Tola posted:

Congratulations Warria, you all did good for this family, bai.  

Sorry we did not catch up, maybe next time.  We were working elsewhere on a water-well project.

Others helping could make  Guyana a much better place for all.

Nice job warrior.  Keep on spreading the love.  Now if we can see some pics of Tola's projects.  I will even pay top dollar to see those pics.

Still not foundation poured. The question to ask is were the requisite building permits obtained and inspections carried out by the local government? Warrior is dodging these questions as the occupants lives may be endangered by shoddy construction by those looking to get their pictures in newspapers. 

I do not think the occupants care given the shape of the previous building. This one is 1000 percent better. It is not a work of art but a work of love. Looks like over a 1000 lbs was on the steps and it is still standing!

Still not foundation poured. The question to ask is were the requisite building permits obtained and inspections carried out by the local government? Warrior is dodging these questions as the occupants lives may be endangered by shoddy construction by those looking to get their pictures in newspapers. 

Why don't u give it a rest. From day one you've been criticizing this project. If u think u can do better, get off your ass go down there and avail yourself.
Warrior did his part.

Last edited by Sheik101

I do not think the occupants care given the shape of the previous building. This one is 1000 percent better. It is not a work of art but a work of love. Looks like over a 1000 lbs was on the steps and it is still standing!

You don't believe there should be building codes in Guyana to which people like warrior should adhere? This is quite a contradiction coming from a man who can't even build a shed in his backyard without proper permits. 

Why don't u give it a rest. From day one you've been criticizing this project. If u think u can do better, get off your ass go down there and avail yourself.
Warrior did his part.

Because I care about the safety of the family and brought up the issue of the lack of a foundation, I am criticizing the project? No I am pointing out the slackness in Guyana that allows for hackers like warrior to endanger people's lives for publicity purposes. When I do charity work in the US, we have to adhere to standards and regulations, whether it is feeding the poor or building for Habitat. 

Tola posted:

Sorry we did not catch up, maybe next time.  We were working elsewhere on a water-well project.

Nice job warrior.  Keep on spreading the love.  Now if we can see some pics of Tola's projects.  I will even pay top dollar to see those pics.

Congrats to Warrior and as Bibi said, let us now see some of talk man Tola's project.

Seriously warrior, that is quite impressive. I salute you.

Tola posted:

Congrats to Warrior and as Bibi said, let us now see some of talk man Tola's project.

Can't you people just live without picking on one of my compadres? Y'all done wid warria, and y'all move on to Tola now. If I were Tola I would post a photo of some standpipes in Tiger Bay and fool allyuh inquisitive and provocative behinds. 

You don't believe there should be building codes in Guyana to which people like warrior should adhere? This is quite a contradiction coming from a man who can't even build a shed in his backyard without proper permits. 

to the contrary. I believe firmly that each building should have a plan submitted by a designated architect etc. for approval and an approved inspected before habitation. Let me know when this happens

Then join me in calling out warrior for his indiscretion.  He did a hurry up job for publicity.  A good rain fall and those stilts for foundation will come loose and the house will come tumbling down. Fortunately to his credit he only went up 3 feet high so the injuries from the fall will be reduced. Contrast and compare to the house in the background and you will realize the rush job he did.

You are mad. I see where the family were in the before picture and this vastly increases their safety. I would not intrude with objections based on non existent regulations to prevent saving a family from the elements and the danger of their house falling in on them. This house is many degrees of safety beyond their old home. 

From an engineering point of view there are lots wrong with it but there is lots wrong with most homes in guyana especially the concrete monstrosities I see being built. Many of those are horrible heat sinks and have embedded iron barred windows that are death traps. I think one of our great poets Mahadai Das died being trapped in a burning house behind bars.

yes, there are many things wrong with this house but it is a great house compared to the old house. I would live here and not in the old one.

You are mad. I see where the family were in the before picture and this vastly increases their safety. I would not intrude with objections based on non existent regulations to prevent saving a family from the elements and the danger of their house falling in on them. This house is many degrees of safety beyond their old home. 

From an engineering point of view there are lots wrong with it but there is lots wrong with most homes in guyana especially the concrete monstrosities I see being built. Many of those are horrible heat sinks and have embedded iron barred windows that are death traps. I think one of our great poets Mahadai Das died being trapped in a burning house behind bars.

yes, there are many things wrong with this house but it is a great house compared to the old house. I would live here and not in the old one.

The prior home was much safer, 0 ft from the ground and stable. What was unsafe about it compared to this home 3 ft off the ground and held up by bare untreated lumber driven in god knows how deep into the ground.  In a few years when warrior has forgotten about those people and moved on to the next photo op, the wood will rot and the house will come tumbling down. 

Yet again you don't really know shit,so here, why don't you ask the man about this instead of arguing stupidly for the sake of doing so?

Address the fact that he did a butcher job, building a house without foundation. He replaced a shack with another shack on stilts. 

Good morning, Drugb. After reading your comments I am absolutely convinced that you are knowledgeable about building codes and safety protocols.

As warrior seems do have done an incomplete job, I'm appealing to you to step in and volunteer to upgrade that little house to the standards you have in mind.

Please, sir, hear my plea and pitch in your lot for the safety of those poor children. I would hate to read in the newspapers that the little house collapsed while the girls were sitting in the low bottom house.

Should such a tragic event take place, God forbid, I'm sure your own conscience will be troubled that you foresaw a tragedy in the making and did nothing concrete to help.

Have a nice day, sir. You are a good man.

Tola posted:

Can't you people just live without picking on one of my compadres? Y'all done wid warria, and y'all move on to Tola now. If I were Tola I would post a photo of some standpipes in Tiger Bay and fool allyuh inquisitive and provocative behinds. 

Actually I don't see the request above as unreasonable. Tola is always thumping his chest about all the stuff he does in Guyana and other parts of the world. He also has a habit of demeaning others because he thinks that they don't help others. Warrior announced last week that he was going to build a new house for those people and a few days later, he posted the proof of his promise/statement. All Tola has done is claim to have spent half of his life doing charity work.

Tola posted:

Actually I don't see the request above as unreasonable. Tola is always thumping his chest about all the stuff he does in Guyana and other parts of the world. He also has a habit of demeaning others because he thinks that they don't help others. Warrior announced last week that he was going to build a new house for those people and a few days later, he posted the proof of his promise/statement. All Tola has done is claim to have spent half of his life doing charity work.

Thanks Kaz,

My request is quite reasonable in asking Tola to stand up.