Grenade thrown at KN publisher’s vehicle

Police were last night summoned to the Kaieteur News Saffon Street offices after unidentified individuals hurled a grenade under a vehicle belonging to owner and publisher Glenn Lall.

The grenade near to the front wheel of Mr. Lall's vehicle

The grenade near to one of the front wheel of Mr. Lall’s vehicle

The incident occurred shortly after 22.00 hrs, and Mr. Lall’s vehicle, a Lexus, was parked on the western side of Saffon Street.
Mr. Lall and other staffers were outside the Kaieteur News building participating in a wake for Assistant Editor Dale Andrews, when a security staffer heard an unusual sound near Mr. Lall’s vehicle.
Thinking at first that someone had shattered one of the windows, the staffer checked the vehicle, but observed no damage. However, on checking the front of the Lexus, the staffer spotted the grenade lying near one of the front tyres.
The police were immediately notified.
At press time, demolition personnel were still to remove the device.

The Phantom Death Squad is alive and well. Nandlall knew what he was talking about when he stated that someone would attack Kaieteur News. They could end up in the same place as Crum-Ewing.

This is what happens when you have a military dictorship running the country.  We all knew there was going to be payback for exposing Joe ShanLin and Granger who is still pretending that he nah know nothing.  The minute that picture of Harmon and his Chinese friends appeared in KN, Glenn Lall was playing with his life.  And he knew it.

Whoever it was who pelted that hand grenade, whether he acted alone or was commissioned by others, it is a dastardly act that must be deplored. Kaieteur News' sins are the sins of all independent newspapers, ie, to report news without fear or favor, to investigate matters of public interest and publish the findings of such investigation. For those actions Kaieteur News lost an expensive and modern printing press through arson, as well as some of its staff who were killed on duty by gunmen. The newspaper's publisher and owner Glenn Lall received death threats verbally and in writing. Still, committed as he is to his self-imposed mission and his strong belief in press freedom, he boldly carries on. I hope the police will trace and apprehend the grenade thrower.

Looks like they forgot to pull out the pin or its a dud. Either way a message is been sent. But by whom? Who did Lall offended lately.
These things should not be taken lightly. When unknown persons starts lobbing grenades, it's time to sit up and pay attention.

This is what happens when you have a military dictorship running the country.  We all knew there was going to be payback for exposing Joe ShanLin and Granger who is still pretending that he nah know nothing.  The minute that picture of Harmon and his Chinese friends appeared in KN, Glenn Lall was playing with his life.  And he knew it.

How the heck the head of a country can become a dictator in merely one year in Government.

A gentleman does not address a lady like that. Do it again and me go lob a grenade pon yuh rass. The lady knows what she is talking bout. She got Ivy League university education. 

trampling on freedom of the press is a bright RED LINE that the coalition crosses at its own peril

that said, this has all the earmarks of a FALSE FLAG operation with no downside since the "grenade" is a fake or a dud . . . nobody got hurt

off the top of my head, there are only two 'interested' parties

hmmmmm?

Zed posted:

Django, read your history and of the many countries that moved from a democracy to a dictatorship overnight. 

No doubt deh,we talking bout Guyana currently is it a dictatorship? or is it  perceived one in the making.

Let's start with a short list of our neighbors in Latin America - Manuel Noriega, Juan Peron, Anastastia Somoza.  Those of us who do not know history are bound to repeat it.  

ba$eman posted:

Wonder if the grenade is removed yet.

Nah, them waiting for US special forces!

who said that the grenade was not removed?

idiots! . . . it's a crime scene with a potentially dangerous explosive device

do u two prancing klowns have any idea how something like this is properly handled?

smfh

redux posted:
ba$eman posted:

do u two prancing klowns have any idea how something like this is properly handled?

smfh

Nah. we live in Hubu backdam so we never saw any of these removals done.

This incident occurred around 10PM. Press time is typically after midnight. Long time to wait for that thing to blow that place to smithereens.

A gentleman does not address a lady like that. Do it again and me go lob a grenade pon yuh rass. The lady knows what she is talking bout. She got Ivy League university education. 

Did CUNY join the Ivy League?

redux posted:
ba$eman posted:

smfh

Nah. we live in Hubu backdam so we never saw any of these removals done.

This incident occurred around 10PM. Press time is typically after midnight. Long time to wait for that thing to blow that place to smithereens.

you're an idiot

'masking' your stupidity with a smiley face only marks u as a coward in addition to stupid

redux posted:

you're an idiot

'masking' your stupidity with a smiley face only marks u as a coward in addition to stupid

Glad I can make you feel good about yourself. You are welcome.

