especially the far right during the period of intense political and ideological struggles. Marxism for me neither was or is dogma, but a scientific guide to action. It gave me strong ethical beliefs in social justice, particularly in helping the poor, the underprivileged, and the exploited.

I grew up in a sugar plantation. Sugar was king. As a matter of fact, it was the gunning down of sugar workers in 1948 which propelled me into the anti-fascist struggle for national and social liberation, and in particular the anti-colonial struggle for an end to foreign domination. We struggled in British Guiana for the right to vote, and later to raise living standards and to try to transform the colonial economy where we were just producers of raw materials, sending things abroad and getting very little in return. Today I would say that it's fashionable to talk about the collapse of Marxism and socialism, yet it is not Marxism that has collapsed, but some of its practitioners. There is a great distinction between theory and principles on one hand, and practice on the other. Our practice developed differently in a concrete and different historical context than say in Russia, Cuba, or China.

And as we know, many mistakes were made due to the wholesale adoption in developing countries of the programmatic position taken in Britain by the British Labor Party. Many developing countries saw their advance to socialism in the rulebook of the British Labor Party, <q>the public ownership of the means of production, distribution, and exchange.</q> That was in a developed economy. But because many colonial peoples, especially in the British empire, looked at the British experience and had links to the social democratic movement of the Labor party in England, our practice was more or less taken from theirs. In this regard, I think we made mistakes. We were not creative enough in adopting programs which were in keeping with our own concrete condition. Our concept of Guyana Socialism was premised on plural, peaceful, multi-party states with mixed forms of ownership. This was misunderstood at the height of the cold war hysteria.

Given the state of inequality in the world today where there is a greater percentage of poor people than ever before, do you see some form of socialism still on the agenda in Guyana?

Well, I would say that socialism has suffered a setback with the collapse of the world's socialist systems. However, there are experiments going on in different parts of the world, in Cuba, in China, and the struggle is being waged now in Russia between those who still want some form of socialism, and those who want Russia to pursue a capitalist course. So that struggle is going to continue. I would say that the contradictions now are sharpening between Marxism and the neoliberal model which is currently being dictated by the West. This is not the most important struggle that we have going on now. The most important struggle is to seek a balance of interests in this period of globalization and liberalization on one hand, and the specific interests of the developing countries which will continue to be marginalized if we do not collectively seek a new global order. Let me just say that socialism is not on the agenda in Guyana. We can speak of a period of national democracy.

How has the clash between the neoliberal model and socialism had an impact on Guyana?

We have inherited IMF and World Bank programs that were implemented by the last government. In this regard we are trying to move very carefully because we need balance-of-payment support of $40-45 million a year from the World Bank, IMF and the developed countries. So we see that there are many contradictions in the model that is advocated by the World Bank and the IMF, contradictions that do not solve our problems.

At our Congress two years ago, we said that we had to walk carefully, skillfully, and scientifically between conformism and transformation. To go along completely with the IMF and World Bank is going to lead to the death of many countries, as we have seen. As a matter of fact, politicians who follow that model lose when it comes time for the people to vote, they are thrown out.

In this careful walk between this <q>Washington Consensus</q> and a genuine Latin American agenda, with which you identify, where do you fit in the idea of privatization and low wages to attract foreign investors? How do you feel about these things in Guyana?

Under the last governments, we have experienced privatization along with the devaluation of our currency. A lot of those deals have proven to be a failure. We are examining everything very carefully and not accepting it as the one and only model. We are now talking about privatization of the electric company. And we have said that we don't want a model where foreign companies will hold a majority of the shares, and therefore control of the management and the board.

How would you characterize ethnic relations in Guyana and how do they relate to the political parties and the general political process?

This has a long history in Guyana, before we entered politics in the 1940's. Long before Mr. Mandela came up with the formula of bringing the opposition in, we had made several attempts to bring about unity in our country. In 1957 we failed [to create a political coalition between East Indians and Afro-Guyanese]. In 1964 we won and I tried again. I went to the UN in support of Afro-Asian states to work out the formula, but then the foreign governments were working with [cuop-leader] Mr. Burnham to put him in power. As the opposition for 28 years, we again tried to bring about some unity but we failed. In 1977, we came out with a slogan and a policy formulation called <q>winner will not take all</q> even if we win the election. We alone will not form the government. So, it is still the policy to bring about unity along ethnic and religious lines in Guyana.

We have signed the optional protocol to the UN on several non-political rights.

