For the record, I am still an Executive Member of the AFC.  

I was introduced to politics at age 4 when my family returned from East Germany to Guyana by my father.  He took me to Freedom House before I could speak English and enrolled me as a Pioneer.  Later I would join the PYO and then the PPP proper.  My father himself was introduced to politics at age 8 by my aaja (my paternal grandfather) in 1946 when the PAC (the precursor to the PPP) was formed.  My aaja was the foreman for Kitty and would open the market for PAC meetings.  My dad would sit on my aaja's shoulders and listen to the meetings, and in turn put me on his shoulders when I was 8 to listen to Dr Walter Rodney at Bourda.

My father always kept my eyes on the prize of a united Guyana.  He told me of when he campaigned for Forbes Burnham in 1953 and how the term Apaan Jhat was coined by a pro-Indian politician who opposed the PPP, and who was fighting in that constituency.  He told me of the unity of the people at the time and how much it hurt him when the PPP split in 1955.  

And even though he fought the PNC since then and I did since 1976, he never forgot his dream of a united Guyana.  He kept me grounded and did his best to stop any hatred for the "blackman" from seeping into my psyche.  He knew what at some at Freedom House would tell me and so he told me of the atrocities committed by Indians in the 60s.  He also told me of an incident in 1962 when Freedom House was mobbed and people inside brought out guns to shoot the protesters, but Dr Jagan told them to use slingshots instead, telling them that they were their brothers and sisters being misled.

And so while I spent most of my life fighting the PNC, I was never taught to hate them.  In fact, my dad and I believed in Dr Jagan's promise of a broad-based Gov't in 1992 to the extent that we thought PNC people would be invited to join.  We were deeply disappointed when that Gov't was comprised mostly of party hacks, the unfortunate results of which we so clearly see today.

After Dr Jagan died and things turned around 180 degrees, my dad and I had no compunction joining the AFC which with its PNC and PPP elements represented a return to the pre-1955 PPP.  And so today, I feel the same way about the prospect of an APNU/AFC coalition.  Such a coalition would be even more representative of the pre-1955 PPP than the AFC.

Of course, the lesson learnt from 1992 is that our national problems are not solved by the simple removal of a Gov't.  Therefore, should a coalition arise, it must not be with the sole aim of removing the PPP, but of permanently transforming Guyana's political landscape by committing to and engaging in Constitution, Electoral and Security Sector reform among other things.

I hope that persons can now gain an insight into the politics of my dad and I.  We were introduced to it as children and so all we knew was to fight for what's right without thought of position or reward.  This is what informed and guided our struggle, the same struggle I am continuing in the name of my son.

I doan endorse coalitions, the makings of a disaster to happen. The 1950 PPP of moderates and extremists. The PNC and TUF. The PPP and CIVIC.

If coalitions should come, then God help us. It would be as the 1992 PPP-a whole lot of misfits to hold government positions.

The coalition of APNU, AFC and PNC would be the same as what the 1992 PPP gave us. I cannot see how the coalition going to put the correct people in the respective positions when the PNC is the dominant parameter. Many would be looking to join the new gravy chain.

UNLESS, the coalition indicate the appointments before the elections.  

I still maintain the Jagans put us in the mess we are in.

I doan endorse coalitions, the makings of a disaster to happen. The 1950 PPP of moderates and extremists. The PNC and TUF. The PPP and CIVIC.

If coalitions should come, then God help us. It would be as the 1992 PPP-a whole lot of misfits to hold government positions.

The coalition of APNU, AFC and PNC would be the same as what the 1992 PPP gave us. I cannot see how the coalition going to put the correct people in the respective positions when the PNC is the dominant parameter. Many would be looking to join the new gravy chain.

Like I said, it is certainly no panacea.  And it must be clear on its objectives - that's why I mentioned Constitution, Electoral and Security Sector reform.  I support you too in naming the persons for the next Gov't.  And with electoral reform, MPs will be elected directly and will be beholden to their constituencies - that will be a huge change for the better too.  The list system must end.

