Here's a book you may not have heard of, then again.  Bauxite Sugar and Mud.

http://www.amazon.com/Bauxite-...8-1944/dp/1896754457

I know someone who lives on the island off of New Bruinswick, she lives next to the author. It was she who introduced the book to me several years ago.

Also found this write up;

THE DILEMMA OF BELONGING

January 10, 2010 | By | Filed Under Features / Columnists, The Arts Forum 

A Book Review

by Frank Birbalsingh

Patricia Wendy Dathan, Bauxite, Sugar and Mud: Memories of Living in Colonial Guyana 1928-1944, St-Anne-de-Bellevue, Quebec, Shoreline, 2006, pp.220, ISBN 1-896754-45-7
Wendy Dathan’s Bauxite, Sugar and Mud: Memories of living in Colonial Guyana 1928-1944 is a memoir of her family’s expatriate community in Linden, Guyana, during the sixteen years mentioned in the title. Joshua Whalley – Wendy’s father – left England in 1928 to work as an accountant for a bauxite company in McKenzie (re-named Linden), in British Guiana (now Guyana), which was well known for its sugar industry and muddy rivers.

Linden was then a remote outpost sixty five miles up the Demerara river, and accessible only by boat to Georgetown, the capital city. Joshua’s wife Gladys joined him in 1929 and Wendy, their first child, was born in 1934. Today, not only have many names in Guyana been changed, but the country is no longer a British colony, the bauxite company Wendy Dathan (nee Whalley) knew has been nationalised, and her white expatriate community, named “Watooka” after a nearby creek, completely lost in the mists of time.

It was the demand for bauxite during World War One that first led to serious geological exploration for the ore in Guyana. The Demerara Bauxite Company (DEMBA), a subsidiary of the Aluminum Company of America (ALCOA) was incorporated in 1916 and their first shipment of bauxite made in 1917; but when ALCOA shifted its interest to the US market, the Montreal-based Canadian Aluminum Limited (ALCAN) that employed Joshua Whalley took over mining operations at Linden.

ALCAN made a crucial contribution to World War Two: “almost all Canada’s military aircraft built between 1940 and 1945, 16,000 of them, were built of aluminum supplied by ALCAN,” (p.145) and Dathan’s account of German U-Boat attacks on Allied shipping in the Caribbean catches the drama of an almost forgotten saga of sinking ships and tragic loss of life as well as (bauxite) cargoes during the war.

These well-researched details are matched by an insider’s first hand report on Guyanese living conditions and the culture shock the author’s parents faced when showering with brown-coloured water from the Demerara river, or waging constant warfare against an army of insects such as ants, scorpions, moths, cockroaches, and every variety of snake from the over-sized water camoodie or boa constrictor to the smaller but poisonous “fer de lance” and labaria or the deadly Bushmaster, Guyana’s answer to the Indian cobra.

No wonder the Watooka rule of thumb was: “if it moves kill it”(p.54); and when all of this is added to standard provocations of tropical heat, humidity, and mildew, not to mention the threat of malaria and yellow fever, it is not hard to understand why Dathan’s mother, who left a sleepy English provincial town for a place literally crawling with tropical exotica, never ceased to regard Guyana as “That Awful Place” (p.13).

Despite the historical value of such information, however, and many nostalgic details about Guyana’s bauxite industry, the Botanic Gardens, an overland trip to Kaieteur Falls, acquaintances such as the Italian Dr. Giglioli who eradicated the scourge of malaria from Guyana, and his French-Canadian wife, even about familiar British imports such as Eno’s Fruit Salts, Ovaltine and Reckitt’s Blue, the outstanding achievement of Bauxite, Sugar and Mud is its analysis of “white mores” (p. 31) in the colony, and its sensitive reconstruction of the author’s childhood in Linden.

For this Dathan relies on sources such as an unpublished journal written by her mother, and the diary of an American friend, Carolyn Harder, who also lived in Watooka; and to enlarge the scope of her analysis, Dathan throughout compares her observations to those in books about colonial societies, for instance, two volumes by Raymond Smith and Michael Swan both titled British Guiana, and Evelyn Waugh’s Ninety-Two Days and his novel A Handful of Dust.

