http://www.caribbeannewsnow.co...to-Kuwait-31278.html

By Ray Chickrie
Caribbean News Now contributor

GEORGETOWN, Guyana -- Guyana this week named Professor Dr Shamir Ally as its next resident ambassador to Kuwait. The Guyana embassy in Kuwait has been without an ambassador for over two years now, with Sarfaraz Shadood heading the embassy since former ambassador Dr Odeen Ishmael retired.

Ally was among a group of newly appointed ambassadors that Guyana will deploy to several corners of the world.

The government held a one week orientation workshop for newly appointed diplomats. The workshop emphasized economic diplomacy and protection of Guyana’s territorial sovereignty amidst threats from its neighbour Venezuela and especially after the recent discovery of major “world class” oil and gas reserves off the coast of Guyana.

The workshop was put on by the ministry of foreign affairs of Guyana under the leadership of the foreign minister and vice-president, Carl Greenidge, and the director of the ministry of foreign affairs, Audrey Waddell. Greenidge has overhauled the ministry in an effort to bolster professionalism, efficiency and expertise in diplomacy.

“This enables us to capitalize on the experiences that have been accumulated in the past in terms of policy formulation and the like and, therefore, that institutional mechanism I hope is going to help to see us through the re-establishment of what clearly was widely acknowledged as one of the most effective, if not outstanding, foreign services in the Western Hemisphere,” Greenidge said.

Ally is the CEO of International Consulting Services and deputy chairman of GO-Invest, a Guyana government investment agency. He was also a Corporate controller, chief accounting officer, vice-president of finance, and chief financial officer at AMEX, NYSE, and NASDAQ. At William Loveland College, he was professor for Bachelors, MBA, PhD and EdD programs. Ally was also visiting professor at Qatar University, Romanian American University and the University of Guyana.

Mrs Maryann Ally holds a degree in education from George Washington University and an MBA from the University of Portland. Dr Maryann worked for 25 years at Merck Pharmaceuticals as global marketing director.

The Kuwait mission is expected to once again be an active post since it handles bilateral relations with Bahrain, Oman, Egypt, United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, Qatar and Kuwait. The previous ambassador, Dr Ishmael, was also named Guyana’s ambassador to Qatar.

In addition, the Kuwait mission will handle a great deal of the multilateral ties with the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) and the Islamic Development Bank (IsDB). Moreover, Guyana is soon to be an oil producer after a recent discovery and this will attract the attention of the Arab oil kingdoms of the Persian Gulf.

To be cost efficient, the Kuwait desk will be inundated with these matters. Many small meetings that take place in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) must be attended for Guyana to consolidate and see economic benefits from its OIC and Islamic Bank membership.

Ishmael said that Guyana did not attend many of these small meetings nor did Guyana address its position or policies in writing.

“Many of the small meetings are specialized one. These deal with the details and countries seize the opportunities at these meetings to put forward their positions on the issues and to make sure that their countries are included in special projects. When you are absent, you lose out unless you indicate in writing to the secretariat your interest or have another attending country speak on your behalf,” Ishmael said.

Ishmael recommends that the new ambassador, through the embassy in Kuwait, maintains a regular line of communication with the OIC, and especially with at least one specific official in the body.

The former Guyanese diplomat, who spent a great deal of time at the OIC representing Guyana, maintained close contacts with OIC officials and one assistant secretary-general – a Pakistani ambassador. In fact, Guyana lobbied in support of getting the Pakistani ambassador elected to that office. This relationship allowed Ishmael another opportunity to get Guyana’s voice to reach the desk of the secretary general in a timely manner.

Either the president of Guyana, David Granger, or Greenidge will travel to Kuwait to formally open the Guyana mission there. The visit will most likely also include the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Qatar. Greenidge himself may lead the Guyana delegation to the next OIC foreign ministers meeting to be held in Uzbekistan from October 18-19.

"He was also a Corporate controller, chief accounting officer, vice-president of finance, and chief financial officer at AMEX, NYSE, and NASDAQ."

FALSE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

"He was also a Corporate controller, chief accounting officer, vice-president of finance, and chief financial officer at AMEX, NYSE, and NASDAQ."

