Guyana’s First Black Business Chamber Hopes to Create Opportunities and Achieve Surety of Economic Inclusion

FLASH BACK: Attendees at the opening of Cuffy250’s Fourth Annual State of the African Guyanese Forum

Guyana is set to have its first Black business chamber aimed at promoting and sustaining the development of enterprises owned by Guyanese of African descent, the organization said in a statement.

Guyana’s First Black Business Chamber Hopes to Create Opportunities and Achieve Surety of Economic Inclusion

Guyana is set to have its first Black business chamber aimed at promoting and sustaining the development of enterprises owned by Guyanese of African descent, the organization said in a statement.

“Part of its goal is to strengthen efforts at national development and achieving surety of economic inclusion through support for the growth of private businesses owned by Guyanese of African descent,” the chamber, formally known as the African Business Roundtable (ABR), said.

The Black business chamber hopes to become “an organized conduit to government and other stakeholders in society” on behalf of Afro-Guyanese businesses with the aim of promoting the interests of those enterprises. President David Granger in August, 2016 urged the mobilization of Afro-Guyanese to achieve measurable targets in keeping with the United Nations-designated International Decade for People of African Descent.

ABR will be launched 5-7 p.m. Friday, Nov. 18, 2016, at the Marriott Hotel, Kingston, Georgetown.

It is being launched under the auspices of the African Cultural Development Association (ACDA), which has been hosting a series of planning meetings in recent months to prepare for the launch of the grouping. The ABR was formed in part out of a need to strengthen the economy of Guyana and by the urgings in the United Nations General Assembly resolutions A/Res/68/237 and A/Res/69/16 dealing with the International Decade for People of African Descent and the program of action associated with it.

“Part of its goal is to strengthen efforts at national development and achieving surety of economic inclusion through support for the growth of private businesses owned by Guyanese of African descent,” the organization said.

The chamber hopes to create opportunities for self-development and the transformation of villages into viable economic centers. The ABR also will seek to create training opportunities for members and collect, compile, analyze, disseminate and publish reliable statistical data for business decision making.

“Toward these ends, the ABR will work with all persons, organizations and institutions that seek to achieve the objectives of economic and social inclusion of people of African descent in the full enjoyment of Guyana’s patrimony in recognition of their uncompensated contribution to the development of Guyana, and in accordance with the objectives of the two UN resolutions in reference and the relevant provisions of the Guyana Constitution,” the chamber said.

The ABR is an incorporated body and will be establishing a Secretariat with full a compliment of full time staffers.

Future plans include the establishment of sub offices in various administrative regions. The organisation plans to hold outreaches with African business enterprises in the Diaspora “as the organization grows from strength to strength.”

The Black business chamber hopes to become “an organized conduit to government and other stakeholders in society” on behalf of Afro-Guyanese businesses with the aim of promoting the interests of those enterprises.

President David Granger in August, 2016 urged the mobilization of Afro-Guyanese to achieve measurable targets in keeping with the United Nations-designated International Decade for People of African Descent.

ABR will be launched 5-7 p.m. Friday, Nov. 18, 2016, at the Marriott Hotel, Kingston, Georgetown.

Guyana’s First Black Business Chamber Hopes to Create Opportunities and Achieve Surety of Economic Inclusion, By Lena D

=============================

Hopefully, the best on this venture.

Unfortunately, they don't have the knowledge base to teach each other. As I mentioned in a previous thread, they need Indo mentoring. Some of my advice to them is to reinvest the profits, not to spend it out on sporting and backballing. They always scream about how an Indian will start out as a pavement vendor and turn millionaire in 10 years. They don't realize the personal sacrifice and discipline needed to acheive this.

Personal sacrifices and discipline are indeed foremost and fundamental.

The following are a few excellent approaches to become independent --

1. Place as a minimum 20% of the profits into a special savings account, ONLY to withdraw an amount for an extraordinary event.

2. Ensure that employees are paid above the norm plus provide adequate benefits.

3. Have a saving account for general expenses and spending.

4. Provide assistance to charitable needs.

5. Etc., etc., etc..

Unfortunately, they don't have the knowledge base to teach each other. As I mentioned in a previous thread, they need Indo mentoring. .

