Social Contract and Strategic Voting

Posted By TarronKhemraj On January 29, 2014 @ 5:01 am In Daily,Features | No Comments

There have been much discussions and criticisms of APNU’s proposal of a social contract. One argument holds that since the PPP is never willing to participate in any system of cooperation, it is futile for the main opposition to make such a proposal. Instead the main opposition ought to be focusing more on negative campaigns, street protests and marches. The APNU leadership responds that the Guyana constitution calls for an inclusive democracy and a social contract is the best avenue through which to achieve this goal.

Over the past few years, this column has noted some of the political economy and development challenges facing Guyana. It has also proposed several policies that could possibly help in lifting the Guyanese working class out of poverty. A crucial point raised over the past few years is the need to transform the production structure of the Guyanese economy. It has also argued for more transparent and fair mechanisms for distributing the scarce resources of the country. None of these can be achieved without political cooperation or a social contract given the polarization in voting.

20140101watchFor us to understand why a social contract is crucial, we must first acknowledge the state of democracy in Guyana. At best, Guyana is a quasi-democracy with free but unfair elections. Moreover, election at the local level was denied for 20 years. The ruling political party has an undemocratic internal party structure which is then projected into the national sphere by support mainly from an ethnic base. The main opposition has made an effort to reform its internal democracy, but its ethnic base is not large enough to give it the single largest percent of votes to win the Presidency. The main opposition, therefore, has to appeal not only to its base but also the independent voters in the middle – the median voters as they say in political science.

By winning the presidency, the ruling PPP is placed in control of the distribution systems as we saw with the sharing out of state contracts and resources to favoured friends and family. This creates an unequal society that reinforces corruption. Furthermore, the constitution gives enormous powers to the President. If the President’s interests align with the social good, Guyana will do fine as was the case with Singapore or Hong Kong, two relatively unequal societies with low corruption. A primary reason given for the low corruption in those two economies is the conviction of the leadership that corruption has to be stamped out. Great leaders, however, come in short supply in the developing world; therefore, we are more likely to see the likes of Papa Doc, Baby Doc, Mobutu, Abacha and Marcos than Lee Kuan Yew. Botswana is another example where high inequality coexists with relatively low corruption; however, this country’s democratic system instead of leadership choice tends to account for its favourable corruption rankings. A great President will align his interests with those of the country. Guyana certainly has an acute shortage of great Presidents since independence.  Barring the Hoyte years of neo-liberal experiment, Presidents to date have taken the country from party paramountcy to the semi-democratic system of elected oligarchy. Corruption and high inequality coexist in Guyana.

Ethnic or strategic voting is at the root of the post-1992 failure of democracy to consolidate. We should see ethnic voting as strategic voting, whereby the masses of the two main ethnic groups are voting to preserve their economic interests. The masses vote for the elites in their respective parties or for a multi-ethnic third party. They expect that once their party wins their economic interests will be best served. Indeed, intra-group social networks almost guarantee a skewed distribution of resources whether through state jobs, outsourced contracts, infrastructure works or the local government systems. This intra-group networking underpins systemic marginalization. It is not that the two main masses are made up of bad folks. They are making a strategic choice given no information how the other side will vote on the day of secret ballot.

The masses no doubt want to live together in peace. But each group cannot be certain how the other one will vote. Many may acknowledge that if they vote for a third multi-ethnic party the outcomes could be better. But how could the African Guyanese masses know that East Indian masses will vote for the multi-ethnic party also? And how do East Indian masses know that African Guyanese masses will vote for the multi-ethnic party on the day of secret ballot? Of course, neither group has such information available on the day of election. Their final voting decision is based on emotions and misconceptions that motivate them to play it safe by going back to the ethnic elites they feel, for right or wrong, will distribute economic resources and opportunities in their favour. They make a strategic voting decision that historically has led to their underdevelopment.

Of course, this type of voting engenders backward and corrupt policy responses from the ruling elite. They feel that because the constitution does not require post-election alliances to form a 51% government, they can do as they please. The President knows he cannot be impeached. He is therefore incentivised by the constitution and strategic voting to make terrible economic decisions that are beneficial to the oligarchs but detrimental to the society as a whole. One can only think of the failure of GuySuCo as a classic example of atrocious policy making.

Moreover, if there is mass protest in the street by only one ethnic group it will just harden ethnic voting by the non-protesting group and turn off the independents because strategic voting is a tit-for-tat game (as in the tit-for-tat prisoners’ dilemma game economists often study). Mass protests can only work if they are genuinely multi-ethnic as the elders say took place during the Rodney and GUARD days.

