NEW YORK DAILY NEWS

Tenants of 90-36 149th St. say landlord Zara Realty illegally charged them lump-sum rents for repairs

Rent-stabilized Jamaica tenants sue landlord; they say he boosted rents to force them out

Sarah Brooks and Nelson Lopez are among the tenants suing the landlord of their Jamaica building, charging unfair rent hikes.
More than 40 longtime Jamaica tenants are suing their landlord for charging them large lump sums for building improvements they claim were never adequately made, in an effort to force them out of their homes.
Residents of 90-36 149th St., which is owned by Zara Realty Holding Corp., said their rent shot up thousands of dollars this year after the state approved a hike for rent-stabilized tenants.

It was granted because Zara claimed to have installed a new roof and repaired the building’s brick exterior. But landlords are only allowed to raise rents 6% annually for rent-stabilized tenants, according to the tenants’ lawyers — not ask for one bulk payment.

Repeated attempts to confirm the law with the state Division of Housing and Community Renewal were rebuffed.

“The landlord is asking for things he’s not entitled to ask for,” said Maureen Hussain, a law school graduate working on the case with the Catholic Migration Office. “It makes it hard for people to live in their own homes.”

Her office, which provides free legal advice to immigrants, and Queens Legal Services sued Zara on Dec. 16 for charging tenants more than what the landlord was entitled to collect upfront and for billing residents for repairs. They have also appealed the rent increase decision.

Tenants said Zara unfairly charged them $145 to replace windows that were broken during work on the building’s exterior. “It’s just ridiculous,” said outraged resident Robert Chase, 49, who refused to pay the fee.

George Subraj, one of Zara’s owners, said tenants are responsible for broken inner windows as opposed to exterior panes.

But if they were damaged during repairs, he said residents shouldn’t have to pay damages. “We shall have to investigate,” Subraj said. He also said Zara was entitled to the entire rent increase up-front and even offered tenants a 25% discount if they paid in full. Then he backtracked and said the full amounts were put in tenants’ bills so Zara could keep track of what each resident owes. Subraj changed his tune again and said Zara is now reviewing residents’ bills. “We can bill them if they’re accountable,” he said. But tenant Sarah Brooks, 65, who has lived in the building for more than 30 years, said these big bills are a way for Zara to get rid of rent-stabilized tenants who can’t afford the payments. “He’s trying to force everybody out so he can get higher rents for apartments,” Brooks said.

ctrapasso@nydailynews.com Twitter.com/claretra
Read more: http://www.nydailynews.com/new...997370#ixzz1i88JUaWn

Tenants in one apartment complex in Jamaica have filed suit against their landlord, alleging unfair and repeated rent increases and a laundry list of basic repairs left disregarded.

“A lot of people are moving out of the building,” said Nelson Lopez, a tenant in the complex located at 90-36 149th Street. “Some people just can’t pay the rent because the landlord keeps raising it.”

Among the host of complaints, tenants say they live with vermin, leaky roofs, mold, rotting cabinets, cracked floors, broken locks and inadequate heat.

George Subraj, president of Zara Realty manages the building complex.
Some tennants are worst than Pigs and stray dogs. i was in one of Zara's building on Sunday sporting and you can eat from the floors. As soon as you enter the Bldg you see nothing but beauty. Being a landlord in NY is not easy. My Hats off to the Zara Group.
The landlord always takes the bad rap. Sometimes they buy these buildings for exorbitant prices and have no choice but to raise the rent to cover expenses. As many of you who own homes would know, it could be a money pit and rent never really covers total expense. After all being a landlord is a business and not charity. I empathize with the tenants but the cost of living in the NY area is really over the top and maybe it is time that many move to what they can afford rather than ride the businessman because of rent control.
Originally posted by Nehru:
Some tennants are worst than Pigs and stray dogs. i was in one of Zara's building on Sunday sporting and you can eat from the floors. As soon as you enter the Bldg you see nothing but beauty. Being a landlord in NY is not easy. My Hats off to the Zara Group.
so you is one of those animal that eat on floors.or you saying that because the man give the ppp money
I would never be a landlord in Queens. The tenants know all the tricks in the book to avoid paying rent. One smashed the glass door in a drunken fit and then sue the landlord for damages arising from broken glass door. Usually you have to pay them $7 or $8K to move out.
Queens Tenants Tell Abusive Landlord: No More Illegal Displacements!