Blame is easy to go around, Uncle.  All of us in one way or another have contributed to the mess we are in.  Try as hard as we can, but we cannot just wish away the current crop of politicians - we simply have to work with what we have - we have to take baby steps, only making sure they are in the right direction.

there is nothing inherently wrong with coalitions. There are different kinds of coalitions all about us in social, political and economic life, each functioning to produce some ends among peoples of varying orientation. It is the things they find in common that matters and when it is a nation state then it has greater coverage than with a single party. It means there is some internal dialog going on producing consensus.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

there is nothing inherently wrong with coalitions. There are different kinds of coalitions all about us in social, political and economic life, each functioning to produce some ends among peoples of varying orientation. It is the things they find in common that matters and when it is a nation state then it has greater coverage than with a single party. It means there is some internal dialog going on producing consensus.

Agree, Danyael.

Gerhard, nice to see u alive & kicking on GNI . . . i know how little time u have

can u (if u can) shed some light on whether the AFC and APNU are contemplating big-picture, visionary, patriotic moves post No Confidence vote in the legislature

Thank you, brother.  However, I cannot say at this stage, but I am hopeful it will be so.

Originally Posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:

Gerhard, nice to see u alive & kicking on GNI . . . i know how little time u have

can u (if u can) shed some light on whether the AFC and APNU are contemplating big-picture, visionary, patriotic moves post No Confidence vote in the legislature

Thank you, brother.  However, I cannot say at this stage, but I am hopeful it will be so.

i hear you bro . . . keep fighting the good fight

we got your back

What u think about Wayne Forde?

we got your back

Thanks, bro!

QUOTE: "Of course, the lesson learnt from 1992 is that our national problems are not solved by the simple removal of a Gov't.  Therefore, should a coalition arise, it must not be with the sole aim of removing the PPP, but of permanently transforming Guyana's political landscape by committing to and engaging in Constitution, Electoral and Security Sector reform among other things."

This is the PPP regime's nightmare.

The Freedom House cabal know deep in their corrupt conscience that a meaningful AFC-APNU partnership will have broad-based appeal and will sound the PPP's death knell.

This explains why the PPP propagandists and hacks are working on overdrive to drive a wedge between the parliamentary opposition.

As expected, the short-sighted and visionless PPP cabal cannot offer the Guyanese people a viable road map to national unity, so they are using the worn-down race weapon to scare people away from the AFC. They are demonizing David Granger and the PNC for the same reason.

Mercifully, a PPP appeal to Indo-Guyanese to stay far from the AFC is doomed. Even if a majority of Indians vote for the PPP, it will still suffer a humiliating defeat at upcoming elections.

The 2012 census revealed the writing on the wall; the PPP regime's days are numbered.

I commend Gerhard Ramsaroop for appearing on GNI Political today and rebuffing the malicious and unfounded rumours regarding his AFC status.

As I said repeatedly, Guyana is crying out for a government of national unity.

QUOTE: "Of course, the lesson learnt from 1992 is that our national problems are not solved by the simple removal of a Gov't.  Therefore, should a coalition arise, it must not be with the sole aim of removing the PPP, but of permanently transforming Guyana's political landscape by committing to and engaging in Constitution, Electoral and Security Sector reform among other things."

This is the PPP regime's nightmare.

The Freedom House cabal know deep in their corrupt conscience that a meaningful AFC-APNU partnership will have broad-based appeal and will sound the PPP's death knell.

This explains why the PPP propagandists and hacks are working on overdrive to drive a wedge between the parliamentary opposition.

As expected, the short-sighted and visionless PPP cabal cannot offer the Guyanese people a viable road map to national unity, so they are using the worn-down race weapon to scare people away from the AFC. They are demonizing David Granger and the PNC for the same reason.

Mercifully, a PPP appeal to Indo-Guyanese to stay far from the AFC is doomed. Even if a majority of Indians vote for the PPP, it will still suffer a humiliating defeat at upcoming elections.

The 2012 census revealed the writing on the wall; the PPP regime's days are numbered.

I commend Gerhard Ramsaroop for appearing on GNI Political today and rebuffing the malicious and unfounded rumours regarding his AFC status.

As I said repeatedly, Guyana is crying out for a government of national unity.

My brother, Gilbakka, thank you very much!  This is very much appreciated.

Quote:

"And so today, I feel the same way about the prospect of an APNU/AFC coalition.  Such a coalition would be even more representative of the pre-1955 PPP than the AFC."

Gerhard,

You are making a serious mistake in forming a coalition with the PNC. This would mean a destruction of the AFC. Anyway good luck in your endeavours. We may not see eye to eye politically but I have a lot of respect for you.

