so i decide to play big homan and try out this hookah thingy,  we use some kinda cherry flava someting, and we put piece mint leave from she backyard, so u get the methol taste....it wok 

now i thinking of getting one fuh mehself fuh decoration 

all dem bar in NY got these thingy

tagline

I reference these terms throughout the rest of the website. If you are new to hookah, it is a good idea to take a look at this. Furthermore, people who hookah often use these terms quite often, so knowing them will help you look like you know what you are talking about. 
Also, I have created a simple explanation of how hookah works. 

Hookah Parts

Hookah Terminology

Pipe:
 This is also called the hose. The tip of the pipe is the mouthpiece. Thicker pipes allow you take bigger pulls, which maximize the amount of smoke being released.

Mouth Piece: The (usually metal) end of the hose. This can come in fancy designs, but really has no impact on the quality of smoke. However, you want to make sure the mouth piece is fassened tightly on. You can purchase disposable mouth pieces, which are highly recommended if you use the hookah with many people. If you go to a hookah bar, they legally have to give you a plastic mouth piece. Always use it. 

Bowl: The bowl goes on the top of the stem, above the tray. This is an extremely important part of the hookah. You pack the tobacco in here. The bowl must be fassened tightly on the top of the hookah, or your smoke quality will suffer greatly. Bigger bowls obviously fit more tobacco. If you prefer smoking for longer periods of time, get a bowl that is deep. If you want to smoke for shorter amounts of time, but get really thick smoke, use a shallow, but wide bowl so that you can put more than once coal on and burn it quickly. They make mixer bowls, in which it is split in half for you to put two flavors in. These are generally unnecesary and require more coal. This is not really recommended. Phunnel bowls are easier to clean and smoke really well. You can carve bowls out of different types of fruit too. Look on youtube for relevant videos. 

Stem: Be sure to fasten the stem tightly on the base. If it is not tight, smoke will escape and your hookah will not work well. 

Tray: This is used to ash the coal. This goes bellow the bowl in case the coal falls.

Base: Also known as the vase, where you put the liquid in. You can put different types of liquid/accessories in the base, which I talk about in Setting up your Hookah. Remember, the stem should be submerged in the liquid only 1/2 an inch. 

Tobacco: There are many different brands of tobacco. The best brand is Starbuzz. Don't waste your time with others. It is a little more expensive, but well worth it. 

Coal: What heats the tobacco. Place a lit coal on top of the foil, which is on top of the bowl. 

Foil: Place this smoothly accross the bowl's top. You do not want any crinkles. If you want your sessions to last longer, use thick foil so the tobacco doesn't heat up too fast. If you want thick smoke and a shorter session, thin foil does the opposite. 

Hit: This is used interchangably with "pull". This is the process of inhaling through pipe in order to produce smoke. 

How Hookah Works

1. You inhale
2. The pull of air fuels the coal
3. The tobacco heats up. 
4. Smoke is created and pulled down the stem
5. Smoke travels into the water
6. Smoke leaves the water and travels through the top of the base into the hose
That's a simple summary of how hookah works.

Originally Posted by TI:
Originally Posted by Marcy.:
Originally Posted by Amral:

so yuh get a high girl??

yes!  one lil puff and me nearly dead   

Picture 059

That lil thing is a toy not a hookah

yu shud stop by and see the real one I have at home.  In hooking, size matters.

u know...i trying real hard to be a good girl on this forum...but u all rass ent helpin de situation         sooo..no comment 

Originally Posted by TI:
Originally Posted by Amral:

so yuh get a high girl??

yes!  one lil puff and me nearly dead   

Picture 059

That lil thing is a toy not a hookah

yu shud stop by and see the real one I have at home.  In hooking, size matters.

u know...i trying real hard to be a good girl on this forum...but u all rass ent helpin de situation         sooo..no comment 

Marcy, it's just a matter of perspective

Originally Posted by chameli:

i think somebody say smoking is bad for your health but what do i know

dunno if anyone  remembers how this evolved a few yrs ago on gni...I was against smoking then (esp. GY  females ) and still am...that time, some nasty emails were flying and to this day the person (plus her mom and sister) who sent an email to a gnier is not talking to me  and she is a relative of my relatives...

I miss the good ole days when emails used to fly, especially the underground ones.

dunno if anyone  remembers how this evolved a few yrs ago on gni...I was against smoking then (esp. GY  females ) and still am...that time, some nasty emails were flying and to this day the person (plus her mom and sister) who sent an email to a gnier is not talking to me  and she is a relative of my relatives...

lawd have marcy! when was this? few yrs ago?  I remember this story all too well...but if its in de past, it shoulda stay in de past besides there are more juicer story I can remember ....darn where is that child when I need her?  i wonder if i should start naming names   

Reds?????????????????

LOL @ Marcy

nah...me no chicken.  I just trying to come in peace this time...i must be gettin ole 

[]  

i have noticed...mature, experience NOT ole

yea...they say life begins at 40...i warming up now to officially declare that  in a mths' time 

Nehru...next time i come NY i gonna call u to fight...i thinking columbus day wkend   

hey last time i check out cabana...it was dead maybe i went to early..i shoulda know better that after a certain time a de nite things does be alive N kickin'   

LOL @ Marcy

nah...me no chicken.  I just trying to come in peace this time...i must be gettin ole 

[]  

i have noticed...mature, experience NOT ole

yea...they say life begins at 40...i warming up now to officially declare that  in a mths' time 

Nehru...next time i come NY i gonna call u to fight...i thinking columbus day wkend   

hey last time i check out cabana...it was dead maybe i went to early..i shoulda know better that after a certain time a de nite things does be alive N kickin'   

That is fine, yuh know how meh like Fite.