http://www.thestar.com/life/20...u_win_gallinger.html

Promotional contests can turn a simple gesture — like buying a friend a coffee — into an ethical dilemma.

TARA WALTON / TORONTO STAR         

Promotional contests can turn a simple gesture — like buying a friend a coffee — into an ethical

What is the social expectation for promotional contests such as the “Roll up the rim” campaign? Many people buy these products for friends, often without any expectation of being paid back. But what happens if that friend wins something? Something small, like a coffee or doughnut, is of no consequence unless the person is really picky. But what about a larger prize, like a car? Who has the right to get that car — the person who purchased the winning cup, or the person who was given the coffee?

I must caution, once again, that this is an ethics column, not one offering legal counsel. A lawyer might give a different answer than I. He’d also charge more.

The key question here is whether the purchase of the prizewinning coffee was a transaction, or a gift.

More at thestar.com:

There are many situations where someone picks up coffee for a colleague on the way to work each morning, and the recipient, as a matter of course, pays for it. It doesn’t matter whether the particular winning cup was paid for. On any given day, there could be lots of reasons why payment doesn’t transpire; perhaps the recipient doesn’t have the exact change, or maybe the idea is that, at the end of the week, she simply gives the buyer a ten-spot and they are both satisfied that “that’s close enough.”

Arrangements like this are transactional; for whatever reason (that’s another question), one person agrees to pick up coffee, and another agrees to pay, at the very least for their own. So if the recipient is fortunate enough to rrroll a new car, then it’s hers to keep, without guilt or obligation. She made a deal, even if tacitly, to purchase the cup, and was expected by the coffee-courier to do so; she gets the prize.

The trickier situation is the one in which I buy an extra coffee and simply give it to you, because I’m a nice guy (which no one would ever dispute).

On the one hand, there’s a basic, and important, principle that “a gift given is a gift given.” Once I give something to you, it is no longer mine in any sense; it is 100-per-cent yours. I didn’t lend it to you, and my gift was without conditions because (remember this) I’m a nice guy. So when you roll up that rim, it’s your rim to roll, and I have no claim whatsoever to those spiffy new wheels that are parked, glaringly, in your driveway.

But on the other hand, this is a situation where at least a modicum of grace is called for. I did, after all, give you a gift. No, you don’t have to share the car, and I really don’t want you to take me for a ride to show off how cool it is (I’m not that nice). But some significant expression of appreciation is in order.

I’m not looking for cash; that would feel a bit tawdry. But you could buy me a coffee card that would cover my java for the next year or so. And, incidentally, I drink several large cups a day.

"there’s a basic, and important, principle that “a gift given is a gift given.” Once I give something to you, it is no longer mine in any sense; it is 100-per-cent yours. I didn’t lend it to you, and my gift was without conditions"

The above excerpt says it all

Even if I was sore about giving away the winning cup, I would still be too embarrassed to ask back for it. I once work with a guy who won a brand new Chevy Cavalier who was upset that he had to pay the sales tax on it. Maybe if this person use the same reasoning, he/she would be pleased that they give away the winning cup.

Originally Posted by chameli:

i agree with what Miraver posted...

at xmas, i bought a lottery as a gift for someone and they won $120.

i kinda thought about it for a few secs...then agreed it was hers

last week i won more than that on the heart and stroke lottery

I agree. Can't put a price on winning the heart and stroke lottery.

Originally Posted by ksazma:
[]

I agree. Can't put a price on winning the heart and stroke lottery.

well it was not the BIG win but more than 120....

--------------

now about the tim horton...i do not like tim horton's coffee, do not buy it and even refused to buy it when a coworker asked me to ...i got her one from MacDonalds for free...lol

i do like tim's jalepeno bagel

This guy who works for us travels home to Toronto every weekend. He always bring us Tim Horton donuts on Monday morning. Never cared for any. Not a bagel/donut person myself. But I do like jalepenos.

Honor before money or car.

The recipient/coffee drinker whose mouth jhoota the cup is entitled to the prize on the rim.

[Eh, eh, Chameli, me bin a wonda why yuh so scarce dese past days. Now me know yuh win de lattary. Me prappa glad fo yuh, beti.]

wowwwwwwwwwwwww

he comes from Fla to Toronto every weekend  now that's a dream life

must be working the big bucks...good for him

I don't know. About 5k per week. But that doesn't matter since the company pays for his trip.

There was a case a few years ago in Alabama where a guy travelling daily from Florida used to visit a café for his coffee. As a gift, he used to buy a ticket and give it to the staff. The unexpressed understanding was that it would be shared between the entire staff if it wins. It turned out that it did once win many millions. The waitress to whom it was given cashed it and insisted that it was intended only for her. The others took her to court but the court could not rule against her because gambling is not legal in Alabama therefore they could not award lottery winnings there. Some luck. The woman spent quite a bit on contesting the case but still ended up with a bunch.

There is a current case where a few NFL players have charged that a hot shot lawyer used their money without their consent to invest in a casino in Alabama. Interesting since he is a lawyer and casinos are not legal in Alabama. But I guess it was easy for him since he was using other peoples' money. Almost $60M. 

wowwwwwwwwwwwww

YOU might think so now,but after a time you get fed up travelling,i use to travel a lot now i hate when i have to travel 

wowwwwwwwwwwwww

YOU might think so now,but after a time you get fed up travelling,i use to travel a lot now i hate when i have to travel 

I don't care to travel myself. Can't take food from Mama's kitchen on lengthy trips. And food from everywhere else is hardly a challenge.