Guyana likely to produce Irish potatoes in commercial quantities

Canada's High Commissioner to Guyana, Pierre Giroux assisting on the farm

Canada’s High Commissioner to Guyana, Pierre Giroux assisting on the farm

With the support of Canada, a research trial on several varieties of Irish potatoes to determine their suitability for local conditions is underway, the Canadian High Commission said Tuesday.

Thirteen ¼ acre Irish potatoes pilot plots are currently being supported through the $20 million Canada-funded Caribbean regional Promotion of Regional Opportunities for Produce through Enterprises and Linkages (PROPEL) project. “This undertaking is remarkable since it was previously thought that Irish potatoes could not be grown commercially in Guyana,” the mission said in a statement.

The trial began about a year ago when an initial assessment of the suitability of the Guyanese conditions for the cultivation of Irish potatoes was conducted through the PROPEL project.  With promising findings, the project also supported several capacity building initiatives, including cross-regional exchanges for select local producers and research scientists from the National Agriculture Research and Extension Institute (NAREI).

On Tuesday April 19, 2016, High Commissioner of Canada, Mr. Pierre Giroux visited one of the pilot plots in Laluni, Soesdyke, Region 4.  He highlighted the work of the PROPEL project as an important part of Canada’s contribution to agricultural diversification in Guyana and as a vehicle for sustainable economic growth.  Through the project, which is being implemented by the World University Science of Canada (WUSC), Canada is providing seeds and technical support to farmers to help create the most conducive conditions for the cultivation of Irish potatoes.  A key component of the sustainability of this initiative is the training and capacity building of NAREI extension officers who will in turn be able to provide support to farmers desirous of embarking on Irish potato cultivation.

The Canadian High Commission said a similar initiative under the Canada-funded project in Jamaica was remarkably successful, resulting in locally grown potatoes satisfying approximately 80% of the Jamaican demand.
“All indications are that similar or even better results can be expected in Guyana.  Already at the 4 week stage of the trial, yields are comparable to international standards.  The High Commissioner of Canada was particularly pleased that of all the varieties tested, the Canadian varieties of the Irish potatoes showed the most potential.”

The diplomatic mission said the project has already secured a local market for the first crop of Irish potatoes and is also working to ensure that all stakeholders from the producer to the consumer are involved in the trial.  Canada notes that the implications for economic diversification and increased employment in Guyana are significant.  Guyana consumes approximately 5,675 tonnes of potatoes per year, and being able to supply the majority of the local demand for Irish potatoes would augur well for farmers, the agricultural sector and the economy, according to the diplomatic mission.

http://demerarawaves.com/2016/...mmercial-quantities/

Looks like the project started under the PPP yet we see the PNC/AFC running to take credit.  But on the flip side this is a win win for all Guyanese if indeed potatoes can be grown even if GMO. The problem with potatoes in warm climates is there susceptibility to disease. 

I didn't notice any political party taking credit. 

If they can grow potatoes in commercial quantities, that would reduce the import food bill and maybe even have enough for export. There's a lot of fertile land in Guyana that could be put to good use.

I didn't notice any political party taking credit. 

If they can grow potatoes in commercial quantities, that would reduce the import food bill and maybe even have enough for export. There's a lot of fertile land in Guyana that could be put to good use.

Lets hope that the Blacks can get in on this project as again we see the unscrupulous Indian businessmen leading the charge in this cutting edge venture. 

Irish Potatoes in Guyana? 

The Burnham's Administration tried that back in the 70's.  I remember Walter Rodney speaking about that at a public meeting.  He said that the potatoes were more costly to produce than importing them.

Good luck on this old venture again. 

Reza R.  Rahaman
Reza R. Rahaman posted:

The Burnham's Administration tried that back in the 70's.  I remember Walter Rodney speaking about that at a public meeting.  He said that the potatoes were more costly to produce than importing them.

It is currently being done successfully in Jamaica with the help of the Canadian Government. They are providing the logistics and seeds to the Guyana Government. Seed technology is far advanced nowadays to the extent where it may be possible to grow the potatoes successfully. 

Reza R. Rahaman posted:

It is currently being done successfully in Jamaica with the help of the Canadian Government. They are providing the logistics and seeds to the Guyana Government. Seed technology is far advanced nowadays to the extent where it may be possible to grow the potatoes successfully. 

There is no mention of Guyana Govt involvement in the article. It appears to be private citizens and the Canadian Govt working together. 