The last government did not sign this protocol. We signed it, and now anyone is entitled to go to the UN with any discrimination case they may have. We also have a taskforce for racial equality, headed by a very distinguished bishop of the Anglican church. He is a respected individual and his task force has produced a White Paper which will be presented to Parliament very shortly. And might I say that the opposition party has refused to serve on the task force because they hate Bishop George because he has fought for fair and free elections in this country.

When that White Paper is debated in the Parliament, we hope to get a law on racial equality. Then we will have a commission on racial equality. We hope that then cases can be brought, not to the UN or some other international body like the OAS, but can be dealt with here, by the Commission.

People have always said the racial factor is the only political factor here. That is not true. If that were true, we would not have won a majority of the votes in Guyana, over 50%. Indians are just above 50% of the population, and not all of them vote for us. In the 1992 elections, there were many irregularities. In spite of that, we won 54% of the votes. Given the peace in the country, I am sure we will break that gap again, as we did in 1993. In fact, when I was sworn in in 1992, I said that we would make a new beginning, start where we had left off and bring about what we call <q>the spirit of 1953</q> which is about national unity, working class unity, and racial unity.

You have referred to Cold War hysteria in the United States and the developments that led to your ouster. How do you view the relationship between the United States and Guyana today?

Our relations are very good with the U.S. and we are working to achieve a partnership with the North and the South of the world, particularly with the U.S., Latin America, and the Caribbean. I have praised the U.S.; the past is the past. The Cold War was a historical process that was going on at that time, and we became the victims. I have no recriminations against the U.S. and Britain even though they have helped to destabilize my governement on two occasions.

Many have stated that the new method of U.S. intervention in Latin America and the Caribbean is the war on drugs, and many countries have approved the hot pursuit of narcotics traffickers on their territory. It has also been stated that if Guyana had been in opposition to that, there would be less of a threat to sovereignty. What's your reaction to that and the role that the United States is playing in the so-called<q>war on drugs?</q>

We haven't gone on completely, like some countries who have allowed American agencies to come into their territory. We have allowed them one thing only, and that is to allow them airline passage over our territory, but we have to be constantly informed when that is happening. We have taken the line all along in COMICON, and throughout the hemisphere, that we have to act together. In Bolivia, I stated that we must look at what is causing environmental destruction, underdevelopment and poverty. When I came to the emergency meeting held by COMICON about the narcotics question, and the U.S. way of dealing with it, we took the line that we must not only deal with the symptoms, which are narcotics trafficking, and narcotics production, we must also deal with development.

In my country we have two big regions: one in the northwest near Venezuela, and one in the south near Brazil. People living in these areas produced peanuts, quality peanuts. But we cannot compete against peanuts coming into the country. Right now the banana producers in the Caribbean, especially in the Windward and Leeward Islands, cannot compete on the open market, and they are getting a special price in Europe, and America and Chiquita is backing that price. A statement by the former Prime Minister of Dominica makes it clear that if the banana goes-and their income depends nearly 70% upon bananas-then the people will be force d to grow marijuana. In a letter to the World Bank president, I reiterated that statement. Not only will the people be forced to grow marijuana, but they will become refugees to the North. If they cannot get visas to go, they will go illegally. We have to therefore not just treat the symptom, but treat the root cause.

When I was in the government in the 1950's, there was no marijuana grown here.

But under the last government 60% of the land which was under rice cultivation was abandoned, and the people started growing marijuana. And if we cannot sell our peanuts from these two regions then what are the people to do?

Especially when there is a demand in the North for either marijuana, or cocaine, or heroin. Right? And therefore you have the people of Latin America growing coca leaves, producing coca plants, and the big drug lords transforming that into cocaine and sending it to the north. We have to get to the root problem of development, and overcoming poverty. That's my message.

Never heard Jagan said anything about Stalin, and even if he did, what?

Are the bourgeois philosophers better?  Attacking socialist philosophers is simple western cool aid.  Marxist analysis is closer to the truth, not the bourgeois crap they feed you in college.

Marxism is another economic analysis of society, just like Rostow's modernization model, the Latin American dependencia model or the autarchic model. There are truths to each one but we have to look at the historical evolution of society and see which one can help us understand the pieces of the puzzle. We should not become slave to a specific theory. Jagan totally ignored ethnic models that help us understand racially polarized society like those offered b y Lijphart and Horowitz.

The failure of Marxism is something Cheddi was not willing to accept. Lets not become blind loyalists to ideology. Our situation in Guyana is different and requires a different set of tools to make sense of it.    

