Kaieteur News

Major foreign currency crisis looms

-banks feeling squeeze; remitting monies a growing problem
-gap between demand and supply widening

As Guyana continues to grapple with the loss of foreign correspondent banking, a major crisis

Finance Minister, Winston Jordan

is developing with the availability of foreign currency.
Yesterday, a number of local banks confirmed that for the first time in years, they are restricting customers who want to remit large sums of monies abroad to pay for services and goods, among other things.
Some of them are even calling cambios and each other for supplies.
The shortage has been exacerbated by a number of factors, not least among them the severing of ties of a number of foreign banks with local financial institutions.

A number of under-performing sectors; the fact that some of the neighbouring countries have been coming here to buy up foreign currencies and pressure on the illegal drugs trade have all been compounding a situation which can only get worse.
One local bank had just over US$350,000 to trade with yesterday and is being careful not to allow customers to send above US$10,000.
One businessman who wanted to send US$30,000 recently had to make do with US$10,000 and was told that he was being placed on a waiting list. There are many more stories like this.

Government recently unveiled the national budget for 2017 and the figures for big earners rice, sugar and forestry were dismal, to use words of the Government. These are the big earners that bring in large quantities of foreign exchange to the country.
From time to time when the need arises, Government, through the Bank of Guyana, has been releasing

Bank of Guyana Governor, Dr. Gobind Ganga

quantities to the local banks to steady the exchange rates.
With regards to exports that bring in critical foreign exchange that Guyana uses to buy goods and pay for services, the figures that have been coming out are worrying.
Sugar is expected to decline 18.7 percent this year to 188,000 tonnes, according to Finance Minister, Winston Jordan, in his budget presentation last week.

Last year, sugar exports were US$78.4 with Government targeting US$ 91M this year. The poor performance, blamed on dry weather in the first half and then strikes will instead see Guyana earning US$67M (or over $2B less).
Rice earnings also fell from US$220M to US$182M. Gold was the saviour with export earnings moving from US$501M last year to a projected US$778M this year. This would have been above the US$558.9 that had been originally projected for this year.
Forestry also contracted 33 percent for this year with Barama’s halting of log production and the UK’s restriction on greenheart logs originating from Guyana.
According to the number of business persons and bankers yesterday, while the huge earnings from gold should have placed Guyana in a safe position, the reality is that a significant portion of export earnings are not coming back here.

Where?
This is explained by the fact that two large producers are reportedly using part of their earnings to pay off overseas creditors, among other things.
Even the gold production of 644,814 ounces projected for this year, about 100,000 ounces last year, will not be helping the foreign currency shortage.

Cambio rates have risen as supplies run low, businesses say.

To compound this frightening situation, local banks are frantically searching for overseas banks to develop relations. This was after a number of big US banks, like Bank of America and JP Morgan Chase–big banks with many branches–decided to cut ties with a number of overseas financial institutions. Guyana and the rest of the region are badly affected.
The considerations of the mainly US banks are of costs and the headaches of ensuring that transactions are not coming from dirty sources.
A correspondent bank is a financial institution that provides services on behalf of another, equal or unequal, financial institution. It can facilitate wire transfers, conduct business transactions, accept deposits and gather documents on behalf of another financial institution. Correspondent banks are most likely to be used by domestic banks to service transactions that either originate or are completed in foreign countries, acting as a domestic bank’s agent abroad.
Some local businesses have been turning to as far away as England, to institutions like the Crown Agents Banks Limited, Surrey, to send money to the US- a sort of back door route.
“Not only has the costs of sending monies gone up because we are dealing with more banks, but there is going to be delays in receiving and sending monies. What we are also facing here is another factor of monies not coming in quickly enough or going out to pay for goods and services. This is a worrying situation and spell trouble for this economy unless fixed,” a bank official explained yesterday.

