Greetings from Georgetown Guyana,

After leaving Venezuela I jumped over to Trinidad in order to make a plane connection to somewhere in the Guyanas. That somewhere turned out to be Georgetown Guyana, a truly Third World capital city not unlike many I saw in Africa. The city center teemed with aggressive surly young men yelling at one another and the rare white face walking through their boisterous midst. The worst area is around the main city market where all the mini-buses scramble for passengers. Every bus conductor wants you to use his bus regardless of where you want to go, so information about which bus number goes where is kept secret; one person telling me one thing, someone else another.  

Many people yell pleasantries as I wander the streets. Nearly everyone I pass on the street greets me in one way or another. Most are clearly friendly, but a large minority are either uncomfortable with the encounter, outright hostile or displaying predatory behavior. It is hard to tell which of the "hello's" are genuine friendly greetings and which are opening gambits for panhandling or something more sinister. I am convinced this is truly a city where strangers need to continuously be on their guard anywhere outside the few upscale hotels. Lonely Planet travel guide highlights security concerns for its readers traveling in Guyana. 

My second day in  Georgetown Guyana I went exploring the really seedy area where the minibuses congregate, ironically near one of the two KFC restaurants in town. While there a group of men clad in t-shirts and shorts, barefoot attempted to engage me in an extortion scam. As I worked my way through a crowded covered walkway near the riverfront, one man shouted in a commanding voice "Hey, Steve. Come here." Walking on a few seconds later his confederate dashed up to my side grabbing my shoulder and informed me that "Hey man, Immigration wants to talk to you." Fortunately, I immediately recognized their opening gambit and ignored the rest. Shaking myself loose from his grip I walked on without changing my stride or behavior, all the while looking for a window reflection that would give me some assurance the would be assailants had given up. They had. 

The other KFC is in one of the upscale neighborhoods with a Pizza Hut next to it and about a half block from my second hotel, the $110 Roraima Residence Inn. It didn't take long to discover ATM machines only work with locally issued credit cards. However, several banks will arrange advances on international cards and one cashed a traveler's check for me. Gas is NOT cheap here, running about $3.50 per gallon. Because the country shares a border with Venezuela, smuggling dirt cheap Venezuelan gas into the country is a big business. 

My Spanish, so agonizingly acquired during the past ten months is totally useless in Guyana where people speak what they assure me is English. Though a former colony of Britain, the English most people speak is so contorted only a native can understand most of it. When spoken slowly and in context I eventually managed to decipher some of it. Fortunately, people connected with the tourist industry have perfected a refined version... not unlike that spoken in other Caribbean nations.  

Peace,
Fred L Bellomy

man, you have lots of run down properties and cemeteries in other countries. Why would the Govt be in charge of the cemetery in Corriverton? Why can't the locals form a committee to clean the place?

You cannot blame the Govt for every run down property or run down area...at some point, property owners need to be responsible.

For all the 'bad" pictures and comments, I can post nice pictures and comments about Guyana

This is ahouse he found in Corriverton.  Is that not where Jug-de-HOE build the broken sugar factory.

MORE!

Corriverton Guyana: Old house; notice the "Not for sale" sign. It is hard to imagine the owner being hounded by prospective buyers!

this look like the house skeltonman jump

Originally Posted by raymond:

JB, Mr T and Kishan partying

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tz1fjyxPOzs

Mr Nehru culture for you. 

nothing wrong with liquor and fun...we only live once...maybe it will give you a better disposition

Fun fine...liquor no good. That's Mr Nehru kind of thing. Seems like you are like him.

SO...you have a problem? 

Originally Posted by Danyael:

Man shut you stale racist ass nuh!

* So you're now begging for the Rev to ease up on the CUFFY label, huh ?

* Tough luck.

* CUFFY LOVERS MUST FOREVER BE MENTALLY TORTURED BY THE PPP.

what wrong being a cuffy lover cuffy help your ancestors live a better life

* Tough luck.