Never heard Jagan said anything about Stalin, and even if he did, what?

Are the bourgeois philosophers better?  Attacking socialist philosophers is simple western cool aid.  Marxist analysis is closer to the truth, not the bourgeois crap they feed you in college.

Marxism is another economic analysis of society, just like Rostow's modernization model, the Latin American dependencia model or the autarchic model. There are truths to each one but we have to look at the historical evolution of society and see which one can help us understand the pieces of the puzzle. We should not become slave to a specific theory. Jagan totally ignored ethnic models that help us understand racially polarized society like those offered b y Lijphart and Horowitz.

The failure of Marxism is something Cheddi was not willing to accept. Lets not become blind loyalists to ideology. Our situation in Guyana is different and requires a different set of tools to make sense of it.    

Jay, Jagan was a Stalinist loyalist and blindly supported everything they did, including the invasions of Chech. and Hungary. Keep an open mind...Cheddi made mistakes, if we are to move forward, we need to be critical of his mistakes, which we accept his virtues. 

Interview with Cheddi Jagan

<cite>NACLA Report on the Americas</cite>, May/June 1997

Cheddi Jagan, the President of Guyana, died of a massive heart attack on March 5, 1997. A committed Marxist, he was one of the founders of the independent state of Guyana and a leader of the anticolonial struggle of the former British colony, British Guiana. He was elected three times to lead the Guyanese, and was twice overthrown, first by British colonial troops in 1953 and then by a U.S. and British-backed coup in 1964. He was elected again in 1992 and remained in office until his death this year. He was interviewed in his office in Georgetown just a month before he died by Fred Rosen and Mario Murillo via radio hookup from the studios of WBAI in New York.

Dr. Jagan, you've been referred to in the U.S. press as an unabashed Stalinist and a Moscow-inspired purist, and on the other hand you've been referred to as a former Marxist who has seen the light and is now a converted practitioner of freemarket economics. How would you describe your political and economic evolution over the past 30 years?

Well, I have always associated myself with the ideology of the working class, and I have led a very strong working class party for the past 47 years. Different people see and call working-class ideology by different names. But what was important were the concrete historical conditions in Guyana and the creation of a programmatic platform which caters to the needs of the working class. In many ways we were different from the mold in which many people placed us, especially the far right during the period of intense political and ideological struggles. Marxism for me neither was or is dogma, but a scientific guide to action. It gave me strong ethical beliefs in social justice, particularly in helping the poor, the underprivileged, and the exploited.

I grew up in a sugar plantation. Sugar was king. As a matter of fact, it was the gunning down of sugar workers in 1948 which propelled me into the anti-fascist struggle for national and social liberation, and in particular the anti-colonial struggle for an end to foreign domination. We struggled in British Guiana for the right to vote, and later to raise living standards and to try to transform the colonial economy where we were just producers of raw materials, sending things abroad and getting very little in return. Today I would say that it's fashionable to talk about the collapse of Marxism and socialism, yet it is not Marxism that has collapsed, but some of its practitioners. There is a great distinction between theory and principles on one hand, and practice on the other. Our practice developed differently in a concrete and different historical context than say in Russia, Cuba, or China.

And as we know, many mistakes were made due to the wholesale adoption in developing countries of the programmatic position taken in Britain by the British Labor Party. Many developing countries saw their advance to socialism in the rulebook of the British Labor Party, <q>the public ownership of the means of production, distribution, and exchange.</q> That was in a developed economy. But because many colonial peoples, especially in the British empire, looked at the British experience and had links to the social democratic movement of the Labor party in England, our practice was more or less taken from theirs. In this regard, I think we made mistakes. We were not creative enough in adopting programs which were in keeping with our own concrete condition. Our concept of Guyana Socialism was premised on plural, peaceful, multi-party states with mixed forms of ownership. This was misunderstood at the height of the cold war hysteria.

Given the state of inequality in the world today where there is a greater percentage of poor people than ever before, do you see some form of socialism still on the agenda in Guyana?

Well, I would say that socialism has suffered a setback with the collapse of the world's socialist systems. However, there are experiments going on in different parts of the world, in Cuba, in China, and the struggle is being waged now in Russia between those who still want some form of socialism, and those who want Russia to pursue a capitalist course. So that struggle is going to continue. I would say that the contradictions now are sharpening between Marxism and the neoliberal model which is currently being dictated by the West. This is not the most important struggle that we have going on now. The most important struggle is to seek a balance of interests in this period of globalization and liberalization on one hand, and the specific interests of the developing countries which will continue to be marginalized if we do not collectively seek a new global order. Let me just say that socialism is not on the agenda in Guyana. We can speak of a period of national democracy.

