ANUG + FEDUP – married and divorced all in one day
A New and United Guyana (ANUG) and the Federal United Party (FEDUP) had been reported on by another section of the media as having coalesced. But it turned out the marriage fell apart in a matter of hours, according to FEDUP Executive Member Chandra Sohan.
When he was pressed by reporters on the reason for the abrupt divorce, he explained that he was just as stumped.
ANUG, led by former Speaker of the National Assembly, Ralph Ramkarran, is only contesting seven regions, since it experienced difficulties reaching regions One, Eight and Nine. Nevertheless, Ramkarran expressed confidence in the party’s chances throughout all regions in the General election.
Ramkarran explained that he has assessed the matter, which led him to the conclusion that ANUG has a lot of silent supporters. Ramkarran was keen to note that that support base is especially buttressed by persons who would usually vote with the PPP.
Asked about the reported coalition with FED UP, Ramkarran denied the joinder of the lists.
FED UP will only be contesting in the regional elections, for Regions Five and Six. The contingent experienced an issue during the declaration process, which led to the members having to leave for a few hours. Kaieteur News understands that a form had been missing from their document list. The contingent returned to the Umana Yana late in the afternoon, after the 5pm deadline had passed.

Representing the Guyana National Service Party (GNS) was Oral Semple. He claims to have stood outside alone all afternoon. He told media operatives he is not the party β€˜s leader. That person is Arthur Fredericks, he said.
He was lone representative of his party at Nomination Day since according to him, the rest of his party was at work and could not make it.

Lenox Shuman of the Liberty and Justice Party (LJP) was grilled about dual citizenship, namely his Canadian citizenship, which he claims to have already sorted out.
Shuman said that he already made the formal application to have his citizenship relinquished, and that that was sorted out since December last.

He is still a Canadian citizen.  Application was filed.  But renunciation certificate was not produced to GECOM.  If he doesn’t get it soon he will have to come off the ballot.  This guy is playing games.

Like it or not, Guyana has two parties, the PPP and the evil PNC. All the others are just fooling themselves. The AFC was on the verge of becoming a major party but they foolishly submitted themselves to the PNC slaughter house.

Only three of the 13 parties are contesting in all ten regions.  Essequibo is an interesting scenario.  The former AFC voters are likely to go to PPP, ANUG, and TNM.  Turhane Doerga is Dr. Asha Kissoon’s campaign advisor and he is locking down the rice belt voters for her.  She is young, smart, and energetic and is working hard on her campaign.

Like it or not, Guyana has two parties, the PPP and the evil PNC. All the others are just fooling themselves. The AFC was on the verge of becoming a major party but they foolishly submitted themselves to the PNC slaughter house.

Only three of the 13 parties are contesting in all ten regions.

Essequibo is an interesting scenario the former AFC voters are likely to go to PPP, ANUG, and TNM.

Turhane Doerga is Dr. Asha Kissoon’s campaign advisor and he is locking down the rice belt voters for her.

She is young, smart, and energetic and is working hard on her campaign.

I assumed your interpretation of AFC voters in Region 2 are East Indians ? If Asha Kissoon locked down the rice belt , the PPP cork ducked.

Essequibo is an interesting scenario the former AFC voters are likely to go to PPP, ANUG, and TNM.

Turhane Doerga is Dr. Asha Kissoon’s campaign advisor and he is locking down the rice belt voters for her.

I assumed your interpretation of AFC voters in Region 2 are East Indians ? If Asha Kissoon locked down the rice belt , the PPP cork ducked.

I agree.  But it ain’t going to happen!  She may get a few doctors and vets.  

Organisation for the Victory of the People, (OVP) another small party is contesting for the regional seats.
The party led by Gerald Pereira said it will not be contesting for the presidency because it will be supporting the APNU+AFC party in the general elections.

The subject line of this thread is both misleading and inaccurate.

Is the media say those exact words. 

Do you actually know who is this guy - Turhane Doerga

Organisation for the Victory of the People, (OVP) another small party is contesting for the regional seats.
The party led by Gerald Pereira said it will not be contesting for the presidency because it will be supporting the APNU+AFC party in the general elections.

The subject line of this thread is both misleading and inaccurate.

Is the media say those exact words. 

There was some technicality with ANUG having signatures for all ten regions and FedUP only contesting in a few regions.  My understanding is that FedUp would not be contesting in the national elections, only in the regional elections.  

I suspect two or three more of the small parties will fall off the wagon before March 2.

Bibi Haniffa posted:h

Was he building a refinery?

Banna what's wrong with you ?  Alesie  bought a silo in Ruimzeight WCD . Well he does hit the news a lot.

Gud Gud,, He ripping of them rice farmers SOB.

The lives of over 50 rice farmers of Region Three (Essequibo Islands-West Demerara) are now hanging in the balance following the fraudulent activities of the Chairman of the Ruimzeigt Rice Industry Limited, who is also the director of some 28 other rice companies.
As such, the rice farmers from the West Coast and West Bank of Demerara, Essequibo, Leguan and Wakenaam on Tuesday joined hands as they picketed the Ruimzeigt Rice Industry Limited, West Coast Demerara (WCD) calling for Chairman Turhane Doerga to pay some $500 million owed to them.

