Guyana’s total debt remains high despite write-offs

FEBRUARY 9, 2013 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

… stands at US$1.7B in March 2012

Finance Minister, Dr. Ashni Singh

AFC’s MP, Moses Nagamootoo

Guyana’s total public debt at March last year was a whopping US$1.7B, slightly less than the US$2.1B at 1992 when the government assumed office.
Over the years, the government, through lobbying efforts and other economic measures, had secured several debt write offs to the tune of nearly 75 per cent of the total debt which had grown significantly because of the unpaid interest charges.
Based on questions from Member of Parliament, Moses Nagamootoo of the Alliance For Change, the smaller of the two parties in the Opposition, Finance Minister, Dr. Ashni Singh on Thursday released figures on Guyana’s debts.
Nagamootoo had asked a question seeking the total public debt- both local and foreign- in the US and Guyana dollars equivalent, as at September 30, 1992.
According to the Minister, at September 30, 1992, it was US$2,087.99 M (US$2.09B). At that time the exchange rate for the US dollar was G$126. The debt was equivalent to G$263,086M.
This contrasted to March 31, 2012 when total public debt stood at US$1.743B at an exchange rate of G$204 to US$1. This was equivalent to G$355,580M.
Since assuming power in 1992, the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) has succeeded in getting some of its biggest debts written off by the US, Russia, Europe, Canada China and Libya.
This was to the tune of hundreds of millions of US dollars. The figures would suggest that Guyana has been borrowing more. In addition to several roads and sea defence projects, government is also paying back for the Skeldon Factory and a host of other initiatives.
According to Minister Singh, the total public debt stock at December 31, 2010 stood at $312,180.26M at an exchange rate of $203.50 for US$1.
“The amount of $338,432.786M cited in the question, is sourced from the central government statement of the public debt as included in the report of the Auditor General for the year ended December 31, 2010.”
The Minister said that because the statement relates to the Central Government, the amount shown would have included debts owed by the Central Government to other public sector agencies, principally debentures issued by the central government to the Bank of Guyana. It would have excluded debts owed by the Bank of Guyana and other parastatal agencies.
As at December 31, 2010, the total public debt stock stood at $350,574.81M…at an exchange rate of $203 to US$1.

Guyana public debt in 1992 = 2.1 billion

Guyana debt in 2012 = 1.7 billion

It's not the absolute debt number that matters---it's the relative public debt number.

The 1.7 billion relative to current GDP gives you a debt to GDP ratio of around 63%---that's OK

What was Guyana GDP in 1992 ?

Find that out, then calculate the debt(2.1b) to GDP ratio in 1992.

Them fellas never went through the arithmetic phase as yet. You have to say to them that the government thief the money. Both of them living in massa country and still have the nerve to come here and question the government about money. What a ****ery facing my poor soul on a cold Saturday morning.
Originally Posted by Ronald Narain:

AHA, Nagas got them!

He finally expose Aswini fuh lying to the People.

Nagas is trying to cover for his own sins that he committed in parliament. Tell Nagas to come forward with his proof and face Ashni. I would like to see Nagas and the AFC/APNU convicts the government on one single issue that concerns them. That's the day I am waiting for.

The exchange rate might be the explanation.

How so. It was 800 million US when Jagdeo step down now just a few years after it is 1.7 billion us.  We are not talking Guyana dollars here.

Guyana’s total public debt at March last year was a whopping US$1.7B, slightly less than the US$2.1B at 1992 when the government assumed office.

Over the years, the government, through lobbying efforts and other economic measures, had secured several debt write offs to the tune of nearly 75 per cent of the total debt which had grown significantly because of the unpaid interest charges.

Guyana's debt, when the PPPC became the Government in 1992, was about 90% of the GDP.

Originally Posted by Prashad:

The exchange rate might be the explanation.

How so. It was 800 million US when Jagdeo step down now just a few years after it is 1.7 billion us.  We are not talking Guyana dollars here.

Then they must be spending themselves rich by borrowing more and not paying the interests. Rev might be able to shed some light here. He is the numbers Guru.

I may be wrong but wasn't the debt 800 million when Jagdeo left office how come it now 1.7 billion.

Prasad:

Don't you understand that to increase the level of economic activity in a country you need to increase the level of credit and by so doing debt will grow in tandem.

Listen! You have good debt and you have bad debt---right now Guyana is taking on good debt.