How has the clash between the neoliberal model and socialism had an impact on Guyana?

We have inherited IMF and World Bank programs that were implemented by the last government. In this regard we are trying to move very carefully because we need balance-of-payment support of $40-45 million a year from the World Bank, IMF and the developed countries. So we see that there are many contradictions in the model that is advocated by the World Bank and the IMF, contradictions that do not solve our problems.

At our Congress two years ago, we said that we had to walk carefully, skillfully, and scientifically between conformism and transformation. To go along completely with the IMF and World Bank is going to lead to the death of many countries, as we have seen. As a matter of fact, politicians who follow that model lose when it comes time for the people to vote, they are thrown out.

In this careful walk between this <q>Washington Consensus</q> and a genuine Latin American agenda, with which you identify, where do you fit in the idea of privatization and low wages to attract foreign investors? How do you feel about these things in Guyana?

Under the last governments, we have experienced privatization along with the devaluation of our currency. A lot of those deals have proven to be a failure. We are examining everything very carefully and not accepting it as the one and only model. We are now talking about privatization of the electric company. And we have said that we don't want a model where foreign companies will hold a majority of the shares, and therefore control of the management and the board.

How would you characterize ethnic relations in Guyana and how do they relate to the political parties and the general political process?

This has a long history in Guyana, before we entered politics in the 1940's. Long before Mr. Mandela came up with the formula of bringing the opposition in, we had made several attempts to bring about unity in our country. In 1957 we failed [to create a political coalition between East Indians and Afro-Guyanese]. In 1964 we won and I tried again. I went to the UN in support of Afro-Asian states to work out the formula, but then the foreign governments were working with [cuop-leader] Mr. Burnham to put him in power. As the opposition for 28 years, we again tried to bring about some unity but we failed. In 1977, we came out with a slogan and a policy formulation called <q>winner will not take all</q> even if we win the election. We alone will not form the government. So, it is still the policy to bring about unity along ethnic and religious lines in Guyana.

We have signed the optional protocol to the UN on several non-political rights.

The last government did not sign this protocol. We signed it, and now anyone is entitled to go to the UN with any discrimination case they may have. We also have a taskforce for racial equality, headed by a very distinguished bishop of the Anglican church. He is a respected individual and his task force has produced a White Paper which will be presented to Parliament very shortly. And might I say that the opposition party has refused to serve on the task force because they hate Bishop George because he has fought for fair and free elections in this country.

When that White Paper is debated in the Parliament, we hope to get a law on racial equality. Then we will have a commission on racial equality. We hope that then cases can be brought, not to the UN or some other international body like the OAS, but can be dealt with here, by the Commission.

People have always said the racial factor is the only political factor here. That is not true. If that were true, we would not have won a majority of the votes in Guyana, over 50%. Indians are just above 50% of the population, and not all of them vote for us. In the 1992 elections, there were many irregularities. In spite of that, we won 54% of the votes. Given the peace in the country, I am sure we will break that gap again, as we did in 1993. In fact, when I was sworn in in 1992, I said that we would make a new beginning, start where we had left off and bring about what we call <q>the spirit of 1953</q> which is about national unity, working class unity, and racial unity.

You have referred to Cold War hysteria in the United States and the developments that led to your ouster. How do you view the relationship between the United States and Guyana today?

Our relations are very good with the U.S. and we are working to achieve a partnership with the North and the South of the world, particularly with the U.S., Latin America, and the Caribbean. I have praised the U.S.; the past is the past. The Cold War was a historical process that was going on at that time, and we became the victims. I have no recriminations against the U.S. and Britain even though they have helped to destabilize my governement on two occasions.

Many have stated that the new method of U.S. intervention in Latin America and the Caribbean is the war on drugs, and many countries have approved the hot pursuit of narcotics traffickers on their territory. It has also been stated that if Guyana had been in opposition to that, there would be less of a threat to sovereignty. What's your reaction to that and the role that the United States is playing in the so-called<q>war on drugs?</q>

We haven't gone on completely, like some countries who have allowed American agencies to come into their territory. We have allowed them one thing only, and that is to allow them airline passage over our territory, but we have to be constantly informed when that is happening. We have taken the line all along in COMICON, and throughout the hemisphere, that we have to act together. In Bolivia, I stated that we must look at what is causing environmental destruction, underdevelopment and poverty. When I came to the emergency meeting held by COMICON about the narcotics question, and the U.S. way of dealing with it, we took the line that we must not only deal with the symptoms, which are narcotics trafficking, and narcotics production, we must also deal with development.

