Mrs G bought a packet of sliced barracuda fish at our neighborhood supermarket. The packet says it was imported from India. Curried, the barracuda tastes like curass. She also bought a packet of ribbon fish aka cutlass fish, also imported from India. I'm waiting to taste that one soon. Your thoughts?

Should have consulted Ksaz. They have lots of barracuda in Florida. They are some ugly ass fish..alligator like mouth.

In some parts of Guyana and GT dem 'rich and uppitty' folk used to seh "meh na eat 'skin' fish" Poor and rural folks were accustomed to Gillbaka, cuirass, kuma-kuma, catfish, sweetman, emiri, cackwari, thomas,laruma, tweettwee, manarick, lau lau, cassie, highwata, doowala, etc. All of these fish taste good but you have to know how to cook dem and have a 1/4 pon the side When the unique taste of Gillbaka were discovered by the 'rich and uppitty' and the price went up, dem change the lingo - "meh nah eat 'skin' fish only Gillbaka"

Mrs G bought a packet of sliced barracuda fish at our neighborhood supermarket. The packet says it was imported from India. Curried, the barracuda tastes like curass. She also bought a packet of ribbon fish aka cutlass fish, also imported from India. I'm waiting to taste that one soon. 

UPDATE: At last, Mrs G cooked the cutlass fish this morning. Alas! I cannot recommend it highly. This fish has too many fine bones for my patience. Gilbakka is a busybody and cannot afford to waste time picking out needle-like bones.

Mrs G bought a packet of sliced barracuda fish at our neighborhood supermarket. The packet says it was imported from India. Curried, the barracuda tastes like curass. She also bought a packet of ribbon fish aka cutlass fish, also imported from India. I'm waiting to taste that one soon. 

UPDATE: At last, Mrs G cooked the cutlass fish this morning. Alas! I cannot recommend it highly. This fish has too many fine bones for my patience. Gilbakka is a busybody and cannot afford to waste time picking out needle-like bones.

So you probably don't like hoori.

A relative brought back lots of goodies from Guyana for me. So far I cooked silver bait, patwa and curass. I still have katahar, shrimps, hassar, catfish and hoori to cook. Life is good. 

You got to be fraam Berbice. Can't recall that is waan menu of Leonorians.

Yes, you are right. You know dem town man. You see silverbait is what we catch with a hook made with "baby pin and use thread for string". This silver fish is what we use to catch tiger fish, hoori, and other kum kumah etc. Now you town man know sumtin new.

So you probably don't like hoori.

Definitely not.

randolph posted:

Silver bait is salabeh. Easily caught with what Skeldon said.

This country bhai knows that,back of my mom house [about 800 ft away from the Ocean] is the side line from the sugar estate leading to the Atlantic Ocean,lots of salabeh in there,we never eat them.I used to go fishing and haul for shrimp when tide come in from the Atlantic Ocean.