If strategic voting is symptomatic of non-cooperation between two groups, why not form some kind of cooperation so that the economic payoffs are greater for all groups? This is where APNU’s social contract warrants serious consideration. The ultimate contract would be one to change the Burnham constitution. A second social contract could be cooperation on a national renewable energy policy that will benefit all citizens. An energy policy, in my opinion, is a supremely important framework that can improve the well-being of all citizens. If constitutional reform is too difficult, then they could cooperate in the interim on a national renewable energy policy. This could be a confidence building mechanism for an equally big project of constitutional reform.

In closing, almost 20% of the population do not identify as either East Indian or African Guyanese. Many are also politically independent and often come from an elite middle class. These are the median voters. In a properly functioning democratic system politicians will gravitate to the policy preferences of the median voters. I have explained above the PPP does not possess a democratic internal party structure; therefore, there is no democratic political attitude to project nationally. In addition, the slight numerical advantage of its ethnic vote base emboldens it to shun the median voters in favour of the interests of the oligarchs. APNU is in a completely different position. If APNU does not signal the right messages it is left with its base alone and the PPP will win the election. It has to craft alternative and positive messages to demonstrate it is a mature and responsible party ready to govern.

Article printed from Stabroek News: http://www.stabroeknews.com

URL to article: http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...ct-strategic-voting/

Social Contract is an implicit agreement among the members of a society to cooperate for social benefits, for example by sacrificing some individual freedom for state protection. Theories of a social contract became popular in the 16th, 17th, and 18th centuries among theorists such as Thomas Hobbes, John Locke, and Jean-Jacques Rousseau, as a means of explaining the origin of government and the obligations of subjects.

IMPLICIT Granger and TK.  I am amazed at these kwak politicians.

Ramutar mek them look like kindergarten kids.  STEWP!

Granger can never win the election because of Vulga Lawrence and she bribe taking from the PPP.

So, TK is stuck at Sophia, wait for his next move, he is heading to Freedom House soon.

Another Peter Ramsaroop.

Even a Dunce like the GOAT MAN know is sheer stupidness they in the APNU talking.

Rohee calls APNU social contract proposal contradiction

GENERAL Secretary of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP), Mr. Clement Rohee views the social contract proposal of A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) as a contradiction.

APNU, last Friday, proposed that a new social contract be agreed upon in order to address Guyana’s pressing political, economic and social problems and foster greater unity, security and progress.
But speaking at the Freedom House press conference yesterday, Rohee said the stance of the main opposition party on matters of national interest is very different.
He said: “I must say that it appears, to me, that it is somewhat an apparent contradiction and the question that contradicts is how can you be proposing a social contract in respect of the body politic of our country when you have basically shot down a number of investment projects in this country, which would have brought meaningful and purposeful development to Guyana, would have seen an improvement of livelihood for thousands of people across the country?”
Rohee continued:“So, right away, I see an apparent contradiction when, on the one hand these anti-progressive, anti-national, anti-business, anti-foreign investors decisions have been taken within recent times, so that has to be explained by the callers of this social contract.”
The new agreement proposed by APNU focuses on allowing major sections of society, including the Government, political Opposition, trade unions, private sector and civil society, to settle on a broad national programme to move the country forward, as it relates to reaching a consensus on the goals of national development; establishing a sustainable institutional architecture and creating an effective policy instruments for the achievement of the objectives of the ‘contract’.
Rohee said the ruling party is currently reviewing the proposal.

Social Contract is an implicit agreement among the members of a society to cooperate for social benefits, for example by sacrificing some individual freedom for state protection. Theories of a social contract became popular in the 16th, 17th, and 18th centuries among theorists such as Thomas Hobbes, John Locke, and Jean-Jacques Rousseau, as a means of explaining the origin of government and the obligations of subjects.

Mr TK is saying the right thing. Arab spring was a failure. I guess you and your buddies want to burn down the town? You dont seem to know how stupid you are.

JB do not lecturer me about burning down the town.  It is your party the PNC that burns the town down.

The PPP burns cane bush.

LOL

I am not lecturing you Sir. You say you want mayhem and killing, no?

I am saying there was and will always be a social contract between the people and their government  - it is IMPLICIT.  We do not need Granger to tell is about that.

What we need is Ramutar to tell us about what he will do for the people.

I am saying there was and will always be a social contract between the people and their government  - it is IMPLICIT.  We do not need Granger to tell is about that.

What we need is Ramutar to tell us about what he will do for the people.