Some of the workers in the rice field
Dr Turhane Doerga (Photo by Samuel Maughn)

…says protest action politically motivated

A NUMBER of rice farmers from the West Bank and West Coast of Demerara and Dr Turhane Doerga are at odds over outstanding payments for paddy supplied over a number of years, with the latter denying owing anyone of them β€œa single cent” and charging that protest action by the farmers are all politically motivated.

Jeetlall Ramraj, one of the rice farmers who protested over money owed (Photo by Adrian Narine)

The farmers are accusing Dr Doerga of defaulting, but the businessman is denying the allegation being peddled against him, stating that the protest action is the work of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP). On Wednesday, approximately 14 rice farmers picketed the Rumzeight Rice Processors/Alesie Facility on the West Coast of Demerara on the basis that Dr Doerga allegedly owes them a collective sum of $31.8M. However, there is reportedly another rice farmer in Essequibo who claims that he is owed in excess of $50M.
Dr Doerga reportedly owns or is closely associated with the Rumzeight Rice

Processors/Alesie Facility, and the rice farmers are calling on government to seize the property until the monies are paid over to them. According to the farmers, Dr Doerga, who owns or is closely associated with approximately 28 rice mills or processing facilities across the country, initiated a number of purchases, many of which date back to 2016, and the paddies were supplied to either Ruimzeight Rice Processors or Associated Rice Exporters Inc as agreed, but to date they are still awaiting their payments.

Jeetlall Ramraj, a rice farmer for more than 20 years, said though the court has ordered Dr Doerga and four individuals and entities to disburse payments to the tune of $12.4M for paddy supplied, a payment is yet to be made.

Ramraj, who led the protest on Wednesday, said in 2015 he started to supply Rumzeight Rice Processors based on commitments made by Dr Doerga. β€œHe asked me, he come beg me, he and his son was holding meetings with me on a daily basis and promised to pay me,” the rice farmer said.

The disgruntled rice farmers protesting at the Ruimzeight Rice Processors Facility on the West Coast of Demerara (Photo by Adrian Narine)

According to Ramraj, an initial payment of $8M was made to him for dried paddy supplied but before he knew it, the Rumzeight Rice Processors Facility had in excess of $36M outstanding for parts of 2015 and all of 2016. β€œHe always paid cash. He had this girl Latchmie, signing all the time for him but he ah personally draw the cash and bring it,” Ramraj recalled.

It is alleged that that Dr Doerga paid part of the money owed to Ramraj and had some $12.4M outstanding. The matter was taken to court.
According to a High Court document seen by the Guyana Chronicle, the court, which was presided over by Justice Simone Morris-Ramlall, ordered the defendants in the matter – Turhane Doerga (personally and in his capacity of Chairman of Alesie Group of companies), Vijay Doerga, Ruimzeight Rice Processors Inc., Ruimzeight Rice Industries Ltd., and Associated Rice Exporters Inc – to pay Ramraj $12, 478,129.57 ($12.4M) together with interest at the rate of 6 per cent per annum from July 4, 2017 to September 13, 2017 and thereafter at the rate of 4 per cent until fully paid. The defendants had not been present to present their case before the court. Judgment was on October 10, 2017.

I owe no one

Kawall Ramraj (Photo by Adrian Narine)

But in an interview with the Guyana Chronicle, a few hours after Dr Doerga, who was backed by Jinnah Rahaman, denied the claims, stating that neither he nor Alesie owes anyone.

Referencing the court matter alluded to by Jeetlall Ramraj, Dr Doerga said there is a rehearing today (Thursday February 22). In defending his position, Dr Doerga posited that Jeetlall Ramraj, the rice farmer, did business with a manager of Ruimzeight Rice Processors Inc., but the deal went sour. β€œHe went to court and without anybody being heard, how he did it we don’t know, we got a court ruling and that court ruling will be reheard tomorrow,”

Dr Doerga said
Maintaining that he does not owe anyone, Dr Doerga said there are 22 rice farmers who are claiming to be owed by Ruimzeight Rice Processors Inc. The Ruimzeight Mill is owned by the Alesie Group, for which he (Dr Doerga) is a co-owner. According to him, the mill was closed more than one year ago, and is now being rented to a group of processors. β€œI put in some money in that but I lost all that money,” he posited.

Girjadial Mangra (Photo by Adrian Narine)

Dr Doerga said he should be made to pay monies allegedly owed by companies that rent the facility at Ruimzeight. According to him, the rice farmers were set up by the PPP to bring his name into disrepute over their loss of the 2015 General and Regional Elections.
β€œEach one of them which is there are members of the PPP…it is a political matter. Mr Seeraj said…we owed a $100M, he is confusing that with a $100M he stole from GRDA, and is not paying it back,” Dr. Doerga alleged.

