The government of Guyana has announced that it has begun moves to take control of a plot of land opposite the GDF headquarters that was leased by the PPP government to embattled Guyanese businessman Ed Ahmad, who is currently awaiting sentencing in the US on fraud charges.

Minister of State Joe Harmon presented the lease agreement to the media this morning saying that it showcases corruption under the PPP government and the rule of former President Bharrat Jagdeo.

The over 3 acre plot of land is located at the corner of Thomas Road and Irving Street and had formed part of a dispute between the PPP government and the Guyana Public Service Union over ownership.

Harmon said the lease agreement showcased unbelievable PPP government efficiency. The application for the land was made on May 22nd 2008 and within seven days, it was surveyed, approved and signed over to Ed Ahmad at a cost of $500,000 per year.

Ed Ahmad was close friends of former President Jagdeo.

Minister Harmon pointed out, that according to the agreement, the area was expected to be used for the construction of a 150 room hotel along with a casino and nightclub. He said he finds it hard to understand how the previous government leased the land when all lands in that area except the GDF headquarters, are for use as public recreational facilities.

Harmon said if Jagdeo still wants to see evidence of corruption, the lease agreement was that evidence and it was signed onto by Jagdeo while he served as President.

The businessman, Ed Ahmad, only made one payment for the lease and as such the government has decided that it will take back possession of the land and scrap the agreement.

The former PPP government has come in for strong criticism and charges of corruption for several land deals, including the sale of land to former government officials and friends of the government, at prices below market price.

SOURCE: http://newssourcegy.com/news/g...-ed-ahmad-by-jagdeo/

The lease was signed in 2008 and only one payment was made, thus the contract is broken, there was a breach in the lease, there fore the government has every right to take back the property.And yes what about the Leonora Staff Compound, that was promised to developed into an housing scheme, but that project is on hold.That land should be confiscated by the government, let him pay for his crimes both in USA and Guyana.

The government of Guyana has announced that it has begun moves to take control of a plot of land opposite the GDF headquarters that was leased by the PPP government to embattled Guyanese businessman Ed Ahmad, who is currently awaiting sentencing in the US on fraud charges.

Minister of State Joe Harmon presented the lease agreement to the media this morning saying that it showcases corruption under the PPP government and the rule of former President Bharrat Jagdeo.

The over 3 acre plot of land is located at the corner of Thomas Road and Irving Street and had formed part of a dispute between the PPP government and the Guyana Public Service Union over ownership.

Harmon said the lease agreement showcased unbelievable PPP government efficiency. The application for the land was made on May 22nd 2008 and within seven days, it was surveyed, approved and signed over to Ed Ahmad at a cost of $500,000 per year.

Minister Harmon pointed out, that according to the agreement, the area was expected to be used for the construction of a 150 room hotel along with a casino and nightclub. He said he finds it hard to understand how the previous government leased the land when all lands in that area except the GDF headquarters, are for use as public recreational facilities.

Harmon said if Jagdeo still wants to see evidence of corruption, the lease agreement was that evidence and it was signed onto by Jagdeo while he served as President.

The businessman, Ed Ahmad, only made one payment for the lease and as such the government has decided that it will take back possession of the land and scrap the agreement.

The former PPP government has come in for strong criticism and charges of corruption for several land deals, including the sale of land to former government officials and friends of the government, at prices below market price.

SOURCE: http://newssourcegy.com/news/g...-ed-ahmad-by-jagdeo/

From what I read,the land was already repossessed by the PPP in the year after the lease was signed...this makes Harmon an idiot...looking for corruption in the wrong places 

And where exactly did you read that? Was it ine of the documents that the PPP illegally took with them when vacating the ministries?

Mr.T posted:

And where exactly did you read that? Was it ine of the documents that the PPP illegally took with them when vacating the ministries?

If you were not so gung ho in seeking corruption in everything associated with the PPP, you would have missed the article in GT.

I believe there is corruption associated with the PPP, but we need the evidence....Harmon forgot to mention the part thatthe gove took back the land.  

This land was already repossessed by the PPP regime after Ed Ahmed failed to make payments.  Harmon May have overlooked that.  They have access to the Lands and Commissions files.  

Nah! Harmon is deflecting attention of his government's corrupted practices and policies.

thieves sticking together 

Mr.T posted:

If you were not so gung ho in seeking corruption in everything associated with the PPP, you would have missed the article in GT.