Where Raymond Chickrie got this info from ??

He was a poster on GNI.

That whole resume is false.  Shamir Ally was convicted of fraud in the US.  It stirs my stomach to see his name on the same line with Odeen Ishmael.  He cannot walk in Odeen's shoes.

"On  March 4, 2003, U.S. District Court Judge Michael M. Baylson  entered
     final  judgments  against A. Robert Mancuso, Ronald  R.  Lanchoney,  and
     Shamir  A.  Ally, enjoining them from future violations of the antifraud
     and recordkeeping provisions set forth in Sections 10(b) and 13(b)(5) of
     the  Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (Exchange Act) and Rules 10b-5  and
     13b2-1  thereunder,  and from future aiding and abetting  violations  of
     Sections 13(a) and 13(b)(2) of the Exchange Act and Rules 12b-20, 13a-1,
     and 13a-13 thereunder.  The final judgment against Mancuso also enjoined
     him  from future violations of Rule 13b2-2 under the Exchange  Act.   In
     addition,  the  final judgments prohibited Mancuso  and  Lanchoney  from
     acting as an officer or director of a public company, and imposed  civil
     penalties  of  $50,000 against Mancuso, $10,000 against  Lanchoney,  and
     $10,000  against  Ally.  The defendants consented to the  entry  of  the
     orders without admitting or denying the Commission's allegations in  the
     action.

That whole resume is false.  Shamir Ally was convicted of fraud in the US.  It stirs my stomach to see his name on the same line with Odeen Ishmael.  He cannot walk in Odeen's shoes.

action.

Why your angst?  You guys played around with a man wanted for gun trafficking, murder and drug dealing.  He used to be a frequent visitor to Jagdeo at his OFFICE.

You should be proud that the coalition gov't consorts with the same low lives that the PPP did.

action.

Let's not get carried away now. This does not state that the man was convicted of fraud.  

Where Raymond Chickrie got this info from ??

He was a poster on GNI.

Ray wanted the job badly, since BJ's time.  

Amral posted:

you guys sure you have the right person, be careful we do want to have problems

This is the bio on the Amb.

http://www.guyana.org/kuwait/bio_amb_shamir_ally.pdf

Amral.  I'm 100% sure.  That bio is almost totally false.  He used to sell fake online degrees to people for $25,000.  He is a con man extraordinaire!!!

Check out Ramjattan page how the man pose up!  

Amral posted:

Amral.  I'm 100% sure.  That bio is almost totally false.  He used to sell fake online degrees to people for $25,000.  He is a con man extraordinaire!!!

Lennox, like you had a sex change

Amral posted:

Lennox, like you had a sex change

Shamir Ally and his best friend, the good doc Somar, were the financiers of the AFC.  Pay back time.  Even me boi Mitwah get a lil advisor wuk with them.

Will Safraz Shaddod still be in Kuwait?

He is a fine young man.

He's a scallywag. He was one of Kwame's henchmen from the media unit responsible for posting PPP propaganda on GNI and other social media. 

He is a fine young man.

He's a scallywag. He was one of Kwame's henchmen from the media unit responsible for posting PPP propaganda on GNI and other social media. 

Y'all used to really beat up those guys here.  

He is a fine young man.

They deserved it. Being paid with taxpayer dollars to spread PPP lies.

He is a fine young man.

You forgot he used to write lots of PPP propaganda here under the name DOOD and was virulently anti american.

He is a fine young man.

They deserved it. Being paid with taxpayer dollars to spread PPP lies.

Does Granger know these fellows and what they did and said about him here?

What can we expect from Kuwait?? They are more interested in destabilizing their rivals in the middle east than help a country like Guyana.  Perhaps, they might provide some funds for building a few mosques in Guyana.

Plenty

Stay tuned and in 2018 you will see.

Pointblank

He is a fine young man.

You forgot he used to write lots of PPP propaganda here under the name DOOD and was virulently anti american.

I do remember  the PPP propagandists. 

I am not sure if he is the same person who wrote as DOOD.

He is a fine young man.