Indians on Guyana are as poor as are blacks. What do they have to teach.  Guyana is the POOREST country in the English speaking Caribbean. Why so if Indians are so successful?  Why do so many Guyanese Indians flock to majority black islands to do menial work?

You need to keep your false notions of Indo superiority to yourself.  It is but a minute % of the Guyanese Indian population who are highly successful business people.  Why don't you ask them to mentor other Indians?

And surely you aren't pretending that every Guyanese Indian is a millionaire, not with Guyana being so abysmally poor, with one of the highest poverty rates in the Caribbean.

DG stop repeating age old myths. Indians are no more thrifty than is any one else.  Surely NOT with the rampant alcoholism which is easily visiable among low income Guyanese Indians communities, both in Guyana and in NYC. And in Guyana evidence of growing drug abuse, and related crime as we see from instances of Indo on Indo crime, with the perps stealing to feed their bad habits.

caribnySenior Member

DG stop repeating age old myths. Indians are no more thrifty than is any one else.

===========================

Caribny ... please show/demonstrate clearly where my statement(s) represent what you have explicitly stated in your comments !!

In fact the fact that I advocate development for blacks suggests that "learning" from people who are just as poor isn't a good idea.  Blind man leading blind man never results in progress.

When you tell me that Guyana is the richest CARICOM nation, and that hordes of blacks are pouring in from as far as The Bahamas, to benefit from life in this Indian paradise then we can talk.

But given that the opposite is the case I really don't see that Indians as a community have something to teach.

SUCCESSFUL business people, without regard to race certainly do. 

But seriously, some starving Indian, whose father is an alcoholic, whose son is a drug addict, whose daughter tried to commit suicide, and who can only pay the bills because family members are scrubbing floors in Trinidad, Barbados, St Kitts, St Maarten, and Tortola!  REALLY!

And in fact Ravi Dev and Prem Misir have written much on the fact that poverty among Indians is as common as it is among blacks. Less visible only because it is rural in nature.

When GIFT was launched them white mout labelled it as a racist organisation. Now we have Black Business Chamber tell me if this is not a racist organisation as the name implies. Who stop blacks from owning and operating a business successfully. Anyway I have some layman advise to give to black business:

1. Keep all family out of your business - no credit or free produce absolutely

2. Ganging up at the place of business must cease. Wuk or duck

3. Profit must be reinvested to expand products range and seek new avenues to increase profitability. Look for what is out there that can make money.

4. Kick all middlemen and smooth talkers out.

5. Don't look for another spouse or sweet man/woman when money start to flow.

6. The money is in production like farming, fishing and selling what you produce. Remember farming to make a profit is an everyday, all day occupation.

7. If you fail at start up, don't quit.

8. There are many more. But most of all  be honest, deal fair with all and don't bully anyone and give a lil something to the church.

randolph posted:

When GIFT was launched them white mout labelled it as a racist organisation. Now we have Black Business Chamber tell me if this is not a racist organisation as the name implies. Who stop blacks from owning and operating a business successfully. Anyway I have some layman advise to give to black business:

3. Profit must be reinvested to expand products range and seek new avenues to increase profitability. Look for what is out there that can make money.

6. The money is in production like farming, fishing and selling what you produce. Remember farming to make a profit is an everyday, all day occupation.

8. There are many more. But most of all  be honest, deal fair with all and don't bully anyone and give a lil something to the church.

Who is GIFT?

Indians on Guyana are as poor as are blacks. What do they have to teach.  Guyana is the POOREST country in the English speaking Caribbean. Why so if Indians are so successful?  Why do so many Guyanese Indians flock to majority black islands to do menial work?

You need to keep your false notions of Indo superiority to yourself.  It is but a minute % of the Guyanese Indian population who are highly successful business people.  Why don't you ask them to mentor other Indians?

And surely you aren't pretending that every Guyanese Indian is a millionaire, not with Guyana being so abysmally poor, with one of the highest poverty rates in the Caribbean.

I honestly feel sorry for you as continue to live in denial in an alternate universe where Blacks are the business class. 

Back in reality in our universe, the Indians in Guyana are the business class, this is a fact, look how many times you complained about the Indian business man.  Blacks seem stuck at the bottom of the ladder, not being able to progress beyond pavement seller.  They can learn a thing or two from the Indians on how to achieve this, thats all I am saying. 

