Higher education can come freely, says QC graduate
January 18, 2012 | By KNews | Filed Under News

The notion that “nothing good comes free” has been effectively shot down by a recent graduate of Queen’s

Elson Low

College who has proven that once an individual is willing to look hard and diligently enough, good things that are free may not be out of reach.
Elson Low, who graduated from the local high school last year, has since been accepted at Amherst College, one of the better learning institutions in the United States of America, with the aim of completing a Degree in Economics. The school located in Massachusetts is ranked as one of the top liberal arts colleges in the nation, and according to Low, he has been admitted to the prestigious school at no cost to him.
In fact, the 19-year-old son of Sandra and Elton Brandon Low of Lamaha Gardens, Georgetown, revealed that not only is his tuition covered, but every possible cost associated with his edification is financed through a grant offered by the college.
Even his vacation trips back home to Guyana are covered by the grant, Low revealed during an interview with this newspaper yesterday.
He pointed out, though, that while he was a hard worker and was able to secure good grades throughout his school life, his acceptance to the college was not limited to being a high achiever.
In fact, the young man has been able to discover information that he is willing to share with any and all students who aspire to further their education at a quality university.
“I always considered myself one of the students who was not going to attend any old university but only the best…So I tried to apply to the best…There are other students who could have gotten into these schools but some students just don’t know.”
According to the young man, what he had discovered is crucial information that could benefit any student, especially those who are of the belief that their advanced learning could be hindered by the lack of finances.
Low, who secured 11 Grade One and one Grade Two passes at the Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate Examination and seven Grade Ones and two Grade Twos at the Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examination, said that he decided that he was determined to find a way to attend one of the better education institutions, despite the fact that his parents could not afford it. His determination saw him commencing some serious research online.
“I basically looked at the different schools and their websites’ information and I started to compile a list of schools that were offering scholarships.”
What he found was not only heartening but intriguing enough for him to push assiduously forward. He discovered that some of the top universities had over the years become so wealthy that they were able to stop offering mere scholarships to suitably qualified applicants, but instead they have switched to a grant system which allows for guaranteed aid to all students whose parents’ income fall within a specified bracket.
This grant, Low explained, is available to students regardless of their nationality.
“Usually a scholarship is based on your grades, etc, but this grant system is guaranteed to applicants once they are accepted, regardless of if you are an American or not.”
Only about 15 top schools are able to offer this grant as part of their efforts to compete amongst each other. In light of this, Low said that he decided to apply to eight of the 15 schools offering the grant and was accepted at Amherst College.
He just recently completed his first semester and returned home to spend the Christmas holiday which was funded through the grant he received. The grant, he explained, also offers accepted applicants a stipend, covers the cost of books and stationery and amounts to about US$55,000 annually.
“I want our Guyanese students to really appreciate that these opportunities are out there, and this is really a chance to get into some of the best institutions in the world for free. There is no restriction to subject areas…you can study in any field,” he informed.
However, the catch is that it may be difficult to gain acceptance as more people are becoming aware of the available grants. Low lamented the fact that he is one of the few Guyanese that have been able to take advantage of the grant.
“As far as I know I am the only person from Guyana that has gotten into this. I’ve heard that there are about 20 students from Jamaica benefiting and of course this is a great disappointment, because there is nothing to suggest that Jamaican students are better than Guyanese students.”
He expects that in the near future a few Guyanese graduates would seek to take advantage of the available grants, even as he alluded to the need for more guidance for students, pointing out that “there is not a lot of guidance…even I found it very difficult to find out about these schools. That to me is the main barrier for students.”
Additionally, he pointed out that it would be helpful if there was a standard Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT) programme in Guyana, since in order to be accepted at these schools, applicants must write the SAT in addition to completing the common application, writing an essay and other requirements. The process of application has a December 31 annual deadline, Low noted.
And while he admits that he didn’t have the highest SAT marks, Low pointed out his acceptance was not merely linked to good grades, but rather the fact that the schools are known to accept people based on “you as an individual…on a holistic basis. They look at your extra-curricular activities, so students need not be discouraged if you are not the highest achiever.”
Low, despite having a disability has been involved in a number of extra-curricular activities throughout his high school life including sports, debating, impromptu speaking and conferences, and was even a youth parliamentarian for one year. He is an avid writer of both fiction and non-fiction, an ability that has transcended to his new school life at Amherst College, where he has been writing a few articles for the school’s newspaper.
“I am hoping to get a columnist job, but it is difficult….However, I am trying now that I better understand what they are looking for,” he revealed.
And while he is yet to decide on a specific career, Low said that he plans to complete a masters degree in Economics before he returns to Guyana to offer his expertise, perhaps to the public service.

