yuH NAH GAT TO BE WAN eNGINEER TO RUN gpl.  iF FACT YUH NAH GAT TO BE BRIGHT.

obert Badal appointed GPL Chairman

January 20, 2016 4:07 pm Category: latest news, Local News A+ / A-

The Government has named owner of the Pegasus Hotel, Robert Badal, as the new Chairman of the newly installed Board of Directors (BoD) for the Guyana Power and Light (GPL) Inc.

Robert Badal

The announcement was made today by Minister of State, Joseph Harmon.

Badal, who publicly endorsed and campaigned for the APNU/AFC during the run-up to the May 2015 elections, has been a vocal critic of the PPP/C.

Badal is also the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Guyana Stockfeeds Company on the East Bank of Demerara.

Inews understands that this new Board to be chaired by Badal will be investigating recent reports implicating GPL Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Colin Welch in an over US$4 million contract for the pre-paid meters scandal.

As such, Welch’s fate will lie in the hands of the Board members after the probe is completed.

Tags: yuH NAH GAT TO BE eNGINEER TO RUN gpl.

"The Government has named owner of the Pegasus Hotel, Robert Badal, as the new Chairman of the newly installed Board of Directors (BoD) for the Guyana Power and Light (GPL) Inc."

"Inews understands that this new Board to be chaired by Badal will be investigating recent reports implicating GPL Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Colin Welch in an over US$4 million contract for the pre-paid meters scandal."

Bhai me learning from Uncle Nehru,i never knew you gat to be wan Engineer to become a "Chairman of a Board of Directors."

No, he does not need to be an engineer. The only qualification he needed was to contribute to the Coalition's election fund and to be an active supporter. Though, I understand that Badal is a successful businessman and this might be useful to him in his new position. Time will,tell if the new board is able to deal with the many problems of GPL and turn it around. 

Z

yuH NAH GAT TO BE WAN eNGINEER TO RUN gpl.  iF FACT YUH NAH GAT TO BE BRIGHT.

obert Badal appointed GPL Chairman

January 20, 2016 4:07 pm Category: latest news, Local News A+ / A-

The Government has named owner of the Pegasus Hotel, Robert Badal, as the new Chairman of the newly installed Board of Directors (BoD) for the Guyana Power and Light (GPL) Inc.

Robert Badal

The announcement was made today by Minister of State, Joseph Harmon.

Badal, who publicly endorsed and campaigned for the APNU/AFC during the run-up to the May 2015 elections, has been a vocal critic of the PPP/C.

Badal is also the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Guyana Stockfeeds Company on the East Bank of Demerara.

Inews understands that this new Board to be chaired by Badal will be investigating recent reports implicating GPL Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Colin Welch in an over US$4 million contract for the pre-paid meters scandal.

As such, Welch’s fate will lie in the hands of the Board members after the probe is completed.

Does he  have any qualifications to run GPL?

Zed posted:

No. Though, I understand that Badal is a successful businessman and this might be useful to him in his new position. Time will,tell if the new board is able to deal with the many problems of GPL and turn it around. 

Do you know the difference between a Chairman, and a CEO?

The fact that Badal is a highly regarded business man, and a huge user of the services provided by GPL will be important, don't you think?

He will bring a perspective, as CHAIRMAN, that a mere engineer will not.

And yes he contributed loads to the election.

Now how much did the last "CEO" that the PPP appointed to Guysuco, or that truck driver that the PPP awarded millions to build a road in rough terrain, and didn't even notice that he couldn't even build a driveway in Florida, USA?

Its a real pity that all who have loads to say now, were too terrified of Jagdeo to speak 10 years ago!

During PPP's tenure the only qualification for any position was to see your name in the news,regardless if negative or otherwise.

"Inews understands that this new Board to be chaired by Badal will be investigating recent reports implicating GPL Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Colin Welch in an over US$4 million contract for the pre-paid meters scandal."

Zed posted:

No. Though, I understand that Badal is a successful businessman and this might be useful to him in his new position. Time will,tell if the new board is able to deal with the many problems of GPL and turn it around. 

The fact that Badal is a highly regarded business man, and a huge user of the services provided by GPL will be important, don't you think?

Now how much did the last "CEO" that the PPP appointed to Guysuco, or that truck driver that the PPP awarded millions to build a road in rough terrain, and didn't even notice that he couldn't even build a driveway in Florida, USA?

Its a real pity that all who have loads to say now, were too terrified of Jagdeo to speak 10 years ago!

Zed's post was positive, nothing against Badal.

During PPP's tenure the only qualification for any position was to see your name in the news,regardless if negative or otherwise.

And in fact this is what a Chairman does. Chairs the board, which has the responsibility of ensuring that top management functions.

Zed's post was positive, nothing against Badal.

"the only qualification needed was......" wasn't positive.

He could have congratulated the gov't for appointing a suitable person, instead of the many stooges who exist. An obvious being Van West Charles, who has no qualifications to have anything to do with the water company.