You need to swallow your pride and face reality. A simple drive up the East Coast will bring this startling fact of Black under achievement.  Even a small child will tell you when you are passing a Black village vs an Indian village, from GT all the way to Rosignal based on the condition of the homes. As you pass a Black village you will see signs advertising barbecue and wine down under a run down bottom house. The Indian villages will have well maintained homes and thriving businesses.

Granted that not all Indians are wealthy, but the business class in Guyana is definitely top heavy with Indians,  

randolph posted:

Who is GIFT?

Guyana Indian Foundation Trust - Dead and buried

CaribJ 

You could have done better if you had laid out a case as to why Black Business  need to organize. However you fell into a trap and gone O to your old rant about the ills of Indians.

Business and people tend to organize when they feel marginalize.I do not fully agree that we should now have a black chamber however  I do wish them sucess.

Hopefully they can able to prosper and do  it become just another organization for the sake of race.

I honestly feel sorry for you as continue to live in denial in an alternate universe where Blacks are the business class. 

Back in the real world most Indians aren't any better off than blacks.  Most aren't rich businessmen so one can argue that they are in as much need of advice as are most blacks.

Now if Granger introduced affirmative action and forced black businesses to be given preference because every Indian is rich you would scream.  This however is where your ranting is headed when you peddle the myth that most Indians are rich and most blacks aren't.

In fact if there is a successful group in Guyana it will be the Portuguese.  They are on average considerably better off and are laughing at you.

CaribJ 

You could have done better if you had laid out a case as to why Black Business  need to organize.

Here we have druggie peddling lies about "Indian superiority". A myth that is very damaging in fact to the vast majority of Indians who are poor.

Now go ahead if Granger decides to set up affirmative action for blacks and Amerindians, that leaves Indians out in the cold.  He can use the SAME arguments which are being peddled here.

I already will hear the screams about "Is Burnham time again!"

FACT. Indians are NOT better off and in fact the RACISTS here who are engaging in their usual racist rant about the lazy, and spendthrift and undisciplined blacks need to be dealt with by YOU.

DO YOUSELF A FAVOR AND ATTACK INDIAN RACISM FOR ONCE IN YOUR PATHETIC LIFE!

Given that Indians have oodles of social pathologies I suggest that you all attend to those instead of the incessant ANTI BLACK RACISM WHICH IS PEDDLED ON THIS BLACK HATING SITE!

And yes it is the endless law on GNI, a BLACK HATING SITE, to allow all sorts of anti black stereotypes to be peddled, and then when the truth about the many social pathologies that Indians suffer from is discussed then a melt down.

If you don't want me to bring up the social problems faced by Indians then LEAVE BLACK PEOPLE THE HELL ALONE!

This is why almost NO BLACKS post on this site with its endless encouragement of insults directed against us!

CaribJ

There is racism on both sides of the aisle.

WHEN I asked you a question a few months ago,  in regards to your statement about Guyanese blacks and Indians do not mix here in NY., you correctly answered that we were only tolerating g each other I Guyana.

Unlike you I do not have to attack Indain racism ,  I attack racism period!!

Carib j  

Blacks in Guyana form a business organization  and instead of you commending g the brothers you responding to garbage by a few Indian posters with more garbage.

You like to say that only blacks should speak for blacks.As usual you are doing blacks an injustice because either you do not know anything about business or you are just playing the fool to respond to foolish idiotic rants.

You fail to acknowledge  the point I made to why organizations like these are formed by a group of people.

Where is the racism on the black side.

Look at the usual band of bandits lining up with their usual crap.

1. Black man lazy.

2. Black man stupid.

3. Black man can't do any thing without Indians.

So go right ahead and encourage Druggie with his racism which he peddles with every point of his claws.

You are setting a trap and poor Indians, who need as much help as do any, will be punished.  5% of the Indians form the business elite in Guyana, a group which can be quite exploitative, with Indians being the frequent victims.

Tell me something how many of these rich Indians are doing this to help poor Indians!

Yet Druggie brays his racist crap and YOU LET HIM GET AWAY with it!

As to Indians and  blacks mixing. I am one of the few blacks left who post on GNI. Itaname in fact was one of the last to leave. He was extremely offended by the racism here, as were Nuff and many others who eft.

So if this is the behavior of Indians, why the HELL should blacks mix with the lot of you? To be insulted! 

