Originally Posted by Chameli:

Originally Posted by asj:

Girl, 15, accuses prominent official’s  son of rape

Why the PPP/C comes to mind?

Things sure have changed

In my days it was the PNC...the old men like RN Singh (formerly of CI and who was my dad's schoolmate) tried to recruit many young high sch. GCE/CXE grads with the pretext of getting them great jobs ...few ended up 'serving' as PNC 'call girls'...thankfully my dad said to my mom "let she tek the teaching job right near abee home'

but of course you folks don't want to even remember

-------------

on another note, you all may have forgotten the kick down the door bandits but I cannot since my mom still has a piece of a bullet in her head

Originally Posted by alena06:

He needs to be stopped NOW!!

AGREED

this nonsense has to stop

women, and esp young women should not have to give their body to get anything

Whattax bhim. You are the lawyer and Chami just schooled you on relevance. Nowhere in that newspaper story does anyone mention that the alleged perpetrator is PPP although given the heavy handed nature of the current PPP, one can infer that it is. Secondly, she has every right to recount a terrible incident in her life. Your responsible was to be a gentleman. Turns out too much to ask. 

Originally Posted by ksazma:
Your responsible was to be a gentleman. Turns out too much to ask. 

I have never been a "gentleman" about excusing rape or deflecting it. I hope I never learn to tolerate the intolerable.

Would it have been beyond you to have addressed this poor girl's misfortune in the context that it exists without having to reach into history?.

Not too many posters on this thread comment on the actual rape. Most just went past it to their more salacious cravings. The politics of one verses the other.

Your responsible was to be a gentleman. Turns out too much to ask. 

I have never been a "gentleman" about excusing rape or deflecting it. I hope I never learn to tolerate the intolerable.

It is your life bai. Live it how you want to.

How interesting that you feel those are appropriate sentiments for the gravity of this issue.

oh no, how could you fail to KNOW that those are meant just for you...the one so great that he needs to harp on my comment to boost his ego...shooooooooo

Old Lady,

Lots of things boost my ego. All of them I can do without.

In neither category will you ever find correcting a dunce old coolie woman waving her PPP flag in a rape thread. More frustrating than anything else.

It's a rape. Can't we just talk about this woman's rape and why her rapist is still free and uncharged? Is that too much to expect?

Is what kinda long yard rass fight goin here man? That girl was raped by a Big wig's son, let's now find who the perp is and quit the fighting among ourselves. For Allah's sake.

No, we have to figure out all dem rapes under the PNC first and fix the hole in chameli muddah head before we can get around to this one. Give us about 30 or 40 years moh.

We still wukkin pon shyte that occurred circa 1970.

Originally Posted by Mars:
Originally Posted by TI:

Kaz...exactly.

whether pro PPP or anti PPP, in true fashion, instead on addressing that issue, it becomes a political cat fight. Really says a lot about people Who post.

KN can find a who taped discussion of this matter but still can't come up with the name of the alleged rapist. Victims of rape have spoken of its  violent and horrendous nature and here we have supposed educated people completely bypassing that for a cheap political shot. They could have done the decent thing of starting a separate topic to deal with that or youe one of the thousand and one to do so. 

Kaieteur is withholding the name of the alleged rapist for fear of being sued in court. There's nothing vindictive in doing so. In Guyana you have to protect yourself from the PPP for the repercussions can be deadly.

Is there a provision for someone to sue a newspaper for disclosing the alleged perpetrator of rape. Since rape is criminal offence and not a civil one, how does a newspaper get sued for that?

In America the law works in the majority of cases. Guyana is a very different animal. The courts are controlled by the same people who are going around raping young boys and girls and that's why people don't even bother to report it half the time or just collect some money from the rapist and be quiet. I've seen cases where drunken fools in high places pay off the victim's family after killing them in traffic accidents. Newspapers or private citizens have to protect themselves from those who abuse their power or you'll feel the consequences.  

The police may not have released the name of the alleged rapist so it may be illegal for the newspaper to go around calling names when the cops haven't yet done so.

Mars, does that mean that KN and other newspapers/media not supported/affiliated with the PPP are currently rendered impotent.?

Is what kinda long yard rass fight goin here man? That girl was raped by a Big wig's son, let's now find who the perp is and quit the fighting among ourselves. For Allah's sake.

Precisely Cainsta. In my opinion, if the person is no named, he can potentially do it again. According to the article, he has done it on other occasions. But alas, the PPP are too vindictive that no one wants to name the perpetrator.

Originally Posted by GT Stingaa:
let's not condemn dis atrocious act, let's jus rehash our unfortunate historic past PB

Absolutely!

