Dr. Kean Gibson gives her take on the Harmon imbroglio

April 13, 2016 | By | Filed Under Letters 

Dear Editor,
I was stunned and saddened when I saw the PNC/APNU protestors outside of Kaieteur News and it brought back memories of the PNC era when a perceived wrong was seen as right and we were driven into silence and acceptance by fear. The country is now in a different era with the defeat of the PPP at the last polls. Certain principles have come to the fore – accountability, transparency and good governance. It seems to me that Mr. Harmon and the leadership of the APNU/PNC coalition do not understand that the people voted for these principles. His conduct in the awarding of the contract to Mr. Brian Tiwarie without the apparent knowledge of the Administration, his interference in the affairs of the GRA, and his association with Bai Shan Lin, compounded by his refusal to explain his actions to the Guyanese people, are in violation of all these principles. He made himself open to the charges. The protest is at best a diversionary tactic as it avoids dealing with the question as to whether Mr. Harmon is corrupt or not. I think the Guyanese people have already made up their minds – and we must not allow the APNU/AFC coalition to take us back to those dark and terrible times.
Kean Gibson
The UWI

These creep keep saying the coalition won the election.  

These bloody skunks APNU/PNC rigged the election. 

It was also observed that SOPs submitted to GECOM from the Electoral Districts had aggregate numbers of voters exceeding the voting population allocated to the Polling Stations.
Further, it was disclosed that the ballots cast by the Disciplined Forces on May 2nd, 2015, and that were to be deposited and counted at Polling Stations with low allocation of voters, had mysteriously been sent to Polling Stations with large number of voters.
The APNU-AFC coalition had registered their rejection of the PPP/C requests for recounts and had insisted that GECOM could not allow the requests.

ian posted:

It was also observed that SOPs submitted to GECOM from the Electoral Districts had aggregate numbers of voters exceeding the voting population allocated to the Polling Stations.
Further, it was disclosed that the ballots cast by the Disciplined Forces on May 2nd, 2015, and that were to be deposited and counted at Polling Stations with low allocation of voters, had mysteriously been sent to Polling Stations with large number of voters.
The APNU-AFC coalition had registered their rejection of the PPP/C requests for recounts and had insisted that GECOM could not allow the requests.

Why you doan shut yo rass, the PPP LOST get used to it.

The PPP were the government, anyone riggin would be by the PPP, It is apparent they tried to rig and when things didn't work out as they thought they now cry the blues, HAHAHAHAAAAAA..

Did I forget to mention the PPP are a sleazy bunch?

ian posted:

The PPP were the government, anyone riggin would be by the PPP, It is apparent they tried to rig and when things didn't work out as they thought they now cry the blues, HAHAHAHAAAAAA..

Go smoke yo joint and enjoy nature.  

RiffRaff posted:

Is the caste system discriminatory?

Yes it is!!!  What is your point??

"Not sure if KEAN is male or female. He is a downright racist who wrote a fiction arguing that because of the caste system, Indians discriminate against Afros...or some BS to that effect. "

Shows Kean is correct.

We all are aware that you are not the sharpest tool in the shed. Kean claims that we have caste system in Guyana and the PPP were following this system to descriminate against Blacks. How is she correct since Guyanese Indians don"t follow a caste system?.

RiffRaff posted:

Caste system make Indians discriminate against other Indians...not sure if the system itself is responsible for discrimination against blacks since blacks gets discriminated against by whites who don't even have a caste system....

Well thank you Sir. Obviously, the cool aid did not affect you like it did to Kari.

RiffRaff posted:

Caste system make Indians discriminate against other Indians...not sure if the system itself is responsible for discrimination against blacks since blacks gets discriminated against by whites who don't even have a caste system....

In the case of Guyana, we do not have a caste system. If this is the argument, then it is a false one, so discrimination does not take place.  Therefore we cannot discriminate. We do not take out newspaper advertisements asking to get hitched up with a specific caste or from a specific region of India. This system was long destroyed when all dem Indians boarded the ships leaving port Calcutta and had to sit in close quarters and drink from the same cups.

Kean Gibson started his/her argument from a false assumption (or fact). Therefore her writing was just another piece of work that provide fodder for Afro racists who dislike Indians and to argue that Indians are racists.

Its amazing how many  Afros fall for this nonsense. If Carib is one of them, then he has to be a Knucklehead too.

He/she should never have gotten teunured as a university professor for peddling this type of race hate.

I can only say that iuts only when Indians become more aggressive in their protests that we might see this kind of nonsense thrown in the dustbin.

Cain, I am surprise you also falling for this nonsense ...you quoted my words above.   