When you expose the PPP corruption and the results of the audit, this is the risk you run. Sat Sawh paid with his life when he defied the cabal's drug runnings. Journalist Ronald Waddell was murdered for publishing anti-PPP content. George Bacchus was gunned down when he tried to expose the Phantom Squad. Kaieteur newsmen were murdered and they still continued to expose PPP corruption. Freddie Kissoon is lucky that all he got is a bucket of shit.

Unfortunately that is how politicians operate. The PPP does not hold the monopoly on this. Happens all over the world. It is nonetheless wrong.

Dictators are born in a day, one year is too long. As for the word "Military" we have Solja Boy and his X-army/police men running the country.Presently, silence the media and no transparency.

Where is this taking place,are pointing in the right direction ?

stop your nonsense

David Granger ad his "X-army/police men" were elected by the people and are the legitimate constitutional power

jagdeo turned over national security to an unelected narco-terrorist murderer and YOU closed one eye and clapped!

g'wan dahside with your barefaced, barefoot tribal claptrap

it is a fact that neither Harmon, Granger nor anybody in the coalition leadership ever threatened the life of or murdered anyone

former President and current Opposition Leader Bharat Jagdeo rolls with Shawn Hinds, even today

Anil Nandalall is on tape talking how "[KN] peter gon pay fuh paul . . ." AGAIN when the gunplay starts

narco-terrorist Roger Khan's service-in-murder to the PPP is a matter of public record

nuff said

Glenn Lall is known for becoming the news on slow news day. It is no coincidence that the grenade did not explode. I wouldn't put it past this man for setting up this "terrorist act" just to become the news item and increase sales of his publication. 

Tell him deh.  Coming to think of it, it's been a while since a man throw a grenade at another man for me.  Just don't use the same grenade they find near Glen Lall car.  You don't want to leave your fingerprint pon it.

It is an act of enormous stupidity that we East Indians of Guyana are engaged in fighting and killing each other to rule Africans. We should be fighting to rule ourselves in an independent sovereign nation.

Tell him deh.  Coming to think of it, it's been a while since a man throw a grenade at another man for me.  Just don't use the same grenade they find near Glen Lall car.  You don't want to leave your fingerprint pon it.

Yuh fool me. Yuh tell me yuh is a Ivy League scholar. Mars seh yuh is a CUNY lady. Me think me go spare Django. Me done deactivate me grenade. 

Fragmentation grenade was “live” -police ; Guyana govt calls incident “domestic terrorism”

Police on Sunday confirmed that the grenade found near the vehicle owned by Kaieteur News publisher, Glen Lall, was live, triggering strong condemnation from the Guyana government.

“Ballistic experts have confirmed that it was a live grenade and the safety pin was detached from it,” Head of the Criminal Investigations Department, Senior Superintendent Wendell Blanhum told Demerara Waves Online News.

Blanhum said the device is a fragmentation grenade.

No one has so far been arrested, even as investigations continue into the incident that occurred late Friday night, he said.

Other high-level police sources said footage from surveillance cameras are blurred and so investigators were unable to retrieve useful information. The sources said the motive for the grenade being placed there was not clear.

One of the reasons given for the failure of the grenade to explode was poor storage that could have led to deterioration of that device.

Meanwhile, the Guyana government expressed alarm by the attempted “act of domestic terrorism” against Kaieteur News which has been in the forefront “of aggressively and relentlessly reporting on the findings of the many audits of state agencies, the revelations that have oftentimes been explosive.”

“The Coalition Government stands resolutely in defense of press freedom in Guyana and condemns, in the strongest possible manner this heinous and dastardly act of cowardice against Kaieteur News. The Coalition Government is thankful, as are all right thinking Guyanese, that no lives or limbs were lost and there was no damage to property,” the government said in a statement.

The government said it stands in solidarity with Kaieteur News and the entire media fraternity that has been shaken by that attempted attack. “This attack must strengthen our resolve as a nation that evil, in all its forms and incarnations, must not be allowed to prevail and must be relentlessly and uncompromisingly conquered.”

“We do not believe that the dropping of a grenade, even if a fake device, alongside a newspaper publisher’s vehicle could be considered a joke or a hoax. It was grave and an undisputed act of terror designed to intimidate, harm and create fear.”

The Coalition Government says it commits its full support to the Guyana Police Force as it “investigates this sickening attempted act of terrorism. “The government looks forward to the perpetrators and possible intellectual authors being identified, pursued, arrested and placed before the court and being dealt with to the full extent of the law.”

The grenade located near the front rear wheel of Glen Lall's vehicle.

The grenade located near the front rear wheel of Glen Lall’s vehicle.

The sources said the motive for the grenade being placed there was not clear.

One of the reasons given for the failure of the grenade to explode was poor storage that could have led to deterioration of that device.