This is how our ancestors eat with their hand as an "eating utensil". The plate is a whole "banana leaf" spread on the table while they feast. The food is plentiful and there are more varieties than "Guyana seven curry". They will lick their "hand and fingers" as many do in Guyana. People say the food don't taste good if you don't eat with you fingers and lick-up your hand from the elbow up. How many of you "chate" after eating?
TI (Guest)
You eat with your foot?
This is a scene from Guyana at a "jandi" house where people are eating in a "purine leaf" and used their "hand" as an eating utensil. Well, I have never seen such big leaves before that you can hardly see the seven curry. Ok, we can all agree on one thing that we can't run away from our culture. Many say our eating habit is disgusting, but they can**** ** ***, well, you know what.
[quote]People say the food don't taste good if you don't eat with you fingers and lick-up your hand from the elbow up. [quote]
We've already established that yuh can't lick yuh elbow. Try it, and come back tell we if you can.
quote:Originally posted by TI:
You eat with your foot?
You need to behave yourself and give some consideration. Please!!!
TI (Guest)
What's disgusting about eating with your hand? I bet you does eat roti with a knife and fork!
Love eating from that leaf
TI (Guest)
Leaves more expensive that plates nowadays!
quote:Originally posted by Riya:
Love eating from that leaf
Riya, I think the last time I ate from a leaf was about 30 years ago!
Leaves more expensive that plates nowadays!
I see some nice lily leaves here but I'm afraid of mr. alligator!
quote:Originally posted by Miraver:
Riya, I think the last time I ate from a leaf was about 30 years ago!
I did 6 years ago in Guyana
What's disgusting about eating with your hand? I bet you does eat roti with a knife and fork!
Do you eat with your foot?
Riya, my calculation with my leaf eating experience is off...the last time was about 27 years ago!
TI (Guest)
Weddings in Queens now include the cultural sanctity of leaves. They sell them on Liberty Ave.
Garland is another tradition that came from Mother India, and it lives as fresh as the day begins. It's way to show respect and devotion. Guyana president Bharat Jagdeo is seen receiving a Garland around his neck. This custom is done by Indo-Guyanese. The fist Blackman to receive a Garland is Prime Minister Sam Hinds. Why? Because he's Blackman with Indian feelings. Meaning? Dhall bathe and choka.
what about hug and kiss .it came from the mafia i believe.
quote:Originally posted by Cobra:quote:Originally posted by TI:
Do you eat with your foot?
Don't know about you two guys... I eat with my mouth.
Cobra - TI is being funny.
quote:there is somebody in dat picha dat look 'knowing'
meh know that gyal a front next to the guy
Not to put a damper on the proceedings...but since when and why does Guyana's culture start here? Is that not a bit presumptuous?...the question is what is Guyana's culture..does it have one or does it have a communal space where many cultures meet and some mixing occurs but no homogeneity emerging? Is there a germinating hybridity in the interstitial cultural spaces per bhabha in Guyana or simply the domination of one creed of the rest?
Unfortunately, the Spanish has done it to the indigenous people of Mexico and Central America. Whites has done it to Canada and the US and East Indian is not the first culture of Guyana.
Bookman (Guest)
Cobra says:
Not true, Cobra. I don't know who was the first Afro-Guyanese to receive a garland, but I know that the late Forbes Burnham used to be garlanded a lot whenever he toured predominantly East Indian communities. And that was long before Sam Hinds.
quote:The fist Blackman to receive a Garland is Prime Minister Sam Hinds. Why? Because he's Blackman with Indian feelings.
Not true, Cobra. I don't know who was the first Afro-Guyanese to receive a garland, but I know that the late Forbes Burnham used to be garlanded a lot whenever he toured predominantly East Indian communities. And that was long before Sam Hinds.
quote:Originally posted by Cobra:
Garland is another tradition that came from Mother India, and it lives as fresh as the day begins. It's way to show respect and devotion. Guyana president Bharat Jagdeo is seen receiving a Garland around his neck. This custom is done by Indo-Guyanese. The fist Blackman to receive a Garland is Prime Minister Sam Hinds. Why? Because he's Blackman with Indian feelings. Meaning? Dhall bathe and choka.
Do You think Jagdeo like being so close to a Woman... just asking
My People got to love them..
This is a scene from Guyana at a "jandi" house where people are eating in a "purine leaf" and used their "hand" as an eating utensil. Well, I have never seen such big leaves before that you can hardly see the seven curry. Ok, we can all agree on one thing that we can't run away from our culture. Many say our eating habit is disgusting, but they can**** ** ***, well, you know what.
amen
quote:Originally posted by Bookman:
Cobra says:quote:The fist Blackman to receive a Garland is Prime Minister Sam Hinds. Why? Because he's Blackman with Indian feelings.
Correction: Sam is first Afro-Guyanese that I know of.
quote:Because he's Blackman with Indian feelings
Cobra, dis is rale schupidness!
Bless your heart!
What are Indian feelings?
quote:Do You think Jagdeo like being so close to a Woman... just asking
Please don't follow the story tellers and belittle the president.
Anybody??quote:Originally posted by antabanta:
like when I feel like eating dhall and rice
quote:Originally posted by antabanta:Anybody??quote:Originally posted by antabanta:
Anta, Cobra is selective with the questions he answers. Please discount that comment he made as "maximum level schuppidness"
TI (Guest)
quote:Originally posted by Riya:
Ah, I misunderstood the question. I was thinking more of touching, not eating!
But then again.....
And how do you label it if you feel like eating cookup? Or pepperpot? Or chowmein?quote:Originally posted by Riya:
rant.. like you still in that feisty moodquote:Originally posted by Miraver:quote:Originally posted by antabanta:Anybody??quote:Originally posted by antabanta:
Anta, Cobra is selective with the questions he answers. Please discount that comment he made as "maximum level schuppidness"
quote:Originally posted by antabanta:And how do you label it if you feel like eating cookup? Or pepperpot? Or chowmein?quote:Originally posted by Riya:
non indian?
When I eat salad I feel white
(I'm just messing with you )
I thought you were flirting.quote:Originally posted by Riya:
non indian?
When I eat salad I feel white
(I'm just messing with you )
quote:Originally posted by antabanta:
I thought you were flirting.
Right!
I think this is an elevated latrine for style and comfort.
dats ah fowl pen...rass man...ayuh post pictures and don't have ah clue
267 online (0 members
267 guests)