The larger context of her research makes Bauxite, Sugar and Mud relevant not only to Guyana but to British colonies in general, for instance, when Dathan writes: “in the Guiana of 1929 the colour bar was complete, making most Whites treated as superior beings, irrespective of rank, job or background, class, education or personality” (p.31). Such racial segregation may be voluntary rather than legislated, but it gives an impression of Watooka as an apartheid community under siege. Dathan notes too that: “the [black] servants are not allowed even to reproach the white children,” (p.130) and that Watooka children are taught only by white teachers.
Besides, she later comments: “there were no local books that told us things that were rooted in what we could see and understand around us, and no one told us that this was really home because it was where we were really living” (p.166).

This hits the nail squarely on the head; for the imposition of a foreign culture and its language, values and education system on a colonised population tends to create a crisis of identity in that population. But Dathan had one foot in Guyana through her birth, and the other in the colonising culture through her parents, which explains the poignancy of her “cri de coeur” in pleading: “I had as much right to feel as Guyanese as anyone … even with my alien white skin and overlord political inheritance. Yet I was never allowed… I belonged nowhere” (p.166).

We are moved by this plea partly because of a childhood aura of confessional integrity and truth in Bauxite, Sugar and Mud, for example, when the author speaks with unforgettable affection of nurses who: ”rocked us [white Watooka babies] to sleep in their warm brown arms” (p.119) or with envy of: “the music and rhythm and mystery and romance” (p.119) in their [her nurses’] lives. Yet, living now in Canada, and having visited Guyana as an adult, Dathan surely cannot miss the irony of tens of thousands of her fellow [black] Guyanese who, for entirely different reasons than herself, now live in Canada or other foreign lands, where they face a crisis of identity with all the pain and poignancy of her own.
(The Editor of the Arts Forum Page, Ameena Gafoor, can be reached on E-mail: theartsjournal@live.co.uk or Telephone: (592) 227 6825.

Thanks for bringing this book to my attention, Cain. First time I'm reading about it and about the author's mother's experience in "that awful place."

In the Frank Birbalsingh review there are three books that I read:

[1] BRITISH GUIANA by Michael Swan

[2] NINETY-TWO DAYS by Evelyn Waugh

[3] A HANDFUL OF DUST by Evelyn Waugh

The Amazon paperback copy is dear no rass [US$59.94] but I'll shop around.

When I was first loaned the book there were none around, now I see them on Amazon, yes. Shoulda tiefed it.

She lives on Grand Manan island. When my friend told me where she is retiring on Granad Manan, I asked, What? It's in New Bruinswick.

Michael Swan's  BRITISH GUIANA[1957] has some historical  photographs of Guyana: Corentyne road and Lutheran church near  Port Mourant. hospital. Rose Hall market and  playing cricket on the Corentyne, Georgetown, Mackenzie and old cane hoist at Albion, including the workers.    

A wonderful historical book, Forward by Winston Churchill.

Mine Workers of Guyana [1987] The Making of a Working Class by Odida T. Quamina.

I met Qdida at Toronto Metro library in 1987 at a social justice meeting.

The book was used by our home town grade seven teacher, who did a paper on the bauxite industry.

Odida lived in Mackenzie and said he followed his employer to their home country. Aluminum Company of Canada.

Saganey ships took bauxite from Mackenzie to Kitimat, British Columbia. 

Kitimat  recently had six feet of snow.          

Originally Posted by Tola:

Michael Swan's  BRITISH GUIANA[1957] has some historical  photographs of Guyana: Corentyne road and Lutheran church near  Port Mourant. hospital. Rose Hall market and  playing cricket on the Corentyne, Georgetown, Mackenzie and old cane hoist at Albion, including the workers.    

Mine Workers of Guyana [1987] The Making of a Working Class by Odida T. Quamina.

The book was used by our home town grade seven teacher, who did a paper on the bauxite industry.

Odida lived in Mackenzie and said he followed his employer to their home country. Aluminum Company of Canada.

