Two husbands treated differently in domestic abuse cases - one placed on $20,000 bail for calling his wife a ‘cross’PDFPrintE-mail

Written by Jenel Rockcliffe   

Wednesday, 19 June 2013 00:12

TWO separate domestic abuse cases were called before Magistrate Judy Latchman yesterday and the husbands were treated differently.

In one, Lindal Mc Almont, 49, was charged with calling his wife derogatory names. It was alleged that, on June 4, the defendant, who resides at Kwakwani, Berbice River, called his wife, Maria Mc Almont, an ‘ass and a cross’ but he pleaded not guilty to the charge.
The magistrate asked the woman if she would like to provide the evidence against her husband and she agreed.

Mc Almont was put on $20,000 bail and the case was transferred to another Court for July 12.
In the other case, Seepersaud Ramlochan was charged with using abusive language and assaulting his wife, Gangamattie Ramlochan.
The offences were, allegedly, committed on June 17, at Lot 9 Railway Line Street, Kitty, in Georgetown and the husband pleaded guilty to both.

Prosecutor Hunt said the defendant, 53, is in the habit of consuming alcohol and, at 08:00 hrs that day, he began abusing his wife because he could not find his rum.
As a result, an argument developed, during which he pushed the woman and she fell and he was arrested following a report to the Kitty Police Station.
The magistrate enquired of the husband if he had anything to say and he said he was very

sorry.
Ramlochan was fined a total of $30,000 with the alternative of one month imprisonment.

If a man can be fined $20,000 for calling a woman a crass, then a woman should get the same penalty for calling a man any names other than his own. Something is totally wrong with our judicial system today. 

Originally Posted by Prince:

If a man can be fined $20,000 for calling a woman a crass, then a woman should get the same penalty for calling a man any names other than his own. Something is totally wrong with our judicial system today. 

According to the article in the first post, he is on bail and the hearing will resume on July 12. Where did you read that he was fined?

No argument with the last sentence of your post.

No argument, dear...maybe I read wrong. I have been following the court cases in Guyana and its been jail, bail and fines for name calling as verbal abuse. Guyana has shown to be stricter on domestic issues than the United States. Men need to exercise caution most of the time.

hiya guys

Prince..hmmmm, yea i can't argue with u on this at all, at all 

rant, best me go back to GT...i can retired on the $$$ i'd get from all them names wah me get   

Them Guyanese rummy's will call you sweetness, sugarcake, and toffee to get close to a foreigner. In all honesty, I don't think them fellas all that bad, but they love to run them mouth too much that get them in trouble with the opposite sex.  

lol..oh wait, i meant all the bad names.  I totally forget about the good names i can get too...u got a point there 

i going an look fuh my passport>>>>

oh, dont worry, i know very well how them bais does operate in GT

and they run them mouth for 2 reasons mostly....when they wrong N  strong or when the cant get de grapes 

SOME friends and family members of Prabhudial Tarachand from Albion, Corentyne, Berbice, staged a peaceful protest opposite the Albion Magistrate’s Court, when he made his appearance there yesterday.

alt

Some friends and family members of Prabhudial Tarachand from Albion staged a peaceful protest opposite the Albion Magistrate’s Court, when he made his appearance there yesterday.

The man is charged with the Sunday, June 2 murder of his reputed wife, Geeta Bishundial, at their High Reef home and first appeared at the New Amsterdam Court.
The protestors carried placards demanding a better police investigation into the case and for justice to be served.

Speaking to the Guyana Chronicle, the prisoner’s
brother, Muniram Tarachand said they are convinced that the accused did not kill Bishundial, pointing to the presence of a third party at the scene.

Anyone has knowledge of this case and voice their opinions? 

No argument, dear...maybe I read wrong. I have been following the court cases in Guyana and its been jail, bail and fines for name calling as verbal abuse. Guyana has shown to be stricter on domestic issues than the United States. Men need to exercise caution most of the time.

Maybe? You did read wrong?

You really think they're strict on domestic violence? Somehow I don't see it, but I could be wrong. Two cases that come to mind. Remember that case of the guy (I think he was a racer) who pushed his wife out of the car (allegedly), and then ran over her body and killed her. Happened on the East Coast. He walked off scotch free.

Remember that other guy - Guyanese/Canadian - who paid those guys to kill his (reputed?) wife? What happened to him?

And what about all those cases that never progress to trial because some stupid investigator or incompetent prosecutor?

SOME friends and family members of Prabhudial Tarachand from Albion, Corentyne, Berbice, staged a peaceful protest opposite the Albion Magistrate’s Court, when he made his appearance there yesterday.

alt

Some friends and family members of Prabhudial Tarachand from Albion staged a peaceful protest opposite the Albion Magistrate’s Court, when he made his appearance there yesterday.

The man is charged with the Sunday, June 2 murder of his reputed wife, Geeta Bishundial, at their High Reef home and first appeared at the New Amsterdam Court.
The protestors carried placards demanding a better police investigation into the case and for justice to be served.

Speaking to the Guyana Chronicle, the prisoner’s
brother, Muniram Tarachand said they are convinced that the accused did not kill Bishundial, pointing to the presence of a third party at the scene.

Anyone has knowledge of this case and voice their opinions? 

Check Kaieteur. I read the first and subsequent reports there and there are a few.