I believe there is corruption associated with the PPP, but we need the evidence....Harmon forgot to mention the part thatthe gove took back the land.  

"the lease agreement was that evidence and it was signed onto by Jagdeo while he served as President."

Any wrong doing here??

Mr.T posted:

"the lease agreement was that evidence and it was signed onto by Jagdeo while he served as President."

Any wrong doing here??

Django bhai, you nah get de driff yet. Anyting de PPP done in de pass bin ah korrupshian. If deh tek wan shit in parliament building, dah bin ah korrupshian too. Dem bin tief ah tailet paper.

Mr.T posted:

Any wrong doing here??

Django bhai, you nah get de driff yet. Anyting de PPP done in de pass bin ah korrupshian. If deh tek wan shit in parliament building, dah bin ah korrupshian too. Dem bin tief ah tailet paper.

django bhai a wan shit head a say so

warrior posted:
Mr.T posted:

Any wrong doing here??

The only two words in your vocabulary are shit and head. Like you give them catholic priests a lot of heads and when you bent over, shit came out. Some vivid memories heh?

warrior posted:
Mr.T posted:

Any wrong doing here??

The only two words in your vocabulary are shit and head. Like you give them catholic priests a lot of heads and when you bent over, shit came out. Some vivid memories heh?

the only two words to describe a professor like u 

warrior posted:

This land was already repossessed by the PPP regime after Ed Ahmed failed to make payments.  Harmon May have overlooked that.  They have access to the Lands and Commissions files.  

Nah! Harmon is deflecting attention of his government's corrupted practices and policies.

Knucklehead, you being very foolish again. Did you read the article?

A lot of fishy business been going on under the PPP (PNC too), but why are some of the facts left out in Harmon's accusations? 

warrior posted:

A lot of fishy business been going on under the PPP (PNC too), but why are some of the facts left out in Harmon's accusations? 

Vish, please don't try to reason with this fool. He's far gone. Mankind has given up on him. Only god can help him now and it seems like god has refused to intervene.

warrior posted:
Mr.T posted:

Any wrong doing here??

Warriah banna, like you tek all dem awards fo bein stuupiddy again...wash yo dutty mout and read dem 2 articles again...

Is Harmon ignoring some of the facts? Did the PPP try to hide this information? Or yo tryin very hard to pin this one on Jagdeo himself?

We need the whole truth to make a proper judgment...not some half ass set on information, which the government does possess. 

Last edited by VishMahabir
warrior posted:

Vish, please don't try to reason with this fool. He's far gone. Mankind has given up on him. Only god can help him now and it seems like god has refused to intervene.

you ppp fools trying to find excuse for all the corruption that your part did first try saying u sorry and start to rebuild with some new members 

warrior posted:

you ppp fools trying to find excuse for all the corruption that your part did first try saying u sorry and start to rebuild with some new members 

Time fuh tek you rass to Canje mad house. I may have to wait there to see if they take you in. I know you more crazy than most of the people in there.

warrior posted:

Warria, Now you engaging in deflection. When we see corruption, we will call it so, with evidence, but it cant be based on your, and this govt utter disdain and hatred for Jagdeo and the PPP. 

Look at it this way...if the corruption is there and the coalition can win this in the courts based on thieving from state resources, why did Harmon not say they will take the matter to court and file charges.

The backlash is it sounds like they are deflecting (like you) from the current problems, and more interested in making wild statements to make themselves look good and uncorruptible....

I would say the same for the other soup drinkers out here who are waiting and wishing for the sledgehammer to fall. 

If, and when the evidence is there to support corruption, and they are not playing politics, I will call a spade a spade... 

warrior posted:

Time fuh tek you rass to Canje mad house. I may have to wait there to see if they take you in. I know you more crazy than most of the people in there.

you the professor there start with your friends and famlee 

warrior posted:

Warria, Now you engaging in deflection. When we see corruption, we will call it so, with evidence, but it cant be based on your, and this govt utter disdain and hatred for Jagdeo and the PPP. 

Look at it this way...if the corruption is there and the coalition can win this in the courts based on thieving from state resources, why did Harmon not say they will take the matter to court and file charges.

The backlash is it sounds like they are deflecting (like you) from the current problems, and more interested in making wild statements to make themselves look good and uncorruptible....

I would say the same for the other soup drinkers out here who are waiting and wishing for the sledgehammer to fall. 

