ABC News
Health officials and police in Long Beach, Calif., are trying to determine how an 11-year-old girl died after getting into a fight with another girl over a boy.
Joanna Ramos, a fifth grader at Willard Elementary School, died Friday night in the hospital after complaining of a headache.
"She was so nice to me; she was like a sister to me," said classmate Stephanie Soltero, crying. "They were fighting over a boy, just for a boy. It's just stupid."
The two girls and seven onlookers went to an alley off campus after school on Friday, where they had planned to fight, according to Deputy Chief Robert Luna of the Long Beach Police Department. No weapons were used and no one was knocked to the ground.
Police are waiting for autopsy results to determine Ramos' cause of death.
Ramos' classmate said she was complaining about a pain in her head during an after-school program.
"She was crying and saying her head was hurting. She said to the supervisor, the principal on call, she told them that my head was hurting and then she called the parents and the parents took her to the hospital," classmate Justin Robert King Jr. said.

Well look at my good crasses? Picknee ah fight fuh man again? One almost kill a whole family with laced hassa curry just fuh man. When them become woman and a friend thief you man, is hight time fuh bruck them rass.

Them children today are much more street smart than when we were kids. We were naive and get school smart along with dicipline. It's a delicate balance between parents and children these days. Them lil gyal too hot and need some good peppering like the old days.
Originally posted by Riya:
Originally posted by alena:
An 11 yr old should be playing jump rope etc. After school and not chasing boys.

Unfortunately we need to supervise our kids 24/7.

unfortunately, we cannot be with them 24/7. A fight broke out between 2 girls at my son's school cafeteria and was posted on YouTube.

Were they fighting over him?

According to statistics, there will be more women than men in the world. Expect more fights as more women fight over men. Some women kidnapped me recently, so I can attest to the fact.
Originally posted by chameli:
Originally posted by Riya:
i had a BF at 5 yrs old...so 11 is no big deal...

It is a big deal if you physically fight for a boy at 5yr...don't you think?

ummmmmmmmmmm...there was no need to fight...i was de only lil girlie in the village with about 6 boys my age!!! I kinda got used to all the attentiponWink also the other reason for my nick name...

sad dat at 11 they feel the urge to push each other over some guy who prob doan have an interest in themRed Face
six boys to you one,you use to live in all-boys town Red Face

ummmmmmmmmmm...there was no need to fight...i was de only lil girlie in the village with about 6 boys my age!!! I kinda got used to all the attentiponWink also the other reason for my nick name...

sad dat at 11 they feel the urge to push each other over some guy who prob doan have an interest in themRed Face

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Riya:

our puppy love days were filled with innocence...nothing like this. Up to 3rd form I was still scared of talking to boys Big Grin I had to constantly hide from one of them Big Grin
Originally posted by alena:
An 11 yr old should be playing jump rope etc. After school and not chasing boys.

Unfortunately we need to supervise our kids 24/7.

Alena, I hear you!
An 11 year old is probably in 5th grade with an attitude of, "I don't need to be with these elementary kids, I'm a middle school teen". Hardly any 11 year olds are rushing out to go jump rope and engage in other "child-like" activities nowadays.

So sad that this kid died.
Originally posted by Miraver:
TI, I'm going to derail your thread a lil bit...

GNIers, have you ever fought over a man or woman? If so, what was the outcome?
Please give a blow by blow account. Big Grin Big Grin

OR, have you seen or heard of a "fight story"? Big Grin

Da Cainsta doan wanna start talking wutlesness and you come in and give me heck, so Iman checking before posting.
You talking fight here am I correct? Big Grin

i witnessed a big fight in front of Mandal gas station in 1980...a gyal from Zeeburg and one from Vergenoegen had some serious pull hair and throw dunk pun the public road... over a saga bie who had moved onWink

another time our neighbour run down another woman she thought was doing it wid she hubby...i was about 11 then and thought how stupid ppl can be...guess i was naive

i would not hurt another woman over a man...i may be tempted to cause injury to the manBig GrinBig Grin

what's that word Abidha used?something with bobitizelol

lol ah wonduh if I know de girl from z'burg? Who was de saga bie, tell, tell!!!Smile
Originally posted by cain:
Originally posted by Miraver:
TI, I'm going to derail your thread a lil bit...

GNIers, have you ever fought over a man or woman? If so, what was the outcome?
Please give a blow by blow account. Big Grin Big Grin

OR, have you seen or heard of a "fight story"? Big Grin

Da Cainsta doan wanna start talking wutlesness and you come in and give me heck, so Iman checking before posting.
You talking fight here am I correct? Big Grin

SmileSmile Cain, I'm talking fight!!!I guess I was thinking of a boxing ring, hence "blow by blow"SmileSmile