Central Bank
Bank of Guyana has been working to bring attention to the problem, reportedly even travelling abroad to woo new corresponding banks.
Several members of CARICOM states have raised the matter of the correspondent banks problems with the issue high on the agenda in a number of meetings.
But it appears that the issue has taken more urgency in Guyana where the delays in sending and receiving monies amidst tighter scrutiny are biting deep.
According to a few knowledgeable business persons and others familiar with the situation, Guyana needs about US$2B annually to comfortably handle the financial transactions.
This is likely to fall short by US$700M.
Another major problem that has been causing some trouble to supply of foreign currency in the banks is the dent to the drug trade which has been reportedly accounting for significant transactions in foreign currencies.
The US’ DEA presence here has been contributing to tough times for drug smugglers, it was pointed out yesterday. A number of operations have been busted in recent years with the spinoffs from the trade in Guyana taking a beating.
Global prices for commodities have been taking a beating with oil, rice and sugar among the products.
Guyana has fared well when compared to neighbouring Suriname, Trinidad, Venezuela and Brazil which are facing severe economic decline. Cambios were selling at $213 for US$1.
It was being predicted yesterday that if the current alarming situation continues, the exchange rates will go up. A $220 scenario not ruled out.
The rates have been stable for the last decade at around $206.

It was only a matter of time for those DONKEYS to take Guyana deep South!!  Bloody IDIOTS!!!!!!!!!

What the hell are you on about??>? Another PPP dunce with ZERO financial and economic sense. The Guyanese $ has been stable for a decade now. Compare that to any of the major trading currencies for comparison and you'll quickly discover that our currency is doing extremely well. And as for the economy: we are doing better than Suriname, Venezuela, Brazil, etc. And all thanks to the AFC/APNU partnership. So your drugs smuggling buddies are not doing so well. And that lack of free coke is clearly affecting your mental state.

These jackasses in power and their supporters like T will drive the country in solvency.  This is like giving a cakeshop owner to run a country. They have driven out investors and now bray about drug trade affecting the cash flow. Meanwhile they are not providing any evidence of this nor will they give data regarding current economic activity vs previous PPP years. The data will reveal how bad or good the economic activity are. I suppose these cakeshop owners have something to hide. 

These jackasses in power and their supporters like T will drive the country in solvency.  

Really. Guysuco in trouble because of PPP incompetence. Even your hero Jagdeo admits this in his more honest moments.  APNU AFC have continued to sink tens of millions into that cesspit, even as the country cannot continue to do so.

All of the Caribbean banks have the same problems as the Guyana banks with accessing lines with the majors.  They just cannot be bothered to deal with small banks in a region where money laundering is rampant, given the high fines imposed by the US authorities.

Venezuela is broke so clearly wasn't a market for Guyana rice, despite Jagdeo screams. Venezuelans are now paddling in rafts to Curacao just like Cubans and Haitians to Florida.

Work a little harder because you cannot tell me which foreign investors bringing in foreign currency were chased out.  And don't embarrass yourself about those Chinese frauds who promised major value added, but ended up exporting tree branches and treating their Guyanese employees like slaves.

And every kid in G/T knows that the drug runnings are slow for a variety of reasons.

I suggest that you look at ALL of our neighbors, also mainly commodity exporters.  NONE are doing well.

These people are just a continuation of the mediocrity which has cursed Guyana since independence, and which continued through the Jagdeo period.

Mr.T posted:

It was only a matter of time for those DONKEYS to take Guyana deep South!!  Bloody IDIOTS!!!!!!!!!

What the hell are you on about??>? Another PPP dunce with ZERO financial and economic sense. The Guyanese $ has been stable for a decade now. Compare that to any of the major trading currencies for comparison and you'll quickly discover that our currency is doing extremely well. And as for the economy: we are doing better than Suriname, Venezuela, Brazil, etc. And all thanks to the AFC/APNU partnership. So your drugs smuggling buddies are not doing so well. And that lack of free coke is clearly affecting your mental state.

Even Christopher Ram may disagree with you on Guyana's financial and economic sense.

Sugar and rice were hard currency earners that is why Jagdeo propped up GuySuco.  Both industries will be dead soon.  The Guyana dollar is going to take a free fall. 

ONLY a DUMMY will be against devaluation.  It will make Guyana more competitive finally.

Really. Guysuco in trouble because of PPP incompetence. Even your hero Jagdeo admits this in his more honest moments.  APNU AFC have continued to sink tens of millions into that cesspit, even as the country cannot continue to do so.

All of the Caribbean banks have the same problems as the Guyana banks with accessing lines with the majors.  They just cannot be bothered to deal with small banks in a region where money laundering is rampant, given the high fines imposed by the US authorities.