So Guyana cannot grow crops that are native to its soil like plantain and cassava in commercial quantities but they will grow Irish potatoes which cannot grow in a tropical climate???  Some of the nonsense that I see on this Board never ceases to amaze me!

Reza R. Rahaman posted:

There is no mention of Guyana Govt involvement in the article. It appears to be private citizens and the Canadian Govt working together. 

You're correct. The Canadian Government is assisting farmers directly but it's most likely an initiative being done through a diplomatic outreach to the Guyana Government.

Reza R. Rahaman posted:

The objective of this project is to bring back something because Burnham did it.  It failed then and it will fail now!!!

Reza R. Rahaman posted:

The objective of this project is to bring back something because Burnham did it.  It failed then and it will fail now!!!

The project was initiated while the PPP was in power. Was the PPP copying Burnham's strategy?

Reza R. Rahaman posted:

"The Canadian High Commission said a similar initiative under the Canada-funded project in Jamaica was remarkably successful, resulting in locally grown potatoes satisfying approximately 80% of the Jamaican demand.

“All indications are that similar or even better results can be expected in Guyana.Already at the 4 week stage of the trial, yields are comparable to international standards.  The High Commissioner of Canada was particularly pleased that of all the varieties tested, the Canadian varieties of the Irish potatoes showed the most potential.”

What the above have to do with Burnham,every initiative undertaken under this government is condemned.

smh

Reza R. Rahaman posted:

A lot of Burnham's failed ideas are being recycled.

While I wish him well, this project has all of the odds stacked against it.

Reza R. Rahaman posted:

What are the odds may i ask.

The Canadians said it was successful in Jamaica,why is't not possible in Guyana.

Reza R. Rahaman posted:

What are the odds may i ask.

The Canadians said it was successful in Jamaica,why is't not possible in Guyana.

I said that I wish him well. I respect and admire anyone who does agriculture for food that does not involve the slaughter of animals.

Let us all wish him well. 

BTW, he stands a fair chance, notice how involved our Canadians are with this project ? God bless Canada.

So Guyana cannot grow crops that are native to its soil like plantain and cassava in commercial quantities but they will grow Irish potatoes which cannot grow in a tropical climate???  Some of the nonsense that I see on this Board never ceases to amaze me!

The same program is producing potatoes in Jamaica in large quantities. The last time I checked, Jamaica still had a tropical climate. This project was initiated while the PPP was in government. Are you saying that they were stupid to allow the Canadian Government to provide technical assistance and seeds to Guyanese farmers?  

I try to grow potatoes in Guyana several times but failed. The only place it can grow is in the mountainous areas of the Northwest with cool conditions and lots of water. Anyway sweet potatoes are much more healthy than Irish potatoes.

The same program is producing potatoes in Jamaica in large quantities. The last time I checked, Jamaica still had a tropical climate. This project was initiated while the PPP was in government. Are you saying that they were stupid to allow the Canadian Government to provide technical assistance and seeds to Guyanese farmers?  

Jamaica has mountainous regions that are conducive to growing potatoes.  The potato production in Jamaica is only for local consumption.  And yes if this was a PPP project then they are stupid.  Guyana has many crops that can be developed for commercial purposes.  Potato is not one of them.

Reza R. Rahaman posted:

Irish potatoes grow by seeds?????  Really?????

Jamaica has mountainous regions that are conducive to growing potatoes.  The potato production in Jamaica is only for local consumption.  And yes if this was a PPP project then they are stupid.  Guyana has many crops that can be developed for commercial purposes.  Potato is not one of them.

Guyana has many more mountains than Jamaica. Take a trip next time beyond the coast or simply look at a map on the internet. Even if we only grow for local consumption, that will be a huge savings in foreign exchange. Do you prefer to import potatoes at a huge cost when it can be grown locally, providing a livelihood for local farmers?  

Reza R. Rahaman posted:

Irish potatoes grow by seeds?????  Really?????

Yes. Read! It helps.

Guyana has many more mountains than Jamaica. Take a trip next time beyond the coast or simply look at a map on the internet. Even if we only grow for local consumption, that will be a huge savings in foreign exchange. Do you prefer to import potatoes at a huge cost when it can be grown locally, providing a livelihood for local farmers?  

The mountainous regions in Jamaica are already developed for agriculture as coffee is an earner of stock exchange.  The mountainous regions in Guyana are not developed for agriculture.  How much does it cost to import potatoes?  I would bet it's cheaper to import than produce locally.