Listen we get enough of that from whites on a daily basis, and do not need to hear more from a group of people who are no better off.  There is NOTHING that you all can do for us in these United States of America! 

And you know what is the irony. NONE OF THE INDIAN RACISTS would have been allowed to flee to the USA but for the struggles of blacks. 

It is NO coincidence that the opening up of immigration occurred when the Civil Rights movement was active. Here we have blacks, who have suffered when bands of non white immigrants have joined whites to discriminate against them.  It is an INSULT to people like MLK that yuji, seignet and other come to North America and bray their FILTH against blacks!

And Chief maybe you should spend more time dealing with the Indian racist instead of pretending that you know anything of blacks.

If you are concerned about blacks ATTACK the Indian RACISTS!  If you don't then don't chat a thing about blacks!

CaribJ

I am pro business and this thread has to do with black people and their businesses .Currently I am member of three Chambers of Commerce in NYC. I have served on the board of two of them , I belong to several minority business and procurement councils and A few trade organizations.

In America you know how many whites envy minority owned business . 

If you care about blacks then you would have focused on their sucesses rather that worry with Indians who want to see black owned businesses fail. You are way off by choosing this thread to address Indian racists.

For a business to suceed you have to focus on your development and stop paying attention to detractors. 

CaribJ

I am pro business and this thread has to do with black people and their businesses .Currently I am member of three Chambers of Commerce in NYC. I have served on the board of two of them , I belong to several minority business and procurement councils and A few trade organizations.

In America you know how many whites envy minority owned business . 

If you care about blacks then you would have focused on their sucesses rather that worry with Indians who want to see black owned businesses fail. You are way off by choosing this thread to address Indian racists.

For a business to suceed you have to focus on your development and stop paying attention to detractors. 

Suh, yuh benefit from being a minority. That is racist.

Hey CaribJ, you should listed to Chief, he is a living example of an Indian businessman who can help Blacks and is currently helping Blacks in their endeavor.  He will agree that there are traits to building a successful business regardless of race, listed so eloquently by Randolph above in Guyanese lingo. You see my observations about Blacks as racist but a mirror does not tell lies. These are the facts, the business class in Guyana are majority Indians.   Blacks will not be able to help themselves unless they seek out the proper mentors, the blind leading the blind is pointless. In fact it was laughable when a list of young Guyanese entrepreneurs included only Blacks in the newspaper recently.  

Drugb

Unfortunately, they don't have the knowledge base to teach each other. As I mentioned in a previous thread, they need Indo mentoring. Some of my advice to them is to reinvest the profits, not to spend it out on sporting and backballing. They always scream about how an Indian will start out as a pavement vendor and turn millionaire in 10 years. They don't realize the personal sacrifice and discipline needed to acheive this.

Let me first say I am not for this kind of ethnic balkanization organizationally and institutionally because we maintain it on the political level. It does us no good

However,  you are an example why black folks thinks they need to separate themselves from bigots who would do nothing but drag them down.

You ask why a pavement dweller can turn mega rich quickly but your answer is not to opportunity meeting readiness but to some innate quality that only you have. What a tragedy. It misses smuggling, drug dealing and ethnic nepotism as a lot to do with it as well.

The unfortunate reality facing indians today is that ethnic balkanization and its now present attempt to use it for advancement more favors black people these days. Those very crass racists in this segment of the population will then say the dalits never had it in them.

Black people in guyana have no where to go but up and they will gleefully and apologetically do so stepping on the heads of those deluding themselves they are only good for a party.

Black people in guyana have no where to go but up
You ever heard of "wah rain cyant full, dew cyan't full"?

Their saviour, LFSB gave them that chance and they refused it. He warned them they will suffer.

dalits never had it in them

Nobody said coolie dalits have lazy traits in them. Coolies are always industrious people.

Skeldonape

Black people in guyana have no where to go but up You ever heard of "wah rain cyant full, dew cyan't full"? Their saviour, LFSB gave them that chance and they refused it. He warned them they will suffer. dalits never had it in them Nobody said coolie dalits have lazy traits in them. Coolies are always industrious people.

I guess you have to explain to us why in india they are still the shi.t carriers and why for 6000 years the ancestors of guyanese dalits were intractable shi.t carriers

Whether claiming pedigree or released human abilities and expectations are the relevant questions. I know you do not have the necessary answer being a shriveled old bigot.