Dis gyal gets raped by a government official's son. A routine occurence in Guyana today. And let's all refuse to condemn it because it might mek de PPP look baad.

A real bunch of s k u n t holes I telll ya

And for Terry, dat dere is the argumentum ad s k u n t

Pansy?  Hahahahaha

Originally Posted by TI:

Kaz...exactly.

whether pro PPP or anti PPP, in true fashion, instead on addressing that issue, it becomes a political cat fight. Really says a lot about people Who post.

KN can find a who taped discussion of this matter but still can't come up with the name of the alleged rapist. Victims of rape have spoken of its  violent and horrendous nature and here we have supposed educated people completely bypassing that for a cheap political shot. They could have done the decent thing of starting a separate topic to deal with that or youe one of the thousand and one to do so. 

Kaieteur is withholding the name of the alleged rapist for fear of being sued in court. There's nothing vindictive in doing so. In Guyana you have to protect yourself from the PPP for the repercussions can be deadly.

Is there a provision for someone to sue a newspaper for disclosing the alleged perpetrator of rape. Since rape is criminal offence and not a civil one, how does a newspaper get sued for that?

In America the law works in the majority of cases. Guyana is a very different animal. The courts are controlled by the same people who are going around raping young boys and girls and that's why people don't even bother to report it half the time or just collect some money from the rapist and be quiet. I've seen cases where drunken fools in high places pay off the victim's family after killing them in traffic accidents. Newspapers or private citizens have to protect themselves from those who abuse their power or you'll feel the consequences.  

The police may not have released the name of the alleged rapist so it may be illegal for the newspaper to go around calling names when the cops haven't yet done so.

Mars, does that mean that KN and other newspapers/media not supported/affiliated with the PPP are currently rendered impotent.?

They are not completely impotent but they have to be very careful how they tread for fear of the repercussions.

Can you tell me why the Chronicle and the Guyana Times and other media outlets affiliated with the government, have not named the alleged rapist? To take it one step further, why hasn't any media outlet in Guyana named the alleged rapist?

Kaieteur News is not alone in this regard so to single them out as though they are being vindictive is just being silly.

Originally Posted by TI:

Kaz...exactly.

This man is not charged formally with anything yet. Until such time, any publication that publishes his name in connection with this woman and her story is technically in libel territory. As he is not likely to ever be actually charged at all in this matter, any semi intelligent newspaper with a lagu bagu lawyer would not publish his name at all because they would then have to prove in a libel suit that he did indeed commit this rape. Try doing that absent a criminal charge. So the defense of truth would be unavailing. That's usually the routine defense of newspapers who publish these things that lead to slander/libel suits.

So it's kind of a catch 22. No victim cooperation, means no rape charge. No rape charge means no rape occurred as far as the law is concerned and no rape charge means to publish it is libelous. It's a circle of vice.

Nonsense!,  A report was made to the police. The victims name can be withheld, but newspaper can publish allegations...happens all the time. Freddie is famous for that.

shame on you for trying so feebly

Originally Posted by TI:

Nonsense!,  A report was made to the police. The victims name can be withheld, but newspaper can publish allegations...happens all the time. Freddie is famous for that.

Has the police released the name? Why hasn't any media outlet published the name?

Originally Posted by TI:

You're probably right. I'm just basing this on a very very limited knowledge of Guyanese libel law. It's just the practice of what I've seen before.

I graciously yield to those with greater insight than I if I am wrong.

Originally Posted by TI:

Kaz...exactly.

Are you getting senile too? Did you miss the part about how chameli was attempting to link kick down the door banditry as a way of deflecting this rape?

Some of us wanted to stick to the thread issue...You know, the rape.

Chameli decided to daub shyte in the thread triggering the reaction which pointed out her stupidity.

Train your tut tutting on chameli!

Chami recounted an experience which left her mother with a piece of bullet in her head. She can recount that anytime and anywhere she so choose. Your tirade was uncalled for. It lacked civility. While you are funny on many of your comments, there are areas that should remain off-limits. Even for clowns.

Pansy,

Originally Posted by TI:

Furthermore, tell me the name and I will publish it.

Spineless wusses!

So far, I've seen two different names being mentioned in regards to this alleged crime. I'd give it to you if I knew which one is the correct one

Originally Posted by TI:

You're probably right. I'm just basing this on a very very limited knowledge of Guyanese libel law. It's just the practice of what I've seen before.

but you needed two paragrsphs to mention your speculation

They are not completely impotent but they have to be very careful how they tread for fear of the repercussions.

