Guyana People’s Militia re-established

Commandant of the Guyana People's Militia, Colonel Patrick West.

Commandant of the Guyana People’s Militia, Colonel Patrick West.

Eighteen years after it was disestablished by the People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPPC)-led administration, the Guyana People’s Militia (GPM) has been re-activated and hopes to recruit an additional 1,500 persons as reserves.

Chief-of-Staff of the Guyana Defence Force, Brigadier Mark Phillips has announced that the GPM has been re-established with effect December 1, 2015 in keeping with the defence policy of the six- month old civilian administration.

“These are not full-time, these are part-time soldiers. The whole concept is to have a small regular army and a larger reserve that could augment the regular army,” he said.

Phillips explained the advantage of having the GPM as a separate entity rather than being part of the GDF as the 2nd Infantry Battalion since August, 1997. “They will have a separate budget and a separate organizational structure, greater involvement at the regional and community levels in defence and security activities, not to mention training and employment activities,” he told Demerara Waves Online News.

The Commandant of the GPM is Colonel Patrick West who is previously Commanding Officer, 2nd Infantry Battalion (Reserve). “His task outlined is to start building the Reserve, building the Militia,” said Phillips.

The Chief of Staff said several drill halls countrywide would be rehabilitated and Regional Companies would be strengthened through recruitment and the provision of more leadership training for officers and senior non-commissioned officers. “We have not done any major or sustained maintenance of basically all the infrastructures in the different regions and it is our intention to start focusing on that in 2016. We are not going to achieve everything in 2016 but we are going to start in 2016,” he said.

Chief-of-Staff of the Guyana Defence Force, Brigadier Mark Phillips.

The GPM was established in 1976 in accordance with the Defence Act at a time when the country had been facing internal and security threats.

Writing in the Guyana Review in November 2008,  Retired Brigadier David Granger had said that the Militia during its 20-year existence had proven to be a vital component of the defence system that allowed citizens to contribute to national security on a part-time basis without making a full-time commitment to military service. With the loss of autonomy and the depletion in its strength, however, the esprit de corps that was nourished for two decades dissipated.

He had said that many of the Militia’s inherent advantages were lost. Regions without reservists, for example, could no longer assist the regular force to secure porous borders and coastlines or provide organised labour in the event of natural disasters such as floods and other environmental hazards. Most of all, the social capital amassed by the morale and zeal that once motivated ordinary citizens to serve as soldiers and to sacrifice their leisure time to make their country safer seems to have been squandered.

With regards to the GDF, the Chief of Staff said additional persons are being trained as soldiers to deal with attrition due to resignations and retirement so that the army remains at the authorized strength.

An estimated 1,000 persons have been recruited in 2014 and 2015.  Phillips said a number of the 55 persons who went Absent Without Leave (AWOL) have been taking steps to return to duty.

Government also expects to boost the GDF’s Engineer Corps to be involved in infrastructural development in the hinterland.

The GDF also intends to acquire  more aircraft and patrol vessels during the next four years.

No money to give Canecutters Christmas Bonus BUT Billions on the Militia!!

The militarization continues...National Service might be next.

I believe Mr Blood on his hands Granger did promised to restart National Service.  The Shameless House Slave  mouth NOW in he Batty!!!!!!!!!!!!

Mr.T posted:

This is very good news. The armed East Indian separatists who are hoping to align themselves with Venezuela would need putting down.

Banna, I should say Knucklehead, 

You need to stop your nonsensical racist rants against East Indians (I see you dropped the "C" word).

Who are the "armed East Indian separatists" you referring to???

By implication you suggesting that this militia is being formed to target Indians...you see the logic of your nonsense? If this is the case, then you are in essence arguing for Indians to become "separatists". Is this what you trying to say? 

I wonder which Indian bullied you during your childhood days.

Knucklehead to the nth power

Last edited by VishMahabir

These AFC/PNC skunks are allowing crime to used as a means of exterminating Indos and now the Militia. 

Please pray for our beautiful Guyana. A dark cloud is now hanging over the lives of our people.

The Militia will be used to steal ballot boxes and help with Rigging.

redux posted:

will the "Indian" nationalists who were screaming for forced conscription of Indo-Guyanese please stand up

I believe we had this discussion before Redux.

Conscription might be one method of getting Indians to join the militia, since its voluntary. But it must be conscription for all Guyanese.

Ultimately, it is the govt responsibility to ensure that outfits like the military forces maintain a level of balance. The PPP obviously failed in doing so. 

Unless you, like T-bone want to keep the forces African. 