Originally posted by Vish M:
Looks like this child's achievement does not mean much to the GNI posters.

This is a Guyanese thing that we can all be proud and feel good about it.

Great Job Elson Low!

Why should it mean much to GNI posters?
You are saying that we have to come to GNI and read to learn about college grants?

Maybe you should do some more investigation into this story and into college grants and then educate us. Since when SATs are taken in Guyana?
Originally posted by TI:
You are saying that we have to come to GNI and read to learn about college grants?

Maybe you should do some more investigation into this story and into college grants and then educate us. Since when SATs are taken in Guyana?

The fella did not say he took the SAT in Guyana
As a man who was educated in North American Universities it is clear to me that these opportunities are very few. I hope the Guyanese people are not fooled by this case. For that one full scholarship probably thousands of people were in the competition for it.

Capitalism does not give you anything for free. You pay for it directly or indirectly with your labor.
Originally posted by raymond:
Originally posted by TI:

The SAT is done in many countries, including Guyana.
Originally posted by TI:

Correct Ray, How will the average poor Guyanese sit the SAT?

Buy a holiday visa, then stay in a hotel, and study for the SAT?
Also, isn't SAT only offered through US high schools?

The chap must be commended on his good fortune but it is not going to happen to the average Guyanese.
Originally posted by Daren David:
Originally posted by TI:

The SAT is done in many countries, including Guyana.

I did not know this. Where is it offered?
Originally posted by Wally:
The only way you are going to get a full scholarship from the SAT exam is if you get every question right. What are your chances of doing that. Less than half of one percent.

A partial scholarship is better than no scholarship.
i think grants is not offer only on how you do at the SAT exams,but by a collection of people on the board,i know for sure that the LOWS are wealthy family in guyana,and after saying that lots of people give donation to colleges and get favour in return
Warrior, there are many poor families in Guyana, whose children do not have the means to attend high school. These bright kids need scholarships to help them build capacity at the secondary level.
Originally posted by Mitwah:
Warrior, there are many poor families in Guyana, whose children do not have the means to attend high school. These bright kids need scholarships to help them build capacity at the secondary level.
i know what you mean i help support a few of my wife family to go to school in guyana last week one of them call and told me she land a computer job.now if some body can start a spondership program in guyana to support these kind of kids you talking about, i am sure lots of help can come from overseas,i will be the first to sponser a kid
Look Guyana is NOT Afghanistan, ALL who want an Education to High School can get it FREE. Give me a bloody break!!!!
Originally posted by warrior:
i know what you mean i help support a few of my wife family to go to school in guyana last week one of them call and told me she land a computer job.now if some body can start a spondership program in guyana to support these kind of kids you talking about, i am sure lots of help can come from overseas,i will be the first to sponser a kid
Originally posted by Nehru:
Look Guyana is NOT Afghanistan, ALL who want an Education to High School can get it FREE. Give me a bloody break!!!!
this go to show you know nothing about guyana and what the people have to endure.when a child go to high school,99% of the time they have to travell,you ever hear about bus fare or car fare,how about books you will give them and some time they need to buy lunch,and lots more hidden expences and what if a child want to do computer courses or any other course that they parent cannot afford,will the governmnet give them social assistance,you should come from poor family and know what it feel like.i know a kid that live in the country that pass to go to QUEENS but he could not go because is mother is a single parent and cannot afford the passage
I have yet to see people offer genuine help to poor and needy children on how to attain free scholarship. Most of these folks would rather give their last breath to politics and the good-for-nothing AFC and APNU.
You know nothing. I know People who dont have SQUAT but their Children went to HS and were successful. SACRIFICE!!! SACRIFICE!!!!
this go to show you know nothing about guyana and what the people have to endure.when a child go to high school,99% of the time they have to travell,you ever hear about bus fare or car fare,how about books you will give them and some time they need to buy lunch,and lots more hidden expences and what if a child want to do computer courses or any other course that they parent cannot afford,will the governmnet give them social assistance,you should come from poor family and know what it feel like.i know a kid that live in the country that pass to go to QUEENS but he could not go because is mother is a single parent and cannot afford the passage
Whoever is T1,

SAT was always taken in Guyana.

As I stated before it helps to read and be come more aware and educated hopefully.

Originally posted by TI:

It could very well be that only a few knows much about it.

Scholarships are generally awarded on merit.

My child got a scholarship to the same university.

Originally posted by Wally:
As a man who was educated in North American Universities it is clear to me that these opportunities are very few. I hope the Guyanese people are not fooled by this case. For that one full scholarship probably thousands of people were in the competition for it.

Capitalism does not give you anything for free. You pay for it directly or indirectly with your labor.
That was always the case but parents make sacrifice for their children.