As an added note, Nigel and Cathy has literally destroyed the image AFC. Hope you are keeping an eye on them.

Gerard wants us to believe that an APNU/AFC coalition would be like the PPP of the early fifties involving both Forbes and Cheddie. This is a joke. APNU is linked with criminals who carried horrific crimes on the Indian community in Guyana. The PPP of the fifties did not encourage nor were involved in aiding or abetting any racially biased crimes. APNU is has agenda to dominate they way the PNC did in the past. Supporting criminals helps their agenda for most of the victims are Indos.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Gerard wants us to believe that an APNU/AFC coalition would be like the PPP of the early fifties involving both Forbes and Cheddie. This is a joke. APNU is linked with criminals who carried horrific crimes on the Indian community in Guyana. The PPP of the fifties did not encourage nor were involved in aiding or abetting any racially biased crimes. APNU is has agenda to dominate they way the PNC did in the past. Supporting criminals helps their agenda for most of the victims are Indos.

Calling you stupid would be an insult to stupid people. Are you always that stupid or are you making a special effort tonight?

Originally Posted by Amral:

Sunil here is the article that was done on Stabroek News

Originally Posted by Sunil:

Hi Gerald, what is the website for your flower/bouquet business? I had it somewhere but can't find it. Also, keep us updated about the conversation tree. I grew up about 5 mins walk from there and am interested to see it flourish again.

Thanks, Amral!

Sunil, the last time I laid blocks and put a grill around the tree.  It cost quite a lot, and not long after a large vehicle, presumably a 4 x 4, knocked everything flat.  I had made a suggestion that the traffic be rerouted so that the southbound traffic coming from the west goes in front of, rather than around, the tree.  Until that happens the tree will always get run over.

I was introduced to politics at age 4 when my family returned from East Germany to Guyana by my father. He took me to Freedom House before I could speak English and enrolled me as a Pioneer. Later I would join the PYO and then the PPP proper.

My father himself was introduced to politics at age 8 by my aaja (my paternal grandfather) in 1946 when the PAC (the precursor to the PPP) was formed.

My aaja was the foreman for Kitty and would open the market for PAC meetings. My dad would sit on my aaja's shoulders and listen to the meetings, and in turn put me on his shoulders when I was 8 to listen to Dr Walter Rodney at Bourda.

Well presented Gerhard, my nephew.

Regardless of political inclinations, at the end of the day, we all should still be courteous to each other.

I was introduced to politics at age 4 when my family returned from East Germany to Guyana by my father. He took me to Freedom House before I could speak English and enrolled me as a Pioneer. Later I would join the PYO and then the PPP proper.

My father himself was introduced to politics at age 8 by my aaja (my paternal grandfather) in 1946 when the PAC (the precursor to the PPP) was formed.

My aaja was the foreman for Kitty and would open the market for PAC meetings. My dad would sit on my aaja's shoulders and listen to the meetings, and in turn put me on his shoulders when I was 8 to listen to Dr Walter Rodney at Bourda.

Well presented Gerhard, my nephew.

Regardless of political inclinations, at the end of the day, we all should still be courteous to each other.

Agreed, and thanks very much, Uncle! 

we got your back

Thanks, bro!

Look how Tk and his Jumbies hounding our brother because he said it Crystal clear....

Anyone who say Gerhard left the AFC....is a Monkey

Anyone who say Gerhard join the PNC....is a PNC Monkey.

How many times Cathy gonna lose her virginity Mitwah?

TK was complaining about his wife being dragged into the gutter....but this PNC Monkey is so confused now.....All his lies are exposed....and Gerhard did not Join the PNC as he kept telling us.....DR Rose also refuse to be a Part of Monkey Mountain.....Dr Rose is a Giant.....

I don't care if Gerhard come or go, but he's not being truthful about the no-confidence motion. He speak of a united Guyana and his love for "Blackman" but failed to address the love of other races, especially the Chinese. We saw him with a broad smile with Granger and forget about the honorable Donald Ramotar and the PPP. That's not a united Guyana, Gerhard. You made a big entry today, but you're still a liar. 

Wasn't cobra one of the Monkeys who said

"De No-confidence Motion" was a Big Bluff......

Who is de Liar .....Tell us...

Now yuh care about Ramotar and de PPP.....when they were cussing de AFC, Moses & Ramjattan & Hughes.....where was your voice of reasoning.