Venezuela is broke so clearly wasn't a market for Guyana rice, despite Jagdeo screams. Venezuelans are now paddling in rafts to Curacao just like Cubans and Haitians to Florida.

Work a little harder because you cannot tell me which foreign investors bringing in foreign currency were chased out.  And don't embarrass yourself about those Chinese frauds who promised major value added, but ended up exporting tree branches and treating their Guyanese employees like slaves.

And every kid in G/T knows that the drug runnings are slow for a variety of reasons.

I suggest that you look at ALL of our neighbors, also mainly commodity exporters.  NONE are doing well.

These people are just a continuation of the mediocrity which has cursed Guyana since independence, and which continued through the Jagdeo period.

Guysuco has nothing to do with the economic numbers, it was unprofitable during PPP time and got worse during PNC time as they mismanage the plant and let it fall into decay. 

Show us the numbers that clarify where the shortfall is. Braying about drug runnings and Guysuco is not backed by any evidence. You folks supported the PNC to destroy Guyana and now you rush to their defense even as their incompetency reigns supreme. 

KishanB posted:

Sugar and rice were hard currency earners that is why Jagdeo propped up GuySuco.  Both industries will be dead soon.  The Guyana dollar is going to take a free fall. 

ONLY a DUMMY will be against devaluation.  It will make Guyana more competitive finally.

So the country with the lowest currency will be in the best economic shape? This must be voodoo logic concocted by the PNC and spoon fed to you via koolaid. 

Even Christopher Ram may disagree with you on Guyana's financial and economic sense.

What he will not claim is that the economy was booming, and suddenly collapsed. Given that Guyana's boom in its official economy after 2007 was tied to a surge in gold prices and gold production, this being adversely hampered by lower gold prices the economy had already begun to soften.  Gold feeds real estate and the retail sectors, so those will also be adversely impacted.

So the country with the lowest currency will be in the best economic shape? This must be voodoo logic concocted by the PNC and spoon fed to you via koolaid. 

You are actually the dummy.  There may well be reasons why a currency weakening might be good. 

In fact the strong US dollar is a drag on the economy as our exports are more expensive, and our imports cheaper. This hurts US companies as it is more difficult for them to compete in export markets, as well as in the domestic markets against foreign companies. Also when US companies convert their offshore earnings into US currency it takes a hit.

So a strong currency isn't always beneficial as the Asian countries indicate as they use all methods to weaken their currencies.

Maybe a weaker currency would stimulate local production as imports will become more expensive.  In addition non traditional exports might benefit as they become cheaper.

You are actually the dummy.  There may well be reasons why a currency weakening might be good. 

In fact the strong US dollar is a drag on the economy as our exports are more expensive, and our imports cheaper. This hurts US companies as it is more difficult for them to compete in export markets, as well as in the domestic markets against foreign companies. Also when US companies convert their offshore earnings into US currency it takes a hit.

So a strong currency isn't always beneficial as the Asian countries indicate as they use all methods to weaken their currencies.

Maybe a weaker currency would stimulate local production as imports will become more expensive.  In addition non traditional exports might benefit as they become cheaper.

For a country that does not have much to export, a devalued currency is very bad for it's imports. Take for example oil/gas, transportation cost will increase so as food, electricity and the list goes on, The drug trade will increase, because that's always the easy way out.Since the PNC got into office, name one job that was created, they are  in the business of closing businesses and loosing jobs. There is no motivation for young graduates , a few subjects at the CXC will qualify you to be a certified criminal, NO JOBS.Granger should learn a ting or two from Trump, look how many jobs he saved at Carrier, the PNC closing factories and put thousands on the read, CRIME WILL GO UP.

Tuesday, December 6, 2016, DPI

Minister of Finance Winston Jordan and Governor of the Bank of Guyana Dr. Gobind Ganga have both debunked an article appearing in today’s edition of the Kaieteur News headlined “Major foreign currency crisis looms”.

“There is no shortage of foreign exchange in Guyana, the reserves at the Bank of Guyana have improved from approximately US$598 at the end of 2015 to about US$625M at present, an increase of US$28M,” Minister Jordan revealed.

