Dove apologizes for ad: We 'missed the mark' representing black women

dove logo

Dove apologized this weekend for a social media post that the company says "missed the mark" representing black women.

The offending ad was a 3-second GIF hawking Dove body wash that was posted Friday to the brand's Facebook page. It was taken down Saturday.

CNNMoney reviewed a copy of the GIF. Introduced with the line "Ready for a Dove Shower?" it shows a looping image of a black woman removing a dark brown t-shirt to reveal a white woman. She then removes her beige t-shirt to show a third woman.

"This did not represent the diversity of real beauty which is something Dove is passionate about and is core to our beliefs, and it should not have happened," the company said in a statement Sunday. "We apologize deeply and sincerely for the offense that it has caused and do not condone any activity or imagery that insults any audience."

Related: Pepsi and Kendall Jenner join the rogues' gallery of tone-deaf ads

On Friday, Naomi Blake, a 29-year-old beauty entrepreneur who runs a popular Instagramaccount, said she reached out to the company through Facebook to voice her concerns about the ad.

She said she received a "copy and paste" response. Blake also took screenshots of the ad that soon went viral on Facebook and Twitter.

"How can you see a body wash ad like this and not realize? It rubbed me and many people the wrong way," Blake told CNNMoney. "What are you telling the little black girls who watch this?"

Dove took down the ad Sunday and posted an apology on Twitter.

For its part, Dove, which is owned by Unilever (UL), has for more than a decade tried to take a socially conscious stance on beauty. Its ads have frequently used models of various body weights, ages and races.

http://money.cnn.com/2017/10/0...racist-ad/index.html

Amral posted:

People these days are twisting every little thing as racist. Too much of this kind of stuff going on. Next thing the white people will complain why is toilet paper white and not any other color

This ad applies equally to Indians who are also dark skinned.  Do you think that Indo Guyanese women ought to be portrayed as being filthy, and redeemable only if they become white?

Hmmmm.....yes maybe you do given that Indians have a huge complex about skin color.

Amral posted:

Racism has gone way and beyond the norms as we once knew it. Every damn sentence that is printed or spoken is now deemed as having some racist content

I bet if an ad in Guyana accused Indian women of being oily (to use a stereotype) and suggested that a good bath would solve that problem you would be screaming RACE!

I find it interesting that many non white immigrants think that perceptions that they are inferior, and in this case filthy, should be ignored.

While you all suck up to massa as he demeans you just be glad that American blacks don't.

There is a subconscious belief system that pervades the job markets that "whiteness" is a virtue. If nonwhite immigrants feel that they can leave those perceptions to grow then they damn themselves to being hewers of wood!  They need not ask why they got passed over for promotion.

I find it interesting that many non white immigrants think that perceptions that they are inferior, and in this case filthy, should be ignored.

While you all suck up to massa as he demeans you just be glad that American blacks don't.

There is a subconscious belief system that pervades the job markets that "whiteness" is a virtue. If nonwhite immigrants feel that they can leave those perceptions to grow then they damn themselves to being hewers of wood!  They need not ask why they got passed over for promotion.

What you say is true

However, protesting this particular ad is infantile.

Crying wolf comes to mind

In fact, dove might be on to something here. Consider the skin bleaching that goes on in Africa. 

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-20444798

What if they really develop a soap that can turn a black into a white person?  Druggie sees business opportunity here. CaribJ would be my first customer, despite his ramblings. 

I can see you spent all day searching for something to substantiate your premise. So glad you finally got it just before 6PM, padna. Pat yourself on the back. 

In fact, dove might be on to something here. Consider the skin bleaching that goes on in Africa. 

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-20444798

What if they really develop a soap that can turn a black into a white person?  Druggie sees business opportunity here. CaribJ would be my first customer, despite his ramblings. 

I can see you spent all day searching for something to substantiate your premise. So glad you finally got it just before 6PM, padna. Pat yourself on the back. 

What can I say bai, inspiration come from the most unlikely places. Who would imagine that turning a black into a white could be a profitable venture? Think of the benefits, no more complaints about marginalization, job discrimination or how the Indian man keeping them down. 

Homme posted:

What you say is true

So a major corporation should be allowed to bolster the perceptions that many whites have of nonwhites.

The racism that we face today isn't that which we would have faced 60 years ago. It is about unconscious images that people use to determine who is suitable for upward mobility and who isn't.

Those who engage in daily racism aren't even aware that they do because they aren't aware of the fact that when presented with two candidates, one white and one dark skinned that they have a subconscious bias against the latter.  They are less likely to "see" that person as being suitable for upper tier professional positions.