Last edited by VishMahabir
redux posted:

will the "Indian" nationalists who were screaming for forced conscription of Indo-Guyanese please stand up

I believe we had this discussion before Redux.

Conscription might be one method of getting Indians to join the militia, since its voluntary. But it must be conscription for all Guyanese.

Ultimately, it is the govt responsibility to ensure that outfits like the military forces maintain a level of balance. The PPP obviously failed in doing so. 

Unless you, like T-bone want to keep the forces African. 

stop your nonsense! . . . CONSCRIPTION by definition means all Guyanese

asj posted:

Guyana People’s Militia re-established

Commandant of the Guyana People’s Militia, Colonel Patrick West.

The GPM was established in 1976 in accordance with the Defence Act at a time when the country had been facing internal and security threats.

What this "internal security threat?  Is it like what Walter Rodney posed?  So what, anyone challenges the PNC, it's an Internal threat?  What it worrying as the premise upon which they are establishing this force seems the same of under the old PNC.

These fools returning the country back to the failures of the Burnham days. Why indeed does Guyana need a military reserves if not as a political weapon? Are they planning to fight Venezuela  or Suriname? I doubt so. This militia will be used to harass and kill the Indian population.

RiffRaff posted:

Did you ever experienced the establishment of PNC's KSI ?

Nope...I was not into politics

All was well under Burnham

Really??  Are you an Alien from Hubu Backdam???

them bais vex with burham because they did not get enough roti,this is how burham was killing them.yugi is still malnutrition,nuhru do not care a shit he always drunk,and skeltonman was living on trench water  

RiffRaff posted:

Just when I thought I have seen it all.  You didn't have to be into politics to line up to buy food though. 

RiffRaff posted:

Just when I thought I have seen it all.  You didn't have to be into politics to line up to buy food though. 

Bibi

Some people were connected to PNC's KSI.

They did not need to line up for basic necessities like soap, cooking oil, flour, dhall, onion, garlic, washing detergent etc.

Let us not forget, line up for Gasoline, cooking gas, diesel and Kero etc. According to PNC supporter Ray, those were the golden days.

Those days are coming back. I spoke with a person in the importation of food items industry and it will happen again under PNC part 2. The government foreign currency reserves are drying up.

The PNC is already talking about rice flour.

RiffRaff posted:

for a person who had to line up for food you was fat with a thick lip

RiffRaff posted:

what's wrong with lining up for lil oil and flour...at least yuh can meet up and gyaff wid friends

ayuh people should go see what happen in India, Africa and some other places...ah bet they wish there was a line for food?

Guyanese people always think they got it bad...geez!!

RiffRaff posted:

Bibi

They did not need to line up for basic necessities like soap, cooking oil, flour, dhall, onion, garlic, washing detergent etc.

Let us not forget, line up for Gasoline, cooking gas, diesel and Kero etc. According to PNC supporter Ray, those were the golden days.

Those days are coming back. I spoke with a person in the importation of food items industry and it will happen again under PNC part 2. The government foreign currency reserves are drying up.

what you mean you low life collie is the ppp thief out the foreign currency 

RiffRaff posted:

Bibi

I remember when I was a little child, my mom used to send each of her children to buy two pounds flour as that was the maximum sold to each person.  We would end up with a few pounds then mix it with rice flour so it would last a couple more days.  You had to eat the roti fast fast before it get hard!!!

@ Ray.

India has no lines for food items. You are talking sheer nonsense.

I visited India several times and there was ZERO line up for basic food items. India has a surplus of food, your racism has blinded you to a point of sheer ignorance.

Africa, yes. There is a lot of starvation and international agencies have to donate hundred of thousands of tons of food.

Get your facts straight.

RiffRaff posted:

Bibi

I remember when I was a little child, my mom used to send each of her children to buy two pounds flour as that was the maximum sold to each person.  We would end up with a few pounds then mix it with rice flour so it would last a couple more days.  You had to eat the roti fast fast before it get hard!!!

According to Ray, everyone must line up for food and is this quite acceptable. 

@ Ray.

I visited India several times and there was ZERO line up for basic food items. India has a surplus of food, your racism has blinded you to a point of sheer ignorance.

Africa, yes. There is a lot of starvation and international agencies have to donate hundred of thousands of tons of food.

Get your facts straight.

Suh...India don't have starvation...is this anadda one of your made up stories?

RiffRaff posted:

@ Ray.

Get your facts straight.

Suh...India don't have starvation...is this anadda one of your made up stories?

You are talking sheer nonsense. India has no lines for basic food items like it happened under your PNC/KSI days.