Since it is salted boil it in clear water for 5 mins to get most of the salt out. Then let it sit and in the meantime cut up some tomatoes, onions,celery, garlic etc and stew it with a dash of tomato paste. You can eat it with boil and fry, pretty much like good old saltfish.
Originally posted by Mr.T:
Originally posted by Riya:
My mom makes a mean smoked herring dish. I like it too. With dhall.

Get the recipe from she nah?

Okay, I will get it from her and post it.
Thanks. We Guyanese know some cheap and simple dishes that would mek we mouth water by just seeing a picture of it.
I once got very excited after seeing a picture of some grated coconut on top of a bowl of rice. My wife looked at me like if I had gone mad Big Grin.
Bai Freaky, believe it or not, but my dad had his own cooking show on TV in the US for many years.
I myself like to try cooking the same thing with the same ingredient in different ways, just to see what, if any, difference it makes if you put something in the pot early or late in the cooking process.
Originally posted by Riya:
My mom makes a mean smoked herring dish. I like it too. With dhall.

She does fret when I asked though because it smells up her house for days Big Grin

Hi !
Never had it with dhall . We Black folks just stewed it up with onions etc. Prefer the boneless now , less hassle with bones and skin.
Let us know how different the dhall would make it from the regular stewed .