I don't think Amazon is making any money. I recently bought a mountain hiking bag from them. It strong like an ox. I got it on clearance and Amazon gave me the shipping for free. I payed 2 dollars for the bag. How can a company make any money doing that.

Companies need to clear the shelves for new products....that's why things are cheap on clearance sales

Riff posted:

I don't think Amazon is making any money. I recently bought a mountain hiking bag from them. It strong like an ox. I got it on clearance and Amazon gave me the shipping for free. I payed 2 dollars for the bag. How can a company make any money doing that.

Companies need to clear the shelves for new products....that's why things are cheap on clearance sales...they have already made their profit selling at regular price

Riff posted:

If you think Jeff Bezos will lose to Trump, i got a bridge to sell you...Trump is temporary, Amazon is permanent

Never said that.  Amazon will be around, great business.  The issue which Trump raised is real.  They need to collect the state taxes and remit to the state. 

I don't know of the postal rate issue, that's another matter.

Amazon EBITDA is $15.5 Bil on $177.7 Bil revenues, so clearly they are not making much money.  They are valued like a growth stock likely linked to their Cloud business.

Trump is making himself and Putin great.

Maybe he is making Putin great but he is definitely not making himself great. He is becoming more and more of a laughing stock with every passing day. Trump must live in constant misery which may explain why he is on such a rampage even before the sun comes up. From the looks of things, he will lose more than the presidency when it is all said and done. 

It’s not about trump but about amazon not collecting sales taxes on fba sales, using it as a commercial advantage over domicile bricks and mortar and robbing state treasuries of tax revenues.  That needs to be corrected.  On the post office, maybe maybe not!

Trump raised an issue that the states were complaining for several years.  It’s not new but has got big. 

This isn't a nationwide scenario. Some states do require the collection of sales tax even if there is no nexus. An example is Michigan's CAT. Why is Trump criticizing what Amazon does regarding sales taxes when it is a state matter? Worse yet, why is Trump criticizing Amazon regarding the payment of taxes when he not so long ago was bragging that he got a 40 years tax exemption from New York?

Riff posted:

Companies need to clear the shelves for new products....that's why things are cheap on clearance sales...they have already made their profit selling at regular price

Riff, why yuh talking tuh yuhself? 

Amazon is getting too big for thier pants.

Some type of control  need to be put in place.

I agree with this. I am not a fan of mergers and acquisitions. It was in the early 90's when we started outsourcing our manufacturing to Taiwan that I became alarmed that we were heading down a destructive road. Since then small businesses have taken one whacking after another as they are eaten up my mega businesses.

It’s not about trump but about amazon not collecting sales taxes on fba sales, using it as a commercial advantage over domicile bricks and mortar and robbing state treasuries of tax revenues.  That needs to be corrected.  On the post office, maybe maybe not!

Trump raised an issue that the states were complaining for several years.  It’s not new but has got big. 

This isn't a nationwide scenario. Some states do require the collection of sales tax even if there is no nexus. An example is Michigan's CAT. Why is Trump criticizing what Amazon does regarding sales taxes when it is a state matter? Worse yet, why is Trump criticizing Amazon regarding the payment of taxes when he not so long ago was bragging that he got a 40 years tax exemption from New York?

It pays in states where it has distribution centers and only on sales within that state and NOT on FBA sales to any state.  About 2/3 of their sales are FBA.

The reason he is critical is because the non-collection of sales taxes creates an unfair advantage vs the local bricks are mortar stores.  Marco Rubio actually agrees with Trump on this.  The fact that he got a tax exemption for RE development projects in NY is besides the point!

It is NOT a state matter as it's inter-state commence.

Riff posted:

Companies need to clear the shelves for new products....that's why things are cheap on clearance sales

and profits realized a long time ago.

It pays in states where it has distribution centers and only on sales within that state and NOT on FBA sales to any state.  About 2/3 of their sales are FBA.

Didn't New York take Amazon to court so require them to collect sales tax in New York about a decade ago? What came out of that lawsuit?

Maybe he is making Putin great but he is definitely not making himself great. He is becoming more and more of a laughing stock with every passing day. Trump must live in constant misery which may explain why he is on such a rampage even before the sun comes up. From the looks of things, he will lose more than the presidency when it is all said and done. 

Do you think that Trump cares who laughs at him? He who laughs last laughs the best and he's laughing all the way to the bank. At the end of his term, his family business will be worth a lot more than before he was president thanks to pay for play deals and tax cuts.

Maybe. However, there is also the risk that his business dealings get entrapped in all these investigations creating a whole new threat to his money and power. Generally one is inclined to keep three years of tax records open and available for any tax audit. However, the auditor has the power to go back much further is his findings facilitates it. So there is potential exposure and maybe even eventual regret from Trump. Trump may be laughing now because people like Hannity and Rush are making him feel that he has nothing to worry about but I think that is too simplistic.

Everyone in DC is saying this.

Everyone in DC????  I think a few Republicans live there also.

Hey, Obama and Clinton went in as average and left very rich.  Trump went in rich and will leave ever richer.  

This is no different than Guyana!

Hey, Obama and Clinton went in as average and left very rich.  Trump went in rich and will leave ever richer.  

Obama's income was on his books. The Clinton came out seven million in debt. Trump is said, still has on going schemes and we do not know what taxes he paid.

Jeff Bezos is the owner of The Washington Post that bashes Trump all day.  It was just a matter of time before Trump put him in his place.

BULLSHIT! That is what a Third World DICTATOR do. Unfortunately, since Jan 2017, America has become a friggin DICTATORSHIP!!!!

This FOOL makes GADAHA looks like a Statesman!!!

Hai bai. Stan quiet.  He making America Great Again.  There will be bumps in the road.  But watch what the ultimate outcome will be.  The Dems made China great by selling America out.  Trump is leveling the playing field.

Gyal, these bumps are not really bumps. They look like mountains to some of us who have IRAs and 401Ks. If they are bumps, we already got bumped off.

Didn't New York take Amazon to court so require them to collect sales tax in New York about a decade ago? What came out of that lawsuit?

Amazon pays collect and pay sales tax in states where thy have physical locations...New York is one of those states

Obama's income was on his books. The Clinton came out seven million in debt. Trump is said, still has on going schemes and we do not know what taxes he paid.

Quite possible he does not know the exact figure given all the different types of taxes he pays, including international taxes.  He has various sources of income with different tax treatment.  Add the fact he has a tax departments handling this, it’s quite possible.  

This guy does not just file a 1040 with 400 millions earned income!

Riff posted:

Amazon pays collect and pay sales tax in states where thy have physical locations...New York is one of those states

Maybe now but at the time of the lawsuit they had no presence. It was supposed to be a landmark case for ecommerce businesses. I don’t remember what came of that case.

You guys don’t get it.  True amazon collects and remits taxes on sales of inventory it owns, not on sales it fulfills for vendors that it hosts.  

Technically, those vendors were supposed to collect and remit the taxes to the destination state but they don’t and the states have difficulty collecting. 

There is some old tax loophole from the catalog sales days which amazon use in defense.  This needs to be addressed.  It’s really not 100% amazon’s fault, but Trump has a gripe with Bezos.  

Trump is just plain envious of Bezos who is a genuine Billionare that worked hard and honest to be the richest man in America. I heard Trump Brands are not doing well, his hotels occupancy rate is way down, this I heard from my brother who works for Trump's organization.

But alyuh nah seh he getting rich.   Now you say his business suffering!