And your point is?

Mr TK is saying the right thing. Arab spring was a failure. I guess you and your buddies want to burn down the town? You dont seem to know how stupid you are.

why you think the Arab spring was a failure

I want to know from Ramuatar how he will use his office to influence public policies that will cause re-distribution of the wealth of the nation.

After the firing of Banga Gunga Persaud, I think I have to re-look at Ramutar, after all he is shaping up to not be an arse like JUG_DE_HOE.  He is taking control of his government.

Because thousands of innocent people killed and terrorists and anti women men are abusing people.

I want to know what Ramutar will do for the people through a more effective labor market public policy  - jobs, training, etc.

Obama was a star last night.

And your point is?

The point is, I want to hear what Ramutar will do for the people.

Granger and his social contract can haul their arse into the Demerara River.

Mr Granger has to give his message and plans just like the republicans respond to Mr Obama last night. Mr Ramotar's gift is Skeldon factory and police bugger boys.

I think you need to become educated more on the nature of the social contract. It is the foundation of liberal democracy and has nothing to do with TK or Granger. They are both explicating its relevance in our society at present. If you were cognizant of the basic features of this  foundation principle you would grasp the salient philosophical ( and long standing) reasons why they insist there are huge deficits in our democracy and a reflection on the social contract is a starting point in seeking solutions. Nowhere in social contract theory we come to accept is there the idea of a state administration being autocratic as the PPP. I would however not put Hobbes with Locke and Rousseau.

Because thousands of innocent people killed and terrorists and anti women men are abusing people.

no where in this world or any part in life where some one is fighting for their freedom and the right to be equal can any one define it as wrong or a failure.ask the father of the Indian people 

Fada of who? You know you can always voluneer to get shot by police. Arab spring was a failure.

no one is innocent when there are silent in the injustice  of man 

Sick terrorists and women abusers take power. Arab spring = FAILURE. Story done!!!!

The New Democratic Party(NDP) of Ontario, Canada, in 1992 passed a Social Contract Law giving Public Servants the right to keep their jobs in exchange for taking 2 weeks off work. The economy was in a recession at that time and revenues were lower than expenditures. A Provincial Election was called later and the NDP were nearly wiped off the map. Unions and Public Servants were campaigning to defeat the NDP. Ask Bob Rae, the then Premier. The Conservative  Party that won the election subsequently went on to cut deeply (20%) into the Public Service. There is an old saying" Be Careful what you ask for".

Originally Posted by Dondadda:

The New Democratic Party(NDP) of Ontario, Canada, in 1992 passed a Social Contract Law giving Public Servants the right to keep their jobs in exchange for taking 2 weeks off work. The economy was in a recession at that time and revenues were lower than expenditures. A Provincial Election was called later and the NDP were nearly wiped off the map. Unions and Public Servants were campaigning to defeat the NDP. Ask Bob Rae, the then Premier. The Conservative  Party that won the election subsequently went on to cut deeply (20%) into the Public Service. There is an old saying" Be Careful what you ask for".

that law in no way relates to what TK is speaking about. He is speaking as to the basic fabric of state formation. That is social contract theory as opposed to  the specificity of laws labeled a social contract law

Posted By TarronKhemraj On January 29, 2014 @ 5:01 am In Daily,Features | No Comments

There have been much discussions and criticisms of APNU’s proposal of a social contract. One argument holds that since the PPP is never willing to participate in any system of cooperation, it is futile for the main opposition to make such a proposal. Instead the main opposition ought to be focusing more on negative campaigns, street protests and marches. The APNU leadership responds that the Guyana constitution calls for an inclusive democracy and a social contract is the best avenue through which to achieve this goal.

Over the past few years, this column has noted some of the political economy and development challenges facing Guyana. It has also proposed several policies that could possibly help in lifting the Guyanese working class out of poverty. A crucial point raised over the past few years is the need to transform the production structure of the Guyanese economy. It has also argued for more transparent and fair mechanisms for distributing the scarce resources of the country. None of these can be achieved without political cooperation or a social contract given the polarization in voting.

20140101watchFor us to understand why a social contract is crucial, we must first acknowledge the state of democracy in Guyana. At best, Guyana is a quasi-democracy with free but unfair elections. Moreover, election at the local level was denied for 20 years. The ruling political party has an undemocratic internal party structure which is then projected into the national sphere by support mainly from an ethnic base. The main opposition has made an effort to reform its internal democracy, but its ethnic base is not large enough to give it the single largest percent of votes to win the Presidency. The main opposition, therefore, has to appeal not only to its base but also the independent voters in the middle – the median voters as they say in political science.

