Ed Ahmad seeking to spend jail term at minimum security facility

By

New York-based Guyanese businessman Ed Ahmad who pleaded guilty in April to conspiracy to commit bank and wire fraud is seeking to spend his 24-month jail term in a minimum security facility.

According to court documents seen by Stabroek News, Ahmad’s lawyer Steven R Kartagener wrote to the judge in the case, Dora Irizarry stating that his intended incarceration at the Metropolitan Deten-tion Centre in Brooklyn, New York would be onerous and could also pose a danger to him considering his co-operating testimony in a case for the US government.

In his letter of June 8 to the judge, Kartagener said “For someone of (the) defendant’s age, 50, this assignment is particularly onerous. I have since learned that the BOP (Bureau of Prisons) will consider re-designation of a defendant assigned to the MDC, but that it requires the willingness of the court to make such a designation”.…to continue reading this article, please subscribe.  Already a subscriber ? Sign In

I disagree Amral. Nothing I ever heard of Ahmad says that he is violent or a flight risk. He is not in the same group as Roger Khan. Plus he cooperated with the prosecution on his case. I think he should be granted his request. Being confined in whatever form is terrible so him going to a minimum security prison is not like a walk in the park.

I know the guy. He frigged up cricket for people like myself, by finding it with thiefing money. Now, money done and he deh in jail. Hafeez Ally also fund cricket and sponsor league functions and gave handsomely to charity and no body never mention his name. God bless that man, Hafeez.

I disagree Amral. Nothing I ever heard of Ahmad says that he is violent or a flight risk. He is not in the same group as Roger Khan. Plus he cooperated with the prosecution on his case. I think he should be granted his request. Being confined in whatever form is terrible so him going to a minimum security prison is not like a walk in the park.

He was a flight risk . He was on the plane heading for Guyana when the Federal authorities arrested him.

Churchill posted:

He was a flight risk . He was on the plane heading for Guyana when the Federal authorities arrested him.

Suh he was running like Blackman.

Churchill posted:

Did you peep in here to see if anyone posted your pic with Basil Williams from last Saturday at Trevor Rupnarine place?  Dem PPP boys deleting you now from their pics.  You can't have one foot in each grave.

Hi friend, Trevor Rupnarine  served his time. Ed will discover his Zen in prison like his brethren. 

My parents had some work done by Trevor Rupnarine. What was his crime? How long did he serve?

Churchill posted:

Did you peep in here to see if anyone posted your pic with Basil Williams from last Saturday at Trevor Rupnarine place?  Dem PPP boys deleting you now from their pics.  You can't have one foot in each grave.

It's 90F under the shade. Why you is so bitchy? Tell us how you able to have one foot in each grave nuh.

Hi friend, Trevor Rupnarine  served his time. Ed will discover his Zen in prison like his brethren. 

My parents had some work done by Trevor Rupnarine. What was his crime? How long did he serve?

Perhaps doing the work for your parents.

Mits...whey you been hiding bana?

Churchill posted:

I wonder if Churchill was promised a security guard, guard hut, and a portable toilet?

Churchill posted:

I wonder if Churchill was promised a security guard, guard hut, and a portable toilet?

Just a toilet.

Churchill posted:

If you or anyone of those clowns have a photo with me and Basil Williams I would like to see it......I attended a public event and several folks seem to have a problem with that....

They should be very concerned about the many former PPP supporters who were in the hall...

Soup Drinkers are always available. Most of them are opportunists who only worship the mighty dollar. Including the host, Trever and the Punjabis who were there. Anyway, the PNC cannot mahch the Punjabis, they will take them to the cleaners!!

Churchill posted:

If you or anyone of those clowns have a photo with me and Basil Williams I would like to see it......I attended a public event and several folks seem to have a problem with that....

They should be very concerned about the many former PPP supporters who were in the hall...

I don't know what you look like but someone told me this is you.  So since you requested to see it, here we go.  If it is not you, I would happily take it down.  And BTW, this was a PNC event, In case you didn't realize.  The PPP supporters who were there were the picketers. 

18951374_1328686243918109_9019210818281984230_n[1]

• 18951374_1328686243918109_9019210818281984230_n[1]

Bibi,

is that fella in the pic Basil Williams???

Is that fella in the pic Basil Williams???

I don't know what any of these people look like.  Never met any of them. There are several pics of this bearded man with the PNC honorees - Basil Williams, Amna Ally, and the rest of the PNC crew.

Don't tell you can't recognize Basil Williams,here is his pic.

Image result for basil williams

• blobid0

I was in the area for another function and decided to stop by after a friend from New Amsterdam ( a medical doctor, former PPP supporter ) suggested I stop in to see the mayor of New Amsterdam who was going to be there. It was not a PNC event !

The picketers outside were family and friends of the 10 PPP supporters . There were no other races other than Indians , the women were more vocal than the men just standing there with their pickets, some might not have been in a position to understand the slogans they were carrying.

Where is the photo of myself and Basil Williams ?

Churchill posted:

I was in the area for another function and decided to stop by after a friend from New Amsterdam ( a medical doctor, former PPP supporter ) suggested I stop in to see the mayor of New Amsterdam who was going to be there. It was not a PNC event !

The picketers outside were family and friends of the 10 PPP supporters . There were no other races other than Indians , the women were more vocal than the men just standing there with their pickets, some might not have been in a position to understand the slogans they were carrying.

Where is the photo of myself and Basil Williams ?

Who paid for the private jet that took them to NY?  Somewhere in the vicinity of USD$72,000!

I want to see those photos .... There is no photo of myself and Basil Williams or anyone else as a matter of fact. As I was going into the hall I heard someone shouting from across the street  " Where is Raj Singh ? " .

I found this very amusing because Raj Singh was a Jagdeo/Ramoutar stooge who was appointed as CEO of Guysuco . Many of the placards were accusing the coalition of destroying the sugar industry whereas their own played a major part in thius destruction.

Churchill posted:

I want to see those photos .... There is no photo of myself and Basil Williams or anyone else as a matter of fact. As I was going into the hall I heard someone shouting from across the street  " Where is Raj Singh ? " .

I found this very amusing because Raj Singh was a Jagdeo/Ramoutar stooge who was appointed as CEO of Guysuco . Many of the placards were accusing the coalition of destroying the sugar industry whereas their own played a major part in thius destruction.

Wasn't he the CEO in absentia who had to be flown in whenever needed?