Govt. officials did not give order to shoot protesters – Police

July 21, 2012 | By | Filed Under News -- Source

The top brass of the Guyana Police Force is denying what it said are reports that Government officials directed ranks to open fire on the Linden protesters.

A release yesterday from the Police Public Relations Department stated that “cognisant of rumours circulating among concerned members of the public, the Guyana Police Force wishes to categorically state that at no time was any directive or instruction given to the police, either verbally or in writing, by any political personality including Ministers of the Government, in relation to the policing of the protest demonstrations that have been occurring in the community of Linden since Wednesday July 18, 2012.

“The maintenance of law and order in the country is within the mandate of the Police Force and the Force Administration, inclusive of Divisional Commanders. The administration has been unilaterally dealing with all administrative and operational aspects involved in the situation at Linden.”

The statement came a day after the Home Affairs Ministry issued a release distancing itself from any involvement in the tragedy.

“The Ministry of Home Affairs wishes to emphasize that the events which took place at the Mackenzie-Wismar Bridge was strictly a Police operation with no direct or indirect involvement of the Ministry of Home Affairs,” that statement said.

Questions are being raised as to who ordered the ranks to shoot at the gathering.

Opposition political groups have accused the ranks of using excessive force, pointing to the fact that the protesters were unarmed.

The Ministry of Home Affairs has since announced that it has given orders for the removal of the Police Commander in the area.

The Ministry also said it has requested of the Commissioner of Police (ag) a “full, comprehensive and immediate report on the matter”.

The shootings seem impromptu and reactive by the front-line forces.  There needs to be an investigation as to where the break-down occurred and why was there live ammo on these front lines of what was clearly unarmed protestors.

Brummel seh he didn't give any orders like dat either.

cya moving down de command chain . . . tap tap tappity tap tap

Maybe he didn't, that's why there needs to be an investigation.  Like with the post-election shooting, there could be antagonists within the security rank who deliberately sought to create mayhem hoping for a backlash. I'm not saying it was, but a plausible scenario.  Lets wait for the Aug 2nd report.

this all bullshit,let them charge the police that fire the shots and the ppp will not stay in government within a month.the polices that shoot will get a hefty reward from the ppp you had them in the phamtoms that was killing for the government its different day same shit

Lets wait for the Aug 2nd report.

Correct.

Like similar situations, there are their views, those views, etc., -- and then; the issues based on an authorised report.

this all bullshit,let them charge the police that fire the shots and the ppp will not stay in government within a month.the polices that shoot will get a hefty reward from the ppp you had them in the phamtoms that was killing for the government its different day same shit

Correct, if the investigation reveals someone acted inappropriately, then legal recourse is in order.  However, until then all what we say is conjecture.

Regarding the PPP being in power, that's for the people to decide, not the security forces.

The GoG does reserve the right to reward any individual, security or otherwise, who acted judiciously to protect life, limb and property.

Brummel seh he didn't give any orders like dat either.

cya moving down de command chain . . . tap tap tappity tap tap

Maybe he didn't, that's why there needs to be an investigation.  Like with the post-election shooting, there could be antagonists within the security rank who deliberately sought to create mayhem hoping for a backlash. I'm not saying it was, but a plausible scenario.  Lets wait for the Aug 2nd report.

I am unaware that there was an inquiry that fingered "antagonists within the security rank" [whatever that means] as responsible for the post-election shootings.

Any "report" on post-election violence authored by YOU, or Kwame or Odinga Lumumba does NOT count

you wrong again,the securty force can make a choice that will mean life or death for the ppp.in my point of view i belive the black people was born to be slaves or they was born to oppress their own people and this is from creation of history,maybe some of them should set and listen to BOB MARLEY. i just can belive that a nation can shoot their own people for a cause that they is fighting for that is not unjust.when Burham WAS ruling lots of indians think of ways to kill him,you had a group from CANADA and the USA that was tryng some of them was inprison in these countries,and these indians had no help from the black people yet they try.now the blacks is killing the blacks to keep the indians in power that have no feeling and reguard for the black people welbeing.and some of you indians call these people racists.long live guyana thank god i am not living in it

. . . in my point of view i belive the black people was born to be slaves or they was born to oppress their own people and this is from creation of history

Your "point of view" is GARBAGE!!

Get a grip . . . take time out . . . you've become as unhinged as the racist PPP ignars

you wrong again,the securty force can make a choice that will mean life or death for the ppp.in my point of view i belive the black people was born to be slaves or they was born to oppress their own people and this is from creation of history,maybe some of them should set and listen to BOB MARLEY. i just can belive that a nation can shoot their own people for a cause that they is fighting for that is not unjust.when Burham WAS ruling lots of indians think of ways to kill him,you had a group from CANADA and the USA that was tryng some of them was inprison in these countries,and these indians had no help from the black people yet they try.now the blacks is killing the blacks to keep the indians in power that have no feeling and reguard for the black people welbeing.and some of you indians call these people racists.long live guyana thank god i am not living in it

You seem to be meandering all over the place haplessly.  I think you need to take a break, take two Valium and rest-up your old synapses.