Tola, when I read Michael Swan's book there was something that struck a nerve. He quoted a speech which Indian Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru had made in his country's parliament on the question of Indian immigrants in British Guiana. In a nutshell, Nehru said that East Indian indentured immigrants and their children must stay in BG and not bother to return to India. At that time I felt that de man write we off.

I remember that in my grandparents discussion  and it created confused with many who wanted to return to India.

Because of the photographs, it looks like Swam spent considerable time in Berbice  and Albion.

Gil, I just got a brain wave. For decades I was trying to find out who took photographs  at Albion logie area  in the 50s that I witnessed and me being in the photos.  I have some strong contact at Britain National Archive and now I have another source to follow. He took photos of the main muddy street with logies on both sides,including ours. These photos had to be somewhere in Britain.

It took me 30 years to get copy of a 1953 documentary film from  the colonial office, now another quest begins with Swan. I need to find those Albion logie photos.       

I remember that in my grandparents discussion  and it created confused with many who wanted to return to India.

Because of the photographs, it looks like Swam spent considerable time in Berbice  and Albion.

Gil, I just got a brain wave. For decades I was trying to find out who took photographs  at Albion logie area  in the 50s that I witnessed and me being in the photos.  I have some strong contact at Britain National Archive and now I have another source to follow. He took photos of the main muddy street with logies on both sides,including ours. These photos had to be somewhere in Britain.

It took me 30 years to get copy of a 1953 documentary film from  the colonial office, now another quest begins with Swan. I need to find those Albion logie photos.       

I'll check tomorrow.

Here's a painting of Albion logies. ©Rishi Singh

http://chs-jccss.org/blog/wp-content/gallery/memorabilia/logies.jpg

It is for this reason some archives and private collectors don't want to make their material available  to individuals.

This original photograph was lent to a writer for the cover of a book  and now place on Rishi Singh's site with his name.  

The last time old photographs was lent in similar manner to RS  for a   high school reunion, copies was being sold on Liberty Avenue.

This photograph is NOT copyright to RS.  He does this all the time, take others people's photograph  and put it on his site, with his name on it.  

I don't mind anyone placing historical photos on their site, but I draw the line when  they put their name on it and he got the balls to dispute a challenge with proof from originals and negatives.

Some day it will catch up with him and his domain in court, as others have done. 

There is thing called intellectual property rights.   

Last edited by Tola

who is  RISHI SINGH the judge is guyana

No, it is an overseas Guyanese with a website.

well send nehru to slap him

Some Guyanese are not very trusting people. Not different from Guyana politics.

who is  RISHI SINGH the judge is guyana

Mr an Mrs Singh,son

You tell the man "son". He ah ask "who grandson"? Weh dis bai come from heh? Time fuh he bin ah guh scholl, he bin ah sport ah Buxton backdam. Dem Buxton and Wismar bais must prappa krank am in he head.

Nehru pretty well told CBJ the same thing in 1953.

It is for this reason some archives and private collectors don't want to make their material available  to individuals.

This original photograph was lent to a writer for the cover of a book  and now place on Rishi Singh's site with his name.  

The last time old photographs was lent in similar manner to RS  for a   high school reunion, copies was being sold on Liberty Avenue.

This photograph is NOT copyright to RS.  He does this all the time, take others people's photograph  and put it on his site, with his name on it.  

I don't mind anyone placing historical photos on their site, but I draw the line when  they put their name on it and he got the balls to dispute a challenge with proof from originals and negatives.

Some day it will catch up with him and his domain in court, as others have done. 

yuh remember the bridge to the logies. my uncles used to call it Iron Bridge.

Yes Seignet, I remember the bridge and also Francis rum shop. He own Yolanda cinema at one time. I use to wash his rum bottles for a shilling.

Francis rum shop had wheel chair type stairs over the mud drain to the  front door.

Men would hang  out on the sides of the stairs wid dem quart ah white rum and wata.

Sometimes a wife would call a husband  home ' Come ah house  na Ramsood, de paickney want fa see you'.