By winning the presidency, the ruling PPP is placed in control of the distribution systems as we saw with the sharing out of state contracts and resources to favoured friends and family. This creates an unequal society that reinforces corruption. Furthermore, the constitution gives enormous powers to the President. If the President’s interests align with the social good, Guyana will do fine as was the case with Singapore or Hong Kong, two relatively unequal societies with low corruption. A primary reason given for the low corruption in those two economies is the conviction of the leadership that corruption has to be stamped out. Great leaders, however, come in short supply in the developing world; therefore, we are more likely to see the likes of Papa Doc, Baby Doc, Mobutu, Abacha and Marcos than Lee Kuan Yew. Botswana is another example where high inequality coexists with relatively low corruption; however, this country’s democratic system instead of leadership choice tends to account for its favourable corruption rankings. A great President will align his interests with those of the country. Guyana certainly has an acute shortage of great Presidents since independence.  Barring the Hoyte years of neo-liberal experiment, Presidents to date have taken the country from party paramountcy to the semi-democratic system of elected oligarchy. Corruption and high inequality coexist in Guyana.

Ethnic or strategic voting is at the root of the post-1992 failure of democracy to consolidate. We should see ethnic voting as strategic voting, whereby the masses of the two main ethnic groups are voting to preserve their economic interests. The masses vote for the elites in their respective parties or for a multi-ethnic third party. They expect that once their party wins their economic interests will be best served. Indeed, intra-group social networks almost guarantee a skewed distribution of resources whether through state jobs, outsourced contracts, infrastructure works or the local government systems. This intra-group networking underpins systemic marginalization. It is not that the two main masses are made up of bad folks. They are making a strategic choice given no information how the other side will vote on the day of secret ballot.

The masses no doubt want to live together in peace. But each group cannot be certain how the other one will vote. Many may acknowledge that if they vote for a third multi-ethnic party the outcomes could be better. But how could the African Guyanese masses know that East Indian masses will vote for the multi-ethnic party also? And how do East Indian masses know that African Guyanese masses will vote for the multi-ethnic party on the day of secret ballot? Of course, neither group has such information available on the day of election. Their final voting decision is based on emotions and misconceptions that motivate them to play it safe by going back to the ethnic elites they feel, for right or wrong, will distribute economic resources and opportunities in their favour. They make a strategic voting decision that historically has led to their underdevelopment.

Of course, this type of voting engenders backward and corrupt policy responses from the ruling elite. They feel that because the constitution does not require post-election alliances to form a 51% government, they can do as they please. The President knows he cannot be impeached. He is therefore incentivised by the constitution and strategic voting to make terrible economic decisions that are beneficial to the oligarchs but detrimental to the society as a whole. One can only think of the failure of GuySuCo as a classic example of atrocious policy making.

Moreover, if there is mass protest in the street by only one ethnic group it will just harden ethnic voting by the non-protesting group and turn off the independents because strategic voting is a tit-for-tat game (as in the tit-for-tat prisoners’ dilemma game economists often study). Mass protests can only work if they are genuinely multi-ethnic as the elders say took place during the Rodney and GUARD days.

If strategic voting is symptomatic of non-cooperation between two groups, why not form some kind of cooperation so that the economic payoffs are greater for all groups? This is where APNU’s social contract warrants serious consideration. The ultimate contract would be one to change the Burnham constitution. A second social contract could be cooperation on a national renewable energy policy that will benefit all citizens. An energy policy, in my opinion, is a supremely important framework that can improve the well-being of all citizens. If constitutional reform is too difficult, then they could cooperate in the interim on a national renewable energy policy. This could be a confidence building mechanism for an equally big project of constitutional reform.

In closing, almost 20% of the population do not identify as either East Indian or African Guyanese. Many are also politically independent and often come from an elite middle class. These are the median voters. In a properly functioning democratic system politicians will gravitate to the policy preferences of the median voters. I have explained above the PPP does not possess a democratic internal party structure; therefore, there is no democratic political attitude to project nationally. In addition, the slight numerical advantage of its ethnic vote base emboldens it to shun the median voters in favour of the interests of the oligarchs. APNU is in a completely different position. If APNU does not signal the right messages it is left with its base alone and the PPP will win the election. It has to craft alternative and positive messages to demonstrate it is a mature and responsible party ready to govern.

When will TK stop the licking exercise?

