Govt to increase travelling “per diem” allowances

Finance Minister Winston Jordan

“Fat Cats” perks for officials

on top of massive salary increases 

By Michael Younge

Government is currently taking steps to increase the per diem and other benefits for its officials, Ministers and other members of the administration by an average of some 60 per cent whenever decisions are made to travel abroad for state business.

Sources close to the Finance Ministry on Wednesday told the Guyana Times that after becoming dissatisfied with what was offered by the State under the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) as allowances for travel aboard, the new Government decided to make changes that would see its members experiencing higher levels of comfort while on official state business at the expense of the public coffers.

This newspaper was informed that Finance Minister Winston Jordan is actively considering a proposal to increase the per diem offered to Ministers, political advisers and other state officials after the tabling of the 2015 National Budget. These increases in per diem allowances for overseas spending are in addition to the massive salary increases that the Government has already conceded are under “consideration”.

The Minister is said to be favourably considering increasing the per diem from US$25 per day to about US$500 per day as far as the out-of-pocket allowance was concerned.

Former Junior Finance Minister Bishop Juan Edghill

The new Government was also considering raising the allowance offered for hotel accommodation to approximately US$200 per day. Under the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Government, Ministers and other officials were only entitled to US$150 per day when even they travelled abroad.

Additionally, steps are being taken to increase the allotted monies for meals from the US$100 offered per day by the previous PPP/C Administration to approximately US$200 representing a 100 per cent increase.

The Guyana Times also learnt on Wednesday that Minister Jordan was also considering putting in place a US$3000 “contingency allowance” for Government Ministers and Advisers. This amount would be spent at the discretion of the official who would determine what the “contingency” was. Under the PPP/C, there was no such allowance and the only monies made available to the Government Ministers were the US$25 out-of-pocket allowance at the expense of the treasury.

Ever since the change of administration, several officials, including President David Granger, have gone on numerous trips abroad under the rubric of doing “State business” without sometimes properly informing the public and other stakeholders.

Ministers have been claiming that the trips that they have embarked on to attend political party meetings have been sponsored in full by the private individuals without disclosing the identity or quantum of the funds received.

Government has also denied funding these trips abroad from State funds unless it is for official State business.

Currently, Tourism Minister Cathy Hughes and State Minister Joseph Harmon are abroad and have been participating in what have been considered political meetings in the US.

Governance Minister Raphael Trotman, speaking at this week’s post-Cabinet press briefing, confirmed that the trip of the two Ministers were sponsored in part by Government but failed to say who else contributed.

When contacted, former Junior Finance Minister Bishop Juan Edghill expressed shock at the development explaining that under the past Government no attempt was made to increase the per diem allowance and other allowances significantly.

He confirmed the figures stated in this article as the ones paid by the previous administration as per diem and other allowances. He explained that every time a Minister or official travelled aboard, a Cabinet Paper was prepared and approved by Cabinet.

The former Minister also said that every detail of the travel and the expense incurred by the Government was provided before the travel was approved.

He said that if other agencies, local or international, provided funding or other allowances for the trip, these would also be detailed and approved by Cabinet.

“I am not aware that private individuals funded State trips or the trips of Ministers for functions closely associated with the business of the people aboard. We never got any increased per diem or benefits to do the work of the people,” Edghill maintained.

It was not clear whether the per diem allowances were claimed on the trips deemed to have been privately funded. These latter arrangements have been widely condemned by analysts and observers outside of the PPP since it was pointed out that in politics, “there are no free lunches”. In the US, for instance, such paid expenses for public officials are expressly forbidden and if engaged in would lead to dismissal.

A recipe for fraud:

1.  Minister gets access to public Treasury without Cabinet approval.

2. !00% increase for Ministers and advisors and all department heads.

3.  60% increase in traveling allowances.

4.  Rehabiltation of Ministers homes.

And they haven't collected one cent of revenue or create I job as yet.

Originally Posted by TK:

Those per diem sound high to me. US govt officials don't get that amount.

And you used your great wisdom to predict the greatness of a PNC Govt.  YUh kno Michelangelo spilled paints on a Canvas and it became a hit. You aint so lucky!!!

Originally Posted by TK:

And you used your great wisdom to predict the greatness of a PNC Govt.  YUh kno Michelangelo spilled paints on a Canvas and it became a hit. You aint so lucky!!!

Nah...it's Guyana Times. I don't take it seriously unless the story is reported by Stabroek News.

Originally Posted by TK:

Nah...it's Guyana Times. I don't take it seriously unless the story is reported by Stabroek News.

The news have the tendency to make it look good or bad depends on the situation.

Originally Posted by TK:

Only 2 months ago you thought KN was the Gospel.

Originally Posted by TK:

Only 2 months ago you thought KN was the Gospel.

Show me the evidence.