In my country we have two big regions: one in the northwest near Venezuela, and one in the south near Brazil. People living in these areas produced peanuts, quality peanuts. But we cannot compete against peanuts coming into the country. Right now the banana producers in the Caribbean, especially in the Windward and Leeward Islands, cannot compete on the open market, and they are getting a special price in Europe, and America and Chiquita is backing that price. A statement by the former Prime Minister of Dominica makes it clear that if the banana goes-and their income depends nearly 70% upon bananas-then the people will be force d to grow marijuana. In a letter to the World Bank president, I reiterated that statement. Not only will the people be forced to grow marijuana, but they will become refugees to the North. If they cannot get visas to go, they will go illegally. We have to therefore not just treat the symptom, but treat the root cause.

When I was in the government in the 1950's, there was no marijuana grown here.

But under the last government 60% of the land which was under rice cultivation was abandoned, and the people started growing marijuana. And if we cannot sell our peanuts from these two regions then what are the people to do?

Especially when there is a demand in the North for either marijuana, or cocaine, or heroin. Right? And therefore you have the people of Latin America growing coca leaves, producing coca plants, and the big drug lords transforming that into cocaine and sending it to the north. We have to get to the root problem of development, and overcoming poverty. That's my message.

This interview confirms what we have been saying about Cheddi and his weakness (and strengths). He was a slave to an ideology to which Indians (and most Guyanese for this matter) did not support. As I said before we should acknowledge his contributions, but also recognize his weaknesses. A new generation of leaders must understand this so we can avoid making similar mistakes. 

How do you explain the rise of the East Indian middle class, and the many educated East Indians. Give one thing that jagan did to keep the East Indians on the plantations or the rice farmers on their rice fields. Why is it that many Eadt Indians became the envy of other groups. Please read Professor Kazim Bacchus book on Education in Guyana and this will explain the rise of East Indians in the field of education and as a jumping off point for other activities. 

Z
So VVP,

How come abbe fullahman dem, abbe Black people, abbe Christians, etc etc doan worship de Lard Cheddi? Only abbe low class hoi polloi (thank u Itame for the reminded) and assorted low class estate coolies. Face it chap, he is only revered among abbe estate Hindu coolies.

Haul yuh Lying Dutty Jihaji

Goatshit da side.....

Fact #1 : Cheddi Jagan National Support

Cheddi Jagan could win any Free & Fair election

in Guyana during his lifetime.

Fact#2 : Cheddi Jagan - 90% INDIAN SUPPORT

Cheddi Jagan had unbreakable support

from 90% of the Indian Population in Guyana

at all times.

Fact #3 : Remaining 10% Non Jagan Indian Support

Ravi Dev, Roar, Jaguar, Jihajis & Balram Singh Rai

Independently or collectively could never get the 10%

of the Indian Vote or Population (Non-Jagan) to support them.

Ravi & Roar were always Scavengers - Sharing

De Scraps, Bones & Waste from the 10% Remaining

Non Jagan PPP Indian Supporters with

PNC, UF, WPA, Gump & Liberator Party

Fact # 4 Non Indian Votes -

Blacks, Mixed, Amerindians & All others

Cheddi Jagan also maintain at least 25-30% Support

from the Non-Indian Voters and

population in Guyana

at all times 

Fact #5 -  Guyana has only 2 Successful

Indian National Leaders who can stand on their own.

Jagan & Nagamootoo -

with Impressive records 

and Victories at every level

always stand at the Top.

Check PPP Congress Results

Check National Elections with

Jagan & Nagamootoo

on the Ticket....

Compare with Failures

Jagdeo

Ramotar

Ravi Dev

Leslie Ramsammy

Nanda Gopaul

Balram Singh Rai

Nadir

Hussain Ghani

Shaitee yuh thing

u & Nanda-lolo mek de List?

Originally Posted by Zed:

How do you explain the rise of the East Indian middle class, and the many educated East Indians. Give one thing that jagan did to keep the East Indians on the plantations or the rice farmers on their rice fields. Why is it that many Eadt Indians became the envy of other groups. Please read Professor Kazim Bacchus book on Education in Guyana and this will explain the rise of East Indians in the field of education and as a jumping off point for other activities. 