I am not disputing any new agriculture ventures.  God knows that Guyana needs all the help it can get.  What I am disputing is the choice of crop.  The world market already is flooded with potatoes.  That market is accounted for by countries that are larger and wealthier than Guyana.  In the US and Canada you can get a five pound bag of potatoes for 99cents a bag when it's on sale. 

The mountainous regions in Jamaica are already developed for agriculture as coffee is an earner of stock exchange.  The mountainous regions in Guyana are not developed for agriculture.  How much does it cost to import potatoes?  I would bet it's cheaper to import than produce locally.

I am not disputing any new agriculture ventures.  God knows that Guyana needs all the help it can get.  What I am disputing is the choice of crop.  The world market already is flooded with potatoes.  That market is accounted for by countries that are larger and wealthier than Guyana.  In the US and Canada you can get a five pound bag of potatoes for 99cents a bag when it's on sale. 

Guyana consumes approximately 5,675 tonnes of potatoes per year, and being able to supply the majority of the local demand for Irish potatoes would augur well for farmers, the agricultural sector and the economy, according to the diplomatic mission.

Do the math,you may see the savings in foreign exchange.

Guyana consumes approximately 5,675 tonnes of potatoes per year, and being able to supply the majority of the local demand for Irish potatoes would augur well for farmers, the agricultural sector and the economy, according to the diplomatic mission.

I have not seen the feasibility study with cost of production versus projected income.  Send it to me I will do the math.

DG...does say do you own research.

Suddenly you're an agriculturist and you know that Jamaica's mountainous regions are developed for agriculture and Guyana's are not. Send me the published study on this please. What is this stock exchange that coffee earns?

You must buy rotten potatoes or you shop at those cheap places that sell expired goods. I've never seen potatoes in the supermarket for less than $2.00 for a five pound bag and it's closer to $3.00.

You clowns think it's feasible to produce sugar for much more than the revenue it earns because you are getting foreign exchange. Do you understand the concept of saving foreign exchange by planting potatoes locally vs importing them? Do you understand the concept of providing employment for local farmers? I feel like I'm schooling little children here. You fools are so bitter that a black man is the president in Guyana that you would fight down any development for Guyana.

I think Guyanese should learn how to convert milk in cheese.  We should put our best minds in making a cheddar that's comparable in taste and texture with the competition.  Forget about Granger's silly idea about Guava cheese.  Lets go with dairy.

I think Guyanese should learn how toconvert milk in cheese.  We should put our best minds in making a cheddar that's comparable in taste and texture with the competition.  Forget about Granger's silly idea about Guava cheese.  Lets go with dairy.

Guyanese only know about sugar and rice,dairy farm and milk products doan mek money.

Them trying out planting aloo with the help of Canadians,some people seh it will fail.

let them check this link.

http://www.nationalhistoricche...g/history-of-cheese/

I think Guyanese should learn how toconvert milk in cheese.  We should put our best minds in making a cheddar that's comparable in taste and texture with the competition.  Forget about Granger's silly idea about Guava cheese.  Lets go with dairy.

Guyanese only know about sugar and rice,dairy farm and milk products doan mek money.

Them trying out planting aloo with the help of Canadians,some people seh it will fail.

As soon as the man's business become profitable, the government will nationalize it and give it to the blacks. We know how this type of business did in the 70s and 80s.

You do know that Jagan and the PPP voted in favor of nationalization supporting the PNC and their Soviet masters. They would have done the same thing if the PPP were in power. Those Commie Clowns in the PNC and PPP wrecked the country's economy with their Communist dreams.

Jagan did not nationalize any industry; Forbes did. Don't speculate what the PPP would have done. It was the PNC who wrecked Guyana and will do so again if they are not removed from power.

Jagan stood up in the National Assembly along with the rest of the PPP and voted in favor of Nationalization. He formulated a policy of Critical Support for the PNC as they were both under orders from the Soviets with whom they had an alliance. The PNC and PPP met in Cuba with the Soviets and planned the nationalization strategy. Jagan gave the reassurance to his Soviet masters that he would support the PNC since it was all for the Communist cause. They are equally culpable and Jagan was calling for nationalization of the major industries in Guyana long before it finally took place. Let's not try to rewrite the history of these Commie Clowns. 

Skelly, The AFC/PNC clowns have built nothing in a year, they will depend on nationalizing during part two just like their God, Murderer Papa Burnham.

What did the PPP built in 23 years can you list them.

Reza R. Rahaman posted:

Potato is amerindian staple. No one is bringing back what is native to south and central america. Not because it is called "Irish" it is "Irish"