Last edited by VishMahabir
ian posted:

Cain, please correct me if I am incorrect. I Understand that GEOCOM is a constitutional body and is not under the direction of the government so they have no authority to direct it. The PPP has members on the commission but are not in the majority. How are then able to rig the vote?

Z
Zed posted:
ian posted:

Cain, please correct me if I am incorrect. I Understand that GEOCOM is a constitutional body and is not under the direction of the government so they have no authority to direct it. The PPP has members on the commission but are not in the majority. How are then able to rig the vote?

I wouldn't know. Ask the PPP guys you know, they're the ones who would have tried and failed.

This thread went around in circles,it was intended to show that Kean Gibson speak out against the APNU/AFC Gov't regarding some actions by Harmon.

Not one commendation was mentioned,all that is remembered is the [controversial] book written with the theory of the Indian Caste system that caused Indians discriminating against Africans.

A point to note Africans are speaking out against the current gov't and they are not been branded with names.

I just checked my Guyanese birth certificate for my Hindu caste and found nothing. It says my father's profession is "Chaffeur" and Mother's "Housewife".

For this reason I've always had difficulties convincing people I'm part chammar because me suh clear-skinned and good-looking.  I went to see a gyal fuh marry in Brooklyn many moons ago and the old man told me de gyal he got to big (older) fuh me. Anyway, he said, "you got green cyaad bhai?"  I said yes uncle.  He replied "oh raab, you go want clear-skinned gyal. dem gyal wah me got heh ...all a dem black.". 

This type of thinking inspire to struggle for a better Guyana and here I am on GNI doing battle with my compatriots.

This is interesting...I still say don't do business with the Chinese.

The AFC cannot eat its cake and have it too

April 13, 2016 | By | Filed Under Letters 

Dear Editor,
After having witnessed the media blitz against Minister Joe Harmon on alleged corruption (of which there is so far no real evidence), reputable forensic auditors and letter writers are calling for his removal on grounds of his association with BK and Bai Shan Lin on that “secret mission” to China.  The government and the veterans in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs should have known that diplomatic protocol dictates that he should not have travelled on the same aircraft with the Bai Shan Lin delegation since we have so many outstanding matters of national importance to resolve. Moreso, we should not appear to be weak and compromising even though we are aware that China is the superpower with the greatest investments in Latin America and the Caribbean in recent times.
The urgent embrace of BK also raise red flags but we do not fully know the Government’s motive; his sizable campaign donation may be partly the basis of the relationship. However, while I hold no brief for Harmon, I would recall the concept of Realpolitik or Political Realism best demonstrated by the United States, the #1 superpower in the Iran Contra Affair where alliances of convenience were formed to meet specific short term objectives. So, the one time military dictator and drug trafficker, Manuel Noriega, of Panama worked closely with the United States Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) “as one of the primary conduits for illicit weapons, military equipment and cash destined for US backed counter-insurgence forces throughout Central and South America”.  The United States accomplished its objectives.
For those who are bent on castigating Harmon, permit me to share some more information about the halls of power. Ministers, Heads of Departments, and Directors are all advisors to the President. The Ministry of the President may have considered the optic of seizing Bai Shan Lin vehicles, at the same time when a GOG delegation was headed to China.  Which activity is in the greater long term interest of Guyana? Should we prioritize our diplomatic relationship focusing on the benefits of China’s investments or the short term repossession of assets? Isn’t it more prudent and profitable to later re-assess and/or renegotiate the more shady deals of the past government with Chinese companies and their affiliates?
I would urge every Guyanese to view President Obama’s you-tube video on his town hall meeting last year in Jamaica on the question of foreign investments, American and Chinese included, in Latin America and the Caribbean. We should be more strategic in the way we conduct business and foreign investments. As shocking as it may sound, maybe Minister Harmon made the right call but lacked finesse.
Finally, Cabinet decisions are meant to be confidential and then issued by memorandum for action by the various officials and departments.  Who would have leaked Harmon’s call and why? Who would have passed on the picture to the media and why?  It is my conviction that the AFC cannot be both government and government critic at the same time. The can’t  have it both ways! With great excitement I await news of the next Cabinet meeting to see the cards of the Coalition.
 Max Wallerson

RiffRaff posted:

Finally after all these years you ketch sense. I suspect that your Muslim background makes you gullible to propaganda against Indians. However remember you were Hindu before being converted at the point of a sword.

Zed posted:
ian posted:

I wouldn't know. Ask the PPP guys you know, they're the ones who would have tried and failed.

Cain, You presented your previous response with such certainty that Made me think that you knew what you were posting. I guess that I am wrong.  

Z
Zed posted:
Zed posted:
ian posted:

Cain, You presented your previous response with such certainty that Made me think that you knew what you were posting. I guess that I am wrong.  

Nahhh you're not wrong, perhaps you don't know anyone in the PPP party.