Dude, you are as a screeching tire, a squeaky door, a branch grating on the roof, and annoyance to be exact. Your words has meaning only to you because that hate is local to you. That we must tolerate you is indeed a bitter pill but this is a discussion board. We have seen your kind before; pretentious, hateful, self ingratiating hence uninterestingly irrelevant

JB, Mr T and Kishan partying

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tz1fjyxPOzs

Mr Nehru culture for you. 

nothing wrong with liquor and fun...we only live once...maybe it will give you a better disposition

Fun fine...liquor no good. That's Mr Nehru kind of thing. Seems like you are like him.

SO...you have a problem? 

No. I don't drink run. 

* Tough luck.

dat dude is just a racist low life...he goes around to different forums and ends up getting banned from them...he has found a "home" for his racism here on GNI

* Tough luck.

dat dude is just a racist low life...he goes around to different forums and ends up getting banned from them...he has found a "home" for his racism here on GNI

Did krishna not ban his behind as well?

* Tough luck.

What would you do if you find out that the one who brought into this world had about 12 CUFFY LOVERS? What's the source of your tight curly hair?

Greetings from Georgetown Guyana,

After leaving Venezuela I jumped over to Trinidad in order to make a plane connection to somewhere in the Guyanas. That somewhere turned out to be Georgetown Guyana, a truly Third World capital city not unlike many I saw in Africa. The city center teemed with aggressive surly young men yelling at one another and the rare white face walking through their boisterous midst. The worst area is around the main city market where all the mini-buses scramble for passengers. Every bus conductor wants you to use his bus regardless of where you want to go, so information about which bus number goes where is kept secret; one person telling me one thing, someone else another.  

Many people yell pleasantries as I wander the streets. Nearly everyone I pass on the street greets me in one way or another. Most are clearly friendly, but a large minority are either uncomfortable with the encounter, outright hostile or displaying predatory behavior. It is hard to tell which of the "hello's" are genuine friendly greetings and which are opening gambits for panhandling or something more sinister. I am convinced this is truly a city where strangers need to continuously be on their guard anywhere outside the few upscale hotels. Lonely Planet travel guide highlights security concerns for its readers traveling in Guyana. 

My second day in  Georgetown Guyana I went exploring the really seedy area where the minibuses congregate, ironically near one of the two KFC restaurants in town. While there a group of men clad in t-shirts and shorts, barefoot attempted to engage me in an extortion scam. As I worked my way through a crowded covered walkway near the riverfront, one man shouted in a commanding voice "Hey, Steve. Come here." Walking on a few seconds later his confederate dashed up to my side grabbing my shoulder and informed me that "Hey man, Immigration wants to talk to you." Fortunately, I immediately recognized their opening gambit and ignored the rest. Shaking myself loose from his grip I walked on without changing my stride or behavior, all the while looking for a window reflection that would give me some assurance the would be assailants had given up. They had. 

The other KFC is in one of the upscale neighborhoods with a Pizza Hut next to it and about a half block from my second hotel, the $110 Roraima Residence Inn. It didn't take long to discover ATM machines only work with locally issued credit cards. However, several banks will arrange advances on international cards and one cashed a traveler's check for me. Gas is NOT cheap here, running about $3.50 per gallon. Because the country shares a border with Venezuela, smuggling dirt cheap Venezuelan gas into the country is a big business. 

My Spanish, so agonizingly acquired during the past ten months is totally useless in Guyana where people speak what they assure me is English. Though a former colony of Britain, the English most people speak is so contorted only a native can understand most of it. When spoken slowly and in context I eventually managed to decipher some of it. Fortunately, people connected with the tourist industry have perfected a refined version... not unlike that spoken in other Caribbean nations.  

Peace,
Fred L Bellomy

Very much revealing.

dat dude is just a racist low life...

* You sound angry ray.

* Just don't allow that anger to control you.

Raymond: angry? please...I feel more pity for you than angry...you are a sad excuse for a man

* You are a most kind and considerate man raymond.

* May allah always bless you with good health and spirit.