Dialectical materialism: humans and animals have a beginning, a middle, and an end. This is a law of nature. We are young or middle-aged or old people. Each stage comes with its pros and cons. Some of the cons of old age are: "things tend to droop, fall apart and spare parts are hard to find." This is unavoidable. The pros are unavoidable too. Yuh must think positively, Tola. Yuh still got 10 fingers, 10 toes, 2 seeing/peeping eyes, 2 listening/eavesdropping ears, 2 fidgety hands and 2 roaming feet. 

I like this use of Hegelian thesis/antithesis hypothesis for biological progression ie a coming into being and a passing into nothingness. As a social model ( Marxism)  it failed completely Greed does not resolve to Providence and Capitalism does not resolve to communism. Each of those require input of external agencies to precipitate a revolutionary change with no certainty of outcome as history has shown. Biological systems are closed systems and the progression is entropic. There is nothing stopping it.

Technically, you are wrong. Eight fingers and two thumbs. Lucky for you Storm did not see this or else he would have sent you for additional schooling. Manin Gilly. How you doin'?

Skelly bhai I read Gilly post and didn't think of thumbs,ra...s me thinks that does come with old age,well some still sharp.

Technically speaking the thumb is just another name for a special purpose finger or digit. If one want to precise they can say on each hand there are  five digits and each with their specialty  the thumb and index being most important. They do not say there are four digits and a thumb. The thumb is a finger....

Bro, why bother to explain this to Skelly? A little learning is a dangerous thing; Skelly knows about thumbs but he thinks they are not of the fingers family. I hope he knows the meaning of "digits" within the context of hands. I suspect he might be wondering what connection phone numbers have with fingers.

Subtle insult? I did biology in high school and anatomy and physiology in college so I am aware of the body parts more than a lot of people on this BB. Thanks for the insult.

I did biology in high school and anatomy and physiology in college so I am aware of the body parts more than a lot of people on this BB. 

Yuh went to college, bai? Which one? Looks like different colleges teach the same subjects with different subject matter. You see, Gilbakka went to college too. An Ivy college of sorts known to its alumni as Miss Ivy Night School. There I studied a subject called Human Biology. Miss Ivy never mentioned the word "thumb" when discussing the hand. She stressed the term "fat finger". She called the little finger "pinkee finger". Gilbakka is not ashamed to say that he dropped out of that Ivy college.