Can you tell me why the Chronicle and the Guyana Times and other media outlets affiliated with the government, have not named the alleged rapist? To take it one step further, why hasn't any media outlet in Guyana named the alleged rapist?

Kaieteur News is not alone in this regard so to single them out as though they are being vindictive is just being silly.

I am guessing that the Chronicle hasn't released the name because it is a PPP official. Secondly I didn't single out KN. They came up in my question since the releases on this thread are from them. I am more concerned with this creep not harming another person. I would be lying if I tell you that the politics in Guyana has any effect on me.  

Originally Posted by TI:

but you needed two paragrsphs to mention your speculation

What do you think law is?

This man is not charged formally with anything yet. Until such time, any publication that publishes his name in connection with this woman and her story is technically in libel territory. As he is not likely to ever be actually charged at all in this matter, any semi intelligent newspaper with a lagu bagu lawyer would not publish his name at all because they would then have to prove in a libel suit that he did indeed commit this rape. Try doing that absent a criminal charge. So the defense of truth would be unavailing. That's usually the routine defense of newspapers who publish these things that lead to slander/libel suits.

So it's kind of a catch 22. No victim cooperation, means no rape charge. No rape charge means no rape occurred as far as the law is concerned and no rape charge means to publish it is libelous. It's a circle of vice.

Thanks for the clarification. Makes sense.

I am guessing that the Chronicle hasn't released the name because it is a PPP official. Secondly I didn't single out KN. They came up in my question since the releases on this thread are from them. I am more concerned with this creep not harming another person. I would be lying if I tell you that the politics in Guyana has any effect on me.  

Then why haven't any of the other ten non government media outlets named the perp? There are obviously libel issues involved which are preventing the media from naming the alleged rapist. It's not a coincidence that no media outlet, government or opposition friendly, has not outed him as yet.

Point taken. Unfortunately for those who can still fall victim to this person.

Chapter 6 of the Laws of Guyana

Section 13 of the Defamation Act entitled "Newspaper reports of judicial proceedings privileged"

"A fair and accurate report in any newspaper of proceedings publicly heard before any court exercising judicial authority shall, if published contemporaneously with such proceedings, be privileged"

This is a very very limited privilege for newspapers in Guyana. I don't see how it covers publishing the contents of a police report which may or may not even be a "report" based of how much the Police Force has butchered this case already on behalf of the rapist.

Aside from Privilege, a newspaper would have to rely on "justification" which means proving this cretin is indeed a rapist and did rape this girl in open court according to procedure and rules of evidence.

I'm no expert here but it seems clear that the law is heavily favored towards muzzling the newspapers.

When that little lying punk Johnny Dingleberry accused Trotman Trotty's name was in the papers and on this BB for months. Was Trotty ever charged NOOOOOOO.

To my recollection, Johnny Welshman was sued in a civil action for defamation by Trotman and Trotman further obtained an injunction preventing him from repeating those statements during the pendency of the matter.

If and when Trotman prevails at trial or settlement, I expect Welshman and various media to owe him some good amounts.

As defamation is a civil matter, the State is not prosecuting the matter and there are no criminal sanctions to be applied. This is a matter between two private parties. Confinement only becomes an issue if the Court deems that a party has failed to abide by it's decrees, preliminary, intermediate, and final.

Libel issues my ass

its sheer fear !

if A makes a police report, a copy of the report can be obtained.

If A makes an allegation accompanied by a police report to the press, naming B as the perp, and it is so worded as an allegation, there is no defamation especially if B is guilty. 

As I said Freddie does this shit all the time.

the PPP drives fear into to a nation of wusses!

Originally Posted by TI:

Libel issues my ass

its sheer fear ! . . .

the PPP drives fear into to a nation of wusses!

i seee u feeling nice nice now bai?

PPP mekkin u feel like a rale man after all dem emasculated years when Burnham brought out the antiman in yuh

There is no chance in hell that a Guyanese rapist can file for libel based on a rape case mentioned on a Canadian forum. You guys seem to forget that this forum is hosted on a US or Canadian server. It is not subject to any laws in Guyana. Even a threat by a Guyanese official made on this forum would constitute interference with Canadian law, and that official could be arrested the moment he or she sets foot on Canadian soil.

has to be related to the ruling party...if was AFc or PNC, you will know the name the first day

Ever thought that by revealing the name of the perpetrator, the identity of the minor might be compromised? I am not defending the perpetrator here. He should be in jail without bail.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

with admin's permission, i will post the name

We live in a democracy so publish or be damned.

bai, GNI is not a democracy . . . more like PPP Guyana than we like to admit