Can you think of the first toy you received as a little child in Guyana.? Do you remember Long Lady and Bull Cow masquerade bands?? What about the smell of Ice Apple and grapes that linger all along on Water Street. Days before Xmas we would have the wooden furniture re polish with French Polish, new window blinds were sewn , some people would White Wash their pailing fences.My parents would take me for window shopping , along Water Street to stores such as Bookers, Sanbach Parker, Betting Courts and Forgety so I can select one toy, then to top it off we would go to Brown Betty and have Chicken -in -ruff and a cold ice cream. The lights in Georgetown was colourful ,the sound of carol singing.Those were the good old days.

With the very cold weather and lots of snow, when will you Guyanese stop talking of Jagdeo and Granger and be ready for the Xmas Holidays. By now you are suppose to have your fruits soaked in good old Guyana Rum ,unless you are a last minute shopper, gifts are all rapped and under the tree. Even , Georgetown is lit up and the people are busy shopping, so let's jingle the bells and be merry.

There were no boundaries when celebrating Christmas, Hindus and Muslims all join with our Christian brothers in celebrating this festive season. The smell of freshly bakes cakes, sorrell drinks,imported chocolates , the little boys with their toy cap guns, the girls with their dolls and the transistor radios belting Christmas songs. It is the only holiday that would last for almost a month from start to finish.

We had a clay oven and many neighbors came over on Christmas Eve to bake, the smell was heavenly. Before we went to bed, Mom told us to line up our cups on the dining table. Christmas morning, we raced to see what we got! The girls got balloons and little dolls; the boys got toy cars and soldiers. Later in the day we all helped prepare dhall puri, duck curry, biganee, etc. Then relatives came from faraway villages. An aunt took her husband's drink by mistake, got tipsy and danced nonstop all afternoon to Sundar Popo's songs.  My little brother stole the rum bottle, took a few drinks, got drunk and called my dad out to the street, 'if you think you a bad man, come out.' Dad went out with his belt, gave him a few lashes, he cried and went to bed.  We met this summer and talked about all this, laughing uncontrollably.

Christmas was indeed a true celebration of the Birth of Lord Jesus Christ.

Every single person celebrated Christmas regardless of religion. From singing Christmas Carols at School and listening to Christmas songs on the radio. It really set the mood for the Season.

Hanging stockings for Santa to leave his gifts and the excitement on Christmas morning as we opened up our gifts while "santa" grinned. Cooking many vegetarian meals and yes, mom made an excellent vegetarian cake.

Excitement filled the air with music blasting and there was an air of excitement in every home.

I miss those days. I still put up the Christmas tree and santa still brings gifts for my children. I play christmas carols on Christmas morning. "Away in a manger no crib for a bed but little lord Jesus laid down his sweet head."

Christmas is special and will be that way to eternity as we celebrate the birth of God's best son.

Christmas was indeed a true celebration of the Birth of Lord Jesus Christ.

Every single person celebrated Christmas regardless of religion.

Poor Prashad just got a heart attack  at the public acknowledgement that his Indians, rather than remaining "pure" degrade themselves with this manifestation of "vulgar pirate culture".

Bhia - it's Bettencourts not Betting Courts.  But I am sure you knew that!:):)

When you reach my age , you will make many more mistakes, but thanks.

And bhaiya, it's Fogarty's not Forgety. But I recognize your slip of the finger rather than a lapse of the mind. 

Now, to our Christmas business: My earliest recollection of a toy? A gleaming blue-barrel Lone Star revolver/ cap gun. It might have been bought at Sattaur's shop on the sugar estate road, the same one you used to ride your Big Ben on. 

Food? Well, as you know, we Injuns cook fowl curry and dhal puri every notable holiday. In addition, in the mid-1950s as I remember, me mumma used to bake Christmas cake in those oval-shaped Marshal sardine cans within the fireside. Other neighbours in Pasture baked the same kinda cake. I could tell from the shape of the slices they exchanged with us.

The people of Guyana are now grieving as the paradise left by the ppp is now turned into paradise lost.  According to Granger's thought process:

"It Is Better To Reign In Hell Than To Serve In Heaven"

Oh Lordy, Drugb will not enjoy Christmas this year. In the spirit of the season, I wish you a Merry Xmas 2020!!!

Bhia - it's Bettencourts not Betting Courts.  But I am sure you knew that!:):)

When you reach my age , you will make many more mistakes, but thanks.

And bhaiya, it's Fogarty's not Forgety. But I recognize your slip of the finger rather than a lapse of the mind. 

Now, to our Christmas business: My earliest recollection of a toy? A gleaming blue-barrel Lone Star revolver/ cap gun. It might have been bought at Sattaur's shop on the sugar estate road, the same one you used to ride your Big Ben on. 

Food? Well, as you know, we Injuns cook fowl curry and dhal puri every notable holiday. In addition, in the mid-1950s as I remember, me mumma used to bake Christmas cake in those oval-shaped Marshal sardine cans within the fireside. Other neighbours in Pasture baked the same kinda cake. I could tell from the shape of the slices they exchanged with us.

It's Sandbach Parker.  Not Sanbach Parker.  Look like him parents never took him to JP Santos though.  Dem wuz dayz!!

I'm not ashamed to admit: My parents never took me to see Santa Claus in Georgetown. Working-class father with limited income from the sugar factory. But I remember seeing pictures of that big-smiling white-bearded fat man in the papers. We called him Fadda Krismus.

Gilly, you ever put on Costume and dance Krismus Eve night to collect money?? When Uncle Nehru put on he facee and Dress and gone guh Masquerade Christmas Eve, he does mek enough to buy likka and ingredients for the evening Cookup. Sardine was a must in the cook up with salted Beef and Pig Tail . One too Binnie does come eat and Uncle Nehru does tell dem, once yuh eat Uncle Nehru Food, you gat to pay by  hook or crook.

Gilly, you ever put on Costume and dance Krismus Eve night to collect money??[No, sir.]

When Uncle Nehru put on he facee [Now, this is an interesting word. For the benefit of young folks reading this thread, a facee was a face mask, like the ones worn on Halloween. The kids of my generation got those masks at Christmas. I got a facee too but I can't remember who/what it represented.]

Gilly, you ever went to the now Guyana Stores and peep Playboy Magazine, it used to be in the men Dept??

I didn't have to go to Bookers aka Guyana Stores for that. My uncle, in whose home I stayed, bought them regularly. When he was not at home I took them out of his desk drawer and feasted.

Or you go to Sangam on Regent St

Christmas week, the entire house and yard were cleaned thoroughly, the living room floor polished, etc. One Christmas Eve, the floor was still slippery, Mom put away the freshly baked cakes, and we all went to bed. Suddenly we heard a loud fall. Dad went to steal cake and forgot about the slippery floor. We laughed for days. Of course Mom yelled at him that the cakes were for Christmas Day.    

Do you recall the loud bang of carbon in bamboo tube or in tin cup with a lid ,as well as the lighting of squib . Most of all we look forward for that piece of ice apple , a slice of the fruit cake and ginger beer. I remember going to three Christmas parties, one at school, two at the Junior Staff Club and the third at the Senior Staff Club at the Uitvlugt Sugar Estate. One year I received a battery operated toy and a friend came over to have a play and broke the toy on Xmas day, well I sulked all day.