Source:Kaieteur News

US Govt. looks to complete Ed Ahmad’s prosecution in two weeks

May 12, 2012 | By | Filed Under News 

….final pre-trial hearing set for Wednesday

The final pre-trial hearing for Edul Ahmad, the indicted associate of former President Bharrat Jagdeo, has been set for Wednesday. Following this, the jury selection process will commence.

Ahmad who is currently free on a bond had applied for permission to leave the New York jurisdiction to attend a separate trial he is involved with.
Judge Dora Irizarry had acceded to his request for permission to travel to the District of New Jersey “so that he may appear in court on a civil matter.”
Ahmad has retained as defence attorney, Steven Kartagener, and according to the US Court reports, “Neither party anticipates filing motions in limine.”
His trial has been adjusted due to scheduling conflicts and the US Government is contending that it will just need two weeks to conclude its prosecution against Ahmad.

According to the US reports, the defence team is looking to complete the defence in a week and as such the courts is looking to set aside one month for the trial.
The jury selection process will commence by the following Monday after which the trial is expected to begin.
In December it was reported by the New York Post, that Queens-based Guyanese businessman Ahmad had entered into “extensive plea negotiations” that had been slated to last for several months.

Ahmad was arrested last July on charges of operating a $50 million mortgage-fraud scheme in Queens. He faces a maximum of 30 years in jail. He is out on $2.5 million bail.

According to the Post article, court records also revealed that three alleged co-conspirators — Ahmad’s cricket pals and employees — were also indicted in an associated case last month.

Queens-based brokers, Qayaam Farrouq, Mohamed Gurmohamed and Steve Massiah were charged with defrauding banks and mortgage companies by falsifying mortgage- loan applications to make borrowers appear more creditworthy to financial institutions, the US newspaper reports.

The federal authorities later dropped charges against Massiah.
Ahmad’s relationship with Meeks came under intense scrutiny last year after the Democratic congressman revealed that he had received the $40,000 payment from Ahmad in 2007. Meeks only revealed the payment after Ahmad was questioned by the FBI last year. He claims he repaid the money following the quizzing.

The House ethics committee is probing whether the payment was a gift and not a loan, as the congressman has maintained.

Originally Posted by Prashad:

Ed has a good chance of winning the case.  He has an excellent lawyer and they look like they are very prepared.  I think Ed may come out of this with no conviction.

wanna bet?

No. But if Ed was not confident of winning then he would have took a plea already.

depends...I'm sure the plea had a few years jail time...defendants sometimes don't want to serve any time, so they take their chances with a jury

Mr Ed will get what he deserves.

Justice will be serviced.

I will be in the court on Wednesday and all the days to follow.

It is now my turn to smile.

I am not one of those who he disrespected and then hid under the rock.

More to follow

Vish M

Stormborn, what do you mean there will be no trial.  Ed has got a very very good lawyer. 

He has a string around his testes since his buddies ratted him out so it is about getting the best deal not beating the charges. He has too many that would be hard to beat  on their own accrue lots of jail time. The best play is to plea. I do not think he will shuffle the deck and risk loosing even a few counts. Pleading will allow his family to live and he to have something to return to when he gets out. Otherwise it is a zero sum game.

I am thinking that the state may call Massiah as a witness to back up their case. If that is the case then Ed may have some explaining to do to the jury. I agree with Stormborn that with no plea then it becomes a zero sum game with the future of Ed in the hands of the defence lawyer, Judge and Jury.  Although, Ed has a very good lawyer and I think his chances of beating this rap is good..

When the Govt bring charges against someone, their case is pretty good

Originally Posted by raymond:

ED is no thief. He is a respectable Businessman who the Feds want to bring down a Congressman.

the man rearranging assets eh bai

Bhai, Ed would say that a man's heart is BETTER than all the Wealth in the World.

ED is no thief. He is a respectable Businessman who the Feds want to bring down a Congressman.

Nehru Bhai:

Start praying for your boy Ed---no matter how respectable you are perceived to be---if you break the law you'll serve the time. Ed's in big trouble. 

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Ed wants to join the AFC. He is looking for some Change to pay his lawyer. Ramayya gave him a revolutionary idea how to make money, win friends, and be in parliament.

wha happen...Jagdeo gave up on his partner in crime?

Ed wants to join the AFC. He is looking for some Change to pay his lawyer. Ramayya gave him a revolutionary idea how to make money, win friends, and be in parliament.

Ed uses everyone to put himself in the limelight including the opposition. It was Ramjattan who introduced Ed to the PPP. This says something about Ramjattan.

Originally Posted by Rev Al:

Nehru Bhai:

Start praying for your boy Ed---no matter how respectable you are perceived to be---if you break the law you'll serve the time. Ed's in big trouble. 

No oneis ABOVE the LAW!! Anyone found GUILTY of a CRIMe MUST be punished!!! No IFS, ANDS or BUTTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ed uses everyone to put himself in the limelight including the opposition. It was Ramjattan who introduced Ed to the PPP. This says something about Ramjattan.

So yuh sayin Ed corrupted Jagdeo and the PPP?

I do not know if Ramjattan introduced Ramotar to Ed but if could not be the in the time frame he claimed since  most people here including Vishnu that Ed was in the PPP inner circle since jagdeo came into office.

I have seen them together as early as around  '98. Churchill, most certainly can attest to that time frame if he cares. On this board in the archive you wall find people complaining about ed taking their money bundling it and handing it to the PPP as his "donation" to the party over a decade ago!   They complained that his "support" allowed him to export gold!

Ramotar may not have had a personal relationship with him but the PPP most certainly does.

I wonder if albert would ask the PPP to demit office on account that their Party old news paper office purchased with donation from members was turned over to him? Churchill at least was up set at that.  He called it corrupt here not more than a year ago.

Then there was the case of lenora which NICIL possibly turned over to him. I hope we see the bill of sale here and do we investigate if there was a quid pro quo to that effect?

Originally Posted by Rev Al:

Nehru Bhai:

Nehru ah laka wan lil cheap carna prastitute, e' leggs opan up fuh every an all man wah gah lil piasa.  Nehru, nah tek worries bai, Abama seh soon yuh gah homan rites, soa hole am togedda juss lil moo lang, yuh day ah come.  Ed goa geh outa jail by den.

I heard he get ketch tiefin so what you want we call the man, a friken technician?

Nehru, Is Ed paying you to say nice things about him or are you finishing your 5th bottle of El Dorado and don't know what the hell you are saying. 

The man will get what he deserves. I hope you will take him vaseline while he is in the Pen.

Originally Posted by God:

This is the type of people that Jagdeo and the corrupt PPP cabal like to do business with. The likes of Ed Ahmad, Roger Khan and Bernard Kerik.

Dear God, Will you be helping the thief to beat the charges? I hope not or you could change your name to the devil