He further stated that “when you consider the holdings by commercial banks, foreign reserves have also increased in the system from approximately US$955M at the end of 2015 to US$1.042B at present. Therefore, there is no shortage of foreign exchange, consequently, there is no foreign exchange crisis looming, and no need for the currency to depreciate. The Bank of Guyana will take all necessary actions to protect the currency and to protect the reserves at the Bank of Guyana,” Minister Jordan said.

To call this an economic disaster is an understatement. This is what Diseased AFC/PNC government will bring to Guyanese. The Guyanese economy is imploding.

Combine the decline of the dollar with heavy tax burden with the latest budget and this spells an economic collapse in less than two years by these AFC/PNC clowns. 

Based on this report, Guyana is screwed under the AFC/PNC clowns and this is just the tip of the iceberg.

Guyana currently needs US $ 2 Billion to comfortably handle financial transaction and they can only muster $ 1.3 Billion. This is a complete disaster.

As Bibi pointed out sugar and rice are hard currency earners and the PPP was wise enough to prop it up to receive a steady flow of hard currency.

What did the PNC do as soon as they arrived ? The killed the rice industry and destroyed a secure market. They also ignored the sugar industry hoping on oil which is not flowing. These clowns will never be able to run a country. Not in One Billion years.

Rice earnings fell by $ 40 million US. Forestry contracted 33 percent as these clowns destroyed the timber industry.

Local banks can no longer find overseas banks to develop relations. There is a lack of confidence in dealing with these AFC/PNC clowns.

This marks the implosion of the Guyanese economy. These clowns are not done yet with destroying Guyana, this is only two years and at this pace, Guyana would have been destroyed economically for another 10 years.

For those who supported the AFC, please stand up. There is no stopping this PNC disaster. The AFC can still face by looking the possibility of supporting a no confidence motion to save Guyana for these PNC clowns.

I noticed that PNC spin doctor Gil arrived but it is all BS. Jordon is a clown who destroyed the economy. Gil still keeps spinning for these PNC clowns.

I spoke with a couple of businesses and there is indeed a currency crunch, they (AFC/PNC) will spin until the filth hits the fan.

Welcome to the new economy reality as we witness the implosion of the Guyanese economy.

Minister of Finance Winston Jordan and Governor of the Bank of Guyana Dr. Gobind Ganga have both debunked an article appearing in today’s edition of the Kaieteur News headlined “Major foreign currency crisis looms”.

“There is no shortage of foreign exchange in Guyana, the reserves at the Bank of Guyana have improved from approximately US$598 at the end of 2015 to about US$625M at present, an increase of US$28M,” Minister Jordan revealed.

He further stated that “when you consider the holdings by commercial banks, foreign reserves have also increased in the system from approximately US$955M at the end of 2015 to US$1.042B at present. Therefore, there is no shortage of foreign exchange, consequently, there is no foreign exchange crisis looming, and no need for the currency to depreciate. The Bank of Guyana will take all necessary actions to protect the currency and to protect the reserves at the Bank of Guyana,” Minister Jordan said.

I know for a fact, there is a limit of $10,000 US per family. A friend just returned a few days ago, money traders will soon be out of work, they approaching tourists on the street asking if they have foreign currency to sell.

Bhai,

Tell it to PNC man Gil. Right from the horse's mouth.

I spoke with a couple of businessmen and they are facing a foreign currency crisis.

Let Gil keep spinning his nonsense, nobody ain't buying.

I noticed that PNC spin doctor Gil arrived but is is all BS. Jordon is a clown who destroyed the economy. Gil still keeps spinning for these PNC clowns.

yuji22, stop being a fool. What "spinning"? Just because I post a government press statement you say Gil spinning? Not a single word in that statement is mine. I merely posted it here for everyone to see. You have a problem wid dat? BTW, Demerara Waves already published it.

I noticed that PNC spin doctor Gil arrived but is is all BS. Jordon is a clown who destroyed the economy. Gil still keeps spinning for these PNC clowns.

yuji22, stop being a fool. What "spinning"? Just because I post a government press statement you say Gil spinning? Not a single word in that statement is mine. I merely posted it here for everyone to see. You have a problem wid dat? BTW, Demerara Waves already published it.

Well think before your post. Stop posting PNC Horse shyte.