He said rice farmers should follow in the footsteps of Jeetlall Ramraj and take their concerns to court. However, he is maintaining that neither he nor Alesie owes anyone and all debts have been cleared. β€œIt is said that Turhane Doerga owes, Turhane Doerga owes nobody a cent. Alesie left this shore a long time ago and owes nobody a cent, we paid all our bills. The properties are rented to companies and those companies do business, and if they don’t pay their bills, that is their story,” he maintained.

Meanwhile, Kawall Ramraj a rice farmer, also claimed that he has been doing business with Dr. Doerga for more than 20 years, but the payments were never consistent. β€œThis man begged me for my paddy in 2016 and meh bring meh paddy and meh give am, and this man promise me to pay meh by the 15th November, 2016, by the 15th November, he close up this place and go ah Suriname,” Kawall Ramraj contended. PPP member Dharamkumar Seeraj, who was identified as the farmers’ representative, had joined the protest and called on Dr Deorga to pay money reportedly owed.

FED UP & ANUS married and divorced the same day.

ANUG + FEDUP – married and divorced all in one day

A New and United Guyana (ANUG) and the Federal United Party (FEDUP) had been reported on by another section of the media as having coalesced.

But it turned out the marriage fell apart in a matter of hours, according to FEDUP Executive Member Chandra Sohan.

Probably FEDUP said to ANUG ...

" Ah fed up wid yuh ... gwan dah side."

So wait, ANUG campaign manager owe rice farmers some $ 500 million ? Who chose him as campaign manager and they are lobbying the rice farmers vote ?

What de rass happening here ?

You need to stop the lies and misinformation on this site.  Which ANUG campaign manager owe rice farmers $500 million?  I hope someone reports this post to the stellar team of attorneys advising the ANUG campaign and they slap you with a libel suit that you can never recover from for the rest of your life.

Lenox Shuman of the Liberty and Justice Party (LJP) was grilled about dual citizenship, namely his Canadian citizenship, which he claims to have already sorted out.
Shuman said that he already made the formal application to have his citizenship relinquished, and that that was sorted out since December last.

He is still a Canadian citizen.  Application was filed.  But renunciation certificate was not produced to GECOM.  If he doesn’t get it soon he will have to come off the ballot.  This guy is playing games.

I doubt Singh will insist on verifying if Greenidge and Harmon are truly only citizens of Guyana. I am interested in how this element plays out for all parties involved.

Only three of the 13 parties are contesting in all ten regions.  Essequibo is an interesting scenario.  The former AFC voters are likely to go to PPP, ANUG, and TNM.  Turhane Doerga is Dr. Asha Kissoon’s campaign advisor and he is locking down the rice belt voters for her.  She is young, smart, and energetic and is working hard on her campaign.

I like Dr. Kissoon but I think she is better served expanding her medical portfolio and resume rather than get into politics at such a young age. Especially when this elections will be one of PPP vs PNC. The smaller parties will kick up some dust but enough to cause any real effect.

So wait, ANUG campaign manager owe rice farmers some $ 500 million ? Who chose him as campaign manager and they are lobbying the rice farmers vote ?

You need to stop the lies and misinformation on this site.  Which ANUG campaign manager owe rice farmers $500 million?  I hope someone reports this post to the stellar team of attorneys advising the ANUG campaign and they slap you with a libel suit that you can never recover from for the rest of your life.

Libel my ANUS!  They  cannot do squat even if was a Guyanese in Guyana making the claim.  Sean-on-the-lake can say as he wishes and they cannot do anything.

I doubt Singh will insist on verifying if Greenidge and Harmon are truly only citizens of Guyana. I am interested in how this element plays out for all parties involved.

No one will verify anything and as time go by, it will fall to the wayside!  It’s only a fuss because Charrandass brought down the house.

Libel my ANUS!  They  cannot do squat even if was a Guyanese in Guyana making the claim.  Sean-on-the-lake can say as he wishes and they cannot do anything.

Is that why you spend your days and nights on this site telling lies and pretending you know politics?  You have a PPP nick but you voting PNC.  No one believes your nastiness anymore.

Shut yuh stupid rass Gilda!  Sean-on-the-lake is free to comment on ANUS and them and you cannot do shit!

That’s how much you know.  

This is not like driving to someone’s home and breaking into their mailbox!

And who you voting for, PPP or ANUS?  Hypocrite!

Shut yuh stupid rass Gilda!  Sean-on-the-lake is free to comment on ANUS and them and you cannot do shit!

That’s how much you know.  

This is not like driving to someone’s home and breaking into their mailbox!

And who you voting for, PPP or ANUS?  Hypocrite!

Who I am voting for is none of your business.  It’s a known fact that you are a nasty lying soup drinker just like Shiamkaran.  I don’t drive to people’s home and break into mailboxes.  That’s an old worn down lie.  Time for you to come up with new lies.  Record stuck on the lie button.