Yes we immigrants are naÃŊve to think that hard work alone will do it. That carries you only up to a certain level, but not up to where one can become a mover and shaker who determines societal direction.

So yes this must be challenged because every opportunity to confront implicit bias must be used to force people to confront the fact that yes, they too have implicit bias, even if they aren't aware of it.

One of the issues that we nonwhite immigrants have is that we bring with us our own subconscious bias and that is a willingness to accept less than we deserve because we think that this is not our country and so we must accept the little that we can squeeze out.

Well these attitudes don't lead in societal transformation.  I can assure you that as some one who has lived in the USA for 35 years that there is a vast improved in perceptions and that its media images in shows like the "Cosby Show" which led this. And like all those Shonda Rhimes TV shows on ABC which carries this forward.

Negative imagery like Dove should be confronted.  Especially in an era where increasingly blunt racism is being condoned.  And this from the president.

What can I say bai, inspiration come from the most unlikely places. Who would imagine that turning a black into a white could be a profitable venture? Think of the benefits, no more complaints about marginalization, job discrimination or how the Indian man keeping them down. 

So says an Indian who is probably even darker than the black model used. No wonder you remain a mere coder terrified that a Jamaican will replace you, sitting in some cubicle in Montego Bay.  Your fellow techies on GNI have already revealed that you are a dinosaur whose skill set hasn't advanced from the 90s.

Homme posted:

What you say is true

So a major corporation should be allowed to bolster the perceptions that many whites have of nonwhites.

The racism that we face today isn't that which we would have faced 60 years ago. It is about unconscious images that people use to determine who is suitable for upward mobility and who isn't.

Those who engage in daily racism aren't even aware that they do because they aren't aware of the fact that when presented with two candidates, one white and one dark skinned that they have a subconscious bias against the latter.  They are less likely to "see" that person as being suitable for upper tier professional positions.

Yes we immigrants are naÃŊve to think that hard work alone will do it. That carries you only up to a certain level, but not up to where one can become a mover and shaker who determines societal direction.

So yes this must be challenged because every opportunity to confront implicit bias must be used to force people to confront the fact that yes, they too have implicit bias, even if they aren't aware of it.

One of the issues that we nonwhite immigrants have is that we bring with us our own subconscious bias and that is a willingness to accept less than we deserve because we think that this is not our country and so we must accept the little that we can squeeze out.

Well these attitudes don't lead in societal transformation.  I can assure you that as some one who has lived in the USA for 35 years that there is a vast improved in perceptions and that its media images in shows like the "Cosby Show" which led this. And like all those Shonda Rhimes TV shows on ABC which carries this forward.

Negative imagery like Dove should be confronted.  Especially in an era where increasingly blunt racism is being condoned.  And this from the president.

I happen to disagree.

I take a back seat to no one in experience and interactions with women of color, immigrant and American born.

Now, Please articulate exactly what is offensive about the Dove ad.

So says an Indian who is probably even darker than the black model used. No wonder you remain a mere coder terrified that a Jamaican will replace you, sitting in some cubicle in Montego Bay.  Your fellow techies on GNI have already revealed that you are a dinosaur whose skill set hasn't advanced from the 90s.

In fact it may be more beneficial for me to maintain my Indo identity as they have an excellent reputation in the IT field these days. But in all fairness, the ad showed a black turning white, not an indo turning white. 

The complete ad shows black to white to brown....but most people focus on the black to white part.

I don't think the objective of the ad was that Dove changed you from black to white....the complete ad was meant to show Dove is for all people

Maybe Unilever did not do a focus group prior to running the Ad...or the focus group was 20 somethings who think they are on the cutting edge...who knows?

I don't think it's racist, my wife disagrees...so it's a matter of perception

I agree 100 percent.

Oh Brahmana, hope you know that soap is made primarily with beef tallow. 

Miss there are lots of soap that are not made with beef tallow, you need to get with the times man.

Oh wise Brahmana, please educate us. 

You have been educated.

Homme posted:

Now, Please articulate exactly what is offensive about the Dove ad.

If I have to tell you that an ad which implies that blacks are dirty and whites are clean is something that must be confronted. Especially when it is done by a major and well regarded US corporation.  I cannot help you.

Maybe you are too isolated from zones of power to know how dangerous subconscious biases can be.

This is not about an ad.  This is about subconscious images that are reinforced by the notion that is "better" than nonwhite, and especially black.