Did you read what KP posted, right from the Horse's mouth.

Well think before your post. Stop posting PNC Horse shyte.

In other words, you want to see only one side of the story, right? Gil is committing a crime by posting another side of the story, right? Well, haul yuh tailpipe.

KishanB posted:

If this is the answer to Guyana's competitiveness, there is a larger problem.  It's funny how you try to paint over this shyte.  Guyana is still not a higher income nation, producing more basic commodity!

Could you please highlight the industries which will benefit from a lower dollar!  Guyana is headed back to the abject poverty nation it had in 1992!

Maybe, a ild ass guess when you cannot really answer.  What are these exportable manufactured products Guyana exports.

Banna, you are a bare faced liar.

Jordan is too foolish to realize that if there is one thing you can't lie about is the value of a country's currency.  What actions can the Bank of Guyana take? None.  You either have it or you don't.  If he is thinking of printing more money to fool people that there is currency circulation, he will create inflation and further devalue the dollar.  Maybe Burnham Finance Minister Greenidge is advising him how to bankrupt the country once again!

Thanks for your comment, Bibi. This is what yuji22 needs to learn; to offer constructive criticism. Not to attack the messenger personally about "spinning."

Minister of Finance Winston Jordan and Governor of the Bank of Guyana Dr. Gobind Ganga have both debunked an article appearing in today’s edition of the Kaieteur News headlined “Major foreign currency crisis looms”....

.... The Bank of Guyana will take all necessary actions to protect the currency and to protect the reserves at the Bank of Guyana,” Minister Jordan said.

Thanks for your comment, Bibi. This is what yuji22 needs to learn; to offer constructive criticism. Not to attack the messenger personally about "spinning."

Is Bibi offer you constructing criticism or telling of the downright incompetence of the PNC?  She is 100% correct.  You cannot teach these old dogs new tricks.  The are repeating all the insanity of the past and expect a different outcome!

You are seeing the effects of gross incompetence and mismanagement.  The shrinking sources of foreign currency coupled by consistent demand is creating a supply/demand imbalance!  This will get worse as rich people buy up foreign currency to protect themselves!

Guyana is rapidly descending into a late 70's/80's nightmare.  The poor of Guyana will suffer the most as food, clothing and other basic necessities will skyrocket!  Migration will pick up very soon, you watch!

All of you who cussed out the PPP and BJ will now wring your hands and watch as the spectacle unfolds.  You should all hang your heads in shame!

“There is no shortage of foreign exchange in Guyana, the reserves at the Bank of Guyana have improved from approximately US$598 at the end of 2015 ...

He further stated that “when you consider the holdings by commercial banks, foreign reserves have also increased in the system from approximately US$955M at the end of 2015 to US$1.042B at present..

I thought alyuh seh BJ and the PPP left Guyana empty and bankrupt!!  Unless alyuh will say the PNC built it up during their first seven months!

We are on a course heading back from where we started in 1992.  The economy is getting worse and the government is taxing the hell out of people to balance the budget.  Nothing is being done to help the private sector despite their earnest appeal to the government to change many of its policies that are having adverse effects on business and employment.  Our finance minister seems not to understand what his job is about nor does he show any serious concerns about the crisis that is staring us in the face.  Offering lame excuses like declining drug trade and technical problems with the Skeldon sugar factory is just this government's way of diverting attention away from its bad policies and terrible incompetence in managing Guyana's economy.  

Gil,

Na tek it personally, GNI top heavyweight punchers are out tonight.

Punch, jab or duck, Muhammad Ali used it to perfection.

No problem. You typically make windy utterances from your tailpipe. I have no problem with that. However, it becomes jarring sometimes.

It is only natural when you give DUMMIES and JACKASSES to run a Country, the Country will be designated another Haiti!!!!!!!!!

Been there a long time just above..

PNC had their stint we all know what occurred,PPP took over moved it up a notch with the help of illegal activities,now the coalition is in lets wait and see if it will go under or moved up further above,time will tell,some will be negative especially when their party of their choice is not in power or their perception that only Indo Guyanese have the brains to manage the affairs of the country,for those who thought so look around in the Caribbean you may learn a thing or two.

As for "DUMMIES and JACKASSES" both political parties house is full.