Danyael posted:

Skeldonape

Black people in guyana have no where to go but up You ever heard of "wah rain cyant full, dew cyan't full"? Their saviour, LFSB gave them that chance and they refused it. He warned them they will suffer. dalits never had it in them Nobody said coolie dalits have lazy traits in them. Coolies are always industrious people.

I guess you have to explain to us why in india they are still the shi.t carriers and why for 6000 years the ancestors of guyanese dalits were intractable shi.t carriers

Whether claiming pedigree or released human abilities and expectations are the relevant questions. I know you do not have the necessary answer being a shriveled old bigot.

Ever think of explaining why buckman people are still addicted to alcohol? At least Indians have advanced. How far have the cannibalistic buckman advanced?

Danyael posted:

Let me first say I am not for this kind of ethnic balkanization organizationally and institutionally because we maintain it on the political level. It does us no good

However,  you are an example why black folks thinks they need to separate themselves from bigots who would do nothing but drag them down.

You ask why a pavement dweller can turn mega rich quickly but your answer is not to opportunity meeting readiness but to some innate quality that only you have. What a tragedy. It misses smuggling, drug dealing and ethnic nepotism as a lot to do with it as well.

The unfortunate reality facing indians today is that ethnic balkanization and its now present attempt to use it for advancement more favors black people these days. Those very crass racists in this segment of the population will then say the dalits never had it in them.

Black people in guyana have no where to go but up and they will gleefully and apologetically do so stepping on the heads of those deluding themselves they are only good for a party.

I seriously want Blacks in Guyana to progress as it will have a positive effect all around.  The more self sufficient Blacks are the better for the other races, as the dependency on criminal activities to make a living will go down. A prosperous Black person equates to prosperity for all Guyana.  

If you open your eyes you will see that it is a fact that Indos are the majority of the business class in Guyana and Blacks lag far behind in this area, oftentimes unable to ascend from pavement vendor to the upper echelons of the business community, or even owning a store front.  

Were you and Caribj not so afraid of your own shadow and actually visited Guyana you would see these facts for yourself. A simple drive around the country will clearly show that Blacks lag disproportionately behind the Indian in the appearance of their community characterized by run down dwellings and blight. 

Chief this thread has to do with black people.

So why the ***KKKKKK are you allowing that noted racist Druggie turn it into his usual rant about Indian superiority.

You want to know why the vast majority of blacks think that Indians are clannish.  YOUR behavior that is why!

And there you are Chief.  Benefitting from being classified as a minority owned business, and deriving benefits no doubt.

Blacks fought for YOUR right to get an opportunity, and in thinks you let that KKK racist Druggie write his usual racist poison.

No wonder the blacks in South East Queens refuse to vote for a Guyanese Indian candidate!  You grab the opportunities that blacks fought for, and lack the manners to thank them. Instead too many of you all join whites in kicking them down!

Druggie I know loads of black business people who I bet can buy and sell Chief two times over. In fact thanks to blacks Chief gets his minority business set asides which I bet he never thanked blacks for.

Blacks in NYC need NOTHING from Guyanese Indians, especially those like you who lack the manners to thank them for the opportunities that they opened up for YOU and other non whites!

Druggie I know loads of black business people who I bet can buy and sell Chief two times over. In fact thanks to blacks Chief gets his minority business set asides which I bet he never thanked blacks for.

Blacks in NYC need NOTHING from Guyanese Indians, especially those like you who lack the manners to thank them for the opportunities that they opened up for YOU and other non whites!

The discussion is relegated to Guyana only, don't tell me about Blacks overseas as they too will be outnumbered by successful Indian business folks. In Guyana it is a fact that Blacks lag far behind their Indian counterparts in the business arena, even a small child will confirm this. I have seen successful Black businesses in the rest of the Caribbean, but in Guyana it looks like you folks need a jump start to catch up with your peers. 

If you want to consider the US, you only need to look at the Black communities and see the race of the businesses that set up shop there, except for barber and hair weaving shops of course. Even the nail shops are Korean or Chinese. 

The discussion is relegated to Guyana only, don't tell me about Blacks overseas as they too will be outnumbered by successful Indian business folks. .. 