One more thing--it is not the absolute debt---that 1.7b figure that matters---it's the relative debt---debt relative to GDP that matters----and right now Guyana's public debt to GDP is only 63%----Guyana is in good shape.

Originally Posted by Rev Al:

I may be wrong but wasn't the debt 800 million when Jagdeo left office how come it now 1.7 billion.

Prasad:

Don't you understand that to increase the level of economic activity in a country you need to increase the level of credit and by so doing debt will grow in tandem.

Listen! You have good debt and you have bad debt---right now Guyana is taking on good debt.

One more thing--it is not the absolute debt---that 1.7b figure that matters---it's the relative debt---debt relative to GDP that matters----and right now Guyana's public debt to GDP is only 63%----Guyana is in good shape.

Teach them Rev, teach them. I just saw TK outside Liberty Express taking Notes.

No you don't. Germany Brazil, and China sure don't use that formula of yours.

but debt is debt. It comes with interest.  I may be uneducated but I read in a magazine that the investor Warren Buffet became wealthy by buying companies with low share price that have very little or zero debt.  So from 800 million debt that Jagdeo left Guyana with to 1.7 billion in debt now.  That has to be more interest Guyana has to pay back. 

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Mr T, Gwan so, every Country  has debt. The GREAT USA has the LARGEST on the Planet.

No you don't. Germany Brazil, and China sure don't use that formula of yours.

Prasad:

Rev. What a bout the exchange rate.

When PNC was in gov't the rate was $126. PPP $204. You call yourself a numbers man, so tell us the econimic factors that are good under the PPP that made the value of the $G drop so badly against the $US.

The US Japan, UK, Greece, Spain: poor economic activity and massive debts. That's sufficient evidence to disregard the suggestion that it would create more economic activity.

Mr. T:

Check this:

* Japan's public debt to GDP is 235%

* Greece's public debt to GDP is 153%

* The US public debt to GDP is over 106%

* The UK public debt to GDP is bearing 90%

http://www.gfmag.com/gdp-data-...s.html#axzz2KQv5QggH

Did you see those public debt to GDP numbers Mr. T ?

Now Mr. T, when additional credit and debt provides diminishing returns in growth---like Japan, Greece, the US, the UK--that is when a country has to cut back on debt growth and spending.

In the case of Guyana, with a public debt to GDP ratio of 63%--there is room for more credit and more debt---at this stage more credit and more debt will contribute to contibnued growth in Guyana.

The US Japan, UK, Greece, Spain: poor economic activity and massive debts. That's sufficient evidence to disregard the suggestion that it would create more economic activity.

Mr. T:

Check this:

* Japan's debt to GDP is 235%

* Greece's debt to GDP is 153%

http://www.gfmag.com/gdp-data-...s.html#axzz2KQv5QggH

Did you see those public debt to GDP numbers Mr. T ?

Now Mr. T, when additional credit and debt provides diminishing returns in growth---like Japan, Greece, the US, the UK--that is when a country has to cut back on debt growth and spending.

In the case of Guyana, with a public debt to GDP ratio of 63%--there is room for more credit and more debt---at this stage more credit and more debt will contribute to contibnued growth in Guyana.

rEV, i HNOPE mR t AND tk WHO IS BUST TAKING nOTES WILL PAY YOU FOR THIS eDUCATION.

simple question for the simple minded (copy & paste) maven rev al

Why is Japan's debt to GDP ratio 'sustainable' and Greece's is not?

i know these basic things give u a headache, but humor me lil man

Japan Infrastructue is already in place. It's Industralisation capacity is well established.

===

rEV, i HNOPE mR t AND tk WHO IS BUST TAKING nOTES WILL PAY YOU FOR THIS eDUCATION.

Nehru:

TK said he is writing a book---dont be surprised to see him copy and pastes some of the useful knowledge he picks up on GNI.hahahahahaha

Listen! The Rev challenged TK to debate an issue recently---the man said he gets paid to teach and write economics---and he refused to debate---but in the meantime he sends his alter ego redux to talk about antiman and other nonsense on this forum.

TK delights in labelling posters on this forum as having low IQ and low intelligence--the truth is TK is a DUNCE---he is a UG graduate who went on to 3rd rate schools like Manchester and New School in NY---he is a 3rd rate/3cents economics Phd who has no business berating others about intelligence and IQ.