The security forces have their constitutionally mandated role to fulfill and the removal of the duly elected in NOT one of them.

well then stop acting like slaves and fight for your rights,pick up the guns and stop talking,give me a chance to repect you

Why don't you go do it and give yourself a chance to respect YOU?

i donot need to i am not suffering and i am not a blackman,i did my share when burham was ruling but i will tell you what the day a blackman decide to fight for equals rights in guyana with the guns and nomore talking i will be there shoulder to shouler with him ,i run alongside rodney i am willing to fight again guyana deserves a change

what the matter HEHRU you donot like to hear about the guns,you ppp ass hole have the police shooting the people in coolblood and you sacre the people react and start killing some collie people well is people like you that supporting this goverment and  will be responable for  any reaction from the people i wonder how long you all will depend on the black people to shoot down the black people

i donot need to i am not suffering and i am not a blackman,i did my share when burham was ruling but i will tell you what the day a blackman decide to fight for equals rights in guyana with the guns and nomore talking i will be there shoulder to shouler with him ,i run alongside rodney i am willing to fight again guyana deserves a change

Linden electricity rates were a fight for privilege rights, not equal rights.  Get a grip of yourself and examine your logic.

If you feel so strongly, then go and show leadership for the "oppressed".  Leaders do not hide and tell the people to go fight.  Rodney did not do that, did he?

And while you're at it, go get some of the many poor Indians to come march with you for cheap electricity for Lindeners.  I'm certain they will understand the logic and morality of your "message".

well then stop acting like slaves and fight for your rights,pick up the guns and stop talking,give me a chance to repect you

First, you don't know me, and have no idea who my 'people' are . . . drill that into your f***ing head. OK?; further, explain to me why in God's name Black people would hanker after the "respect" of a fool!

Second, I have had occasion to caution you in the past on the posting of incendiary and dangerous nonsense re violence and the Guyana ethnic situation; and I caution you again!

YOUR contempt for Blackman differs only in a slight qualitative sense from that held dear by the PPPites you so ostentatiously 'despise.'

smh

First, you don't know me, and have no idea who my 'people' are . . . drill that into your f***ing head. OK?; further, explain to me why in God's name Black people would hanker after the "respect" of a fool!

Second, I have had occasion to caution you in the past on the posting of incendiary and dangerous nonsense re violence and the Guyana ethnic situation; and I caution you again!

YOUR contempt for Blackman differs only in a slight qualitative sense from that held dear by the PPPites you so ostentatiously 'despise.'

smh

Well, well, well, look what the cat dragged in!  Isn't that the pot calling the kettle "black".

smh

Well, well, well, look what the cat dragged in!  Isn't that the pot calling the kettle "black".

Mr Baseman . . . I CHALLENGE you to back up your statement.

Pelting a stink bomb then running away to hide like a lil girl [as you always do] only impresses the antimen and catamites you associate with.

Redux, Yuh gat Famlee or good friends who can be honest wid yuh??? Ask them to read the SHIT you does write and let dem explain it to you. You are not ever qualify to be a SEWRE Engineer.

smh

Pelting a stink bomb then running away to hide like a lil girl [as you always do] only impresses the antimen and catamites you associate with.

My my, your slip is showing, just don't "kack-up" too high.

smh

HEHEHE I LOVe SATURDAYS.  BOOM SHAKALAKHA BOOM SHAKALAKA.

smh

you don't know what that means . . . borrow another one

Redux, Yuh gat Famlee or good friends who can be honest wid yuh??? Ask them to read the SHIT you does write and let dem explain it to you. You are not ever qualify to be a SEWRE Engineer.

But surely qualify to swim in it.

Linden electricity rates were a fight for privilege rights, not equal rights.

It is well documnted that the electrical situation existed a long time ago, and even in the early 1970's Forbes Burnham, as Prime Minister, did not do anything to address the issues.

redux you is a ass let me hear you say something good that will help the people of linden 

I'm sure this honorable beast of burden will find this equation grotesquely unfair.

redux you is a ass let me hear you say something good that will help the people of linden 

you can call me all the bad names you want; as long as you get my point.

I think you do

Baseman, you wanna respond substantively to my post(s) or carry on an illiterate antiman winedown with Nehru?

Your choice

"Substantively" to fabrications and conjecture is engagement in the irrational.

And if you are up for an "antiman winedown", I suggest you seek out your buddy Nuff, seemingly he relishes the thought of "jamb-lolo".

Baseman, you wanna respond substantively to my post(s) or carry on an illiterate antiman winedown with Nehru?

Your choice

And if you are up for an "antiman winedown", I suggest you seek out your buddy Nuff, seemingly he relishes the thought of "jamb-lolo".

OK, just address your LIES then.

BTW, Nuff is a character I read about on GNI.

Frustrating when you can't put me in a box, eh? . . . U need about 50 more IQ points to even make a credible attempt

Your choice

Frustrating when you can't put me in a box, eh? . . . U need about 50 more IQ points to even make a credible attempt

And what's your point-scale?  Somehow, I get the impression this board is testing your limits.  Maybe you want to re-calibrate, it saves the disappointment and frustration of the feeling of inadequacy.

Your choice

And what's your point-scale?  Somehow, I get the impression this board is testing your limits.  Maybe you want to re-calibrate, it saves the disappointment and frustration of the feeling of inadequacy.

it doesn't matter what the scale is . . . you still need 50 points.

Your "impressions" remain the impressions of the intellectually bereft

it doesn't what the scale is . . . you still need 50 points.

A condition you can adequately relate to!

it doesn't what the scale is . . . you still need 50 points.

A condition you can adequately relate to!

Paying attention and borrowing from my posts is OK; but when U start dipping into DG's playbook for 1-liners, well . . . pretty sad, no?