You know nothing. I know People who dont have SQUAT but their Children went to HS and were successful. SACRIFICE!!! SACRIFICE!!!!
bull shit why don you try going into some of the estates and squating areas,or the essequibo coast and also some black people area.why do you think guyana have so much drop out rate ask your minister what is the dropout rate in guyana.you live in the STATES try going and mix with the people in guyana a see and i do not mean georgetown
The Minister cannot take a BLOODY Gun and put it to their headsand order them to attend School. Those who dont go to School end up cutting Cane, Digging Graves, Cleaning Sewr and Septic Tanks. Everyone make their own Choices!!!
bull shit why don you try going into some of the estates and squating areas,or the essequibo coast and also some black people area.why do you think guyana have so much drop out rate ask your minister what is the dropout rate in guyana.you live in the STATES try going and mix with the people in guyana a see and i do not mean georgetown

Listen up you racist pig, Indians made sacrifices, and they don't have to go into any squatting area or focus their attention on blacks who have thievery on their mind. We suffered under your grand father, Burnham, that blasted tribal witch doctor.
Originally posted by ABIDHA:
I have yet to see people offer genuine help to poor and needy children on how to attain free scholarship. Most of these folks would rather give their last breath to politics and the good-for-nothing AFC and APNU.

What have you done? Please tell us.

Listen up you racist pig, Indians made sacrifices, and they don't have to go into any squatting area or focus their attention on blacks who have thievery on their mind. We suffered under your grand father, Burnham, that blasted tribal witch doctor.
yo yo you wan up start,i wonder if you know that most area in guyana start with squating,and most of the people in these area is indians.like some body hit a nerve you is one of them drop out we talking about,we can start a program for you
Why is this conversation down in the gutter.

This child is making us Guyanese PROUD.

Let us keep the focus....clean and clear

For your information this is not the only child that made guyanese or any parent proud. I know many children that strive for success under worse circumstances. I have four of my own that attended various schools from college, high school and public school. I took my hat off to this lad and I hope he succeded in his endeavors. It's just a good story and there's no need to be sarcastic.
Bhai, Gutter Rats and Nimakarams ah Plenty!!1

Like you and this godiewala ah good friend nah. belnah
I do know the Gentleman. Warrior trying to mess up deh man thread wid his Gutter Rat tactics. He can NEVER seee any good in Guyana until PNC takes over. Dat is Gutter Rat AND NIMAKARAM!!!!

Like you and this godiewala ah good friend nah. belnah
Well if it took my statement for you to make decent statement then it was worth it else it was wasted.

For your information this is not the only child that made guyanese or any parent proud. I know many children that strive for success under worse circumstances. I have four of my own that attended various schools from college, high school and public school. I took my hat off to this lad and I hope he succeded in his endeavors. It's just a good story and there's no need to be sarcastic.
focus their attention on blacks who have thievery on their mind.

Wow all it took was for the PPP to lose control of parliament for all theri hatred of blacks to show up. But we always knew that.
Opposition Leader, David Granger is assured of a range of benefits along with his salary and a pension, following the passage in 2010 of the Leader of the Opposition (Benefits and Other Facilities) Bill 2009
According to the legislation, the holder of the office shall be entitled at government expense to rent-free furnished office accommodation; medical attention, including medical treatment or reimbursement of medical expenses incurred by him for himself and the dependent members of his family; full-time security service at his official place of residence and at his office to be provided by the Guyana Police Force; the services of a research assistant, an executive assistant/secretary, a clerical/office assistant, a chauffeur, a personal security officer, a gardener and two domestic servants; and salary, vacation allowance and parliamentary benefits equivalent to those of a Cabinet minister.

whats are your thoughts Caribj?
Originally posted by albert:
Opposition Leader, David Granger is assured of a range of benefits along with his salary and a pension, following the passage in 2010 of the Leader of the Opposition (Benefits and Other Facilities) Bill 2009
According to the legislation, the holder of the office shall be entitled at government expense to rent-free furnished office accommodation; medical attention, including medical treatment or reimbursement of medical expenses incurred by him for himself and the dependent members of his family; full-time security service at his official place of residence and at his office to be provided by the Guyana Police Force; the services of a research assistant, an executive assistant/secretary, a clerical/office assistant, a chauffeur, a personal security officer, a gardener and two domestic servants; and salary, vacation allowance and parliamentary benefits equivalent to those of a Cabinet minister.

whats are your thoughts Caribj?

Why are you spamming the board?
Originally posted by albert:
Mits...are you Caribj's attorney?..let him speak for him/her self...

Why are you spamming the board? BTW, you statements are empty. Ever thought of sueing your brains for support? yippie