Happy Diwali to all who r celebrating!

As a lil kid i looked forward to Diwali..we used to make  many many (more than 100)mud diyas (using kadi/caddy, a special kind of mud) n put them to dry on zinc sheets.  Then we made coconut oil to fill them  n the most exciting thing was to pick the cotton from our neighbor’s tree to make the wick.  We used to roll out the wicks n then soak them in the oil/diya for an hr before. It was a struggle to keep diya’s lighting as the strong breeze blew out the fire n we had to get bricks etc to shield the diyas.  We used to top up the diyas to keep them burning longer.

it was such a beautiful sight as we didn't have electricity in our villages so u can imagine how the place  looked in the dark.

Childhood memories ….

We used to get the mud from our pond to make the diyas. Dried them in  the sun. We would gather coconut trushes and dried wood to make a fire to bake them. We made ghee from the milk from our cows. There was enough to share with the neighbors and other villagers. Some folks made coconut oil. We would help make Meetai, Jeelaybi ,  peyrah and manbhog......(Sp?)

Typical food would be Dhaal, Rice, Roti, pumpkin, Bhaigan, aloo, Mango curry, bhajee, Katahar, saijan leaf and whatever veggies were available.

Lyn, we did not have electricity in our villages too. Diwali lights would overcome the darkness.

Happy Diwali.

@Mitwah posted:

We used to get the mud from our pond to make the diyas. Dried them in  the sun. We would gather coconut trushes and dried wood to make a fire to bake them. We made ghee from the milk from our cows. There was enough to share with the neighbors and other villagers. Some folks made coconut oil. We would help make Meetai, Jeelaybi ,  peyrah and manbhog......(Sp?)

Typical food would be Dhaal, Rice, Roti, pumpkin, Bhaigan, aloo, Mango curry, bhajee, Katahar, saijan leaf and whatever veggies were available.

Lyn, we did not have electricity in our villages too. Diwali lights would overcome the darkness.

Happy Diwali.

Yes..my mom made cow ghee too..but she used this for the altar diya only.

My maa did all the cooking with the help of my  big sis.  I dont rem if it was Phagwah or Diwali she made nice gojha (plenty ginger) ..my fave n also gulgula., sweet rice, parsad, pera(cow milk) n for dinner it was paratha roti (with ghee) with wet vermicelli .  She didnt cook a lot of veggies ..she would fast n drink milk only. (My maa. Was the only one who did everything..we were just onlookers/helpers.

Ps I never liked Phagwah though..too messy n i hated the powder in my hair(which is wht most people loved to do..lol) when we were very very young I rem we all wore white dresses n my. Dad gave us small bottles with abeer. He made few holes in the caps so that whn we threw it at someone..it wasnt messy but formed little lots. We were not allowed to empty a cup on anyone or mess up their head or skin..it was just a sprinkling on the ice white dress/short. This, I liked but whn friends n realtives came,,,,man they messed up the whole house, which annoyed me as my sis n i had to clean up!!

small day..nice memories ..simple life!!

Lynn
@cain posted:

A neighbour would invite us to share in some foods and one was something like fine noodles and maybe raisins, it was sweet. Any idea what this is called?

Grandma Freida seh it's called Kugel.

Oi man Mits, tell grandma Frieda is lie she lie that is Jewish food. What I asked about wasn't baked if I recall correctly and it had noodles and bit of liquid also.

@cain posted: Oi man Mits, tell grandma Frieda is lie she lie that is Jewish food. What I asked about wasn't baked if I recall correctly and it had noodles and bit of liquid also.

You will need this  ===>View Larger Image 1

Last edited by Mitwah
@cain posted:

A neighbour would invite us to share in some foods and one was something like fine noodles and maybe raisins, it was sweet. Any idea what this is called?