A group of 46 Queens tenants from a large apartment residence in Jamaica have filed a joint lawsuit in Supreme Court, Queens County, against their landlords, alleging repeated and systemic violations of the New York Rent Stabilization Law, Consumer Protection Act, and NYC Tenant Protection Act designed to effectively force them from their homes to make way for higherincome tenants. The plaintiffs are represented by the Catholic Migration Office and Queens Legal
Services (a program of Legal Services NYC).
These current and former tenants of 90-36 149th Street are largely low-income, hard-working Latino immigrants, many of whom are elderly. For more than 10 years, they have endured a barrage of unlawful rent increases and illegal charges, all the while struggling to have the landlord conduct basic repairs.
Tenants who have been forced out of the building have seen their apartments immediately renovated and
marketed to other consumers as “luxury rentals.”
According to the 149th Street tenants’ complaint, the defendant landlords, Jamaica Seven LLC and Zara Realty, have engaged in a pattern of fraudulent and harassing tactics such as threats of eviction and improper rent demands; disturbing tenants to gain access to their apartments without prior notice or valid reason; and a host of illegal or excessive fees charged as additional rent, including air conditioning charges and legal fees. The 149th Street tenants have lived with vermin, a leaking roof, mold, rottingcabinets, cracked floors, broken locks, missing or broken appliances, and inadequate heat in the cold winter months. Even when efforts have been made to meet basic health and safety standards, the defendants have often had the audacity to pass the cost on to the tenants; for example, charging residentsfor the replacement of windows broken by the defendants’ own employees
“The harassment and illegal practices of this landlord represent a serious threat to the preservation of affordable housing in New York City. By filing this lawsuit and standing up to their abusive landlord,these tenants have a taken a courageous step not only to protect their rights but to draw attention to a much larger problem,” said Robert McCreanor of the Catholic Migration Office. “Unfortunately, it is all too common for recent immigrants and other vulnerable peoples to suffer from illegal and abusive practices such as these. The Catholic Migration Office stands with these low-income tenants and others whose human dignity demands fairness and justice in housing.” 149th Street tenant Nelson Lopez adds, “A lot of people are moving out of the building. Some people just can't pay the rent because [the landlord] keeps raising the rent and he isn't giving these people a chance…I don't like the way this guy is treating us, the tenants. He doesn't talk to people nicely, and he harasses us.
He is trying to get money from us that he doesn't deserve. He claims that he is making repairs but he isn't fixing anything!” Fellow 149th Street tenant Douglas Brooks notes, “It’s always something with this landlord. Every week,
tenants are being harassed. Since this landlord bought the building, the rent bills have more and more charges, adding something on to our rent every month. He's been really unfair to everybody…lots of tenants are moving out because of the harassment.”
Queens Legal Services Housing Rights Project Director Ann Ascher states, “The landlords in this case have extensive real estate holdings across Queens and Nassau counties, and the harassment suffered by our clients is likely being experienced by tenants in numerous different apartment buildings they own and manage. Their business model requires that, in order to make a profit, they must violate our tenant protection laws by effectively forcing low-income people out of their homes. These tenants are taking action not only to defend their own rights but to send a message that such actions cannot and will not betolerated.”

http://www.legalservicesnyc.or...ase%2012-20-2011.pdf
Originally posted by BGurd_See:
The landlord always takes the bad rap. .

These guys have owned these buildings for years. Now why dont you pay high rents for rats, no heat and shabby buildings if you think thats OK.
Originally posted by caribj:

These guys have owned these buildings for years. Now why dont you pay high rents for rats, no heat and shabby buildings if you think thats OK.

Typical renter's opinion. If ever you were a landlord you would think otherwise. This is the problem with you freedom fighters, you own nothing so you don't have the proper perspective.
Typical renter's opinion. .

I see you are a slumlord. Pity you relish that opinion of yourself.

If you had more respect you would know that well maintained buildings attract a better quality tenant. Higher rents and less building maintenance and less $$$ spent to rid your building of undesiarbles. Clearly you dont own investment property or you would know this.

Now quality tenants have heard of Zara Realty so he will have to be content with Section 8 folks. Maybe we will soon hear of a shooting in one of these buildings because that is who he will attract. Not decent people.

Have you ever went into his building?
Originally posted by Sledgehammer:
Have you ever went into his building?

No need to. Dont want any rats to bite me.

Well, then you talking out yuh Indo-hating rear end. Alyuh stay right up deh and deal wid dem white cops. We gon fix tings down diss end.

Well, then you talking out yuh Indo-hating rear end. .

I see that because I dont endorse a slum lord I am an Indo hater. Now what about his Indo tenants? Dont they deserve a proper place to live?

Well, then you talking out yuh Indo-hating rear end. .

I see that because I dont endorse a slum lord I am an Indo hater. Now what about his Indo tenants? Dont they deserve a proper place to live?