He is one and the same. It was his computer that was broken into and all the files lifted and published. The files which showed correspondence between the various members of the team of propagandists. D2 was one of their favorite targets and he is mentioned prominently. I still have copies of the files.

Pointblank posted:

Plenty

Bullschitttt.  Kuwait doesn't give a rat's A$$ about Guyana.

He is a fine young man.

He is one and the same. It was his computer that was broken into and all the files lifted and published. The files which showed correspondence between the various members of the team of propagandists. D2 was one of their favorite targets and he is mentioned prominently. I still have copies of the files.

President Granger is for all the people. Last week he is on record stating that is is difficult to difficult to find people who are not linked to   political parties.

This was in response to the appointments of Clarissa Rhiel and other APNU and PNC members to overseas positions.

So if this was the same Dood then that is okay.

This new Gov't under Granger and Nagamootoo  is one of inclusion.

He is a fine young man.

President Granger is for all the people. Last week he is on record stating that is is difficult to difficult to find people who are not linked to   political parties.

This was in response to the appointments of Clarissa Rhiel and other APNU and PNC members to overseas positions.

So if this was the same Dood then that is okay.

This new Gov't under Granger and Nagamootoo  is one of inclusion.

I know you shut you eye tight and squeeze you nose hard when you said that.  Even the decent PNC boys have acknowledged that the govt is not inclusionary.

.  Even the decent PNC boys have acknowledged that the govt is not inclusionary.

Pity that the PPP is so bad that no decent PPP person can acknowledge that the PPP was no better.

In fact they had to leave the PPP before they could have given their honest opinion, and then they faced a bombardment from people like you calling them self hating Indians who want to sell Indians out to BLACKMAN. 

And when you are confronted about your attitude you call us racists.  Even people like Gilbakka, Django and your former boy friend Kari. Yes these are Indians but anti Indian racists in your eyes.

You see to you any criticism of the PPP is seen as being racist and anti Indian, and then you pretend as if you don't know who Jagdeo was thinking of when he said "WE, OUR PEOPLE, and THOSE PEOPLE".

Pointblank posted:

Plenty

Bullschitttt.  Kuwait doesn't give a rat's A$$ about Guyana.

In 2018 remember I told you so

Pointblank

Was he Rev?  

One of our former posters Da Freak had a whole thread on Rev being this Shameer Ally guy.   The good ole days on GNI with many a laff, we have come a long way...lol

These idiots in office create ambassador jobs all over the globe to pay back political favors. Why does a poor small nation of 3/4 million people need a gazillion ambassadors? All being paid for off the backs of taxpayers. This is just another way of stealing from the nation.

alena06 posted:

Why do we need an Ambassador to Kuwait???  How many Guyanese ppl know where Kuwait is on the map or care to know?  Just an honest opinion. 

Alena06, the smart question would be "what economic arrangements involves Kuwait, and what other countries and organizations in that region should engage Guyana, especially with oil exploration the big deal it is". If you ask the same questions about China you see similar answers. We can have relations with China, but no mid-East country? Now....that leads me to question your motive for asking the question "Why do we need an Ambassador to Kuwait???" Do you realize you just exhibited your bias towards this region?

Kari posted:
alena06 posted:

Why do we need an Ambassador to Kuwait???  How many Guyanese ppl know where Kuwait is on the map or care to know?  Just an honest opinion. 

Alena06, the smart question would be "what economic arrangements involves Kuwait, and what other countries and organizations in that region should engage Guyana, especially with oil exploration the big deal it is". If you ask the same questions about China you see similar answers. We can have relations with China, but no mid-East country? Now....that leads me to question your motive for asking the question "Why do we need an Ambassador to Kuwait???" Do you realize you just exhibited your bias towards this region?

Lest we forget: the PPP government had posted Odeen Ishmael as resident Ambassador to Kuwait. THEY knew why we need an Ambassador to Kuwait.

alena06 posted:

Other Caribbean nations have diplomatic representation.

You do know that there are huge pools of investment capital in that region.

But continue to believe that all an embassy was supposed to do is to arrange events for Jagdeo and Ramotar to go spread racial panic to their overseas based supporters.  Aside from a few people Bayney Karran that was all the PPP diplomatic corps was capable of doing.