- By Imraan Khan

Do you remember
A thousand stingin mosquito bite
While coil smoke chokin yuh whole night
Not sleepin under jug lamp light
Early mornin fowl cock fight

Do you remember
Sweepin bottom house with pointer broom
Wedding day shoe hiding of the bridegroom
Nastyin yuh school clothes an thinking yuh life doom
Playin ketcha when is full moon

Do you remember
After school water fetchin
Saturday mornin donkey ridin
Backdam fish ketchin
Plant waterin of the kitchen garden

Do you remember
Yuh lip pasting after eatin pepperpot
Playin cricket on the beach with coconut branch bat
And the village elder feather in he felt hat
Do you remember all ah dat?

Do you remember
Big big neighba cuss out
And the short cut rout
Drinkin home-made stout
Ol people telling yuh big people yuh must'n doubt

Do you remember
Drinkin mauby an cane juice
Goin school with yattin boots
Pullin cassava root by root
Three-piece fish tail suit

Do you remember
Evening time road corner joke
Black black fire side smoke
Cook-up rice, roti an curry and garlic pork
Runnin home de rain mek 'yuh whole skin soak'

Do you remember
Waitin fuh owara fall
Pholourie, black puddin, souse an egg ball
Do you remember it all?
Want tek a lime pun de seawall?

Do you remember
Ridin go cart an wood scooter
Eatin other people's juta
Winin down to Roll Up De Tassa Bissesar
An goin up to Bartica fuh Regatta

Do you remember
Nyamin plantain chip wid hot hot sour
Green mango an salt an pepper
Walter Rodney an people's power
Lloyd an Kanhai beatin ball at Bourda

Do you remember
Cheddie in de opposition
Buyin Robin Hood flour when was contra-ban
Fat boy Comrade President LFS Burnham
Cassava bread, tamarind ball an guava jam

Do you remember
Emptyin posey in latrine pit
School teacher givin you first round licks
Labourin over de pestle wid yuh martar stick
Plunging overboard in black water doin back flick

Do you remember
The harbour bridge floatin down the Demerara
'Produce or perish' as part of we culture
Ploughin rice bed wid Massey Ferguson 290 tractor
Catchin lukanani, hoori an patwa

Do you remember
Burnham exercise book
Callin stupid people 'packoo' and 'mook'
You and yuh friends mekin bush cook
Spendin holidays in Bachelor's Adventure, Supenaam an Clonbrook

Do you remember
When Club Illusions used to carry the swing
Eatin Chiney fry rice by Wong Tang Ling
Big fat fat gold ring
Christmas day radio programme 'No Big Ting'
I know you remember all these things

Do you remember
Breakfast of fry fish an bake
Swimmin in de Hot an Cold lake
Gamblin card an dominoes at every village wake
When yuh never buy Christmas tree but yuh used to make

Do you remember
When every church had a big wooden cross
Not a blade of grass
Drinkin daisy tea an sea moss
An when yuh mother pick black sage and buss yuh ass

Do you remember
Playin Phagwah
An lightin up diya
Catchin cockle and grasshopper
Getting away an goin to cinema

Do you remember
When yuh kite always had razor blade on de tail
At GCE few people used to fail
Seein a lil labaria in de bush trail
When only in envelopes yuh used to get yuh mail

Do you remember
Cutting grass for de cow
And for 5 cents
you an yuh brothers and sisters used to row
Crossin de river on Malali on de bow
Was box hand an piggy bank an not Nasdaq and Dow

Do you remember
Talkin nancystory
Wedding house beef curry an dhal puri
Bruce Lee in Fist of Fury
4 o'clock whistle of the sugar factory

Do you remember
When you used to throw box hand
Playin football on de beach sand
When locust did tek ova de whole land
You better realize that them days can't come back they done and gone.

×
×
×
×
×
×
×