Vamazelli ..that is how we say itin GY..lol

u can get it in 2 forms, wet(liquidy( or  ‘cake’ form

i mean vermicelli !! It is yummy

u never had it???

chk it out here

https://www.alicaspepperpot.com/vermicelli-cake/

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn
@cain posted:

Oi man Mits, tell grandma Frieda is lie she lie that is Jewish food. What I asked about wasn't baked if I recall correctly and it had noodles and bit of liquid also.

Bai cain..is vamazelli u talking abt..lol

i cant believe u ate it n dont know d name..lol

u ever had parsad /Mohanbhog?? or sirini(halwa/halva)

Lynn

That could be it Lynn. I ate stuff I never knew the name of, As long as it look good...I nyam it.

Not sure of halwa or Parsad. What I had lots of was Sri Lankan fish buns and their sweet that's shaped like pretzels but with a honey taste and quite soft.

Mits, re your reader count. It seems as though the food stuff bring out the people, almost like cook it and they will come.

I forgot to mention trying to make some bulla cake again a week ago. I dropped one and is like it woke up my grandkids, might have also put a dent in the wood floor, the dam thing still come out hard like rock. Next time I not baking it, I might just put the dough in a crock pot and make bulla dumpling hehehehe

Banna look yeh, we got Foodland (expensive like rass, I only buy on sale items) and we got Independent grocer, Giant tiger, Crappy tire.

I did speak to the Independent grocers manager about bulla and will drop off a package (empty of course). I was quite surprised to see they carry cassava and plantain, I couldn't even get those in Fenelon even tthough it was only a couple hrs out of T.O.

@cain posted:

That could be it Lynn. I ate stuff I never knew the name of, As long as it look good...I nyam it.

Not sure of halwa or Parsad. What I had lots of was Sri Lankan fish buns and their sweet that's shaped like pretzels but with a honey taste and quite soft.

Mits, re your reader count. It seems as though the food stuff bring out the people, almost like cook it and they will come.

Jilebi …i think u talking abt? The soft pretzel thing??

That is syrup fried in hot oil..lol

i dont like it at all

Lynn
@cain posted:

I forgot to mention trying to make some bulla cake again a week ago. I dropped one and is like it woke up my grandkids, might have also put a dent in the wood floor, the dam thing still come out hard like rock. Next time I not baking it, I might just put the dough in a crock pot and make bulla dumpling hehehehe

Hahahahaaaaa omg..why it coming out so hard…

btw there was a hard sweetie/candy in GY..they called it burnham balz..da ting was hard

Lynn
@Mitwah posted:

@cain, No Frills carries the Bulla Cakes, Ginger flavored.

Inever had bula cakes which is strange as i lived in Cayman Islands for 3+ yrs.. lot of Jcan type of foods there

i know abt Bamie

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Inever had bula cakes which is strange as i lived in Cayman Islands for 3+ yrs.. lot of Jcan type of foods there

i know abt Bamie

I dip it in hot milk. Yummy!

I get it at Charlie's sometimes.

Current Visitors: 752 (2 members, 750 guests)

Fellow Guests. Happy Monday.

Welcome to the Original Guyanese Discussion Forums, first established in 1996. Here you can discuss, ask questions or generally debate anything related to politics, movies, music, health or just gyaff away your day/night here. A note of warning, the Political forum is not for the faint of heart. We do have some rules, so please adhere to them .

Last edited by Mitwah
@Mitwah posted:

I dip it in hot milk. Yummy!

I get it at Charlie's sometimes.

I have a store nearby that was owned by a Korean couple but they sold Jcan stuff (along with other WI items)

i am sure they have it…just that  i never noticed it lol

Lynn
@Mitwah posted:

Current Visitors: 752 (2 members, 750 guests)

Fellow Guests. Happy Monday.

Welcome to the Original Guyanese Discussion Forums, first established in 1996. Here you can discuss, ask questions or generally debate anything related to politics, movies, music, health or just gyaff away your day/night here. A note of warning, the Political forum is not for the faint of heart. We do have some rules, so please adhere to them .

A who dem dis?? Lord have mercy…

mussie dem venizs spying??? Hahahaha

Lynn