Well before yuh jump pon da band wagon, at least visit an see wah di row is about, den talk. You are a racist, you cannot wait to jump on any info critical of any Indian anywhere. YOU ARE A RACIST. Now stay da side.
before Zara owned these buildings they were dumps, festering the most abusive tenants and I seen Zara turn these buildings around . When bought these buildings they spent years in LT courts to get unpaid rents etc. Buildings have a life cycle and at the end to cycle they require upgrading and this costs money . Owning multi dwellings in NYC is hard when the political , legal and social services organizations and groups are anti landlord. If Zara increased rents beyond the allowable DHCR would stop him and penalize him so one has to take these stories with a pinch of salt. Zara has done an excellent job making this holdings prizes while other landlords in the area have their buildings in far worse condition.
Originally posted by kidmost:
before Zara owned these buildings they were dumps, festering the most abusive tenants and I seen Zara turn these buildings around . When bought these buildings they spent years in LT courts to get unpaid rents etc. Buildings have a life cycle and at the end to cycle they require upgrading and this costs money . Owning multi dwellings in NYC is hard when the political , legal and social services organizations and groups are anti landlord. If Zara increased rents beyond the allowable DHCR would stop him and penalize him so one has to take these stories with a pinch of salt. Zara has done an excellent job making this holdings prizes while other landlords in the area have their buildings in far worse condition.

Tek day coolie hatin' racist (Caribj) up deh leh he see.
You are a racist,.

This from the man who says that blacks are lazy and violent hooligans whose only purpose in life is to live off Indo charity or attack them for it. And who suggested that they ought to learn how to work like Indians.

You are a true racist if you dont realize how racist those comments are.
before Zara owned these buildings they were dumps, .

So this means he is allowed to keep them in that condition. OK I understand. Slummy buildings = slummy tenants so why the shock when they dont pay their rent or destroy the building.

What a racist jackass. Is datt wah da man said?
[What a racist jackass. Is datt wah da man said?

I have more faith in remarks made by tenants who live IN THE BUILDINGS vs Kidmost he might have his own reasons to endorse Zara.

Now celebrate these rat infested "luxury" buildings.

sledge you are funnier when you are screaming how lazy and violent blacks are and that their only ambition is to slaughter Indos.
[What a racist jackass. Is datt wah da man said?

I have more faith in remarks made by tenants who live IN THE BUILDINGS vs Kidmost he might have his own reasons to endorse Zara.

Now celebrate these rat infested "luxury" buildings.

sledge you are funnier when you are screaming how lazy and violent blacks are and that their only ambition is to slaughter Indos.

Mi deh down hay bai, me gatt about 35% Afro friends, i work with Afro every day and have much respect for the hardworking ones. Alyuh deh in America bringing yuh racism down hey. Tek alyuh out of it, we gon wuk good wit local Afros for a bettah Guyana. Alyuh gwan da side and stay deh.
pLUS AND mINUS,this Landlord and Family are doing some big Subtraction for us Guyanese,fix what they have before they publicise themselves all over the place (Charitable Work Etc.)
Man take a bloody walk to Zara building at 165 and Hillside and then come back and talk. Al Yuh Hate to see People PROGRESS in this World. It does EAT Al YUh pun the inside!!!!!
Originally posted by creative:
pLUS AND mINUS,this Landlord and Family are doing some big Subtraction for us Guyanese,fix what they have before they publicise themselves all over the place (Charitable Work Etc.)
you quite right Badlu"take a walk"All that glitter is not gold.But for you "Do not judge the Book by its cover"This specific Bldg 165 Street and Hillside house the Main Office for Zara,the outside and immediatly inside surroundings are well kept,

Mi deh down hay bai, me gatt about 35% Afro friends, i work with Afro every day and have much respect for the hardworking ones. .

Your ranting about Afro laziness and violence has been written all over GNI. If you wish to retract those remarks feel free but its way too late to hide your basic disrespect for AfroGuyanese.
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Nehru:
Man take a bloody walk to Zara building at 165 and Hillside and then come back and talk. Al Yuh Hate to see People PROGRESS in this World. It does EAT Al YUh pun the inside!!!!![QUOTE]

The case has been made and the tenants have spoken. If people progress by exploiting others than this is not a good thing.

I think you need to visit his buildings that is the only way people wont buy what tenants are selling ! look everyone wants their rent to remain the same and it just wont happen - heating costs are up , electricity is up , water is up , commercial master insurance is up, wages are up , service contracts are up , real estate taxes are up unless one does MCI or energy efficiency steps and qualifies for tax break , most tenants are facing economic harship and are behind on their rent which affects bldgs cash flow and a whole host of other increased costs .Best thing is to visit one or all of Zara's buildings . I am surprised they turned these dumps into such great living residences .

I think you need to visit his buildings that is the only way people wont buy what tenants are selling !.

The tenants I am sure have furnished proof of deteriorate dconditions. It isnt just rent increases that they protest.

Its in court and either Zara wins or loses.
Originally posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:
Zara buildings are clean and well kept. I have been to a few of his buildings and I can honestly say he is not a slumlord.

Did you live in those buildings?
Originally posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:
Zara buildings are clean and well kept. I have been to a few of his buildings and I can honestly say he is not a slumlord.

Did you live in those buildings?

What does that have to do with anything?