If, and when the evidence is there to support corruption, and they are not playing politics, I will call a spade a spade... 

u is one of the people that need a torchlight to look for things in the dark that u can see by day.someday somebody with a little sense and human decency from the ppp will apologize to the guyanese people for all the corruption that take place within the barrat and ramotar watch,then and only then the ppp will be creditable again 

warrior posted:

u is one of the people that need a torchlight to look for things in the dark that u can see by day.someday somebody with a little sense and human decency from the ppp will apologize to the guyanese people for all the corruption that take place within the barrat and ramotar watch,then and only then the ppp will be creditable again 

When you investigate corruption, you do it objectively..both PPP and PNC .

warrior posted:

jagan had his chance there is no excuse if the ppp is corrupt they must pay for their crime in the future if the new government is corrupt they must pay for their crime.guyana need a creditable opposition and the ppp with bar-rat is not it 

I agree with you. However, Jagdeo is the one to give the government "belly wuk" and the PNC don't like that.

On a serious note: As much as give you shit, I harbor no grudges, hate or dislike for you. I do not believe in that crap. Life is too short for this kind of ill feelings. I know we give each other shit and take each other's shit. If I ever meet you, I can still shake your hand and give you a hug with a big smile..

warrior posted:
VishMahabir post

Arright..skelly let us be objective,what time line should we start'

PNC-Burnham(the despot)1994 to 1985

PNC-Hoyte 1985 to 1992

PPP 1992 to 2015.

Here is my take we all aware how Burnham ruled Guyana,upon his death under Hoyte the country was on a path to democracy,then came with free and fair elections the PPP won and was in government for 23 years ,the country improved the GDP have increased,behind that improvement there was a lot of corrupt deals  under the Jagdeo-Ramoutar gov't.

The current coalition gov't will be judged when their term is up.Take your pick give us your time line.

warrior posted:
VishMahabir post

PNC-Hoyte 1985 to 1992

PPP 1992 to 2015.

Here is my take we all aware how Burnham ruled Guyana,upon his death under Hoyte the country was on a path to democracy,then came with free and fair elections the PPP won and was in government for 23 years ,the country improved the GDP have increased,behind that improvement there was a lot of corrupt deals  under the Jagdeo-Ramoutar gov't.

The current coalition gov't will be judged when their term is up.Take your pick give us your time line.

1964 - present. We cannot investigate dead people. They are not there to defend themselves.

warrior posted:
VishMahabir post

PNC-Hoyte 1985 to 1992

PPP 1992 to 2015.

1964 - present.

My choice will be from 1985,most of the PNC boys gone to the beyond.

warrior posted:

This is going to happen, I suspect at some point...but the evidence has to come out to give people in the PPP a good reason to say "aha the leadership is corrupt" and then work to change the leadership. Its not going to work when the government is playing politics and ruling by soundbites...I say investigate the corruption, lay the charges and go to court and let the chips fall where they may. Otherwise this becomes he says and she says. 

Mr.T posted:

Any wrong doing here??

Django there is no wrongdoing here.  A government can do business with whoever they choose.  When Ed Ahmed defaulted on the payment of the lease, the agreement was revoked, as it should have been.  I do not know what were the terms of the lease etc.  But the fact that Ahmed was convicted and awaiting sentencing by the US means that he would have been prohibited from doing business with anyone.  The lease was revoked long before his trial and conviction.

Now if you tell that the government should have expressed better judgement with doing business with Ed Ahmed that I would agree with since he is a questionable character.

Mr.T posted:

Any wrong doing here??

Django there is no wrongdoing here.  A government can do business with whoever they choose.  When Ed Ahmed defaulted on the payment of the lease, the agreement was revoked, as it should have been.  I do not know what were the terms of the lease etc.  But the fact that Ahmed was convicted and awaiting sentencing by the US means that he would have been prohibited from doing business with anyone.  The lease was revoked long before his trial and conviction.

Now if you tell that the government should have expressed better judgement with doing business with Ed Ahmed that I would agree with since he is a questionable character.

Bibi..seriously you see no wrong Jagdeo signed the lease agreement.I will assume that should have been done under the Ministry reponsible for land allocation.

Mr.T posted:

Any wrong doing here??

Bibi..seriously you see no wrong Jagdeo signed the lease agreement.I will assume that should have been done under the Ministry reponsible for land allocation.

fella blind by race hate