The educational system was in place in BG way before indentured arrived. Before slavery was abolished, the British Parliament enacted laws for the education of the slaves. And Church school meet the challenge. When Indians were to be educated, the schools were already there with the teachers trained-all afro Guyanese. Cheddie himself went to church school. Later, he would campaign to rid the country of the church schools. That decision was in line with his Stalinist views that God has no place in Communism.

I attended many many public meetings where Jagan spoke and never heard him say anything complementary about Stalin.  Matter of fact, Moses Nagamootoo in a a recent speech in Guyana Parliament called the current crop of PPP Stalinist.  He would have never said that if Jagan was a Stalinist.    

VP, here are a few points to consider:

== When Cheddi Jagan married Janet Rosenberg in 1943, Josef Stalin was ruler of the Soviet Union.

== When Janet Jagan got a boy child in 1949, Josef Stalin was still ruler of the Soviet Union.

== In the first edition of his book "The West on Trial", Jagan wrote he named his firstborn son Joey in honour of Josef Stalin.

== The PPP was formed in 1950. Stalin died in March 1953. The PPP won elections in April, one month after Stalin died. The British government suspended the Guiana constitution and removed the PPP government 6 months later on the grounds that it was communist.

== Police searched PPP members homes and found books written by Stalin and PPP May Day posters with Stalin's portrait. Check the newsreels videos in British Pathe website.

== During the Robertson Commission's hearings in 1954, Lionel Luckhoo questioned the PPP Leader: "Dr Jagan, are you a communist? Yes or No?

== Ten years later, the US and Britain successfully conspired to remove the "communist" PPP from government.

== VP, by the time you grew up to attend those meetings where Dr Jagan spoke, he could not have said complementary things about Stalin openly.

== In June 1969, Dr Jagan attended the International Conference of Communist and Workers Parties in Moscow and made a speech in which he declared: "This is where we [PPP] belong."

Before 1969 ended, the PPP declared itself a Marxist-Leninist party, changed its constitution to suit, and pledged allegiance to the Communist Party of the Soviet Union [CPSU] headed by Leonid Brezhnev, an unapologetic Stalinist.

== In 1985, shortly after Mikhael Gorbachev became Soviet leader, he bluntly declared that the CPSU was still Stalinist and he vowed to change it through glasnost and perestroika, openness and restructuring.

== All that time, Dr Jagan was uncritically supporting the CPSU and PPP members like myself followed the leader.

== One does not have to shout through a microphone "I am a Stalinist" to be a Stalinist.

Gil,

What was DR. Jagan position on Stalin vs Trotsky?  

I think it is fair to say he was Marxist-Leninist, but this Stalinist argument seems to be guilty by association.  Would Jagan be considered a dictator by giving critical support to Burnham?

Although  I was never heavily involved in politics my brother was and I never picked up from him that Jagan was a Stalinist.  I know my brother hated Stalin and a lot of his opinions where formulated from Cheddi.  I will keep an open mind and would like to hear from Odeen if he is reading this.

You said "Police searched PPP members homes and found books written by Stalin and PPP May Day posters with Stalin's portrait. Check the newsreels videos in British Pathe website." I read something on the Internet that the Stalin portrait during the May Day parade was a set up to make Cheddi look bad by elements within the PPP....I'll see if I can find it again.

Excerpt from Odeen Ishmael History:  The Guyana Story

THE “ULTRA-LEFTIST” SPLIT – 1956

About eighteen months after Burnham led the right-wing elements in splitting the PPP (in February 1955), the Party was affected by another split, this time from a small group which was headed by Martin Carter, Lionel Jeffrey, Rory Westmass, and Keith Carter. Their political position from time to time received support from Sydney King.

The members of this faction held leading positions in the Demerara Youth League (the front-name of the PYO) and the British Guiana Peace Committee where they took what the Party leadership regarded as some “ultra-left” positions. These exposed the Party to heavy attacks and criticisms from both the anti-PPP forces and the “right-wing” of the Party itself. During the 1953 May Day parade in Georgetown, this group displayed a huge banner of Stalin, even though the Party had decided not to display any banners showing support for the Soviet leader.

Clearly a rift was brewing, and from 1954 they began to attack the party on two issues. First, they stated that the party line of non-violence and civil disobedience against the Interim Government was anti-Marxist and non-revolutionary. Second, they demanded the abandonment of the Party’s stand on the Federation issue and wanted unconditional support of the planned West Indian Federation. Their attacks were directed against Dr. Jagan for his support for non-violence and civil disobedience, and for his and the Party’s view that the electorate should decide by referendum if Guyana should enter the West Indian Federation.

