as difficult as it is, we have to and should..for their own sake.  how are they to learn for themselves if we don't allow them to get outta the "bubble/cocoon".

as a parent, it is my responsibility and obligation to do my best to educate, protect, teach, guide em to the best of my ability and knowledge. Sometimes even by tuff-love ..u can take the horse to the well, u can't mek he drink.  i am a typical e.g    

I find it rather difficult....

On Children
 Kahlil Gibran

Your children are not your children.
They are the sons and daughters of Life's longing for itself.

They come through you but not from you,
And though they are with you yet they belong not to you.

You may give them your love but not your thoughts,
For they have their own thoughts.

You may house their bodies but not their souls,
For their souls dwell in the house of tomorrow,
which you cannot visit, not even in your dreams.
You may strive to be like them,
but seek not to make them like you.

For life goes not backward nor tarries with yesterday.

You are the bows from which your children
as living arrows are sent forth.

The archer sees the mark upon the path of the infinite,
and He bends you with His might
that His arrows may go swift and far.

Let your bending in the archer's hand be for gladness;
For even as He loves the arrow that flies,
so He loves also the bow that is stable.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

I find it rather difficult....

On Children
 Kahlil Gibran

They are the sons and daughters of Life's longing for itself.

They come through you but not from you,
And though they are with you yet they belong not to you.

You may give them your love but not your thoughts,
For they have their own thoughts.

You may house their bodies but not their souls,
For their souls dwell in the house of tomorrow,
which you cannot visit, not even in your dreams.
You may strive to be like them,
but seek not to make them like you.

For life goes not backward nor tarries with yesterday.

You are the bows from which your children
as living arrows are sent forth.

The archer sees the mark upon the path of the infinite,
and He bends you with His might
that His arrows may go swift and far.

Let your bending in the archer's hand be for gladness;
For even as He loves the arrow that flies,
so He loves also the bow that is stable.

this look like a different language to me, so am not gonna even touch it 

grrrrr  .....it's very tempting!  

They are the sons and daughters of Life's longing for itself....REALLY???

They come through you but not from you...right!  they insert that chicken egg, then that darn rooster tread meh..no wonder i grumpy, am still 'setting"

ok...i think am gonna stop here!! no need to stress ~~~~breath in, breath out~~  to each, his own!

Originally Posted by Marcy.:

They are the sons and daughters of Life's longing for itself....REALLY???

They come through you but not from you...right!  they insert that chicken egg, then that darn rooster tread meh..no wonder i grumpy, am still 'setting"

ok...i think am gonna stop here!! no need to stress ~~~~breath in, breath out~~  to each, his own!

You are not even funny. This is one of the most beloved of commentary on children ever and it is completely and totally on point.

They are the sons and daughters of Life's longing for itself....REALLY??? If I may, I interpret this as the desire for life being greater than just your son or daughter, it's like blossoms waiting to bloom (oh rass, I good eh)

They come through you but not from you...right!  they insert that chicken egg, then that darn rooster tread meh..no wonder i grumpy, am still 'setting"...you're just a conduit for something greater...a living, thinking human being

i am gonna pretend that i did not see a certain comment.

so warrior?  u not too smart, eh?   bai, that makes two of us  

You always have the option to voice your opinion however stupid someone else thinks it is. Even the dull and ignorant they too have their story.

I think you miss the point. completely. The piece is a widely quoted piece from  "the Prophet" about the uniqueness of every individual. It is about the a necessity to grasp free will. Even god in all the scriptures knew the impossibility of constraining that. Milton wrote "Paradise Lost" on the theme.

They are the sons and daughters of Life's longing for itself....REALLY??? If I may, I interpret this as the desire for life being greater than just your son or daughter, it's like blossoms waiting to bloom (oh rass, I good eh)

They come through you but not from you...right!  they insert that chicken egg, then that darn rooster tread meh..no wonder i grumpy, am still 'setting"...you're just a conduit for something greater...a living, thinking human being

The simplicity of the statements are self evident. We are all so different. Every parent can teach and inculcate traditions but the cannot gurantee outcome because you are dealing with an existential being that has no connection to you except culture.

Even the genes the children inherit are of us as we are a mere conduits for what came down from the murky eons of a distant past. We do not have a patent on it. Even worms have it. Some scientist thinks flipping the  the appropriate homeobox genes and voila...a human vs a fruit fly.

Hinduism says this  is all Brahma. Atheists say it is the Universe apprehending itself, Christians think of it as a divine spark. No culture think of children as being "of" their parents but being "from" them.

I love that piece Danyeal posted!

but for me - to put it simply, I cannot ever break my 'connection' to my children.

Even as they get older, and have now given my grandchildren, my bond with them is ever stronger!

Their soul is theirs to do with as they will (but as their parent I can hope that it will lean towards the morals and values and traditions they were brought up with), which will lead their bodies to always want to visit me....till my dying breath.

Villagebelle