Druggie I know of a BLACK Guyanese who owns a company which does global business with revenues of almost US$200 million.  Golden Krust and Tower Isles each have revenues in excess of $60 million.  And there are many other black owned businesses like this. Black owned investment banks, corporate law firms, real estate developers, etc.

Now go tell me which one of those little nasty business on RH are any where near these.  Listen put those little roti shop owners next to these black business people and there is no doubt who will be learning, and who will be running behind to get some benefit.

You racist cockroach should crawl into a Trump rally and let them deal with you!

Drugabeer posted

I seriously want Blacks in Guyana to progress as it will have a positive effect all around.  The more self sufficient Blacks are the better for the other races, as the dependency on criminal activities to make a living will go down.

A prosperous Black person equates to prosperity for all Guyana. If you open your eyes you will see that it is a fact that Indos are the majority of the business class in Guyana and Blacks lag far behind in this area, oftentimes unable to ascend from pavement vendor to the upper echelons of the business community, or even owning a store front.

Were you and Caribj not so afraid of your own shadow and actually visited Guyana you would see these facts for yourself. A simple drive around the country will clearly show that Blacks lag disproportionately behind the Indian in the appearance of their community characterized by run down dwellings and blight.

You begin with an erroneous stereotype ie criminals are all blacks. Given the drug trade and money laundering are the dominion of the Indians I beg to differ.

I have seen guyana more than your two times and know it inside out. It is encumbered with ethnic nepotism and pay to play so it is not my bag of beans.

I am holding on to my land for a few more years. I was offered a million earlier this year in a few years I will see it go up a few more pegs. I am sinking it all into the Mediterranean coast and be dammed with all the fuss.

I am beyond wanting things. I want to see the world and to ride my bike, hike,...among other things for what remains of my healthy life.

Druggie I know of a BLACK Guyanese who owns a company which does global business with revenues of almost US$200 million.  Golden Krust and Tower Isles each have revenues in excess of $60 million.  And there are many other black owned businesses like this. Black owned investment banks, corporate law firms, real estate developers, etc.

Now go tell me which one of those little nasty business on RH are any where near these.  Listen put those little roti shop owners next to these black business people and there is no doubt who will be learning, and who will be running behind to get some benefit.

You racist cockroach should crawl into a Trump rally and let them deal with you!

ow buddy you got to bring in the Jamaicans to make your case now. We are talking about Guyanese Blacks here. I already acknowledged that Blacks in the Caribbean are a different category from those in Guyana. 

Tell us all the Blacks IN GUYANA that are running successful 200M US businesses. 

Danyael posted:

You begin with an erroneous stereotype ie criminals are all blacks. Given the drug trade and money laundering are the dominion of the Indians I beg to differ.

I have seen guyana more than your two times and know it inside out. It is encumbered with ethnic nepotism and pay to play so it is not my bag of beans.

I am holding on to my land for a few more years. I was offered a million earlier this year in a few years I will see it go up a few more pegs. I am sinking it all into the Mediterranean coast and be dammed with all the fuss.

I am beyond wanting things. I want to see the world and to ride my bike, hike,...among other things for what remains of my healthy life.

Nonsense, the majority of criminals are Blacks in Guyana, but the majority of Blacks Guyanese are not criminals.  

A perusal of my crime tracker thread will reveal the majority of criminals to be Black. 

You better pray that the PPP come back to power if you want your land to appreciate. As of now, land price is in free fall under the PNC. 

Look at Donald Trump, 70 years old and still patriotic, wanting to make America great again aka White again.   So don't come crying about you wanting to retire to a life of uselessness. 

Drugbeer

Nonsense, the majority of criminals are Blacks in Guyana, but the majority of Blacks Guyanese are not criminals. A perusal of my crime tracker thread will reveal the majority of criminals to be Black. You better pray that the PPP come back to power if you want your land to appreciate. As of now, land price is in free fall under the PNC. Look at Donald Trump, 70 years old and still patriotic, wanting to make America great again aka White again.   So don't come crying about you wanting to retire to a life of uselessness;

You believe in Donald's patriotism in spite of his racism, sexism, etc so you are no sound assessor as to who are crooks or not. Land is scarce and I have lots of it. The APNU cannot lose for winning. They have cart loads of money coming in and they alone will control it so watch coolies pleading for a morsal. That is a fact jack.  The PPP was content with stealing all of the golden eggs. Well the APNU now has the goose in hand!