At the 1956 Congress of the PPP, Dr. Jagan sharply criticised the position of this faction in a paper submitted to the Congress. In this paper, Dr. Jagan described their pro-federation line as “adventurist”. He explained that the 1955 split had weakened the national movement and it would be unwise not to consider the views and weaknesses of the masses. He suggested that because of the existing political conditions, the leadership could not move too far ahead of the followers. He also argued that the PPP, as a broad national movement, led by Marxists but appealing to all sections, including local patriotic capitalists who were prepared to oppose colonialism and imperialism, “must guard against right and left opportunism”.

In a direct ideological debate with the group who accused the Party of taking anti-Marxist positions – (the members of this faction were also fond of quoting from the works of Marxist ideologies in attempts to back their positions) – Dr. Jagan used the occasion to answer them by also heavily referring to the writings of Marx, Engels, Lenin and Stalin, among others, to expose the dogmatic views of this faction.

Dr. Jagan stated: “. . . . up to October 1953, we committed deviations to the left. We definitely overrated the revolutionary possibilities of our Party . . . . We became bombastic. . . . We were attacking everybody at the same time.” Since Carter and Westmass, and also King, were regarded as the most “bombastic” Marxists in the Party, they felt that Dr. Jagan’s statement attacked them personally and was aimed at blaming the “left-wingers” for the suspension of the constitution in 1953.

The faction finally seceded when the Party took disciplinary action against Keith Carter for refusing to obey Party instructions. Significantly, Sydney King attempted to defend the position of this faction at the congress, but he refused to join them in their secession from the Party.

Hey bai

What about two black fowl? Dem haags is fuh personal use only. Me nah guy waste some perfectly good haags pin wan daag

Why the two of you don't take your feeding bottles and go suck them somewhere else?

I have every right to be at dis Jaganistani Havana as a half Hindu. I call upon my chammar ancestry to witness my love of all tings Jaganistani

Hey bai

What about two black fowl? Dem haags is fuh personal use only. Me nah guy waste some perfectly good haags pin wan daag

Why the two of you don't take your feeding bottles and go suck them somewhere else?

I have every right to be at dis Jaganistani Havana as a half Hindu. I call upon my chammar ancestry to witness my love of all tings Jaganistani

Are you Farouk Samaroo?

Hey bai

Are you Farouk Samaroo?

Are you Meh muddah man chap? Bail lefff Neh muddah. She already get wan man

Hey bai

Are you Farouk Samaroo?

Are you Meh muddah man chap? Bail lefff Neh muddah. She already get wan man

You gat a lot of mouth and can't own up to who you are?

VVP,
Would you like me to post who you are and would you care for me to post your personal info here?

There is an unwritten rule to not refer to people by their actual name here wen if you know their name.

I know a lot of people's personal identity here as do others but it's inappropriate to reveal such without permission.
Look Johnny come lately newbie I have never ever made a secret of my identity here in the decade ive been posting on this forum. There is no one here who doesn't know who I am.

Ask any non newbie who I am.

Non newbie who is Mr. Shaitaan?

You know newbie is relative right?  I have been on this forum from the time it started until about 2001.

VVP,
Would you like me to post who you are and would you care for me to post your personal info here?

There is an unwritten rule to not refer to people by their actual name here wen if you know their name.

I know a lot of people's personal identity here as do others but it's inappropriate to reveal such without permission.

I have always said who I am and have posted my full information here for Gil.

Vijay Puran

Originally Posted by Django:
Look Johnny come lately newbie I have never ever made a secret of my identity here in the decade ive been posting on this forum. There is no one here who doesn't know who I am.

Ask any non newbie who I am.

Oii..VVP..F.S is well known here and on his nick the aloo peeler.

How come the Black posters on GNI doan get into these antimanish runnings? Of who is who and who deh wid who wife and who been at Joe Kanhai backyard in 1998?

You bad talk Indians and yet set the worst example by your indecent language and insult of women on this forum.  Is that how you want to get elected?

Gil,

I think it is fair to say he was Marxist-Leninist, but this Stalinist argument seems to be guilty by association.  Would Jagan be considered a dictator by giving critical support to Burnham?

Although  I was never heavily involved in politics my brother was and I never picked up from him that Jagan was a Stalinist.  I know my brother hated Stalin and a lot of his opinions where formulated from Cheddi.  I will keep an open mind and would like to hear from Odeen if he is reading this.