RiffRaff posted:

PNC and two House Slaves policy:: SQUARE PEGS IN ROUND HOLES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

dude

stop mouthing off what yuh don't know about

Drunk men never know what they are talking about.  Humor him as he drags himself out of the gutter, and attempts to wipe off last night's vomit, and other human waste from his clothes.  This due to excessive drinking, and an absent self esteem.

Is revenge better and good governance?  This new government had the chance to do better and they blew their chance of every being trusted again.

You never were interested in the "new gov't doing better".  You were hysterical from the minute that you cries switched from "ahbe pan tap, blackman time done", to "blackman a kill ahbe".

The fact that you scream that Jagdeo is the great Lord and Savior shows where your true sentiments lie.

The 3 most destructive elements in Guyana were Janet Jagan, Forbes Burnham, and Bharat Jagdeo.  All three cut from the same arrogant and dictatorial cloth.

See what 5 million donation can do.  Now he gun get 10 times in return.  Only in Guyana!!!  CHANGE IS SWEET!!!

It is sweet revenge. By the way, Brazzie was no engineer.

Is revenge better and good governance?  This new government had the chance to do better and they blew their chance of every being trusted again.

RiffRaff posted:

dude

stop mouthing off what yuh don't know about

Drunk men never know what they are talking about.  Humor him as he drags himself out of the gutter, and attempts to wipe off last night's vomit, and other human waste from his clothes.  This due to excessive drinking, and an absent self esteem.

Rumor has it you were caught with a man riding yuh like a Donkey. Not dat anything is wrong with dat.  Enjoy this is America!!!

Banna rest you self you shooting blanks...Badal is a successful businessman is qualified to be chairman of the board.

For you he is qualified and his 5 million donation was irrelevant. This is America, you are entitled to your opinion.

Actually I don't believe you need an engineer for that position. You need someone with good understanding of the macro picture who can ask the big questions. Badal can do that. Badal is very bright. Often being a technician causes one to be bogged down in the tiny details. After all he was able to beat the PPP boys in his bid for Pegasus. That's why Jagdeo decided to use the revenues of the State to make a hotel to kill off Pegasus. Turns out Peg has an occupancy rate of 55% and Marriott 29%.

Solving the energy problem in Guyana needs big picture vision. Once you have the vision get a good team of engineers and engineering economists to value choices.

Caribny, I know the difference between a CEO and a Chairman of the Board. My statement still stands. Look, the coalition said that it will do things differently from the previous regime. Many of us believed this! Is this some of the same or is it different?  Thus, the comment. Seeing that he has been appointed, as a customer of GPL and a taxpayer, I hope that the board under his chairmanship will ensure that management deals with the many issues and problems within GPL and makes it an efficient and effective organization.   

All of this discussion and disagreement would have been prevented if prior to the appointment, it was clearly stated what the criteria were for the person to occupy that position and a post-appointment statement indicating on what basis he was selected. Badal is not the only successful businessman in Guyana, nor is he the only successful businessman who supported the coalition. 

Z
Zed posted:

yes, but what are the qualifications necessary fr this position?and does he have these qualifications?

And in fact this is what a Chairman does. Chairs the board, which has the responsibility of ensuring that top management functions.

ok

Zed posted:

Caribny, I know the difference between a CEO and a Chairman of the Board. My statement still stands. Look, the coalition said that it will do things differently from the previous regime.

And in this case they have.

1. We all seem to agree that the man is highly competent.

2.  As a bonus, he is also Indian.

So his appointment is an example of placing a competent man in a position, without regard to the need to pander to their ethnic insecurities of the winning party's support base.

Chairmen run NOTHING.  CEOs do. Badal will be chairman.  Do you know the difference?

ok, lets rephrase, what credentials does he have for this position, aside from being a donor?

Quit this rambling.  His qualifications have been outlined even by your buddy Zed, even though Zed thinks that he is the appointments committee. and that he needs to see the resumes of all, prior to their appointment.

Zed posted:

Caribny, you blowing smoke. please reread my post.

What is there to re read. 

You don't object to Badal, but think that criteria for his appointment needs to be provided to you. 

I can only wonder whether every time a Chairman is appointed whether full criteria is provided to the shareholders.  Generally appointing a person who seems qualified is sufficient.

What more do you want?

I will suggest to you that issues of basic governance are way more important to worry about.  Especially at the local gov't level.  I am more worried about the fact that neither party has any reason to be accountable to the population, outside of elections, and that given over 90% of the votes are based on racial loyalty/fear, even then.

So who is appointed into every position doesn't bother me, unless the person is clearly incompetent, or unless their is ethnic favoritism being used.  Clearly NEITHER apply in the case of Badal.  I am concerned about Van West Charles.

Clearly Badal is not qualified for this position as Chairman of GPL. His appointment was a political reward along the lines of "friends and family" of the apnu/afc.  In fact we can view this a conflict of interest as he is now in a position to use his influence to his own benefit as a consumer of electricity for his hotel Pegasus and other businesses he owns in Guyana. Many of you now praising this appointment were crying tears of blood when the PPP appointed the chairman of Guysuco over the years.