===

Nehru:

TK said he is writing a book---dont be surprised to see him copy and pastes some of the useful knowledge he picks up on GNI.hahahahahaha

Listen! The Rev challenged TK to debate an issue recently---the man said he gets paid to teach and write economics---and he refused to debate---but in the meantime he sends his alter ego redux to talk about antiman and other nonsense on this forum.

TK delights in labelling posters on this forum as having low IQ and low intelligence--the truth is TK is a DUNCE---he is a UG graduate who went on to 3rd rate schools like Manchester and New School in NY---he is a 3rd rate/3cents economics Phd who has no business berating others about intelligence and IQ.

I had the opportunity to deal with many PHds and I tell you 90% of them are PURE *******S.

Japan Infrastructue is already in place. It's Industralisation capacity is well established.

FAIL . . . go to the back of the class moron

rev?

rev?

HEHEHE Like the Pickney dem gat to teach deh Techa.

rev?

u are dismissed . . . stop wasting everybody's time

rev?

rev?

rev?

So let me get this straight, Japan's Infrastructure development and Industralisation Capacity are NOT factors to sustain a high Debt Ration????? Over to you Professor.

===

TK:

You have asked an intelligent question which any freshman taking Econ 101 ought to be able to answer.

You see TK, like the US, Japan controls its own currency---it has its own central bank--that means no matter how high Japan's debt to GDP is---a debt default is impossible.

Greece doesn't have a central bank---their debt and interest burdens are therefore a problem.

Another thing regarding Japan, even thought it's debt to GDP is 235%---about half of it is owed to the central bank--what that means is that the interest on that debt owed to the central bank goes back to the treasury.

In the United States---our treasury now receives 80 billion annually from debt held by the Fed.

Good question TK/redux---the freshman students you teach in Econ 101 could have helped you out.

rev?

rev?

So let me get this straight, Japan's Infrastructure development and Industralisation Capacity are NOT factors to sustain a high Debt Ration????? Over to you Professor.

there are a million "factors" . . . nice try @ recovery

doesn't address my question; go suck on a beer . . . nurse your shame

rev?

rev?

So there are 1000 answers and I gave TWO, more than you can come up with. Why should I be ashamed?????

rev?

rev?

So there are 1000 answers and I gave TWO, more than you can come up with. Why should I be ashamed?????

u didn't give me 2; i'll explain later if i have time u dunce

where is rev? . . . it shouldn't take this much time to google up an answer

especially for a veteran "investment banker" cum "numbers man" who splashed the relevant data on this thread with such panache

rev?

rev?

u didn't give me 2; i'll explain later if i have time u dunce

where is rev? . . . it shouldn't take this much time to google up an answer

especially for a veteran "investment banker" cum "numbers man" who splashed the relevant data on this thread with such panache

Bannas, You really is a Professor or you play one on TV???

During the economic boom a few years ago a man's dead dog was offered a credit card.

http://www.globalpost.com/disp...ffered-credit-card-0

These greedy bankers think up all types of stories to get people and governments to borrow money.  It is the interest that they are after that keeps people and countries in debt forever.  There is no good or bad debt.  There is only bad debt and the problems that it brings.  Even a dunce fool like me can see that.

During the economic boom a few years ago a man's dead dog was offered a credit card.

These greedy bankers think up all types of stories to get people and governments to borrow money.  It is the interest that they are after that keeps people and countries in debt forever.  There is no good or bad debt.  There is only bad debt and the problems that it brings.  Even a dunce fool like me can see that.

Bhai, You cant compare Consumer Debt to National Debt.

Okay. Nehru go tell that to them people in Iceland. I work with a girl from Iceland she said that they grab all them greedy bankers and throw them ass in jail.

@ rev,

i see u run away . . . so i'll have mercy

the simple answer is that Japan's debt is [more than 90%] held domestically, availing that country all the monetary tools of a sovereign to manage any crisis [yess . . . actually producing stuff that other countries want, high savings rate, and no problem selling looow yield bonds help a lot] 

As part of the eurozone, those monetary tools are not available to the Greeks who, like Guyanese, produce precious little that anybody wants

feel free to apply these basics to the US, with an understanding that the $US is [still] the world's reserve currency . . . and 'analysis' of your numbers will be more productive

maybe then we'll be able to talk intelligently about Guyana ["good debt;" "bad debt," etc.] eh bai?