You said "Police searched PPP members homes and found books written by Stalin and PPP May Day posters with Stalin's portrait. Check the newsreels videos in British Pathe website." I read something on the Internet that the Stalin portrait during the May Day parade was a set up to make Cheddi look bad by elements within the PPP....I'll see if I can find it again.

Stalin Photo was shipped around to PPP cells in the country. In particular, it was sent to our home. Instructions to my father-the Governor was to arrive at the Rosignol Train Station, he was to protest with the huge portrait of Stalin hung around his neck. He did as requested. The following morning,about 3.30, the Colonial Police(3 lorries) with guns and bayonets surrounded the house. With a warrant they searched. As soon the mischief was carried out, the portraits would transported elsewhere.    

Gil,

Stalin Photo was shipped around to PPP cells in the country. In particular, it was sent to our home. Instructions to my father-the Governor was to arrive at the Rosignol Train Station, he was to protest with the huge portrait of Stalin hung around his neck. He did as requested. The following morning,about 3.30, the Colonial Police(3 lorries) with guns and bayonets surrounded the house. With a warrant they searched. As soon the mischief was carried out, the portraits would transported elsewhere.    

Did the instructions come from Dr. Jagan?  If I am reading Odeen's article above correct it looks likes there was a faction "Martin Carter, Lionel Jeffrey, Rory Westmass, and Keith Carter" that could be the ones involved.

Gil,

Did the instructions come from Dr. Jagan?  If I am reading Odeen's article above correct it looks likes there was a faction "Martin Carter, Lionel Jeffrey, Rory Westmass, and Keith Carter" that could be the ones involved.

He was closely connected to the Jagans-Janet was more the revolutionary.

For all the mischief he was requested to carry out, it earned him 9 months at Mazaruni in 1954. 

I know PPPites pay a lot of importance to jailing of Cheddie and Janet. But there were others. Jailed for longer periods of time. In the history of the Freedom Movement those individuals are unimportant-but they are ones who broke the suspension laws, intimidated others, carried out subversive acts. distribute communist material and held pubic meeting when it was unlawful to do those things.

It can all be read on the Internet-O. Ishmael has it on there.

Gil,

I am picking up this conversation at this point.

To VVP, I won't say Jagan was a Stalinist in practice. He was an admirer of Stalin in his early political life, no doubt about about that. The PPP system of democratic centralism was started by Stalin's predecessor Lenin before the 1917 revolution when the Bolsheviks were a small semi-secret party. In practice, the emphasis was more on the centralism part. In the PPP, Jagan used to consult with other members of the Central Committee. Some party members felt he should have consulted with the entire membership. The counter-argument was that leaders have to lead.

Regarding Trotsky, Jagan followed the Soviet line. Stalin killed Trotsky in Mexico and then blacklisted his name in Russia for decades.

I was an admirer of Trotsky but I couldn't say that at Freedom House.

Hey bai

Are you Farouk Samaroo?

This is not nice, VVP. Please don't do it again.

There are very sound reasons why we use nicknames. The Internet is more dangerous than the Wild West, Gaza Strip and Yemen combined.

If you know someone's real name, please keep it to yourself. Thanks.

Hey bai

Are you Farouk Samaroo?

This is not nice, VVP. Please don't do it again.

There are very sound reasons why we use nicknames. The Internet is more dangerous than the Wild West, Gaza Strip and Yemen combined.

If you know someone's real name, please keep it to yourself. Thanks.

I didn't know his name.  Now I know it though.  I  thought we had decent people here but maybe not.  

I always remember that my brother used to say that Guyanese suffer because they are weak and selfish.  This is very true.

As individuals, Guyanese do exceedingly well outside of Guyana. We have no corporate spirit as nation. So the comment is true, "we selfish". That applies to every Guyanese-that means every race. It comes down to "them" and "us". There is no "we" in the near future.   

Siggy, when last did you hear the refrain: Guyanese are friendly people?

I can't remember the last time I heard that. There was a time when it was repeated a lot.

This is a serious post Shaits....if you have nothing useful to say, except your usual self-hating coolie nonsense, youshould take Ramjattan's advise and "haul yo arse".

Vish

...at the end of the day both y'all will be dry humping each others legs fuh Jagdeo. "Daag fuh daag". To call Shitty a self hating whatever can only mean:

a) You're clueless about Shitty's indocentric views OR

b) YOU ARE Shitty. The "straight guy" in the comedy routine of Shitty playing wid he self, guffawing loudly that he using 2 alias fuh set up he master dem positions.

Ah tink it's b).