Why don't you get off your ass and answer the man point counter point and then demonstrate you have a mind of your own and not in the exercise of your tongue on someone's testicles. TK takes the time to express how and why he believes as he does. That is what men do not any lickers of boots or otherwise. The need to descend into the banal would not clarify whatever you hope to get across. The need to be nasty is a refuge for the ignorant. Address the man or keep your damn mouth shut.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

What is that supposed to imply? The gentleman is standing among members of his community with whom he share a common goal. The dog whistlers in the PPP cannot maintain a civil dialog on differences. You need a mud hole to get real dirty.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

Why don't you get off your ass and answer the man point counter point and then demonstrate you have a mind of your own and not in the exercise of your tongue on someone's testicles. TK takes the time to express how and why he believes as he does. That is what men do not any lickers of boots or otherwise. The need to descend into the banal would not clarify whatever you hope to get across. The need to be nasty is a refuge for the ignorant. Address the man or keep your damn mouth shut.

Danyeael:

I think you are right, I should rip this piece of BOOT LICKING from TK to pieces.  So here we go!

Originally Posted by Danyael:

Danyeael:

I think you are right, I should rip this piece of BOOT LICKING from TK to pieces.  So here we go!

TK defines social contract as political cooperation but he did not define with whom?  Is it cooperation  between the PNC and PPP?

So he is unclear as to whom this cooperation is between, the horse and donkeys of Guyana or between the APNU (his new love) and the PPP?

Why should the PPP cooperate with the APNU when they continue to run the country as if they are the majority with minimal political resistance from the APNU.

Even on the workers wages increase issues the APNU rolled over to the PPP and sold the workers out with Granger himself saying he is not interested in politicizing the issue.

What political poppy cock from these jokers?

Is there a framework in place for this social contract?

What is the end the APNU is trying to achieve and why should the PPP give up any of its current political power?

Until and unless behind the words of Granger the PPP is aware that there is political force that is ready to battle they will continue to cuss the APNU down - look at Nandalal - whattax against the APNU, Rohee - whattax against the APNU.

“So in war, the way is to avoid what is strong, and strike at what is weak.” 
― Sun TzuThe Art of War

The PPP is at its weakest and the Granger trys to aviod the fight.  POLITICAL IDIOTS.

The PPP continues to deny the people local government elections for 20 years according to TK but yet he recommends  social contract as a follower of his bass man.

Why should the PPP not project its to the East Indians when it worked in the past for them?  What has APNU and the new Indian brigade led by TK done to infiltrate the East Indian villages for new votes  - NOTHING.

These people are arm chair politicians.

Get down into the villages and fight for the vote if you want to win, but the cuss the PPP for doing its political work on the ground.

The PPP is the most organised and mobilised political party that is doing exactly what needs to be done political, attack the opposition and reach out to the people and this will bring victory for the PPP at the next elections.

Granger and his social contract will be stuck in the brains of these fools until they die since they just do not get it and do not understand what it take to WIN!

Hard core political attack and grass root work and if necessary bringing the people out on the street to flex the MUSCLE.  Not another article?

Quoted from TK

The main opposition has made an effort to reform its internal democracy, but its ethnic base is not large enough to give it the single largest percent of votes to win the Presidency. The main opposition, therefore, has to appeal not only to its base but also the independent voters in the middle – the median voters as they say in political science.

But the independent voters will not come to a group of political softies and light weight.  The overwhelming majority in Guyana see the PPP as corrupt and ready to send them packing but when they see who is the alternative, people without political fortitude and a group of political opportunist ready to continue the soup drinking and tiefing, they decide  - let awe stay with the PPP.

So TK, has got to be drunk for political power to write this infantile stupidness.

Granger is the biggest disappointment and he will turn out worst that Carbin.  Watch, wait and see.

The PPP will the plurality again and will continue to tek money from the Treasury like if they are the majority and make decision for all Guyanese without asking any permission from the majority and Granger will still be BEGGING for social contract a decade from now.

The time to strike the IRON is NOW  - STREET ACTION NOW!

Too much talking in GT.

~~~~~So TK, has got to be drunk for political power to write this infantile stupidness.~~~,

Anybody gravitating from the AFC to the PNC strikes you as having any sense?

The PPP will the plurality again and will continue to tek money from the Treasury like if they are the majority and make decision for all Guyanese without asking any permission from the majority and Granger will still be BEGGING for social contract a decade from now.

Too much talking in GT.

seriously . . . is Granger your leader now?

Too much talking in GT.

hey Hey Hey...one a de loud mouts. Hey hey hey...